Tokyo 2011 Live: Toyota GT 86 Coupe unveiled!

The Toyota GT 86 is not something you would expect out of Toyota in recent years. A front mounted high-revving 2.0 litre four-cylinder Subaru boxer engine with Toyota D-4S direct injection technology, rear-wheel drive, a manual transmission and a true coupe body, instead of a stylised 3-door hatchback body masquerading as a coupe. In fact, you probably couldn’t expect something like this from most car manufacturers these days, since the car has a bespoke engine!

The 2.0 litre boxer engine has a high 12.5:1 compression ratio and revs up to 7,000 rpm to produce a peak power of 200 DIN horsepower, a similar normally aspirated power to displacement ratio that we’ve seen before in cars like the Honda Civic Type R and the Renault Clio RS. Peak torque is 205 Nm, achieved at a high 6,600 rpm – this engine should be one happy revver! Enthusiasts will pick to go with the 6-speed manual, but there’s also a 6-speed auto available.

Read Anthony’s coverage of the Toyota GT 86 yesterday for more full details on the new Toyota coupe. Now the question is – will Malaysians be able to buy the GT 86 from UMW Toyota Motor? There’d definitely be plenty of takers if priced well, but I wonder if Toyota will approve the D4-S direct injection system to be used with our Euro 2 petrol.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jay8393 on Nov 30, 2011 at 1:06 pm

Beautiful. just beautiful!

• Nissan on Nov 30, 2011 at 2:29 pm

Yes, but sincerely photographing technique need to be improved.

• erk..look at the interior..
      cheap plastic. typical toyota

• as usual lah! on Dec 01, 2011 at 5:53 pm

piss off! this is RWD!! legend!

• rx-8,3 series,5 series,most merc..
          so many car with rwd nowadays..if toyota want to do a good sportscar,do it properly.
          thats include the interior.

• have you seen the interior in all series of mitsubishi Evo…just horrible

• caldinazz on Nov 30, 2011 at 1:12 pm

superb nice!go toyota sports car!

• krs99 on Nov 30, 2011 at 1:15 pm

to be honest, i dont like the interior (steering and colours)..it reminds me of satria neo..
    not saying satria neo is ugly..but i think the interior of the gt86 lacks some level of class… just my humble opinion.. but besides the interior.. i love it..

• cloudstrife07 on Nov 30, 2011 at 1:18 pm

>sees cockpit
    OH TOYOTA Y U NEED TO REPLICATE THAT INITIAL D SCENE OF ‘NOT SPILLING A CUP FULL OF WATER’ USING PHONE APP??

• Johnny on Nov 30, 2011 at 1:25 pm

Another step towards global warming.. surprisingly from toyota

• paul,

any pictures of the rear seat?

• Paul Tan on Nov 30, 2011 at 2:02 pm

No… they didn’t let us check out the interior.

• littlefire on Dec 01, 2011 at 9:05 am

Well, it is confirm as 2+2 seat (rear is child seat or occasional use only) sport car.. You can still search for other source of pictures in the net.. Is a lot!!!

• sammo on Nov 30, 2011 at 1:49 pm

toyota front – sulking face
    subaru front – smiling face

• farghmee on Nov 30, 2011 at 1:49 pm

this time, no more TOFU ha :)

good looking car!

• mana satu nak beli ni, gt86 atau fd2r?

• ALL cars in my head turns into GT86 !
    Msian petrol is EURO 2 ? >.<

• Jeremyng on Nov 30, 2011 at 1:56 pm

Everytime a car manufacture wan to bring in a complicated advance car to our country, they need to think about our Euro2 petrol again !!!! Since we stay in bolehland , why cant we improve our petrol quality ??? Tired of hearing tons of bullshit excuses =.=

• Hp Tan on Nov 30, 2011 at 2:30 pm

“The Return of The Legendary 86” xD
    Great job!! Toyota!! :D :D

• blackbox on Nov 30, 2011 at 2:35 pm

If this is a high compression engine then most probably our RON95 won’t suit the car. When the car reach our shore in 1 or 2 years time be prepare to pay RM3/L petrol for this car.

• Chris on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:41 pm

Forget RON95. I can’t even use it in my 4AGE during hot afternoons. 12.5:1 comp ratio here, I’m expecting a knock fest even with RON97 :(

Correct me if I’m wrong, but is the 197hp figure measured using Japan’s RON100 petrol? I think the 20valve 4age was measured with high octane petrol and no one really get 165hp out of these…

• littlefire on Dec 01, 2011 at 9:09 am

I have tested V-power on my 4A-GE, not bad the performance… but due to high price… only can pump once in a blue moon… :(

Our cars have to tune down the tps to suit RON95, tested it be4.. got good torque but less hp…

Another option is to buy Octane booster and add on to RON97/V-power.. But also additional cost..

