BREAKING: Subaru BRZ coming to Malaysia next year!

We’re in Bangkok now for the year ending Thailand International Motor Expo, and yours truly picked up a pleasant surprise. No, the show girls did not offer to follow me home, but Motor Image is set to bring the just launched Subaru BRZ to Malaysia! Unveiled at the ongoing Tokyo Motor Show, the BRZ is Subaru’s version of the Toyota GT 86, which it helped develop.

The BRZ is mechanically similar to the new hachi-roku but sports minor styling differences. It is powered by a 2.0-litre naturally aspirated four-cylinder boxer engine with 200 hp and 205 Nm of torque, with drive going exclusively to the rear wheels. A six-speed manual is the natural choice of gearbox, but there’s an auto box for those who can’t DIY.

Estimated date of arrival? According to Glenn Tan, Executive Director of Tan Chong International and head of Motor Image, they will be trying hard for the second or third quarter of 2012, with a possible launch time that coincides with the Super GT race (the BRZ will be competing next season in the GT300 category). Trying hard because worldwide demand for the BRZ is expected to be great and there are many higher priority markets to satisfy.

Click here for a full live gallery of the Subaru BRZ from Tokyo.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kienu on Dec 08, 2011 at 5:12 pm

First here!

WOW! how much is the estimated price range?

• ben yap on Dec 08, 2011 at 6:26 pm

You may be the first but definitely no money to buy. looking at your childish comment, u are most likely just a kid. so don’t ask for price la.

• DaveDiablos on Dec 08, 2011 at 7:28 pm

Like you can oni… Cakap banyak action…

• thebosssedangbercakap on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:32 pm

aiyo that fella is so eager to know the price and yet u are mad like a grumpy uncle, i know u envy his enthusiasm.

• probably he cant own it, that’s why he jelly at those who can buy once it reaches our shore.

u know lah, sour grape unkas are all like that one. xP

• altecs on Dec 08, 2011 at 7:31 pm

Expect around RM160k-200k (taking into account malaysian taxes). This is a very educated guess based on the US price which is 24k USD. One of the main things about the BRZ/GT86 is how toyota/subaru wanted an “affordable” sports car for the masses.

I guess it’s time to save up a bit guys. :)

• steam_man on Dec 08, 2011 at 11:43 pm

as if who can afford it.

it will be like 370z, or evo x.

very very few ppl can afford.

what a pity

it is supposed to be an affordable sports car.

• altecs on Dec 09, 2011 at 2:03 pm

It is “affordable” for a sports car. It’s about half the price of a new evo X or a new 370z. If you want it any cheaper then I dunno what to say.. were you expecting it be priced similar to a vios or city? This is the cheapest “real” sports car released in years, if you still can’t afford it then it’s just your fault for not earning much.

• adiia on Dec 11, 2011 at 8:12 am

half of evo x like rm150000? you think this car will be selling at camry price?

you are such a baby.

dont be silly.

i know your saga blm and persona are good, but save your breath dude. finish your spm before you come to comment here.

• ntahpa2 on Dec 08, 2011 at 5:14 pm

perodua pls rebadge this & sell less than RM75,000.00…plsss………

• vtecroar on Dec 08, 2011 at 5:27 pm

hahaha..kalo perodua buat ni, mmg aku angkat. x kesah la kalo badge perodua pn…

• noNickNAme on Dec 08, 2011 at 5:30 pm

Mimpi disiang hari la bro, kalau la perodua rebadge pun, ko takkan dpat harga tu. Myvi yang x power dan x best tu pun dia jual sampai RM50k.

• Naji$ Bin Tun RosMah Lazat on Dec 08, 2011 at 5:49 pm

Please keep with your wonderful dream….

• even with P2 badge will cost RM175,000.

• i_swear on Dec 08, 2011 at 8:53 pm

Brother, please register to ssw.com (slow slow wait). Maybe you can wait till that price

• kereta lembu on Dec 08, 2011 at 8:54 pm

Less than 75k for this car? Hmmm….I wonder how much is the current Kebara’s price? :P So, you can practically kiss your dreams goodbye.

