VW Polo GTI prices updated again – now RM152-155k

Volkswagen_Polo_GTI_1

Good news for hot hatch lovers! Volkswagen Malaysia has just issued an updated price list that pegs the three-door Polo GTI at RM151,888 and the five-door variant at RM154,888. The changes are effective as of April 2013, so no, this is not a post-GE13 price cut.

Here’s a quick recap of the mini GTI’s price fluctuations: the Volkswagen Polo GTI was first launched in August 2011, priced at RM132,888 for the three-door and RM135,888 for the five-door variant before a “re-evaluation of pricing by the authorities” forced Volkswagen Malaysia to issue massive price hikes to RM166,888 and RM169,888 respectively.

The latest price revision will wreak further havoc on the Polo GTI’s used prices (check out the current listings on oto.my). Most second-hand examples are already valued far more than their initial selling prices, which is unusual to say the least.

Volkswagen’s full model price list is included below. The only other notable change is the absence of a standard RM245,888 Sharan, as only the RM269,888 Tech Spec model is included.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Chow 1 on May 10, 2013 at 5:06 pm

You think all Malaysian earn RM15K per month is it?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 8
    • Affordable. Any new for the Golf GTI MK7? VW M’sia pls bring it here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 54
      • kentji on May 10, 2013 at 5:46 pm

the mk7 gti wont make it here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
        • They r coming soon… love yea MK7 GTI!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
          • VW and Hot Weather on May 11, 2013 at 3:01 pm

No idea why everyone is getting excited. On 8th of May, VW Global has admitted that their DSG Gearboxes CANNOT handle hot weather and hot countries. It is for sure to break down continuously. They also admitted that the car CANNOT handle traffic jams in hot weather countires. With this in mind, people are still wanting to buy VW? Pay RM150,000 to get a car that breaksdown all the time and be stuck in the highway waiting for the tow truck to come. Also, how to use a car that only requires you to drive in non traffic jam situations as well as cool climate?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
          • David on May 11, 2013 at 10:44 pm

I will buy a huge refrigerator for my Golf GTI! sure won’t brake down..:)

• Jimmy on May 12, 2013 at 12:57 pm

Can you sleep soundly if you spread false news?
            What is the gearbox used in GTI Golf ?
            Why are VW not recalling all their dry-clutch DSGss in all their hot-climate countries, in cluding Malaysia? I meant all DSGs.
            Why are they recalling only limited units? We want the truth.

• dont get too excited with VWs-i own them but i find French cars are more interesting to drive

• wayar buruk

• kentji on May 10, 2013 at 5:45 pm

15k? people’s average income got 5k also laugh ady lohhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
      • droll on May 10, 2013 at 8:44 pm

if you use overseas benchmark, price of car should be around 1-2 years of your yearly income. so at 155k, your monthly income should be around 6.5 to 7k lah. ok, this comparison is a bit too simplistic but i think 7k should be able to comfortably afford this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • Jimmy on May 10, 2013 at 9:57 pm

Big no, especially in KL.
          7k: Vios G maybe le.
          For 155k, the best is 30k.
          For E-class, 80k at least.
          Brand new S-class, haha, you need 150k per month, at least; or fully sponsored.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
          • Kelvin on May 10, 2013 at 11:48 pm

Are you sure? I saw people 3k driving Vios.

• Johnny on May 11, 2013 at 12:27 am

I think you’re speaking from a family man kinda view.

• Unclesam on May 11, 2013 at 7:40 am

Jimmy gong Kia. Your reasoning of ppl need to earn 30k to drive a 155k car shows that u got no otak and will b driving a Kancil for the rest of your life. R u living in a cave? Si beh gong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
          • Agreed with you, 15k not much la after tax and kwsp. Take home only 10k+. Bachelor ok la but he has to plan his financial also. Come from rich family no need to say lot, those make their own living and need to support family than is quite tight.
            1) 1500 car installment
            2) 1500 rent a condo
            3) 1000 for parents
            4) 2000 savings
            5) 4k to spend (not much actually if u go clubbing every weekend)

2k savings is very little if u wan to save up to buy house base on current market rate. If parents pay downpayment for car and hse than didd story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
          • Medic on May 13, 2013 at 8:47 am

I know of family man earning 5k/mth driving a 150k car wor..

• stealth on May 11, 2013 at 8:58 am

it should be calculated after Tax. Iets say earn 10k if u minus gov tax and KWSP left roughly 8k. With other commitments like housing loan I also can’t afford this babe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
          • Black Dog on May 11, 2013 at 12:36 pm

can afford, unless quit drinking, smoking, massage, unifi, 3g smart-phone, overseas travel…in other words, no life!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • DSG cannot use in Malaysia on May 11, 2013 at 3:22 pm

DSG cannot use in hot weather at all. Malaysia must recall all DSGs and comensate all customers for their failure in allowing the car into a hot country with knowledge that it will fail.

http://indianautosblog.com/2013/05/vws-dsg-problems-with-asian-climate-75182

• I didn’t see any Passat R-Line on the road.

