All-new 2014 Chevrolet Corvette C7 Stingray revealed!

Corvette C7 Stingray-13

We’ve seen the logo and the drawings, now here’s the all-new 2014 Chevrolet Corvette C7 Stingray in its full glory. All-new because the C7 shares only two parts with the previous gen Corvette. It incorporates an all-new frame structure and chassis, a new powertrain and supporting technologies, as well as completely new exterior and interior designs.

There’s a Stingray in the name, like the iconic 1963 model. “Stingray is one of the hallowed names in automotive history. We knew we couldn’t use the Stingray name unless the new car truly lived up to the legacy. The result is a new Corvette Stingray that breaks from tradition, while remaining instantly recognisable as a Corvette the world over,” said Ed Welburn, GM’s vice president of global design.

Corvette C7 Stingray-16

The car’s foundation is a new aluminum frame structure that is 57% stiffer but 45 kg lighter. Lightweight materials, including a carbon fibre hood and removable roof panel; composite fenders, doors and rear quarter panels; carbon-nano composite underbody panels and a new aluminum frame help shift weight rearward for a 50/50 weight balance.

Under the hood is a new LT1 6.2 litre “Small Block” V8 with 450 hp and 610 Nm. GM points out that the LT1 makes 68 Nm more low-end torque than the previous 6.2 V8, matching the 7.0 litre LS7 engine from the 2013 Corvette Z06 from 1,000 to 4,000 rpm. Power-to-weight ratio is better than the Porsche 911 Carrera and Audi R8, GM says.

Corvette C7 Stingray-20

The LT1’s performance comes from combining tech like direct injection, Active Fuel Management and continuously variable valve timing with an advanced combustion system. It’s backed by a choice of active exhaust systems that are less restrictive than the previous gen, due in part to an increase in diameter from 2.5 to 2.75 inches.

The standard system offers a 13% improvement in airflow and features a pair of butterfly valves that contribute to improved refinement at cruising speeds when the engine is operating in fuel-saving four-cylinder mode.

The V8 is mated to either a six-speed paddle-shift automatic or a Tremec TR6070 seven-speed manual with Active Rev Matching for upshifts and downshifts. The latter comes with a new dual-mass flywheel and dual-disc clutch.

Corvette C7 Stingray-22

Stopping duties are courtesy of standard Brembo brakes with four-piston fixed calipers, holding 320 mm front and 338 mm rear rotors. They have 35% more swept area than previous-gen brakes and stopping distance is improved 9%.

A Z51 Performance Package includes specific close-ratio gearing and an electronic limited-slip differential (eLSD), along with 45 mm piston Bilstein dampers (35 mm Bilsteins stock) and Magnetic Ride Control. It makes the Stingray capable of 1g in cornering acceleration. This track-oriented package also adds brake-cooling ducts, a unique rear spoiler and additional air deflectors.

Going through the cabin shots (real carbon fibre, they say) you’ll notice a rotary knob called Driver Mode Selector, which allows drivers to optimise the ‘Vette for their driving preference and road conditions via five settings: Weather, Eco, Tour, Sport and Track.

Corvette C7 Stingray-27

“The result is a more rewarding, more confident experience, whether you’re commuting in a downpour or charging through the corkscrew at Laguna Seca,” said product manager Harlan Charles.

Full gallery of the C7 Stingray, including nice family potraits, is after the jump.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• carfanforlife on Jan 14, 2013 at 3:59 pm

I guess it will have to perform drifts without an e-brake lever. a “P” button might be tricky.
    Then again, great drifts do not need e-brake to begin with.

Great looking exterior! Now that’s a ‘Vette!

• lonelyobserve on Jan 14, 2013 at 5:14 pm

Just use the brude power of the car, or in other words power sliding.

• rascal on Jan 14, 2013 at 9:07 pm

This reminds me of car-based song like Rascal Flatts’ Red Camaro. It’s a cool song and it comes with concept car too. Centre exhausts and removable factory alike roof top. Go google.

• kadajawi on Jan 14, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Nice. Especially that it has a 7 speed manual. More gears to play with!

• lonelyobserve on Jan 14, 2013 at 5:16 pm

The main purpose for having 7 speeds mostly for fuel economy, although engine power distribution is essential with more gears.

• farid on Jan 14, 2013 at 4:09 pm

for the first time ever, im very pleased with the corvette interior and exterior design…

• Kalun on Jan 15, 2013 at 12:10 am

Nahh. I’m not. It looks too messy. The lines is everywhere. SRT Viper is design better.

The old 1960s Corvette stingray is still the best looking car.

• Well, first impression, it dose’t look like your typical Corvette. Corvette since the C4 onward looks simple and free of detail, this looks mecha and sharp. If you look at it head on, it looks like a 2013 Dodge Viper, not that that’s a bad thing. The rear end is….controversial I have to say, some will like it, some will not. I kinda wish they tone down that Camaro-ish tail lamps, reminds me of the C4 rear end. Quad pipes are awesome. I really hate that quarter window at the rear, prefer the wraparound of the the C4-C6.

