Volkswagen may drop DSG for future sub-Golf models

volkswagen-polo-tsi-review-53

A report by GoAuto indicates that Volkswagen may switch to a conventional torque converter auto for its sixth-gen Polo (fifth-gen pictured) and second-gen Up! models, and that future iterations of the DSG would be reserved for Golf-sized vehicles and up.

“We are considering a number of torque converter automatic alternatives for the next Up! and Polo,” Volkswagen transmission development head Michael Schaefer told GoAuto. “We are looking at an eight-speed Aisin or nine-speed ZF transmission – but we have not decided on which one as yet.”

Why? Schaefer cited economies of scale, and explained that the global volume wasn’t there to justify the cost of developing a new DSG suitable for A- and B-segment applications. He added that it wasn’t a reaction to the current power loss issues certain DSGs have faced over the last few years.

volkswagen up

Also, the gap in fuel efficiency between a twin-clutch and a torque converter auto has narrowed to about 0.2 from 1.5 litres per 100 km 10 years ago, he said, adding that city car drivers prefer the instantaneous acceleration and lower NVH properties of torque converters, and that North American and Chinese consumers appear to dislike the DSG’s operational characteristics.

“Volkswagen already buys 1.5 million Aisin torque converter transmissions for our US and Chinese customers… for models such as (their unique) Passat and vehicles with the 1.6 litre MPI petrol engines.”

Schaefer said equipping vehicles with engines that develop less than 200 Nm of torque with nine- or 10-speed DSGs is not ideal, because there isn’t enough torque in the higher ratios to maintain higher speeds.

volkswagen-polo-tsi-review-11-950x633

To accommodate the upcoming torque converter auto, GoAuto understands that the 2016 Polo replacement will sit on a variation of the Mk7 Golf‘s MQB platform, but will use a new modular front end version of the New Small Family architecture originally devised for the current Up!

Volkswagen is not abandoning the DSG, though – a 10-speed version for D-segment vehicles and SUVs, and up, is in the works, CEO Martin Winterkorn has announced. A new DQ380 family of modular DSGs based on the heavy-duty DQ500 seven-speed unit that currently serves the Audi TT RS and the Volkswagen T5 Transporter/Multivan range is also on the way.

This new DSG will most probably appear first in 2.0 litre TDI-engined variants of the new Mk7 Golf-based C-segment models late next year, replacing the original DQ250 six-speed DSG. Schaefer says it’ll be able to take up to 420 Nm of torque.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Keris Jawa on Oct 11, 2013 at 5:43 pm

“Schaefer said equipping vehicles with engines that develop less than 200 Nm of torque with nine- or 10-speed DSGs is not ideal…”. Why only now they make such a statement after much agony from the consumers?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
    • Without DSG, VW is perfect!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
      • It even fails before launch. VW will bring another disasterous gearbox after this. Really sucks for hot tropical countries

• _xXx_ on Oct 12, 2013 at 9:59 am

sux too during summer?…if so dsg is for the eskimos only…

• Only Use at Night Car on Oct 13, 2013 at 2:24 pm

I think readers here must read previous post and their comments and they will stay away from VW far far away. VW Germany already admit on May 08 2013, all their DSG boxes, whether its 2013 or earlier years strictly cannot handle 1) Hot Asian Climate 2) Asian traffic jams otherwise prone to non stop breakdowns. This is an admission in black and white.

Now with this admission that they are dropping their DSG, ALL current VW cars sold in Malaysia with DSG is going to plummmet in price. Why? Because by dropping the DSG, it is their second admission that the DSG was inherently faulty from day one.

For existing owners, there is no way around it. Even the recent global mass recalls cannot sort this problem out. They will just put in a new DSG box when they recall but ALL the DSG boxes by Borg Warner are inherently defective.

VW fansboys will say that now without DSG everything will be okey but do you still want to trust a car company who denied for years there was nothing wrong with their DSG until the China government came down hard on them?

So, the DSG cars should not have been sold in Malaysia in the first place. You can use this car in Europe but a big NO in Malaysia. Unless you use the car ONLY at night (when it is cooling) and there is NO traffic jam. Truly Knight Rider (KITT)

Pity current DSG owners. Their prices are going to have a free fall plummetting to ridiculous levels. Bargain hunters can now buy a 2012 Golf or Passat for less than RM90k. But I think even bargain hunters won’t take the risk now VW has blatantly and openly dropping the DSG themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
      • POORvw on Oct 12, 2013 at 7:48 am

Will VW drop kain pelikat mamak in golf lines too? It’s too shabby for above 100k car!!!