• Hurray! But I find the price is still too high for a car of that size, and sigh….. No manual *waltz towards Mazda 3 MPS*. Awesome piece of news nevertheless

Btw, is it just me, or is anyone notice distributers are either having price drops or better spec after GE13, VSC in Camry, spec hike in Civic hybrid and now price drops on polo GTI;

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • _xXx_ on May 12, 2013 at 6:05 pm

for Polo GTI, only when it’s 131k and below, I call it price drop unless im suffering from amnesia.

• _xXx_ on May 10, 2013 at 5:23 pm

hello VM, ur car price up n down mcm share price…like tat who dare to buy ur cars???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
  • mystvearn on May 10, 2013 at 5:28 pm

The people who benefit most are the ones that bought it when it first came out. Car appreciate in value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • meng meng on May 10, 2013 at 6:19 pm

They incease price dulu for incase our BN discount 20%- 30% ma…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Jimmy on May 10, 2013 at 10:04 pm

I said before, inilah kebaikan talis.
      Before the projects are on, quickly tell my friends mari-mari sapu tanahs di sana, harga akan naik very soon.

Many people want to sell their house with 5-year old fixed furniture at the original price of the furniture; see, this used furniture do not depreciate value like cars. In other words, it has very good resale value.

• darker marker on May 10, 2013 at 6:41 pm

if the car price can fluctuate, I wont be surprised if the sparepart prices and service charges fluctuates as well.

Today, headlamp replacement cost 2k, tomorrow perhaps 2.5k??

• Those who bought at 160k previously must be very f**k up…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Medic on May 13, 2013 at 8:50 am

Those who already bought their camry must be very f88k up.(Now toyota decide to inc ESP,push start now).

• Tiguan on May 10, 2013 at 7:39 pm

Those who bought Polo Gti for RM170k sure having a heart attack now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Now vw outlets are offering 2012 polo gti exactly 151k. Hmm.. perhaps they have to slash another 15k

• Jimmy on May 10, 2013 at 10:07 pm

They have to slash the 2 big cakes evenly, in equal pieces, to change 25 into 50 pieces, lets wait and see.

• PauKaya on May 10, 2013 at 10:35 pm

anybody who entertains the ridiculous prices ppl are selling the polo gti’s for should be shot

• Johnny on May 11, 2013 at 12:18 am

I really pity those that bought the car at RM168K. If I were them I would have felt really cheated by VW, this price f**ktuation is just too stupid. Customers would really think twice now about buying a VW, unless they promise no price flukes for the model they’re buying which is unlikely.

• VW Passat CC owner on May 11, 2013 at 2:04 pm

Dear all

As an owner of VW PCC, i went through the same ordeal when purchasing my car – all i can say is:

Dont blame VW Msia or any carmaker for this sort of incidents, it is OUR GOVERNMENT AND THEIR HIGHLY EFFICIENT KASTAM DEPT thats causing all this shit to the automotive industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
      • vw passat cc owner- youre very wrong to blame the govt. Its the fault of VWM, just because the sales of polo gti dried up, now they realise, hence reduce their car prices to boost sales.

• tokmoh on May 11, 2013 at 1:40 am

Waaah, janji sudah ditepati! syukuralhamdulillah.jpg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
    • Terima Kasih kerajaan Barisan Nasional… Menepati Janji, Membawa Harapan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 15
  • SimonH on May 11, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Will never buy unless they drop back to original price. Rip off for a small car.

• beatnik on May 11, 2013 at 6:38 pm

Hahahahha.. vw seems like to play with polo gti price.. last time same thing happened to the old model.. now this.. pity the owners.

• motorhead on May 11, 2013 at 7:52 pm

VW Polo GTI? Lain kalilah…

• motorhead on May 12, 2013 at 12:21 am

Small car… Big money.. I respect those who have bought it… Or going to buy it.

• Hidup Hidup !!!!!!

• the driver on May 12, 2013 at 9:01 am

In anticipation of 208 GTi and Fiesta ST – that’s why the price revision. Cheaper and better, VW is overpriced in M’sia.

• motorhead on May 12, 2013 at 12:06 pm

Kinda agree with you.. Need to be a diehard fan of VW to buy this small car at premium price. Good luck VW.

• The price should be reduced as in the BN manifesto. Now all goods price increased…including car?

• Jimmy on May 12, 2013 at 10:06 pm

Take your EPF moneys and give it back to yous before the ages of 55 years.
      Wow seribu dua.
      This is the money given by the accounts of your bosses and yours youselves.

• Jimmy on May 12, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Duit gita lebeh baik diguna untuk membina/membangunkan negara, bukan untuk memboros.

• namanama on May 14, 2013 at 10:37 am

hahaha..150k+? i would buy old civic eg/ef,dump b18c under the hood,total cost not more than 50k…can smoke those turbo with NA engine summore…lol

• namanama…really? the Civic will still look like tin buruk…

• robert leong on Jun 21, 2013 at 9:11 pm

155K ? actually u paying extra taxes to the gov. as its sales tax is around 200 %, babe ! this your 2nd income tax sir !

• Draman on Dec 23, 2013 at 3:57 pm

When I started work In the late sixties, my new car Opel Kadett costs me 7 months of my salary.