GALLERY: Ford Fiesta ST 3-door on European roads

Ford Fiesta ST-28

You’ve already seen the Ford Fiesta ST that was first shown in production form at last year’s Geneva show, and witnessed it hooning around Ford’s proving ground in Belgium – now have a look at the hot Fiesta doing its thing at the international media drive currently being held in the south of France.

The hottest Fiesta to date and younger brother to the Focus ST is equipped with a 1.6 litre EcoBoost engine with 182 PS and 240 Nm of torque. Paired to a six-speed manual transmission, the turbo engine pushes the three-door hatch from 0-100 km/h in 6.9 seconds. Top speed is 220 km/h.

Developed by Ford Team RS, the European arm of Ford’s Global Performance Vehicle group, the Fiesta ST gets uniquely tuned suspension, steering and brakes, and introduces features only previously found in larger performance cars such as enhanced Torque Vectoring Control (eTVC) and 3-mode ESC (full system intervention, wide-slip mode with limited intervention and full ESC off)

Both systems support a specially modified front steering knuckle, adapted rear twist-beam with increased roll-stiffness, unique front and rear spring and damper settings, and a 15 mm lower centre of gravity. Inside, the racy feel is delivered by ST logos, Recaro seats and a Sound Symposer that channels the engine note to the cabin.

Sounds delicious doesn’t it? The 50 pics after the jump should make you even more hungry!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Apekgoh on Mar 25, 2013 at 7:24 pm

So many nice car will never make it to our shore, pity everyone knows

• sepul on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:01 pm

I think this one is likely since Focus ST was brought in.

• very likely to be brought in, and be priced way below Polo GTI, expect around RM130k when it comes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • Thank god for this beauty. So sick of seeing that Arowana fish being hyped up. Don’t understand what’s so exciting about a 4 speed bread butter car. This ST is true beauty inside out.

• I’am not really a fan of the post-FL looks of “Aston Martin grill” Fords, will still prefer the original, looks abit gaping to me and therefore, quite far away from beauty. But yeah, I’ll admit the Toyota broke me crossed finger and gave us a disappointing spec vios. What’s so exciting about that car? It will be in the price range of most Malaysian, will it be as successful as B4 is another question. This in the other-hand is already considered rather pricey even in the US.

• True, indeed it doesn’t look as nice as it used to. Nonetheless, still better than arowana fish.

• according to reports, the best selling car in the world 2012 was the fiesta….not our usual japs …a good feat

• Best selling car in the world is still the Corolla. While 60,449 at 2nd place is the Fiesta bigger brother, the Focus, Both cars are the only ones that registered sales in the 7 digit. Not bad for Ford. Their One world program is starting to shape up.

The Other Top 10:
            3- Hyundai Elantra [829,192]
            4- Toyota Camry [797,466]
            5- Ford F-Series [785,028]
            6- Chevrolet Cruze [784,014]
            7- VW Passat/Magotan [782,694]
            8- Nissan Tiida/Versa/Sunny [774,846]
            9- VW Golf [750,466]
            10- Ford Fiesta [742,037]

• Ahmadfaris93 on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:06 pm

The blue colour is beautiful !

• Eczema on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:21 pm

The upcoming new Vios eats this Fiesta ST day and night 7 days a week

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 48
    • Hadi75 on Mar 26, 2013 at 9:47 am

Ya lor….your vios 1.5 ltr with trd bodykit plus 4 speed auto sure can tapau this ford fiesta st with 1.6 ltr ecoboost with 6 speed manual…..IN YOUR DREAM…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Hahahaha on Mar 26, 2013 at 12:13 pm

Toyota Fan Boy Butt Hurt Already, have bought a vios i might say

• Eczema1 on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:21 pm

The upcoming new Vios eats this Fiesta ST day and night 7 days a week

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
    • Hadi75 1 on Mar 26, 2013 at 9:49 am

Ya lor….your vios 1.5 ltr with trd bodykit plus 4 speed auto sure can tapau this ford fiesta st with 1.6 ltr ecoboost with 6 speed manual…..IN YOUR DREAM…

• Fahmi on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:11 pm

Vios TRD 1.5… Supercar performance for under RM100,000….. Hahahahha…

• eczema- toyota vios outperform fiesta st?…..are u having a laugh ?

• najib on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:31 pm

the price will be three times higher than original price when it comes here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Gavin on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:36 pm

it’s a wonder why they are failing to survive in Europe having to close their Belgian plant

• The Fiesta was never made in Gent/Belgium. Gent is currently (until 2014) the production base for the Mondeo, S-Max and Galaxy.

The European Fiesta is made in Cologne/Germany and Valencia/Spain.

• Kalun on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:56 pm

This or the Renault Clio RS or the VW Polo GTi.

All in the same price range.

• DocMomemtum on Mar 26, 2013 at 1:09 am

I suggest u seriously consider getting 2 units of new 2013 vios instead, gal fren one, ownself one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • Kalun on Mar 26, 2013 at 9:13 am

Why take Toyota Vios whereas Toyota 86 is a better car.

I wonder How many BoyRacer wannabe Vios being smoke by alot of 86 in Malaysia.

• badrulez on Mar 25, 2013 at 10:06 pm

SDAC plizzz bring it hereeee!!!

• Overpriced car……again!!!

• Hadi75 on Mar 26, 2013 at 9:51 am

So many toyota salesmen here….

• LooSam967 on Mar 26, 2013 at 10:16 am

But the stupid thai spec fiesta only come with 2 airbags. Con job.

• no u wrong only 1 airbag in the cheapest thai fiesta 1.4 manual around RM58k…malaysia get 7 airbag RM70k..

• 1.6 turbo + manual transmission = holiaw!

• Redline on Mar 26, 2013 at 1:27 pm

funny to see comments comparing ST to Vios. Can compare to standard Fiesta la. Fiesta ST is in performance class

• ae101 on Mar 26, 2013 at 1:31 pm

The front grill too ugly. Like frog. Current model a lot better.

• Fahmi on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:12 pm

I see little car, big fun right here…

• Fahmi on Mar 26, 2013 at 2:14 pm

Aston grill?? Can’t afford Aston, Aston grill is enough…. Even a lot of Myvi has BMW grill…. But personally I love that Aston grille….

• cow stroller on Mar 26, 2013 at 6:01 pm

How i wish to swap that ecoboost engine and 6 speed manual into my stock fiesta!