Honda Brio Amaze – new photos of sedan emerge

Honda’s sedan version of the Brio, called the Brio Amaze, is due to make its official debut in Thailand tomorrow. New exterior photos of the car have come about, courtesy of the Honda Brio Amaze Club Thailand, which posted these photos on its Facebook page.

The Brio Amaze will be launched in both Thai and Indian markets, and for the latter will just be known as the Amaze. Thailand is set to introduce the car with a 1.2 litre petrol engine, as seen in the existing hatch. Both manual and auto versions will feature.

India is also due to get the said gasoline mill, but the primary powertrain will be a brand new 1.5 litre Earth Dreams i-DTEC turbodiesel. We briefly tried out an example meant for the Indian market in Japan last week – the 1,050 kg sedan, pulled along by the Euro-4 oil burner and its 200 Nm of twist, has good poke and a likable, compliant character.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Joe Radzif on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:41 am

tak cun…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 9
    • For Malaysian, anything from T&H are good…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 8
      • OMG…sure will not sell well here…Damn ugly… Saga / Persona looked better than this….Pls dont think T&H cars will sell well here, do u remember the ugly H.Freed, hardly seen here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 22
        • really?? honda owner only care what under the hood next the look..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
          • dodol on Nov 23, 2012 at 4:10 pm

who cares about the look? only hairdresser care about looks…most important things is reliable.

• New born dugong .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • crank on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:58 am

just when i thought the almera was ugly.

• dozy888 on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:46 am

Proton, kindly re-badge it and price it around RM18K, DUE to NAP Malaysian cars are super duper expensive..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
  • AmrZhn on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:46 am

as ugly as….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • CheeKai on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:48 am

Honda Vios Kemetot???? Are Honda design engineers running out of ideas? Koreans can pull much better looking their A segment cars…. >sigh<

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • intermilan on Nov 22, 2012 at 4:22 pm

Honda Ketot.. Hahahaha…

The so-busy-and-haywire body lines make it looks so cramp and stressful.
      Reckon its going to be RM25-35K more than a equivalent Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Austin on Nov 22, 2012 at 4:23 pm

What do you expect from a designer from Thailand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • yuhuu on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:52 am

“flower power” rims.. urrgghhh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • I think it is probably around RM120K after Tax to the government of Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
  • Watergreg on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:57 am

Wow. First we had the Nissan Vios (almera), now we have the Honda Vios (brio amaze).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • frenzy on Nov 22, 2012 at 12:01 pm

Even Thailand produce a better car than our local.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 30
  • gangully on Nov 22, 2012 at 12:09 pm

they already have a Brio Amaze Club Thailand before the Brio Amaze is launched?

• doohhh on Nov 22, 2012 at 12:12 pm

saga brio flx?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Power of Dream on Nov 22, 2012 at 7:56 pm

just put in the IV-tec engine is good enough.
      I dun want see Brio sedan in malaysia

• I can understand those who says this car is fugly
    But to me it looks kinda O.K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
  • John Ree on Nov 22, 2012 at 12:19 pm

i want the diesel version.

• sol_badguy on Nov 22, 2012 at 12:20 pm

How was the feel 1.5 liter earth dream?

• the ugliest honda..would be almera’s rival.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • cRazee on Nov 22, 2012 at 12:27 pm

Just another dugong..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • going backwards…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • the power of dreams??? not power at all..

• To my eyes, the 1st qtr looked more like baby dugong rather than baby city!

• sagar on Nov 22, 2012 at 1:03 pm

Motherfuckasss !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • labix7 on Nov 22, 2012 at 1:09 pm

hideous ….. but bcoz its H .. sure many m’sian will buy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • irbayu on Nov 22, 2012 at 1:13 pm

eewwww…

• Alahai on Nov 22, 2012 at 1:30 pm

Too much Dugong..

• Power of Dream on Nov 22, 2012 at 2:00 pm

1,050 kg !!!!
    this is just 100kg lighter than K3!!
    Kia K3 is milo tin>?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • francis on Nov 22, 2012 at 6:08 pm

Nowadays which manufacturer does not produce car using “milo tin”? (except those manufacturer for special purpose eg. military) FYI this “milo tin” eventually saving people’s life from death. This is understandable knowing as “crumple zone”.

Sometimes (IMO) we need to understand what kind of material of the manufacturer to construct vehicles, light not necessary means bad or cheap stuff. For example, Titanium VS Steel. Titanium is known as lighter yet stronger than Steel.

Please correct me any of my words are wrong. Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • francis on Nov 22, 2012 at 2:13 pm

Too bad we still using Euro2 diesel… definitely cant hit 200 torque..

• gOOsh on Nov 22, 2012 at 2:18 pm

boleh larr… in bolehland, Freed pun laku gak…

• Lampu blakang hampir sama City

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Nov 22, 2012 at 2:31 pm

Amazingly unattractive…and I won’t be the last to say it…

• Maserati on Nov 22, 2012 at 2:44 pm

Very nice ! Better than crap k3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 32
  • Hm.. not Amazed at all

• Kubuddy on Nov 22, 2012 at 2:56 pm

As almera price cun ok?

• Julian Lee on Nov 22, 2012 at 2:58 pm

cun…

• Looks like Brio and Swift DZire gave birth to a baby.

