Ford Fiesta ST – 180 PS production version makes debut

Ford is debuting its production-ready Fiesta ST in Geneva, in advance of the performance hatchback going on sale in Europe in the first half of 2013. The all-new model is powered by a 180 PS and 240 Nm 1.6 litre EcoBoost mill, and this is good enough to give the car a 0-100 km/h time of under seven seconds and a top speed of 220 km/h.

Developed by Team RS, the European arm of the company’s Global Performance Vehicles group, the Fiesta ST delivers significant ride-and-handling improvements through the introduction of the brand’s enhanced Torque Vectoring Control system, three Electronic Stability Control modes as well as a specially-tuned chassis that sits 15 mm lower than the standard Fiesta.

The high-contrast red and black interior features unprecedented levels of equipment and specification to suit the sporting driver, with Recaro sports seats appearing as standard kit in a Fiesta ST for the first time.

The car – which features Ford’s latest design signatures, including a large trapezoidal grille – is also equipped with MyKey, which allows owners to limit performance and ensure activation of safety features for when less-experienced drivers use the vehicle, as well as SYNC, Ford’s voice-activated in-car connectivity system.

Production of the hot hatch is confirmed for Europe, but Ford says it remains open to introducing the high-performance small car to other regions, including North America.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I hope Theophilus Chin picks this face and photoshop it as the facelifted Fiesta. It should look absolutely similar.

@Anthony Lim, can you ask him for a favor, pls pls pls~

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 06, 2012 at 5:55 pm

You never know what Theo might come up with. :)

• O_o wowww… extravaganzaa!!!

• clutch basah on Mar 06, 2012 at 4:20 pm

I want it… bad!

• Setiapaduka on Mar 06, 2012 at 4:34 pm

1600 c.c 180 Ps ecoboost. Is it a turbo? 1.6 cfe only 136ps.

• Ecoboost = Turbo definition for Ford. The power is higher but not sure when does the torque kicks in (probably later than the normal ecoboost, which is at 1500rpm or so).

• JeremyNg on Mar 06, 2012 at 5:18 pm

Diff tuning …… CFE tune for best FC and low torque @ low rpm !!! BTW ecoBoost is a more advance technology …… Proton still need to catch up little bit !!

• only extreme moron protong cum sippers will thumb down ur comment

• Naz@AE111 on Mar 06, 2012 at 4:38 pm

holy maccaroni!! its damn badass… can sime darby sell it here??

• Chris on Mar 06, 2012 at 7:30 pm

=A= I’m eating macaroni now… doesn’t look very holy to me lol

I guess it happened. I remember months and months ago I said I hope Ford put the 1.6 ecoboost in the Fiesta to give the consumer an alternative to cars like the Polo GTI..

I still remember someone said I’m out of my mind as VW’s twincharge is way better…. we’ll see… an alternative is better than no alternative…. competition is always good….

• VW Twincharge, technically, yea.. maintenance wise, no. And you know what, the newest lineup are single turbo based (it’s still call TSI). :)

• Gavin on Mar 06, 2012 at 4:40 pm

Performance limiting is cool

• Please bring this little beast to Malaysia!

• now this is what i call an awesome car.pls bring this car to malaysia sime darby

• OMG, please sell this in Malaysia asap! Price it around 120k and below and the CR-Z is finished.

• waiting on Mar 06, 2012 at 5:48 pm

diff concept of car..wake up..

• I know they are both different class altogether but would you seriously choose a slow and less practical CR-Z over a turbo Fiesta?

Some people would of course, but that would be all because of the CR-Z’s futuristic looks.

• artworkz on Mar 13, 2012 at 4:39 pm

pls lah,stock CRZ cant win even stock fiesta S.

• YeapyEvo on Mar 06, 2012 at 5:20 pm

New Fiesta ST or RS Clio 1.6, either one will be my future car, Sime plz bring it in and price it lower than Polo GTI and you will have a lot customer (possibly more than the normal Fiesta Sales)

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 06, 2012 at 5:52 pm

Mitsubishi Evo X + Ferrari FXX = Ford Fiesta ST Mouth :-D

• Ecoboost is a mazda mzr based with direct inj tbo, excellent power with really good economy..similar to vw tfsi

• OilChange on Mar 06, 2012 at 8:53 pm

car is good… but sime darby auto kongkeksion sux big time… send my fiesta for service, all they did is change oil and filter only…. no testing, no checking on coolant… no cleaning on air filter…..

don’t buy ford…. if u go to ford fiesta FB… nobody there. only newbies and angry fiesta owners seeking answers from admin, which, never happened.

don’t buy ford….

• odan_odc on Mar 07, 2012 at 12:05 am

i’m buying ford fiesta…and yeah…the sales service is so bad… they kept giving misleading info….promised to receive my car by end of jan 2012. i only got the car by early Mar 2012. delay by a month.

not to mention…some color spec is not even produced. what makes me angry is that the sales agent told me about it when 2 months have passed…

Sime Darby Auto COnnexioins…totally bad service…i wonder what will happen to the branch..

• Jack Leong on Mar 07, 2012 at 10:13 am

SDAC used a cheap and effective way of marketing fiesta in FB page. yeah it does the job but the success of the marketing is the people’s (fans) feedbacks. they have silenced a lot of bad comments and only displays the stuffs that only admins like to see.

So everyone doesn’t bother to comment in that page anymore, we have our own fiesta drivers fan page anyway. more interactions and sharing.

• rear light on Mar 06, 2012 at 9:04 pm

This is real stunning..thank you God for the technology you give to us..

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:00 pm

no a fan of the grille and the exhaust just isn’t sexy enough

• Johnny on Mar 07, 2012 at 9:48 am

It’s great that they have relooked the grill which makes the front looks very fierce! But I dunno why it reminds me of a KIA..hmm.. I personally would’ve liked if they changed the looks of the rear a little bit tho..still looks the same..

“Production Ready”??
    “2013”???

• teelim on Mar 07, 2012 at 11:16 am

would love it if they made a 4door version.

• ahmadjohnson on Mar 27, 2012 at 1:29 pm

agreed. why when making a performance edition have to be 2 doors?

• xxzufrixx on Mar 08, 2012 at 3:24 pm

depan mcm aston martin ohh… smart3..