VIDEO: 2011 Ford Ranger towing four other rival trucks!

Ford Malaysia has a pretty good track record when it comes to fun and creative ways to promote the popular Ford Ranger truck, which some consider the “bread and butter” of Ford in Malaysia before the successful launch of the Fiesta hatchback.

Reader Hafiz spotted this latest generation Ford Ranger that’s yet to be launched in Malaysia while he was driving his Proton Satria Neo. It didn’t have any disguise on, but it wasn’t just being driven around for testing purposes either.

Sime Darby Auto ConneXion actually had the blue Ranger tow a total of four black trucks – from the rearmost truck in order we have the previous generation Ranger, the Mitsubishi Triton, the Toyota Hilux, and the Isuzu D-MAX! The feat looked so incredible that Hafiz thought he was looking at a Ford F150 at first, not a Ranger which is a segment below.

The most powerful turbodiesel latest-generation Ford Ranger available uses a five-cylinder 3.2 litre unit that puts out 200 PS and strong 470 Nm of torque. That’s more torque than some of the strongest diesel trucks and SUVs in Malaysia! A smaller engine is also available – a 2.2 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel with 150 PS and 375 Nm of torque, not bad for an engine down 300cc on capacity compared to its rivals.

Looks like a brilliant teaser campaign to me, although when we asked Sime Darby Auto ConnneXion, they claimed they were just testing towing payload for JPJ-type approval ;) We still think it’s some kind of intentional teaser though!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• This is what happens when you put a turbo on a diesel (or even a petrol). Do you see or hear that TOYOTA? Stop selling ppl old tech (@Vios). :/

• successful advertisement this is gonna be^^.

• thunder cats on Jan 20, 2012 at 6:16 pm

this video was shot near desa waterpark

• wyejon on Jan 20, 2012 at 6:28 pm

I’d be very surprised if this whole thing wasn’t staged.

• It is so obvious lah. Ford planted this video as some kind of “viral video”. Reader Hafiz eh? More like Planter Hafiz.

You really think some dudes trying to test and record the acceleration of their car wouldn’t check ahead to get some clear road?

• Father Trucker > Mother Trucker?

• Jenson on Jan 20, 2012 at 8:38 pm

MotherF%@& would be appropriate. Any other trucks can do that kind of towing. This is a staged video. Nice marketing trick.

• What the truck !? ..

• VeeDub on Jan 20, 2012 at 7:01 pm

Good vids guys!FORD please launch it faster!

• What’s this….? Good video? This video will look stupid if it’s compared with this http://vodpod.com/watch/15470227-nissan-frontier-landing-gear-commercial?video_path=&u=motorwardcom&c=motorwardcom

• mystvearn on Jan 20, 2012 at 7:12 pm

Reminds me of when TG pulled stuff with tractors. Maybe Ford should tow a boeing 747 next time:P

• alxand on Jan 20, 2012 at 7:14 pm

all car on free gear / neutral so it’s not mission impossible

• MiTec-i on Jan 20, 2012 at 9:06 pm

Dude,would u tow a car on gear?
      Nevertheless, good viral marketing

• klguy on Jan 20, 2012 at 10:07 pm

dude, every single vehicle being towed has its gear in N. dn tell me when ur car breaks down and u put ur gear to P before being towed away by the tow truck

• You mean towing a vehicle is done with the towed vehicle in gear ????!!!!!

Damn, all the tow trucks worldwide must have got it wrong all these time.

• Staged or not that’s what I call a truck la braders. bila launch date? 3.5 tonne tow load. Cool!

• Seriously on Jan 20, 2012 at 8:41 pm

The Ranger’s power? Impressive.
    The staged video attempting to go viral? Not so much.

• Not impressed at all..might be a stupid idea after all..

• DArkerMarker on Jan 20, 2012 at 9:00 pm

haiya….what so special??!!

Last time we had a superman Indian guy that can even pull a PLANE with his HAIR…..
    http://www.malaysiarecords.com.my/worldrecordachievers.php

FORD, you are soooo totally SYOK SENDIRI la……

• mirror mirror on Jan 20, 2012 at 9:53 pm

hm…gives me something to look forward, the Blue Ranger means our PDRM (also blue uniform) is towing 4 black baddies back to the balai, the Ranger is showing them how to make an honest living.

• theuglycloset on Jan 20, 2012 at 10:27 pm

where is navara? ford are afraid that they wont be able to tow them haha

• Navara on Jan 21, 2012 at 12:06 pm

This new ranger has 200hp and 475nm of torque. And it’s way larger than the Navara. Nothing comes close for time being. It’s even more torquey than the 5.3 ltr V8 Hummer.

