Mitsubishi Proudia and Dignity – rebadged Infiniti M

Not too long ago, there were talks that Proton was seeking to rebadge the Nissan Fuga a.k.a. Infiniti M as the new Perdana. That one didn’t materialise, but Proton’s old Japanese friend and partner has pulled off the trick.

Mitsubishi has revived its Proudia and Dignity luxury nameplates, courtesy of the Infiniti M. This is part of an ongoing cooperation between Nissan and MMC, which has seen the companies “exchange” some vehicles for rebdaging and co-develop others.

Last seen in the late 90s, the Proudia and Dignity were MMC’s full sized luxury flagships, where the latter played the limo role. Today, the Proudia is based on the standard wheelbase Y51 Infiniti M, while the Dignity is based on the long wheelbase M, as sold in China. The LWB M (2,900 mm wheelbase extended by 150 mm) is known as the Nissan Cima in Japan.

Nothing much has changed on the Proudia and Dignity, other than a waterfall style front grille, a re-sculptured front bumper and MMC’s diamond badges, of course. Like the M sedan sold here, the Proudia can be had with two engines, a 3.7L V6 (333 PS in RWD or AWD) and a 2.5L V6 (225 PS RWD).

The Dignity on the other hand gets a hybrid drivetrain found in the Infiniti M35h, often advertised as the world’s fastest hybrid. The combo consists of a 3.5L V6 petrol engine to an electric motor for a total system output of 364 PS. The M35h is sold in Malaysia – read all about it here.

The range starts from 4,022,000 Yen (RM158,087) for the Proudia 250 to 8,400,000 Yen (RM330,167) for the VIP spec Dignity.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• putra_rider on Jul 09, 2012 at 11:47 am

oh its not Perodua..

• BeemerFreak on Jul 09, 2012 at 11:52 am

What is the point of these Mitsubishi cars when the Infiniti brand is so much more supreme and is not priced too far apart

• Desmond on Jul 09, 2012 at 12:15 pm

Fyi, the Infiniti M is the Nissan Fuga at Japan, Nissan brand ain’t much more supreme right?

• bonbon on Jul 09, 2012 at 12:16 pm

maybe in some market mitsu have better image then infiniti, even with internet ,people know what who are the original owner but in marketing, even perodua can be better sales/image then proton … that why big corporate have strategy department too

• MoFaz on Jul 09, 2012 at 11:54 am

will Mitsu give Proudia to Proton and become Perodua?

• carnoisseur on Jul 09, 2012 at 12:14 pm

a name like that ……i will stick to infiniti

• Did they sack the designers of current lancer and evo? THis car looks fugly!

• theanswer on Jul 09, 2012 at 3:46 pm

u didnt read the article right? not mitsu who design the car..it’s nissan.

• AripSon on Jul 09, 2012 at 12:25 pm

I think later on, this would be the replacement for Perdana cars for government usage… Since taikos at Mitsu got the car through some nego behind the scene, I believe the intention of P1 to re-badge will be materialized. Politics somehow got their own way of settling things. Remember, Mitsu is somekind of GLC in Japan…

• lenglui on Jul 09, 2012 at 3:47 pm

no it wont. let them use the perdana. its gonna be like the Hindustan Ambassador, the car that is still in production even after 50 years. and we wont mind. good for them.

• orang biasa on Jul 09, 2012 at 7:23 pm

Nope… this will not be perdana replacement model… for sure… heheheheheh… waiiittt…..

• The Mitsu badge on the steering wheel looks like an afterthought

• sonyman on Jul 09, 2012 at 12:29 pm

nah, this is the correct strategy, soon, this unit will be rebadge to be proton perdana, sell at RM 120K on the road.

• I really want to know what’s the purpose of rebadging cars?

• I dun get ppl like u. Pride over economy sense perhaps?

Wat exactly is wrong wit rebadging cars when its not meant to be a mainstream seller anyway.

• Leonardo on Jul 09, 2012 at 4:23 pm

Go and google ‘rebadging’.

• Anon Kneemas on Jul 09, 2012 at 12:32 pm

Proudia? Dignity? Oh the irony of these lazily put together examples of rebadging.

• matlimmutu on Jul 09, 2012 at 12:34 pm

i’m glad that proton didn’t rebadge this ugly car.