• pollf on Oct 12, 2013 at 9:43 am

One day VW designer visited malaysia and had breakfast at curry restaurant. He saw the mamak’s kain pelikat andgot inspired to design the seat fabric pattern. Haha!

• Really German Engineering? on Oct 13, 2013 at 2:26 pm

Really German Engineering?

Do you know that VW buyers in Malaysia are the most gullible people on earth? Why? 2 Reasons.

Reason 1 – Because they pay about RM200,000 for a car that globally is equivalent or same in status as Proton. VW globally is nothing. They are same status as even Skoda (though same group). But in Malaysia, Malaysian buyers act as if they have made it in life and are the pinnacle of success. They act arrogant and even at traffic lights they rev and rev to show the car beside themselves that they, the VW owners, are happening. But in actual fact, like I said, in global eyes, people regard VW owners as normal people. For heaven’s sake, Volkswagen is the German term for “People’s car”. Its like owning a Proton. But likely Proton does not charge you RM200,000 to own it.

2nd Reason: You pay RM200,000 for problem after problem. Isn’t that so silly? VW Owners claim it is German superior engineering, but if it really superior engineering, why is there so so many complaints? You pay so much of money for problems?

Now VW Owners don’t know what to do. They bought their cars thinking that;
            1) Got Status ie thinking its same level as BMW and Mercedes.
            2) Quality of German Engineering.

But now, both of these points have gone down the drain. The car has zero status. Infact, people laugh at VW owners on the road because they know the reputation of constant breakdowns and DSG scandals and how foolish the owner was to pay RM200,000 for a car that is so problematic in the first place.

Isn’t better you just buy a normal car like Proton, Honda or Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 28
          • Sam Lau Sai on Oct 14, 2013 at 8:29 am

Maserati says you no taste ok. He always wear this kain pelikat driving his golf and attend his loser vw gang tt session. Each time he goes out his kain pelikat, all the ah bengs and mamak envy him.

• I thought the kain pelikat mamak seat fabric pattern was a homage to the Mk1 golf?

• Must Sue VW Malaysia on Oct 13, 2013 at 3:44 pm

We VW owners must do a class action suit against VW Malaysia. They knew about this problem for years but persisted in selling still right up to Oct 2013. In oveaseas, people are suing because it is a danger. Many people accident and die because halfway overtaking DSG lose power.

Now we VW owners also cannot sell our cars. Rugi. We must sue for compensation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • Bob_B78 on Oct 12, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Without DSG, VW will loose its appeal.
        The problem with DSG in Msia is not bcoz of the weather, rather they way ppl drive.
        Look of the performance spec sheet of some VW models, they have one of the fastest acceleration in their respective segment.
        For example: Jetta has 8.3s for 0-100kph, GTI 6.5s. Will you not be tempted to drag race all the time at traffic light?
        This type driving behavior u think ur GB won’t condemn?
        U r less likely to drag race with other brands as their acceleration is not that intoxicating
        When u r less likely to drag race, ur GB is less likely to condemn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 37
        • the fact on Oct 12, 2013 at 1:19 pm

hahahhahaha…bro…what an answer. in that case its a crap gearbox :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
          • Bob_B78 on Oct 12, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Dont ever think other manufacturer is more realiable than vw dsg. Given the same driving style, other manufacturer gb will also kabut. CVT die very fast, so avoid CVT if u are a heavy footer. Heard that honda gb not very reliable, latest i heard is for new gen accord in the US. Sad to hear that as i am a honda fanboy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
          • Where are the VW fanboys? on Oct 13, 2013 at 4:02 pm

VW fanboys hiding in their panties.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • lol u must never driven a DSG-equipped VW then. It’s not that they can’t handle the power and punishment. It’s just.. they jerk a lot during traffic jams, they suck at crawling speed. and because of that, the clutch drags a lot, produces a lot of heat. add our hot climate and traffic conditions, and you got yourself a disaster gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
          • brown kid on Oct 13, 2013 at 1:11 pm

how about change it to manual mod in heavy traffic

• Where are the VW fanboys? on Oct 13, 2013 at 4:10 pm

This is why it is Malaysia’s tow truck best friend. Tow truck drivers have sent their kids overseas to study solely on towing VW cars alone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
          • Sky pirate on Oct 13, 2013 at 11:17 pm

You have just mentioned it yourself, they can’t build a reliable gearbox. It’s the same as buying a smartphone and only know that you can only surf the internet using 3G for 1 hour, any more than that, the phone will go kaput. I mean hello, people buy a car to drive, not to drive with conditions attached to it.