• Chris on Dec 01, 2011 at 12:18 pm

Hur hur, lucky you guys. My 4age is back in Sarawak, no V-power there. It was in the past, blew engine, no more FR toyota for a year already.

I’m actually looking forward to this car. Really hope there’s a base model with no bells and whistles to cut down the cost.

• teelim on Nov 30, 2011 at 2:50 pm

why they did not make it like the concept!?!?

it was sooooo much nicer (esp. the first concept)

• Gavin on Nov 30, 2011 at 3:00 pm

Hmm swathes of dull hard plastics, they spent all the money on the steeering wheel and had to use scraps to make the rest.

Maybe that’s why they didn’t let anyone go inside the car. HAHAHA!

Subaru i think i’ll have yours instead.

• Nelly Furtado on Nov 30, 2011 at 3:02 pm

OMFG, I’m drooling~

• albag on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:18 pm

this car can really makes the driver very very happy…

• RedBeanBun on Nov 30, 2011 at 7:21 pm

looks like copying Gen2 front lights, and Forte back lights…

• Graeme Hunt on Nov 30, 2011 at 7:47 pm

Great photos …thanks :D Looks absolutely stunning, and quite Aston-esque from the a pillar back along the flank, but contrasts nicely with the modern angular lines…good work Toyota

• You can see the specs and new press release photos that just came out today here:
    http://www.allcarwiki.com/wiki/Subaru_BRZ
    http://www.allcarwiki.com/wiki/Toyota_GT-86
    Personally, the car looks awesome, frankly I’m a bit surprised at the low power output I was expecting the Subaru to have an official upper spec with about 200kw. But from what the insiders at Toyota have been saying the car is being designed to be modded. I guess they’re setting up the basics and letting the individual owners determine what power the car should be putting out.

• Keiichi Tsuchiya will love this hachi roku

• vince on Nov 30, 2011 at 8:03 pm

i gues the pric around 280 to 330k

• mangata on Nov 30, 2011 at 9:56 pm

paul wat is a boxer engine n wat makes it special from other engines?

• blackbox on Nov 30, 2011 at 10:20 pm

I’m not paul but I believe one obvious advantage of boxer engine is it will give the car a lower center of gravity due to it dimension. I also have a sweeter engine note. :)
      The disadvantage will be limited after market parts and modification. BTW 7,000 rpm is nothing special for a NA engine. If this engine don’t come with turbo charger in future, this car is just another fun car but fast car.

• marco_polo on Dec 01, 2011 at 6:12 am

Yup swift sport redline is 7200rpm already…..9k-9.5k wud b something special…

• marco_polo on Dec 01, 2011 at 6:16 am

Also a 20-yr old honda beat revs 8100rpm….

• i think the main difference is this

standard engine = vertical piston
      boxer engine = horizontal piston

• veeeeight on Nov 30, 2011 at 11:25 pm

the butt looks ugly….else is preeety..

• something is missing…dunno what but it looks like lack of its special identity…too many lookalike on each part…

cruze tail light, 350z roof body, sonata headlight…

maybe im wrong…but i do prefer it boxy muscle rather than too fluidic (hyundai’s)

hopefully it does perform sideways gracefully with its boxer short :P

• This is the only reason why forumers likes PaulTan very much…

http://paultan.org/2011/11/30/tokyo-2011-live-toyota-gt-86-coupe-unveiled/_dsc4691/

“Skirt too short if you ask me” Hahaha.

• d4-s (with port and direct injection) should be ok,albeit for the lower power output due to our poor petrol grade and ron. intake valves could be kept clean when fuel is sprayed from port injection, compared to just direct injection on d4 without s. i wonder how mark-x 250G and lexus is250 are doing in Msia…

• worldcarfans on Dec 02, 2011 at 4:59 pm

Its not a bad design but if it stay with its original AE 86 boxy design, then we can see the design heritage. AE 86 is such an iconic car. Like the VW beetles…its successor stays to its original design. In certain angles, the GT 86 looks more like a Fairlady 350Z.

• tadasu on Dec 03, 2011 at 12:11 pm

what a cheap looking backlight… it looks like third party / ah beng style backlight…

• It is RWD!!!!!!!!
    It require driving skill to drive it!!! This is what I call a manly car.
    Big engine, big hp, big tyre, 4wd sport car is for lady! Boring…..

• i should settle down with this one …

• Moshi Moshi on Apr 12, 2012 at 9:39 pm

Preder Subaru BRZ …To me..the Toyota looks that it is sulking.. The Subar looks better…anyway it’s just the same car with the same engine and gearbox