Kia Cadenza officially unveiled in Korea!

Kia has officially launched the all new Cadenza “luxury sports sedan” in Korea where it is simply called the K7. Along with the launch the automaker also revealed that the Cadenza will go on sale worldwide sometime next year after making its world debut at the Riyadh Motor Show in Saudi Arabia on 12 December. The Cadenza measures 4965 mm long, 1850 mm wide, 1475 mm high and has a wheelbase that is figured at 2845 mm, and just for the sake of comparing the latest E-Class has a 2874 mm wheelbase.

The 2065 kg sedan is powered by a transversely-mounted 3.5 litre Lambda II V6 that can produce 290 PS at 6600 revs and 338Nm of torque at 5000 revs. The engine is paired with a 6-speed automatic transmission with sequential manual mode. According to Kia, 0 – 100 km/h would take 7.2 seconds while top speed is rated at 230 km/h.

Kia also revealed that two more engine options will be available as well, positioned below the V6. These engines will have power outputs starting from 165 PS. Suspension wise it has a MacPherson strut setup up front while the rear is treated to a multi-link configuration. With the above V6 unit, the vehicle has an estimated fuel consumption figure of 9.36 litre per 100 km (combined).

Exterior highlights include LED position lights up front, taillights also with LEDs as well as a full-length three-part glass panoramic roof that will be available as an option. Interior features include a ‘welcome’ system, mood lighting strip that runs across the two-tier dashboard and all around the door trims, dual-zone climate control, keyless entry, engine ‘start’ button, a reversing safety camera with interior mirror display screen and more. My impression of the Cadenza? Not bad. Continue reading to view an image gallery that includes some shots of the interior as well as to watch a video of the Kia Cadenza.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=642]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Proton can compete in any segment, only 1.6l engine for all models, ha ha ha.

• xenogearz on Nov 25, 2009 at 5:09 pm

does this car's design got the touch of Peter Scheyer as well?

• Milton Quek on Nov 25, 2009 at 5:11 pm

It's quite huge.

• 1st..

• vbkcheng (Member) on Nov 25, 2009 at 5:24 pm

Wor, see how Korean move…we Malaysia still in our dream land… What is Boleh… Can our Perdana complete in this segment?

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 25, 2009 at 5:28 pm

ugly….

• satrian on Nov 25, 2009 at 5:29 pm

First!!!

Such a lovely piece from korea………hmmm some DNA from Audi A4 ,asian Camry,Accord and Saab here and there

• satrian on Nov 25, 2009 at 5:29 pm

sorryy……3rd………hhahahahaahah……

• stephenstreets on Nov 25, 2009 at 5:50 pm

Can compete but only after losing RM300 million a year in profit again, just like this year..Haiz desptite the fact every 4 out of 10 cars on malaysian road is a proton still can lose money.

—————————————————————-

vbkcheng said,

November 25, 2009 @ 9:24 am

Wor, see how Korean move…we Malaysia still in our dream land… What is Boleh… Can our Perdana complete in this segment?

• alldisc on Nov 25, 2009 at 6:05 pm

One word – smart!

• dsniper on Nov 25, 2009 at 6:13 pm

hate to say this, after bad ownership experience! But this KIA looks really good!

• wochomi on Nov 25, 2009 at 6:19 pm

Proton memang boleh compete with new turbo engine coming out soon… by then their version of turbo would have been stoneage.

• squawk on Nov 25, 2009 at 6:21 pm

Koreans are moving fast. Not just with cars. Check out KAIST ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/KAIST ). They're experimenting with self-drive cars and electric buses.

The electric bus concept is interesting because they're powered by electromagnetic fields planted in the road so they can basically run all day.

• Terbaboo on Nov 25, 2009 at 6:27 pm

sikit2 nk libatkan Proton..childish!..huhu…neway nice car..love the dashboard..n the tail looks like the Q7 i think..cheers!

• cadillac on Nov 25, 2009 at 6:29 pm

The car weighs slightly more than 2 tons. isn't it too heavy for a car? if Kia launches the 165ps engine, it will be so underpowered with that weight. Probably it cannot even overtake a tractor. hahahahaha!

• scottloeb on Nov 25, 2009 at 6:31 pm

Paul,

Any news on the Fortis? I believe they launched the car (as per reported by Autow***d)

• hadi1975 on Nov 25, 2009 at 6:47 pm

is it me or there's a hint of audi at the rear and side profile plus the front looks like the new facelifted camry… but nice car. our beloved carmaker still got a long way to go what with the one and only engine…..

• Black Dog on Nov 25, 2009 at 6:48 pm

The front, rear and interior all looks good. The design language is a huge improvement than their previous models.