• Joker on Oct 13, 2013 at 12:09 pm

Lol, you Still sleeping..

• blergh.. I did 180-200km/h runs frequently on my way to JB in my Inspira and also Preve. then KL city drive on the other week. both Inspira Aisin CVT and Preve Punch CVT never show signs of fatigue or jerkiness. Its all about sufficient cooling and good maintenance la.

DSG fails in cooling system and hydraulic clutch control, VW service centre fails in maintenance.

• carnut on Oct 11, 2013 at 9:21 pm

He is talking about future development. There are no 9 or 10 speed DSGs for passenger vehicles.

• kadajawi on Oct 12, 2013 at 12:21 am

Suprima’s sales is going down…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • Nowadays suprima compared with conti. Why not with japs like civic, sylphy or altis?

• frenzyaustin on Oct 11, 2013 at 5:50 pm

DSG is proven not working well in hot weather such as Malaysia. It’s better to equipped with older 6-speed AT or a MT is the best choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
  • luxurie on Oct 11, 2013 at 5:56 pm

It’s a good news anyway. At least you don’t have to worry when is your 7 speed dsg going to kaput. 8 speed conventional automatic transmission isn’t any inferior after all. Look at bmw 8 speed auto, no horror story heard heard so far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • Buy vios. It’s the most reliable car according to toyota fan. Only vios should have VSC (which does not) because its reliability is guaranteed unlike contis which always fail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Now I know the life of conti drivers are miserable because they always afraid their cars break down. So pity. What use of expensive car if it gives you bad life? Only for showing off? That’t too baaaaaddddd

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
  • Samuel Lulu on Oct 11, 2013 at 6:04 pm

This makes sense. Aisin 6 speed works fantastically in the MINI. Efficient and quick shifting. No need for DSG actually other than in performance models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • aseng on Oct 12, 2013 at 7:51 am

It sounds like made in china product, good luck for your car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 19
      • Moores on Oct 12, 2013 at 9:20 am

Made in China?? Aisin is the biggest Japanese OEM supplier to almost all car manufacturer in Europe, Japan etc…

• Akira on Oct 12, 2013 at 4:26 pm

You don’t sound too smart…

• Datuk on Oct 11, 2013 at 6:08 pm

finally, but for me just bring the manual transmission into malaysia market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • lesar on Oct 12, 2013 at 7:56 am

Mamual trans is a big no no in city driving. Your leg will become sore sooner than you think

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • ahmadjohnson on Oct 12, 2013 at 12:59 pm

And a big yes for non city driving. At least VW malaysia should consider bringing manual as an option so buyer have a choice.

• Why not? I know some people willing to have sore legs just to drive a manual spec’ed golf/polo

• tokmoh on Oct 13, 2013 at 12:47 pm

U think in Europe don’t have city? No jam?

Despite that, Europeans mostly drive proper manual. Cheaper to buy, lower fc, cheaper road, tax, cheaper to maintain etc. Auto normally only seen in performance, luxurious cars, for all else, manual.

The truth is, msian drivers have become pondan. Jam skit da tak nak bawa manual ptooi. Bayar beratus-ratus gi gym boleh, jimat duit bawa manual tak leh, genius.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
        • wonderland on Oct 13, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Ni mesti tak pernah pergi oversea ni. Jangan jadi macam katak bawah tempurung la woi lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • tokmoh on Oct 14, 2013 at 9:54 am

you’re the one who sound like you’ve never been to any European country. my opinion was drawn after my recent visit to London.

if you’ve been to Europe, you’ll know i speak a fairly true picture of their attitude towards manual. auto option can cost around £2,000++. auto having higher fc means higher co2 emission, thus higher road tax. it can make a difference between payin £30/yr and >£100/yr for road tax if the emission borders a certain class band. auto needs more care than manual thus more expensive. labour is expensive there.

for most people then, choosing manual is obvious

• wonderland on Oct 15, 2013 at 10:32 am

£30/yr and >£100/yr?
            That’s not much difference, if you say it’s per month than maybe yes it’s quite a number. Their salaries are paid in pounds la katak. You have been to Europeans countries only for several times, you are not living there for years lol. Sembang je lebat puihhhh.