The Interior, as quoted from Autoblog, really reminds me of the Mk IV Toyota Supra. Corvettes have always have poor quality interior, this, I am not in Detroit to judge. It looks better than the C6, but as an improvement, can’t tell for sure.

The CEO of General Motors said that the Corvette will be the most beutiful car i the world. That’s a big fat American NO!! It is striking, sexy and Mecha. But MOST beautiful, maybe the F12 or Vanquish not this. it’s definitely a Corvette, its rising shoulder line and front fender, most beautiful Corvette? C2 man, C2 Corvette Stingray.

• Damn I got so into the design that I forgot to mention…
      …Tremec TR6070 seven-speed manual!!!! WOOHOOO!!! Who needs stinking six speed automatic! Autos for Big Obese American.

• nongkrong on Jan 14, 2013 at 4:23 pm

beautiful car,very ferrari-esque from side…

• comrade on Jan 14, 2013 at 4:29 pm

really like the black rims… wish can see this car on Malaysian road… any taker here? maybe from Johor………….?

• berry on May 18, 2013 at 1:06 pm

I would love to have it if it have right hand side driving…. (but its not)

• paulz on Jan 14, 2013 at 4:39 pm

One word : Awesomeness.

• AhBeng on Jan 14, 2013 at 4:56 pm

“like we care how fast those DSG’s shift, we still love to shift ourselves.”

• lonelyobserve on Jan 14, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Correct. But we can use manual gearbox to do something extreme. See this YouTube video for Top Gear’s review on Corvette C6, especially on testing the car’s torque.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=Ko9kzyqW-l8

• iluvMalaysia on Jan 14, 2013 at 5:26 pm

rear part is ugly. i luv the interior design, a beauty indeed.

• Gintech on Jan 14, 2013 at 6:53 pm

gosh, this car is very original ,inside out as well classic & contemporary Art

• Contemporary maybe, classic….. I have to disagree. Most high end car has an contemporary art feel. Classic? I am not to sure if there classic art in today’s car.

• Painter on Jan 14, 2013 at 7:01 pm

6.2 litre small block V8 producing only 450 hp? Mercedes 6.3 AMGs tapau anytime. Americans are living in their own world. That’s why we often here terms like ‘The fastest American car in the world’ or ‘The most beautiful American car in the world’

• 4g63t dsm on Jan 14, 2013 at 8:20 pm

Sure sure sure. I don’t know what sort of car you drive on a daily basis, but anything over 350 for a street driven car is plenty enough. Say what you want about the Germans. Good engines but these big American engines have way more emotion and so raw it almost feels alive.

Not liking the rear end. Was hoping to see the split window make a comeback.

• I think Painter is talking about bhp-per-liter. Of how much hp can you squeeze from a liter of engine. 450hp for a daily basis is, yes, so much more than enough, but ‘only’ 450hp from a 6.2 liter? Seriously? Porsche manage to churn out 612hp from 3.8 liter flat six of its GT2 RS.

• Of course the corvette engine will get almost 30 miles per gallon. The 6.3 amg gets 19 miles per gallon. Which is more “efficient”? The vette engine is also much lighter. Its more durable. Easier to repair. Give me the lighter, cheaper, more efficient, easier to modify and more reliable vette engine any day. They are also very easy and cheap to modify into the 600 hp range. If you want lingenfelter can modify them to over 1000 bhp.

• UntitleD on Jan 14, 2013 at 7:21 pm

The best upgrade is actually the interior! Glad those ugly uninspiring plastic is down to minimal in C7! The new engine is a nice upgrade as well, NA v8 with 610NM is just gonna be beast without traction control! Imagine it with super chargers later, 800nm? XD

• american cars just champion in power-to-weight ratio but still bad in handling these powers in corners.

• 4g63t dsm on Jan 14, 2013 at 9:00 pm

Wondering when was the last time you drove one?

Corvettes have always been good handling…the c5 and c6 are quite competent in the corners.

You really want to try a car that handles funny? Try an old 964 or 993 on a bumpy track. ;p.

• The Viper ACR (an american cars) holds the record for the fastest production car around the ring stock.

• epul you need to leave the stone ages. The Corvette is a formidable race car in Le Mans for many years now. If it couldn’t turn and handle it would not have had the wins it has to date

• berry on May 18, 2013 at 1:08 pm

maybe what he said was based on his experience driving muscle cars in NFS LOL

• iskanda on Jan 15, 2013 at 11:03 am

lightning mcqueen in real life maybe..

• salambangi on Jan 15, 2013 at 11:09 am

Not curvaceous and thus lacks beauty. I had the opportunity of visiting the plant in Bowling Green kentucky and I think quality ( I mean fit and finish ) not up to the European standard.