Alfa Romeo 4C Launch Edition: limited to 1,000 units

Alfa Romeo 4C Launch Edition

Apart from the 4C sports car – already a stunner in factory production form – Alfa Romeo has also introduced a limited edition of the same car at the ongoing Geneva motor show. It’s called the 4C Launch Edition, and order books are open at a starting price of €60k (RM243k).

Only 1,000 cars will be built. Of this number, 500 will go to North America, 400 to Europe, Africa and the Middle East, and the remainder to the rest of the world.

The bodykit, spoiler and door mirrors are finished in carbon fibre. The bi-LED headlamps get a dark surround, while the front air intakes, rear diffuser and alloy wheels are also darkened. An Alfa Red or Carrara White paint job strikes a contrast to all that black, while the brake callipers are specially painted.

Alfa Romeo 4C Launch Edition

Inside the 4C Launch Edition, a choice of leather, fabric or Alcantara can be had for the seats. There’s red stitching on the handbrake, steering wheel trim, sports seats, handles and mats.

But it’s not all show and no go. Performance enhancements include a BMC air filter, a custom suspension setup, racing exhaust and rear anti-roll bar.

No changes to the regular 4C‘s “1750” turbocharged four-cylinder engine here, which Alfa has officially confirmed sends 240 PS and 350 Nm to the back wheels via a twin-clutch six-speed TCT gearbox and a limited-slip diff. Like the regular 4C then, the 4C Launch Edition will hit 100 km/h from a standstill in 4.5 seconds and reach a top speed of more than 250 km/h.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• ChrisLai75 on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:00 am

Lotus rival…

• Sam Loo on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:04 am

Got many Alfa owners come to me crying to trade in their cars. But I too scared to take in even at 30% of original price because the cars cannot sell at all. The RV is the worst of any car. New buyers scare to buy cause parts cost super bomb price. Owner Ferrari, what you expect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
    • Car parts are not super bomb price. its very reasonable for its quality. if they cant afford the parts, they should not even buy conti. please stick to myvi and saga.

Dont expect to pay myvi price for conti feel and then expect myvi pricing for service when the initial cost of an alfa is 200k. parts will not be cheap since its it reflects the initial price of the car

i personally own multiple italian cars and its servicing and parts are very reasonable. with the kind of torture my cars go thru, i wouldnt want to buy other car cause some may not give the road feel to it and some cost a real bomb to repair.

viva la alfa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
  • 243k?????? Come to papa but in bolehland papa can only cry hukhuk

• ren zen on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:17 am

Whoah, nice. Wish I can afford.

• Algojo on Mar 07, 2013 at 10:10 am

booyaaaaa!!… Alfa Romeo Spider replacement… shhweeettt…..

• only 100 for Asian market? WTF?? As Asian’s emerging market has the most potential for sales. even africa being offered more. damn!!

• Luker on Mar 07, 2013 at 1:50 pm

Don’t be sad bro… We Asian can afford more luxury car, never gv a damn to this brand

• Its an italian sports car, i doubt the car you drive would make people stop, pull out their cellphones and take photos, dumbass.

• king_pauper on Mar 07, 2013 at 2:48 pm

I want one….always been a fan of alfa romeo…i dun give a damn about service and breakdown…i try to DIY as much as possible like my current Saab Turbo..

Why is Sime still in charge of AR? Can they just let go and pass to Naza.. We all hope for more effort on that brand..Look at Naza job with Peugeot. Dying in Europe and Kicking in Malaysia.

• im surprised you never mentioned the highlight of this Alfa which is the amazing 900 something kilograms weight.

• It’s actually under-a-tonne or something, which makes it lighter than some B and most C segment car (Honda city is already 1.1tonne). But more amazing than that its the first full production car with a majority of it built from Carbon fiber, like the cars tub.

• Milano on Mar 07, 2013 at 10:48 pm

I am guessing the 4C will be priced at ard 400k!

• Milano on Mar 07, 2013 at 10:55 pm

Sam Loo: what you say holds true for every Alfa model ie resale & demand is low. Only Alfa enthusiasts (read diehard) will consider buying on the second hand market . However the 4C its a halo model and I think will have a good niche following . If the 4C is an indication of what is to come for other AR models, we could be witnessing a real brand revival !

• Albert Y on Nov 17, 2013 at 3:33 am

Fm my 30 years experience owning Italian cars namely Alfa Romeos, most negative comments made are fm those who never own one. These cars got soul and will reward u with many years of driving pleasure if its maintained well n cared for. I ve driven my 30 year old gtv6 to n Fro Kunming China without any issues except the failure of the only non Italian part – Battery which was replaced in Chengmai on the rtn journey. This car took all forms of road conditions throughout the 8,000 km journey, many a time doing speed in excess of 220kmh covering up to 1000 km a day.
    As for the 4C, I’ll go for it without having to think twice.