Bentley SUV to get 12-cylinder engine, 575 to 650 hp

bentley-suv-1

At the recent Frankfurt show, Bentley global head of sales and marketing Kevin Rose revealed to Automotive News Europe that the new Bentley SUV (EXP 9 F concept pictured) will be powered by a 12-cylinder engine that produces between 575 and 650 hp. He also confirmed the high-rider’s relation to the next-gen Audi Q7 and Porsche Cayenne.

Clearly, the 12-pot in question is likely to be a W12, and looking at the output range, a pair of turbochargers should be involved. The four-, five- or seven-seat vehicle “will be as capable off road as the Range Rover,” Rose boldly claimed, adding that it is expected to create a new segment. It will be the world’s most powerful and luxurious SUV, according to the Crewe crew. ANE speculates that Bentley’s first SUV could cost as much as 180,000 euro when sales begin in 2016.

It may not exactly be in a class of its own when it comes out, though – Rolls-Royce is reportedly considering an ultra-luxury SUV too.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• ABTguy on Sep 23, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Ugliest SUV in the history.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 9
  • jolly_idiot on Sep 23, 2013 at 2:00 pm

Bayar roadtax and minum petrol like nobody business.

• buruk nak mampus

• Hideous! A traditional chariot would be classier than this!

• Austronesian on Sep 23, 2013 at 3:04 pm

Fugly!

We wish BENTLEY winding up ASAP!

• syafiq on Sep 23, 2013 at 3:05 pm

look at the face..erk…

• Painter on Sep 23, 2013 at 3:37 pm

This makes BMW X5 look like a regular Honda CRV.

• Why do Western countries tell us to stop cutting down trees and reduce pollution and imposing Carbon Tax while they drive huge cars like this?

• sirim on Sep 23, 2013 at 5:50 pm

Because they have much better regulation than us. And all the primary material they need, they take it from us. We are the ones stupid enough to build Lynas and cut our trees for them. Our representatives are more than happy to sell our natural resources to them. So who’s the stupid one now?
      We sell trees, build toxic plants and they engineer.

• Euro VI on Sep 24, 2013 at 3:16 am

Those western countries impose very strict emissions standards on cars being sold in the market. Every carmakers is affected, even luxury and sports cars. It is one of the reasons the next Ferrari and Porsche hypercars are going to be hybrids.

• Ipoh Mali on Sep 23, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Looks something from the Eastern Bloc in the 80s before the iron curtain came down

• sick&tired on Sep 23, 2013 at 11:38 pm

i would take a range rover any day! it will probably sell a lot in the middle east & china

• norman on Sep 24, 2013 at 12:48 am

Current times i dun understand why a grand suv need a 12 cylinders for more power?I can understand if its a hyper sport car like bugatti but this?Even Americans that are used to V10,V8 are switching over to V6 and straight 4 due to rising fuel price and the more greener and economical 6,4 cylinders cars,12 or 16 cylinders suits truck better

• concept on Sep 24, 2013 at 3:08 am

Guys, guys before you start throwing up thinking that your next Bentley gonna look like that please let me inform you that its only the concept in the picture above. Bentley already acknowledge that the looks is not to everyone’s taste and went back to the drawing board. Whether the real car will be uglier or not than the concept, that i have no idea though.

• west end boys on Sep 24, 2013 at 3:09 am

bentley mulsanne on steroids.In terms of horsepower its awesome but exterior not really appealing dont know bout interior yet

• Bent...ly on Sep 24, 2013 at 10:38 am

Ha ha ha! Bentley! Can see those
    Rover guys are grinning ear to ear now ..ha ha ha!

• ernie on Sep 24, 2013 at 11:54 am

the designer was truly sleeping! yucky looking thing.

• laofuzhi on Dec 14, 2013 at 6:41 am

Looks like gramma SUV.. you know those cars appeared in lao fu zhi comic?