• bersih on Dec 08, 2011 at 9:04 pm

P2 punya badge lagi Mahal Lagi tidak best!!!! Dia ingat dia punya myvi Toyota!!!!

• peeps on Dec 08, 2011 at 5:16 pm

drooolss… hope they have turbo version easily punch out 250hp.

• toyota fans on Dec 08, 2011 at 11:52 pm

toyota keep this NA, is bcoz of AE86 also from NA..
      just like nissan R32-R35, keep using circle type tailamp…
      this is AE86 legend

• peeps on Dec 09, 2011 at 10:05 am

we’re talking about subaru here.. hell knows AE86 is NA but this is subaru version so they should come out with their well known turbos and slap on it. comeon, so whats the different selling same car, same platform? if im the customer, ill be confused..

• night_hawk_xtreme on Dec 08, 2011 at 5:22 pm

Owww…….. Yeah!!!!! hahahaha!!!
    i loike love you BRZ X0x0x0

• Probably limited edition, 10 units only for PR purposes. So easy to get AP meh. :)

• William on Dec 08, 2011 at 5:26 pm

Tan Chong sure bring it in with overprice price tag :)

• ben yap on Dec 08, 2011 at 6:28 pm

Subaru by tan chong? that’s so funny. it is by Motor Image.

• http://www.motorimage.net/MIG/aboutus/motorimage.php

This wholly owned subsidiary of Tan Chong International Limited (TCIL), a group listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange..
        Same Tan Chong no?

• sleepwalker on Dec 08, 2011 at 8:58 pm

… and guess who owns Motor Image? At their current PJ office there are 2 companies there.. Motor Image Sdn. Bhd. & TC Subaru Sdn. Bhd. Both are listed by Subaru as distributors for Malaysia. Gee.. I wonder what the ‘TC’ in TC Subaru stands for… your guess?

• racotua on Dec 08, 2011 at 9:44 pm

motor image is by tan chong

• squawk on Dec 08, 2011 at 11:09 pm

Owned by TC. :-)

• Ho W.K. on Dec 08, 2011 at 11:27 pm

Motor Image is by Tan Chong..lah

• 4agze on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:30 am

now you just make fun of yourself

• dont ask him to guess, he’s incapable of doing it. =P

cant wait for it to reach our shore!! =)

• Kwame on Dec 09, 2011 at 10:40 am

Tan Chong also produces canned sardines. You can find it at tesco by the name of TC Boy. Hahahah..

• someguy on Dec 08, 2011 at 5:55 pm

While it should cost around rm150k given the US pricing, it’ll most certainly have the hyped up price of 200k like the civic type-r. sigh.

• beatnik on Dec 09, 2011 at 2:39 pm

I agree, although it *might* fill in the same category, but the type-r family is different. the gt86,brz don’t come with brembo brakes & recaro seats i suppose? to sell at rm200k the car must have something special, like GT86 TRD or BRZ STi.

• OH. MY. GOD.

I. LIKE.

this is great, maybe I can pick this up as a special weekend car if I have the cash…

• someguy on Dec 08, 2011 at 5:57 pm

While it should be priced around rm150k given the US pricing, it would more likely have a hyped up price tag of rm200k like the civic type-r

• carazy on Dec 08, 2011 at 6:04 pm

if the price is around civic type R, I suppose it will be next hot cake for subaru Malaysia.. and the best part is RWD!!

• astra freak on Dec 08, 2011 at 6:19 pm

ala takat 205Nm tu proton pun boleh buat..lagi jimat 1.6 je turbo pulak tu

• johnson on Dec 08, 2011 at 6:21 pm

I’m still waiting for latest impreza wrx sti sedan version to come to malaysia

• ~Berzerk~ on Dec 08, 2011 at 6:31 pm

i think with all the taxes etc, it will easily go ard RM250k unless they intro a hybrid version LOL…then it will be cheap like CRZ haha

• shawal on Dec 08, 2011 at 6:52 pm

I want a sports car to get chicka chickas…

• jay8393 on Dec 08, 2011 at 7:14 pm

Good news, but if this is the case, will Toyota bring in theirs?