I like the fact that they have sunroots for most of their new models now. And for a car manufacturer to launch so many models (Forte, Soul, Sorento, Cadenza etc) almost at the same time is unbelievable!

• Black Dog on Nov 25, 2009 at 6:50 pm

The front, rear and interior all looks good. The design language is a huge improvement than their previous models.

I like the fact that they have sunroots for most of their new models now. And for a car manufacturer to launch so many models (Forte, Soul, Sorento, Koup, Cadenza etc) almost at the same time is unbelievable!

• xenogearz on Nov 25, 2009 at 6:51 pm

scottloeb,

It's not Fortis. It's called Forte. Just Forte. The badge on the exterior is Naza while the badge on the steering is Kia.

I believe the Forte will be launched this evening at Pavillion KL at about 4.45 p.m. Hope to read an article on the Forte on this website tonight =)

• squawk on Nov 25, 2009 at 6:59 pm

hadi, not surprising. Kia's design director was responsible for the original Audi TT and he also worked at VW.

• whystereo on Nov 25, 2009 at 7:22 pm

superbly done by koreans!, they really have the touch of european styling..

• ignas on Nov 25, 2009 at 7:40 pm

such design cost more money to produce and will eat into proton's profit margin. guess it will never happen as long barang naik companies still run the country.

• Ha Gnih on Nov 25, 2009 at 7:54 pm

Once again, Proton is ketinggalan zaman.

• squawk on Nov 25, 2009 at 7:57 pm

I just wonder what those Germans(?) in P1 have contributed so far. Are they worth their salaries?

• albagmane on Nov 25, 2009 at 8:15 pm

wow… im impressed with the design! KIA really has elevated itself to another level now… how i wish im from a developed country…

• beautiful car indeed and speaking about proton i think i have my own opinion,

For me its all about design and engineering direction. Design direction when we talking about design challenge which are design language, emotion design, design perception and engineering direction is about engineering superiority which are, innovation, new technology, technological adaptation, forward engineering (thinking out of the box).

And all above elements must be accompanied with willingness of the company to innovate itself, taking a risk, think globally, willing to tap a challenging market such as America, Japan and not only concentrating in a 3rd world country.

Then let the right people make a right decision.

I am not sure how comprehensive is proton design and engineering department but I believe they are quite slow. Product cycle is slow, technological adaptation is slow and it seems that they re happy with one new vehicle for one year where I believe they can come out with at least 4 new vehicle in one year.

The moment of the new product out to the market such as new saga, new exora or whatever, proton designer and engineer supposedly already designing a new model for replacement. By the time the product cycle come to it end, new model is ready to roll out.

Well it means the designer and engineer at proton need to work 24hours a day.. but if that kind of job they want they cannot complaint about.

• front end looks like vw passat cc

• Balee on Nov 25, 2009 at 8:37 pm

I wish they have a 2.5T version. A 3.5 litre road tax is a huge bother financially.

• when can proton go up to this level?

• Though I'm no KIA fan, I really believe Mr Schreyer has accomplished what Chris Bangle did for BMW, as Carlos Ghosn for Nissan. Its good to see Asian motor companies moving forward in terms of design, safety, and performance. Collboration has its perks – something Proton should seriously emulate to survive.

As for the Forte – I think its one handsome looking car!

• libralcl on Nov 25, 2009 at 8:51 pm

Why this car remains me of the BMWs XD

• scottloeb on Nov 25, 2009 at 8:57 pm

xeno,

Yup, my bad its Forte. Thank you for the correction. I was quite surprise when the other websites praise the 1.6 EX (or lowest grade) and now really looking fwd on what Paul have to say abt this car. If its 4.45 then I'll walk to Pavilion to catch a glimpse later (very close from the office indeed).

• queen B on Nov 25, 2009 at 9:01 pm

vbkcheng said,

November 25, 2009 @ 9:24 am

==============================

=.='''

3rd class mentality.

• skiborne on Nov 25, 2009 at 9:23 pm

i think the car is wayy tooooo heavy for a sports sedan 2065 kgs! many full sized sedans are much lighter than this, btw really nice to see transformations made toward korean cars,

• old man on Nov 25, 2009 at 9:23 pm

Is it compare with Perdana segment? I think Perdana is much better!! At least Perdana sells at Rm100K ONLY, this car sure boost up to Camry/Accord range….:P

Proton forever!!! :P

• skiborne on Nov 25, 2009 at 9:25 pm

speaking of koreans, will the new kia koup be making its way here?? id prefer that over its sibling forte

• komentar on Nov 25, 2009 at 9:39 pm

kia koupe is coming early next year. Did you notice currently there is a lot of kia koupe teaser advertisement in the tv right now.