• zzzzzzzz on Jan 21, 2012 at 6:45 pm

lol,, compare apple to apple! the 200hp is 3.2 Ranger,, Navara 3.0 V6 have 250hp n 550nM dude..!

• Paul Tan on Jan 21, 2012 at 8:16 pm

Now that Navara engine should be sweet, a V6 diesel should sound alot better!

• someone on Jan 21, 2012 at 1:58 pm

Navara was never considered as a competitor. It’s a pity isn’t it….Nissan Malaysia or TCM should do more for Nissan as the models we have here are not the latest ones…..come on TCM….we look forward to seeing more Nissan on the road…..

• i absolutely love the front grill of the Ranger..

• Bring it on! lol 3.0 toyota engine can be scrap….

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Jan 21, 2012 at 12:18 am

The 2.2 pulling 4 pickups… Not surprised at all when his big brother the 3.2 can pull a Locomotif…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZIct9W0gH3k

This will be my second pickup after Navara……. I’ve waited so long for this…

• sfssd on Jan 21, 2012 at 5:53 am

Copy cat?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXM63MLgkaA

Malaysians are never original, even Ford…

• next time should tow the A380, lagi impress.

• francis on Jan 21, 2012 at 11:32 am

Water Test

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hCfrbl2Qbm4&feature=related

But anyone can tell the one pulling 4 truck was a 2.2 or 3.2 variant?
    I have always interested on double-cab truck but due to crampy rear-seats…i hold my plan but this new Ranger seems to be solving my concern.. a very nice sedan-like interior…
    Since the road-tax for 3.2 quite high… im thinking getting the 2.2 just fine..

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Jan 21, 2012 at 9:24 pm

Body coloured bumper with SS Cangaroo bar is for 2.2 while the Wild Track 3.2 has 2 tone colour and covered CB. And blue is for 2.2.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Jan 22, 2012 at 1:57 am

Sorry I’ve re-checked the spec, Its the 3.2 XLT and not the 2.2XL

http://www.ford.com.au/servlet/Satellite?c=DFYPage&cid=1248885252235&pagename=wrapper&site=FOA

And the towing capability

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MgBTcBo3G3Q&feature=related

Really wanted to see the true power of 2.2XL, an option to Navara

• I remember seeing a satria (old one) towing 3 cars, 1 camry (old one), 1 wira, and a 3 door old pajero around a junkyard… so it’s nothing though.. anyway i remember watching a clip of a truck (forgot what brand and model) rescuing a plane because the plane’s front landing gear didn’t work and the plane uses the truck as the landing gear… a lot of people trusted the clip but not me!! pffftttt

• im thinking if other brand of trucks can tow that ford..its same anyway..

• pelam on Jan 21, 2012 at 2:57 pm

but y r d pick up truck/suv roadtax r more xpensive?
    (correct me if im wrong)

• Yes, any brand can tow any other brand. But its whether they dare doing such a thing or not? Ford’s marketing deserves the kudos for championing direct poking at competitors.

• PokokCerryMechanic on Jan 21, 2012 at 6:37 pm

>>JOKE<<
    Buy 1 Latest Ford Ranger. u'll get 3 rival truck and 1 previous model with towing kit as STANDARD equipment. Now you can do it like the commercial.

Like the aggressive look on it…but towing in a straight line look easy..try it off road XD..
    RANGER BUILD TOUGH~!!!!

• Abidal on Jan 21, 2012 at 6:46 pm

Navara major rival is coming…!!

• downsys on Jan 21, 2012 at 7:45 pm

It’s not really about dare or not. I think it’s part of advertising law in Malaysia that u can’t put down other brands (for example, Energizer can’t make an advert about how their batteries last longer than Duracell). Basically, an advert shouldn’t involve a competitor’s product in plain sight (unless they say Brand X). But this ad is going the viral route, where u can’t easily prove if it’s fake or not. Obviously this is staged, seeing how the Satria went as far as stopping by the road just to record it and the intro of trying to record the high rev yet ‘suddenly’ seeing the ford.

• Ahmad Albaab on Jan 22, 2012 at 11:49 pm

Ala 4 trucks on a level road? Even kancil can do it la… the most important is the 1st move (break inertia moment)….

• Turbodiesel on Jan 23, 2012 at 11:31 am

lol, Kancil’s Body will fail and break before it manage move 4 trucks.

• FORD RANGER, THE KING OF PICK-UP, I LOVE IT!!!