• If only this Is the replacement for the long due Perdana…

• c~two on Jul 09, 2012 at 1:24 pm

ask proton to rebadge this, then, MMC won’t lose, proton get a new perdana and rakyat can enjoy infinity DNA, win win solution!

• alldisc on Jul 09, 2012 at 1:29 pm

now proton will rebadge the Fuga as all new Perdana.

car manufacturers rebadge thing is nothing new, started as early as 1980s between Mazda and Ford of Japan (323/Laser, 626/Telstar).

between Toyota and Daihatsu are all familiar with us, other than Boon/Passo, there is Terios/Cami (later Rush).

Subaru rebadged Opel Zafira/Chevrolet Nabira as Traviq, only for sale in Japan.

Mitsubishi Town Box which was rebadged as Proton Juara was also rebadged by Nissan, calling them Clipper.

many more collaboration that we may not know, as many are for JDM only.

• Infiniti M25 2.5 V6
    MALAYSIA – RM 350,000
    JAPAN – 4,022,000 Yen (RM158,087)

Infiniti M35 Hybrid 3.5 V6
    MALAYSIA – RM 499,000
    JAPAN – 8,400,000 Yen (RM330,167)

• So many unlikes, means you guys do not mind paying almost double the price of the real thing? How pathetic.

• that’s how the tax structure works in Malaysia. Happy or not…U have to accept it..Or not the only way is to leave this country

• How much u think when it arrived Boleh Land?
    Tambah another 100% of existing price!! sigh!!

• confused on Jul 09, 2012 at 3:11 pm

Lol at the emblem on the steering wheel..

• napster on Jul 09, 2012 at 3:40 pm

I’d buy this. Nissan makes good cars, and their engines are world-renowned, and even won Ward’s best engine some time ago with the Cefiro. At the right price, yes, I would.

• at first i saw this post, i thought its a new Perodua and i first wow feeling in my mind but finally i realised its a mitsubishi rebadge car..~

• robby on Jul 09, 2012 at 5:18 pm

better For Proton to work with Opel (aka Vauxhall in UK).. then give us the new Insignia. they need a car to compete with Camry/Accord, not high end like Infiniti, Lexus or BMW.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 09, 2012 at 5:40 pm

Its going to be difficult for Proton to work with anyone. Your example of Opel, is probably a no go. Its a far too expensive chassis to be working on.

If Proton is going to come up with a D segment car, its most likely going to re-use a chassis one generation back, and repackage it.

I wont be surprised if Proton re-cycle the old Hyundai NF chassis. Its not a looker, but its half bad considering….and it runs almost the same mitsu related drivetrain….something both Proton and DRB is familiar with. I wont be complaining if Proton can re-cycle an older chassis and price it 110-120K for D segment (which is what the old NF was going for).

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 09, 2012 at 5:49 pm

As for this Mitsu rebadge, I can see why they are doing it. Its current Galant has been a big flop in its biggest market (North America) – and old being launched in 2003, and probably did not see to justify developing a car own its own. As it is, the entire lineup (save the Lancer) is critically long in the tooth.

The only question is, how would it position its Nissan step son against the popular Infiniti range there…. and given the doner car, its most likely will replace the space vacated by the Diamante.

• robby on Jul 09, 2012 at 10:31 pm

thanks for clarify 4G63T DSM.. appreciated that.

• orange on Jul 10, 2012 at 9:33 am

I always dream on this car…and i don’t care if it is rebadged as long I can enjoy it at lower margin price.. plz proton rebadged it

• napster on Jul 10, 2012 at 11:02 am

Alternatively, spend RM300k on a Mitsuoka Galue III. This uses the Fuga chasis and interior, but gives it the classic car panels externally… ;)

• jackey on Jul 10, 2012 at 1:48 pm

Proton rebadge this car, sure can beat T & H. Proton also have to improve 3s centre services, this is the importent point.

• shawal on Jul 10, 2012 at 3:49 pm

1 stop closer to rebadging it to proton perdana~!
    if its priced right ,who cares ….
    just saw 1 infinity M25 , looks better in the metal

• not the moron on Jul 13, 2012 at 1:54 pm

i thought this crap was from mitsuoka.