I suppose the name should be Naza Koupe – because when I saw the advertisement they have blured the kia logo..

• quottro on Nov 25, 2009 at 10:00 pm

dunno bout u guys…but it sure looks like a copy from the BL5/BP5 Legacy… :P BORING~

• shld intorduce to our market so that we as a consumer has more choices!!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 25, 2009 at 10:31 pm

ugly car?

• the design is ok..but what makes it so special is that if NAZA bringing in this car, it will be darn cheaper than Accord and Camry. I have booked Naza Forte 1.6 SX ..full specs ESC ABS EBD TC AIRBAG.. at the price of 83K on th rd with insurance

• Jumbsuck on Nov 25, 2009 at 10:57 pm

old man: "Is it compare with Perdana segment? I think Perdana is much better!! At least Perdana sells at Rm100K ONLY, this car sure boost up to Camry/Accord range….:P Proton forever!!!"

You're high on dope old man! Buying antique Mitsu at RM100K seriously such a dope…!

Anyway, Proton hope you learn something new….for sure Naza CKD this Cadenza locally and call it Naza Kekanda….2.4L sells RM130k 2.0L sells RM110k OK lah….better than kereta antik Perdana…

N A P – Never Against Proton…!

• Gajen on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:08 pm

camry+saab

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:20 pm

it is better than the perdana though

• silv3r on Nov 25, 2009 at 11:31 pm

betol2 mcm camry mix saab.

i second that.

• Phelix on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:50 am

and guys…

the most wonderful part of this car is.. the price…

according to my colleague (korean)..

this car price is.. range from 19 – 22k USD…

is even cheaper than the forte 2.0 in mlaaysia which is RM93800…

thanks BN.. i love u forever!

• very strong audi cues for the tail.

• mystvearn on Nov 26, 2009 at 1:24 am

Forte looks better, also Malaysian's don't need 3.5 liter engine because our tax is crap.

• bmpower on Nov 26, 2009 at 2:26 am

You know what?

Korean are not crazy over Japs, that's why their car industry can move forward.

Our malaysian? There's too many Japs Wannabe!.

See that?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 26, 2009 at 2:29 am

the rear is an audi

• The Reader on Nov 26, 2009 at 3:10 am

KIA is moving forward with doubled speed for every release of their new models !!!

• WTF67 on Nov 26, 2009 at 12:28 pm

SORRY to said~ Proton can only compete with others when its no longer rules by so called 'BUMI' ppl~

China, Korean's car can improve bcos of the ppl behind it~

who;s our ppl behind proton?

bunch of selfish non-talented crap~

• Balee said,

I wish they have a 2.5T version. A 3.5 litre road tax is a huge bother financially.

________________________________________________________________IIn Korea it sell for 2.0L; 2.4L; 3.0L and 3.5L. Check out Korean Herald.

• BOORING FWD

• tak sudah nak kaitkan proton je…korang bodoh ker(yg mengaitkan proton)??..komen la mengikut tajuk n point yang ditunjukkan…sekarang nie cerita pasal Kia Cadenza…bukan Proton…bodoh!!!….kalau ye pun tak suka Proton , jangan ar bawak nama Proton kat tajuk yang lain…gila!!!

• China and Korean cars probably copy other manufacturers' design, this one looks like BMW and camry.

• sammyB on Nov 27, 2009 at 11:03 am

Aiks, compare sama Proton, pasal tak boleh? Kan Malaysia car brand, made in Malaysia..tak compare with competitor, nak compare sama apa? Kayu? Batu? Somalia? Lada?

How to improve if you have no competitors or do not have the guts to come out of your tempurung and compare? If you are better than others..then you will forever make losses/rugi and korek rakyat's money via EPF and Petronas. How come, Perodua with minimal govt/rakyat backing can sell better and come out with newer looking models when Proton can fight with only Saga and the MPV which will be knocked out by the new Alza?

Now Koreans which are laughing stock when they first came out are making profits compared to the others from Detroit and Tokyo which cannot post a profit…laugh lagi-la!

Koreans are developing their own 6-speed auto gearbox which Toyota is trying theirs in the new Wish..other 6-speeders are bought from other manufacturers…soon we will still be lagging behind China made cars..wait and see while the G keeps protecting Proton and their fat cronies.

Back to the topic, I feel the new Kia is a breath of fresh air and hope they market the K7 here too…off course with a smaller engine :)

• because perodua just rebadged other cars..

• even when proton was rebadging mitsu…they were still crap….

• akupung on Nov 27, 2009 at 11:17 pm

from now on lets buy KOREAN!!

• Few things which I felt are important.Car performance, features, safety, availability of car parts & reliability of the service centres. Car resale value is a bonus. And lastly your budget. So happy buying