VIDEO: Ford Fiesta ST struts its stuff on the track

The venue: Track 7 of Ford’s proving ground in Lommel, Belgium. The machine: the Ford Fiesta ST, with 180 PS and 240 Nm from its 1.6 litre EcoBoost unit, a top whack of 220 km/h and a sub-seven second 0-100 km/h time. You can guess what happens next.

The second-gen Euro-spec Ford Fiesta ST, which debuted at last year’s Geneva show in three-door form, began production at Ford’s Cologne, Germany facility last month. In comparison, the US-spec car, which surfaced at the 2012 LA Auto Show, has five doors, 197 hp and 290 Nm of torque.

With a host of enhancements including electronic Torque Vectoring Control, quicker steering and a chassis lowered by 15 mm, it’s no surprise that the hot Fiesta‘s a belter round a circuit. Keep an eye out for the lift-off of the inside rear wheel.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• keretamahal on Mar 11, 2013 at 9:40 pm

Yeah I’m a proud Fiesta owner.

• hello on Mar 12, 2013 at 12:53 am

Unfortunately it’s not an ST

• Sam Loo on Mar 12, 2013 at 9:16 am

Most Fiesta owners are fuming mad with very bad after sales service and very expensive cars. Yes, the Gillete story or Printers story. Sell the shaving stick or printers cheap but whack the consumer with super high blade prices and ink cartridge prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • artworks on Mar 12, 2013 at 1:06 pm

idiot, fiesta owner is just like buy a good printer with free ink. i own fiesta from end of 2010 until now and i still didnt pay even a cent for maintenance. check at mudah urself and u will found fiesta 2nd value not any lower compare to vios.

• wow very good looking and sound better car! love it!

• Fahmi on Mar 11, 2013 at 10:02 pm

Nice little car indeed… Small, powerful, fun and still economical enough for daily drivers like most of us….I loved the “normal” 1.6 Fiesta, that’s a fun enough car, this one sure more fun…

• Horsepower on Mar 11, 2013 at 10:30 pm

Can we swap job for the rest of life?

• Petrolhead on Mar 11, 2013 at 10:45 pm

The Fiesta is still the most reliable hot hatch for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • amirad on Mar 11, 2013 at 11:23 pm

Fiesta ST for my driving pleasure (and hooligan in me). A golf GTi for the family car. What more can I ask.

• sepul on Mar 11, 2013 at 11:24 pm

“That’s why I love my job. It’s never boring.”

How I wish I could say that.

Great hot hatch for the average salaryman. Like us.

• cow stroller on Mar 11, 2013 at 11:32 pm

watched it on fordofeurope youtube channel couple days ago.

fiesta is a fun car to drive, even mine is not the ST like the video!

• LNick on Mar 11, 2013 at 11:34 pm

That sound from a 1.6 litre. Wow, just wow.

• teelim on Mar 12, 2013 at 12:15 am

Please bring this car over here!!!!

• amirad on Mar 12, 2013 at 8:12 am

I have driven the manual fiesta 1.4. It was gobsmackingly good. It may have 98 bhp but felt like it had 150 bhp. Very responsive and quick off the line. The steering felt like telepathic, it does exactly what your mind instruct it to do. The manual gear shift was so smooth and quick that I don’t need a dsg. But with this ST, I’m just salivating thinking about the drive. Must be totally awesome.

• Sam Loo on Mar 12, 2013 at 2:29 pm

no RV..and many fiesta owners dreaming as if their car is the ST..just wake up..ur car is cheap junk and different is night and day with ST

• Julian Lee on Mar 12, 2013 at 3:44 pm

Your RV junk is even more junk than you. Just go to the loo lah!

• totti on Mar 12, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Well.Nothing special about the local fiestar which i have test drove twice.

From the exterior design (Kinetioc fluid) and specification, I am quite impress and wanted to get one but after the test drove, I have to say no with the lack of pulling power for this small car despite having 120 HP.

They need to improve if want to challege the City /Vious/latio sport :-
    1) improve the pulling power.
    2) make the car wider. The interior is too narrow and not able to take 3 adult at the back seat.
    3) suspension damping need to improve.

• I’m not impressed with tyres screeching and over-steering at corners. if it’s good enough, it’ll be well planted with much lesser sound.

• teelim on Mar 12, 2013 at 11:54 pm

It all depends on the speed you carry through the bends/corners.

Sounds like you have never driven a car to is limit around bend/corners.