SPIED: Kia Carens – third-gen spotted in Northport

carens 3gen 1

Wasn’t too long ago that Kia premiered its all-new Carens – three months ago, actually, at the Paris Motor Show. Now, the third-generation MPV has been spotted on our shores – reader Fauzan spotted a cladded example at Northport yesterday and snapped some photos for us. A tip of the hat for the kind deed, then.

It’s a left-hand drive version, so it’s really nothing more than a field evaluation mule. Whatever the case, it’ll probably be a good while before we see the vehicle going on sale here, but expect to see a fair bit of activity from the brand in 2013. The new Rio arrives sometime in the first quarter, and the second-gen Forte – spotted undergoing road trials here recently – should arrive sometime later.

Curiously, the two petrol mills designated for the Carens are GDI units, these being a 135 PS and 165 Nm 1.6 litre and a 177 PS and 211 Nm 2.0 litre. Wonder what the local Carens will wear when it comes.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kia Fans on Dec 19, 2012 at 10:25 am

It’s just a budget MPV. Pricing it above Nissan Livina or Toyota Avanza is ridiculous.

current Carens by Naza selling at RM90k, that’s why sale never been good. It doesnt deserve the price at the first place.

Lousy drivetrain, altough it’s comfortable to be sit in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 28
    • dugong on Dec 19, 2012 at 5:41 pm

agree that naza pricing is high. then again, the livina and avanza are budget mpvs too. although there are some that will think those are luxury mpv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • 4G63T DSM on Dec 19, 2012 at 10:28 am

Interesting if the GDI units show up.

So far the Koreans (or the local distributors) have left us cold without their newest powertrains. The 1.6 GDI is interesting in particular, although I have a bit of reservation given that somehow Korean engine output figures somehow don’t translate very well to real world performance “feel”.

Interesting no less. Worthy replacement for my Citra perhaps. Will see how it gets priced up against the CFE powered Exora, and the admittedly overpriced and underspec’d Grand Livina.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
  • sepul on Dec 19, 2012 at 11:27 am

i was thinking maybe car makers begun to consider our country as one of their testing ground for new vehicles.. not necessarily for sale here just yet but maybe for observing local needs and climate condition in ASEAN region

• Expatriate VN on Dec 19, 2012 at 11:32 am

When we can get a spy-shot for all new models for Nissan Serena C26 and Toyota Noah in this Bolehland? This is the better quality mid range MPV!

Going by what is happening in Indon for these two models, it should appear here anytime from now onward!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • R u from 3rd world country or wat??? Evethg from the japs are better? Better mid range u say because u hv lower range iq.

Ford smax etc etc and this you alrd say jap junks are better. Rsv?. Judge when these cars are launched you jap fan boy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • alldisc on Dec 19, 2012 at 4:28 pm

yeah, i agree the Noah is likely to come here to enjoy the AFTA tariff.

since UMW also is aware that Avanza does not enjoy good sales as it used to be some 8 years ago (reason it is no assembled locally)

current Serena C24 is getting long in the tooth

• Sam Loo on Dec 19, 2012 at 6:44 pm

Owned one, never will ever buy one again, even if its 1/2 price after 6 months

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • crx otai on Dec 19, 2012 at 11:50 am

2.0 at 211nm, ok not bad for NA engine

• alldisc on Dec 19, 2012 at 4:42 pm

to consider current rondo is like 189Nm only, lower than Exora CFE.

• dugong on Dec 19, 2012 at 5:49 pm

current camry 2.0 only 190Nm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • 4g63t dsm on Dec 19, 2012 at 10:23 pm

And?

The CFE when compared to other turbocharged 1.6 is some 35 or more Nm less of twist. They could make the CFE slightly more lively…..only to be held back by the gearbox.

• Zazasss on Dec 21, 2012 at 11:32 am

yalah.. if got exora / preve CFE manual sure can install Racechip.. or use a DSG type gearbox. cvt3 only can handle up to 220nm of torque if im not mistaken. If install racechip the horsepower & torque can increase up to 30% mah..

• gOOsh on Dec 19, 2012 at 12:02 pm

as i said… if exora with E01 is better… tunggu arr…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • farghmee on Dec 19, 2012 at 12:30 pm

gotta see this in flesh :)

• shawal on Dec 19, 2012 at 1:42 pm

irs wayy better looking then the orlando, bt if it wuz a lil sportier than the s-max , stream and even mazda 5 , kia hv a worthy winner… anyway
    we want to wen k3 is coming!!??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • sweet on Dec 20, 2012 at 12:55 am

RM90k estimate.
    I still think it’s overpriced with the lousy and not reliable drivetrain from korean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • sweet on Dec 20, 2012 at 7:11 pm

New car 2013 Malaysia:
    Kia Picanto – Kia Rio 5 door hatch – Kia forte K3 = Kia Carens – Kia Sorento

2011/2012
    Kia sportage – Kia Optima K5

• buy proton last on Dec 20, 2012 at 11:41 pm

Wahh…look like kelisa…no no no…like merc….ooops like jaguar…torque so low maaa….diesel has more power looor….haiya apek n ah beng…buy what u like n can afford..,dont let others dictate what u should drive….after all its yur own ringgit n sen that u firk out from yur piggy bank

• carens diehard fan on Sep 17, 2014 at 7:15 pm

so long waiting. not even reach our shore? even no rumours of coming yet.. naza, please do something la. i saved my money long time ago just to buy this car only