Kia Cadenza to be facelifted and upgraded for 2013

The Kia Cadenza (known as the K7 in Korea) will get a new look and some enhancements for the next model year – the wraps have come off the updated front-wheel drive luxury sedan at an event in Korea. It will be available in its home market from next month, and go on sale in different parts of the world during the first half of next year.

Inheriting some of the design elements from the flagship Quoris (K9 in Korea) and bringing it visually in line with the rest of the current range, the 2013 Cadenza’s bonnet, boot lid, front and rear lamps and bumpers are new, while side air vents now adorn the front wings.

The distinctive ‘tiger nose’ grille is re-interpreted – the pre-facelift car had horizontal slats in its grille, while this one appears to have a trapezoidal mesh arrangement. The big chrome grille surround is replaced by one that wraps around the ‘tiger nose’ more tightly.

Kia says the Korean-made Cadenza will also get a raft of new comfort, convenience and safety technologies. Reports say that Korean media mentioned a new interior, but the lack of pictures means we’ll have to wait for further announcements to be sure.

Meanwhile, for a blast from the past, check out this cool commercial Kia released back in 2009 when the Cadenza was launched.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• JUNJUN on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:41 pm

I TOT LANCER 2013 OR BMW 5 SIRIES FACELIFT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 24
    • Cari fasal on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:46 am

wow new trash crap from KIA..
      hahaha..
      looks only bit OK but ride/brake/handling/power delivery sucks :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 31
      • One thing for sure, way better than rubbish proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 31
      • AntiMyV on Nov 01, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Have you drove one before ? I am pretty sure you are driving potong only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 32
      • Sam Loo on Nov 10, 2012 at 2:06 pm

Korean Cars in Sydney are like Protons.

An ozzies also like cars with low maintenance and ultra reliable, and Kinchis are not one of them

Only see them once in a blue moon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
  • Sam Loo on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:42 pm

Would love to own one, 6 months later at 50% the value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 53
    • For investment, buy a property.
      For losing money, own a mistress.

You should probably earn more money if all you care is resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 36
    • Turboman on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:26 pm

The parrot is back!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 39
    • Kent Loh on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:39 pm

Still stick to this lame thing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 38
    • Cari fasal on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:49 am

WRONG SAM..
      moment u get the key its already 30-40% off the price (YET not drive out from sales centre)..
      and add few more days its already 50% less price..
      DISCOUNT DISCOUNT…

should i say BUY1 free1..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 24
      • Turboman on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:40 am

Care to back up your points with actual sale? NOt just rhetoric. Myself and a few pt.com posters are still keen to take up your offer for a 50-75percent or watever number sam plucks from the air discount for a 1 year car. U have any or know anyone?

U see, thats the problem with Malaysians. U read the newspaper, u see lots of noise being made by certain groups and these ppl are given space by the media. But if u apply some critical thinking onto their argument ( with some logic and common sense ), most of their argument don’t hold any water. But i guess critical thinking skill is not a common skill among malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 35
      • Turboman on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:48 am

And yet we wonder and scream six days to sunday why the median salaries for graduates in Malaysia is still low compared to the graduates from first world countries?

Typical problem
        1) Unable to think critically.
        2) Make sweeping statements without proofs.
        3) Poor command of english

We see 1 and 2 in this forum very often.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 35
      • Sam Loo on Nov 11, 2012 at 10:19 pm

Looks like the anti-Korean camp is getting stronger as more and more people are burnt by poor RV as a result of poor car quality and lousy design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • blackBJQ on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:42 pm

both kia & hyundai current designs always fascinates me, except the wheels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 40
    • Sam Loo on Nov 10, 2012 at 2:13 pm

Both the RV of Kia and Hyundai never fails to be so consistent.

Drop 50% within 1 year of ownership

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • juz4fun on Oct 29, 2012 at 3:08 pm

Damn nice design very chun….but i’m staying out of it, i wouldn’t pay anything more than RM100k for a korean as i know it bites real hard when i want to get rid of it. No hard feeling guys, juz reflecting it upon myself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 40
    • Sam Loo on Dec 02, 2012 at 3:44 pm

Smart Man.

It’s a very polite way of saying kimchis have ultra poor RV

• Hyundai De La Junk on Oct 29, 2012 at 3:10 pm

It’s a Beemer, It’s a Audi, It’s a Lancer, Damn just a KIAsu. :-(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 33
    • so..what car do you own?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 30
    • Kent Loh on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:28 pm

Yes!!!
      Front BMW,rear is Audi.
      COPYCAT JUNK!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 27
    • Turboman on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:28 pm

I see u don’t know much abt cars.

Beemer is for BMW bikes. Bimmer is for their cars.

Can’t blame u since u only stick to those so called high RV cars and not living your life to the fullest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 37
  • ben yap on Oct 29, 2012 at 3:11 pm

why malaysia don’t have this car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 30
  • Only in Malaysia korean car still has bad resale value. In most other countries it’s resale is already on par with the japanese (if not better). If you worry about resale value pls stick with T & H’s third world models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 34
    • jimmyphon on Oct 29, 2012 at 5:50 pm

Where you got your info from? Based on this data, you are 100% wrong.

http://www.thetruthaboutcars.com/2012/04/which-car-holds-its-value-best/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
    • Hyundai De La Junk on Oct 29, 2012 at 6:40 pm

Really ? How come not a single korean car make it to the list of car with best resale value in USA & UK 2012, ? So which country where korean car have good resale value ? Let me guess your answer is South Korea :-D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 15
      • Turboman on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:28 am

In US and UK, their toyotas and hondas are highly speced with good number of airbags and stability control.