• drMpower on Dec 08, 2011 at 8:05 pm

My guess it will at 180k.minimum.
    Be it toyota or subaru version at 2L with 200bhp, thats the indicated market price for similar classes.new car

• luqae on Dec 08, 2011 at 8:17 pm

Heard from someone inside toyota, umw toyota is bringing the gt 86 around april.

• Henry on Dec 08, 2011 at 8:29 pm

The face sure look like the Peugeot 308.

• mmouse on Dec 08, 2011 at 8:42 pm

“the show girls did not offer to follow me home” – Are you sure they are girls?

• Nuffsaid on Dec 09, 2011 at 3:29 pm

My 14-year old nephew who loves cars asked me what’s so great about show girls follow Danny home?
      I really do not know how to provide him a convincing answer without showing that I was lying!! >..<

• Danny Tan (Member) on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:44 am

14 years old, I think he’s old enough – just show him our previous motor show girly galleries :)

• iLikewheels on Dec 08, 2011 at 9:35 pm

when this baby comes to papa, i want to put toyota emblem side by side with subaru emblem….and it makes me diehard fan for T n S instead of T and H……

• RedBeanBun on Dec 08, 2011 at 9:42 pm

how much its going to sell? RM500K?

• an651 on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:07 pm

ahhhhh…. cant help from having orgasm with this

• Bongcs on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:31 pm

Ok:

PRICE: RM195,000

SUBARU TAKE: RM100,000

GOV + AP TAKE: 80,000

INSURANCE TAKE: 15,000.

• robert tan on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:34 pm

If it was between 200-250 k, i would but one in a jiffy.

• spyrers on Dec 08, 2011 at 10:41 pm

I would prefer if they brought in the GT86.

• tricycle on Dec 08, 2011 at 11:07 pm

Good job Subbrew (Americana slang) in bringing 200hp car with rear wheel drive and shift stick. Sweeetttttt!

• Piccolo on Dec 08, 2011 at 11:25 pm

Kia Forte Koup should be better choice much cooler and sportier..

If you agree with me thumbs down but if you disagree thumbs up.

• looking-good on Dec 09, 2011 at 1:48 am

dun talk nonsense here pls…

• beatnik on Dec 09, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Forte Koup is for all gaya only. It is a nice car, but boring.

True drivers will pick the GT86/BRZ with manual shifter anyday. It has more character.

• armandd on Dec 08, 2011 at 11:39 pm

we need more cars like this, not the ancient avanza!

• Dato Seri on Dec 09, 2011 at 12:42 am

Nice! Can I book the car now at motor image?

• Black on Dec 09, 2011 at 12:55 am

RM190k – RM220K.

• looking-good on Dec 09, 2011 at 1:58 am

another ah beng car to be…

like how the 350Z on the road now…

sigh~~

• ae101 on Dec 09, 2011 at 10:08 am

define ahbeng criteria plzz.. morning not enough sleep ah? or u drunk because just back from beer session?

• looking-good on Dec 09, 2011 at 12:52 pm

ah beng & ah lian sit in the car together, and u will know it..
        or u dun realized urself is one of them…

• ae101 on Dec 09, 2011 at 5:03 pm

sighhhh.. are you retard?. you really think car manufacturer simply design the shape? you think nissan engineer so dump simply design 350z shape? think man! think! dont u know what is call aerodynamic??? think more. if not ur brain will fill with rumput. is the ppl who modified the car and drive like ah beng. you give bmw to ah beng then the car also will become ah beng.

• looking-good on Dec 10, 2011 at 2:16 am

true, and u talk like ah beng now.. ah beng :)

• ae101 on Dec 10, 2011 at 10:49 am

i prefer ah beng rather than brain fill with rumput. somemore looking good retarded. so pity :)

• blackjkx on Dec 09, 2011 at 12:25 pm

yeah, agree..ah beng like to make-up the 350Z like clown on the road.
      Anyway, this car look like it came out from China design studio.