• Josh Ling on Nov 22, 2012 at 3:11 pm

love the diesel engine though. sad we will never see that engine here…..

• Cuter version of the City..It is very likely this car with the 1.5 I-DTEC ,will amaze.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • ohhh…it HURT my EYES !!!!!!!!

• Setiapaduka on Nov 22, 2012 at 3:54 pm

Please don’t bring it to Malaysia and re badge as Saga Brio. I think current saga better than this in term of size and space.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • prebet on Nov 22, 2012 at 3:56 pm

proton undercover designer work for honda and destroy it from inside…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • Seriously on Nov 22, 2012 at 4:08 pm

Honda obviously does not understand the word “Amaze”. It’s shocking how once, so aspirational jap brands have now gone from bad to worst so quickly.

• Kelvin on Nov 22, 2012 at 4:26 pm

LOL, it look like 2003 City, which is my favourite car ;)

• Roger Tan on Nov 22, 2012 at 4:44 pm

Aches me to say this but has Honda designers lost it?

I looks like those 90’s shitboxes from the Koreans!

• I stand to correct that, Honda designers SELDOM got it (that goes to Toyota too).

• Haha.. Honda Malaysia Sucks. Done everything is explained about Honda Malaysia in just one word. Dun believe?? Buy one urself and get ready for the worst nightmare of ur life !!

Sincerely,
    User of Honda Accord and Honda Civic

• albag on Nov 22, 2012 at 6:58 pm

i bet the comments from this blog and the sales results will be totally opposite when it reaches our shores later… brace yourself for the best selling compact sedan in Malaysia! coz it’s a Honda!

• Nick.C on Nov 22, 2012 at 7:35 pm

Is it just me, or does the interior look like the took the frame from the last generation Honda City and put on last generations Proton Saga dash on it?

• tun m on Nov 22, 2012 at 7:46 pm

price it 80k so that protong fanboys can’t afford it.

• chrish on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:08 pm

Fugly from the fugly family of cars. Tell me which hon is actually nice to look at except previous civic and classic prelude.

Yest i saw almera for the first time on t road. Omg. Its so fugly i would not want to drive it.

Even of i win in a contest, i will quickly trade it for say a preve.

How come malaysian hv no taste? They buy any sh*t from the japs. Nissan makes good cars though but from slyphy to almera to sentra, the design is jusy terrible.

Now tis from hon lol. Terrible. In a collision bewteen almera and this brio then both will look like genitalia of a cow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Austin on Nov 24, 2012 at 7:55 pm

New Honda Civic Facelift, 2013 Honda Accord, Honda CR-Z, Honda Stream.
      Those good looking model are real JAPS car, not brio amaze from Thailand. If JAPS car are sh*t, find me a better car with the same price and good reliability.

• NISSpengAN on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:37 pm

Nissan Almera better than this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • cant just judge from the photo..wait until it lunch..
    well…in malaysia,most of the user will look on the car price at first.. how if it price below 70k with full spec version, i think still will have a lot ppl go and buy..everyone complaining about dugong vios, but we still can see a lot on the road..why??it depend on what you need, coz you own and drive it,not other ppl..

• Look like cross breed of vios and almera.

• SUV lover on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:28 pm

It all depends on the price ppl..to see whether can the car set foot on malaysian market.

• magpie on Nov 23, 2012 at 12:09 am

The rear aint that bad. But the sideline is a bit excessive. The front is definitely a dugong-class.

• buruk..sapalah arkitek tu..mcm apa entah..

• Watergreg on Nov 23, 2012 at 9:52 am

This is not the power of dreams. It’s closer to the power of nightmares

• PMSLaughing on Nov 23, 2012 at 9:59 am

This makes the Almera (with body kit) look good.

• mentalityproblem on Nov 23, 2012 at 10:08 am

this car is in a new segment la ppl…below saga,vios,city,almera…..get your facts right be4 comparing la….

• omg..wut d hell is this??honda shud invest some more for design r&d

• kotex on Nov 23, 2012 at 10:58 am

Looks like sanitary pad (tuala wanita).

Im Amazed.

The advertisement ” keeps you dry and now ultra size. Power of dreams. We love our loyal hon buyers so buy tis now and get 10 boxes of tampons free”

• v-power on Nov 23, 2012 at 1:04 pm

The ‘unfortunate’ design is very much intentional; the Brio is meant as a basic, cheap and reliable transport…Honda Thailand won’t want a sleek-looking Brio to eat into City’s sales…

And remember, the export market is India…looks are much less of a concern, than say reliability and fuel economy…

• i hope that proton wont consider rebadge this fugly car

• vee-oh on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:05 pm

Vios better

• preve 100x better than this bit*h!!

• Savvy88 on Nov 24, 2012 at 8:41 am

Why so many A and B segment cars has become uglier and uglier.. come on! low to middle income customer also deserve a good looking car!

• VWPASSAT owner on Nov 25, 2012 at 11:25 am

Ya la…i agree with u…..car designers for japs cars must have been kering idea…pity them….but no doubt the H fans will buy it regardless what others say or condemn about this car .

• MatLimMutu on Nov 26, 2012 at 11:37 am

seriously damn ugly kemetot buruk. but if rebadge to proton to replace saga n sell it like saga price, like pisang goreng panas laa..