But do you see Vios and City in those markets? Or your fav camry with no stab control and only 2 airbags in those markets? Back home, RV is worshipped despite their owners being shafted till kingdom come by offering them underspeced models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 37
      • Sam Loo on Nov 10, 2012 at 2:14 pm

Well, in Malaysia, Hyundais and Kias are highly speced.

Why does it still have poor RV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • Hanep on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:16 pm

I thought K7 introduced first then K5 after that. But what here in Malaysia only got K5. Why no K7 here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 29
  • AutoAlcoholic on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:00 pm

did it cloned BMW ? It looks similar to it.
    well , i’m not really surprised with this Kia :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
  • sidhu on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:13 pm

Just buy a car you like, forget about the resale value and all.. Life is short, you dont want to be driving something that looks like a T & H right? So take a leap, i made it and no regrets at all..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 33
  • amadani on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:27 pm

Buy a car that we are happy to drive and nice to look at it always,its will satisfied our need and feeling.do not bother other people feeling its our money so we buy what we wants.My self own kia forte , next Kia k3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 30
  • Kia is always the best except in Malaysia not because of the quality but because of the useless & old minded mentality of Honda/Toyota supporter.
    Honda & Toyota current craps are no where near Kia currently except at the rear of a Korean car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 30
    • jimmyphon on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:54 pm

Korean products are rubbish, good at marketing and gimmicks only. Just like samsung, will only last for a year or maybe a few extra months and then kaput.

Ask any sales man. Most electronic shop won’t sell ‘extended’ warranties for samsung or korean products because they know it will break when the warranty expires.

This is a fact.

Korean products = rubbish. I did go for a china make anytime. Cheaper and equally lousy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 18
      • Cari fasal on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:56 am

this i got to agree
        in malaysia
        just like what happen before AUG 2008; back then hyundai cars comes with 2 years or 50k km warranty
        YES after the 2nd year all brake up apart.. part by part..
        name it the driveshaft…
        the brake system..
        the suspension..
        the ESP/TCS sensor..

now even its with 5 years
        see how long take for them to replace the part
        they even seek way to void u simply coz they dont want to change it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 13
        • Turboman on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:31 am

Just one case? I can quote a case with toyota also.

What about my fiance dad’s optima. He bought it 8 years ago, drove the shit out of it for 8 years to 150000km, and over that 8 years, only change engine oil, filter, absorbers and the usual brake pads/fluids.

And my colleague’s 9 year old Hyundai Sonata. 130000km, and change oil, brakes and usual fluids only.

So still wanna take one case and extrapolate to the whole world? C’mon, if u receive enough education, u know that extrapolation with limited data point ( your case, only 1 ) is very inaccurate and misleading. But as usual, i blame the education system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 37
        • But nothing is worse than Proton. Proton still the king of junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 35
      • drift_81 on Oct 30, 2012 at 8:47 am

LG make display for Iphone.Samsung 8% revenue is from Apple.So,do you think Apple is best?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 33
      • Sam Loo on Nov 11, 2012 at 10:23 pm

Kimchis can come with 10 year 300,000kms warranty, but it will still have poor RV.

You will be tied down with a RM2,000 per service bill for the next 10 years, so, the warranty pays for itself.

This is no different to buying health insurance for your car (ala Medibank Private on Oz). And worse still, the recurring maintenance will skyrocket to RM10K per annum by the 5th year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
  • Jilbaber on Oct 30, 2012 at 6:56 am

this look so cool ! Please bring it here !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 39
  • for all Toyota and Honda lovers here, pls dont slam Korean cars lovers. No matter how disgusted you felt on on Korean cars, they are improving by leaps and bounds. Yes, resale value is still sucks here due to diehard supporters of Honda and Toyota brands. Spare parts availability is easily optainable now for Korean cars. Indeed i shall say Naza Kia and Sime Darby has done a pretty good jobs here. Pls give them some chance to improve. None of the manufacturers in the world can produce a faultyless car. Have u forgotten that Toyota and Honda has massive recall on their cars? Even my friend who bought an expensive E250 CGI, the first 8 months, every month he has to go back to the service center to fix some problems in his car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 36
    • Korean cars improved leaps and bounds, and proton remain as rubbish. If you want to bash, go bash Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 37
      • zidane on Nov 01, 2012 at 11:32 am

so, how much korean govt pay you for this support?

hahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
    • AntiMyV on Nov 01, 2012 at 10:44 pm

Yes. Latest is Toyota recall for power window.. ka ka ka. Jap cars no 1 for recalls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 38
      • Sam Loo on Nov 10, 2012 at 2:16 pm

And Kia and Hyundai dun even bother to recall cars with airbag defects.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
        • please dun speak on behalf toyota owner, u r not qualified, toyota onwer are high level and rich people.