• azrai on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:38 am

“Aiyaa…I thought Perodua gonna rebadged this at Rawang plant. If so, I will wait for the Extreme version. Sure best maa..”, Ah Beng’s said last night after reading this news.

• seancorr on Dec 09, 2011 at 12:15 pm

Selling this baby for less than 200k will be a surprise. Motor Image price list for the other Subaru vehicles are already expensive to begin with.

• Gavin on Dec 09, 2011 at 12:52 pm

If it’s anything between 10-30k difference to the Golf GTi, i can’t see a single reason to not the GTi instead, much nicer interior, more space, great engine and gearbox combo

• Waja Owner on Dec 09, 2011 at 3:11 pm

The only reason i would buy this is because:-
      1. Rear wheel drive
      2.AT86 Legacy

Other than that it is dissapointing because toyota raise the expectation so high with their concept car…I was waiting for this

Now i think in 2013, I get the Peugeot RCZ…More powerful and more style…It look very close to a concept car

• Gavin on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:03 pm

For me a legacy would be to take what worked in the old car and integrate it into the new.

This car at very very best only shares the name, everything else is not even closely related to the original 86.

• Jerry on Dec 09, 2011 at 1:01 pm

I am not sure if this had already been mentioned here (too many comments to read them all) – but Toyota 86 is confirmed for a Singapore launch in mid-2012.

Methinks Malaysia might get the car at the same time.

• beatnik on Dec 09, 2011 at 2:30 pm

Not sure if UMW is interested in selling such model.. all they know is to rip-off ppl.
      Like last time, they were too late to realize that Wish is selling well in Malaysia.

• tan ah kow on Dec 09, 2011 at 1:18 pm

Two door cars attract higher goverment duties. I think its time to vote for

the opposition.

• GTfans on Dec 09, 2011 at 2:36 pm

Here is about automotive…
      for politic,please go to politic forum debate. Mangkuk !

• tan ah kow on Dec 09, 2011 at 5:23 pm

The government formulate this automotive policy of expensive foreign cars to

protect Proton. If you want this car to better follow world market prices, you should vote for the opposition.

• chevy on Dec 09, 2011 at 5:57 pm

give us turbocharged engine please, if proton plonks in the cfe into its neo, then sure brz couldn’t win

• Jerry on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:25 pm

86’s CE, Tada, is considering supercharger on go-faster variant. BRZ get one too.

• speed demon on Dec 10, 2011 at 12:00 am

i think the price below 200k…maybe around rm170-180k…maybe slightly higher than mazda 3 MPS…coz if they put above rm200 mark better get VW or renault megane rs 250!

• pelams on Dec 11, 2011 at 1:29 pm

i like ur loike..

• ae101 on Dec 11, 2011 at 5:59 pm

I like this car.. but I cannot afford one.. but still i died died won’t buy proton!! it just can’t get me any girl~

• no offence, but how come all other guy friends i know driving proton or perodua have no issue of getting a girl?

or did i miss the “buy a car and get a girl” TnC in their brochures or something?

• nighttrain on Dec 11, 2011 at 6:29 pm

As per usual, they’ll tax it up so tight you can’t even breathe. It’ll be so overpriced there will be over 500 comments here saying it’s overpriced. That’s how expensive this affordable sportscar will be when it reaches our shore. They simply won’t let you buy sportscars or performance cars here in Malaysia. Unless you change government la.. Even then..

• vios08 on Dec 11, 2011 at 11:38 pm

i think the old concept of FT-86 is better in terms of styling..and design..this one not very beauty..

• Safe Driver on Dec 12, 2011 at 12:29 pm

never try, never know.

gov can get so much more revenue from other resources than taxing cars and burdening the people. the key to it is good management. like p island.

car high, toll high, tax high, petrol high. tax until so high.

• Hope both TC & UMW will bring in this car. some said subaru will hv a STI ver later….. so wait & see loh.

• Aaron Isaac on Dec 26, 2011 at 12:36 pm

the car that manufacturers try to make a point (best performance:price ratio), but that theme WILL be compromised in our market.

LOL for the P2 version you guys talked about haha