• tokmoh on Oct 15, 2013 at 6:26 pm

You retard or what? U just select my one point why manual cheaper than auto then say not much difference? The rest of my points u buta dunno how to read?

Bodoh sombong nye wonderland, lantak ko la butthurt ngan the real fact: manual is cheaper to buy and run than auto.

• sudonano on Oct 11, 2013 at 6:11 pm

Makes sense, if they want to price the Polo better. I really think they should have the normal auto and DSG sold side by side, cause that will give us a choice. Or keep DSG on the performance “R”/”GTi” models, cause whatever said and done, DSG if not used properly, ie leaving in gear while stopped in traffic-grinding the gears, will spoil.

And the number of reliability concerns of DSG is just too many, more than even PowerShift I think.

Plus, new torque converter autos are pretty quick. Take a look at the ZF8HP used in the BMW lineup and some VW/Audi models.

I hope they have a normal auto for the Golf. Then I won’t mind considering a VW, until then, no.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • With normal gearbox sure pwrformance sucks. After this any cars can overtake VW, even viva, LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • “North American and Chinese consumers appear to dislike the DSG’s operational characteristic” I think most of the consumers doesn’t like the problematic DSG 7 but rather prefer the more stable DSG 6.

• kolos on Oct 12, 2013 at 8:08 am

So this changes made because of their views, not southeast asians’. They don’t care about us.

• Sky pirate on Oct 11, 2013 at 7:40 pm

VW fanboys are funny. Previously they all talk like DSG is the best thing since white bread. Now they all sing a different tune.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 4
    • VW Fanboi on Oct 11, 2013 at 9:05 pm

We will worship VW till the end of time no matter what.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
    • amuse on Oct 11, 2013 at 10:17 pm

Look. there is few types of DSG. 6speed 7speed dry clutch. The issue is with the 7th speed which equip in polo, golf, passat. High model like Golf GTi, Scirocco 2.0, CC is using 6 speed which have no problem. That’s the reason you see mix comments..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • glaze on Oct 12, 2013 at 1:13 am

CC is using dsg7 which is the same as Passat

• Why they don’t go until 10 speed? Their engineers cannot do like bmw?

• SonSon on Oct 12, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Who says VW’s 6-speed wet cluth DSG dun have problems? My friend’s Mk6 GTI was in the workshop for 4-months due to a faulty DSG gearbox, had to wait for a replacement gearbox from overseas. I’m sure there are many more such cases with the 6-speed DSG as well.

• My friends Vios was in the workshop for even 5-months due to a faulty four-speed auto, had to wait for a replacement gearbox from Japan as they don’t have spare stock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
          • Sky pirate on Oct 13, 2013 at 1:27 am

Troll harder next time, vios? Japan? Prff.

• Maserati on Oct 14, 2013 at 8:40 am

My maserati spark plugs have to wait for 6 months ‘coz i don’t have money to pay.

• Where are the VW fanboys? on Oct 13, 2013 at 4:01 pm

VW fanboys dont know where to hide their faces. Malu now. Last time all rev at traffic light, now all scared to rev. Because if they rev too much, DSG will stall.

• What does it got to do with Malaysia’s hot weather?!?!?!?!?!?!!!!!! Malaysia is NOT THE ONLY hot climate weather in the whole wide world. There are so many other hotter and more humid and extreme climate countries than Malaysia will ever be.

• the driver on Oct 12, 2013 at 12:21 am

Perhaps its because of the traffic conditions that make it even more severe. Other countries that are even worse in terms of heat and humidity have nothing like in M’sia – just my 5 sen worth, might be wrong though

• seles on Oct 12, 2013 at 9:33 am

No no no. It shows that germany engineering precision is nothing to shout about. They can’t even be precise to make the gearbox standing bad traffic jam in some countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Sky pirate on Oct 13, 2013 at 11:10 pm

Contrary to popular beliefs, the Malaysian traffic is not as bad as it seems. The so called Malaysian traffic jam is not technically a traffic jam, at least the cars are still moving, but slow, not stationary most of the time. If you have travelled to let’s say Bangkok or San Francisco, those are what we call traffic jams where vehicles literally are stationary, not moving at all.

• I think all VW models should use conventional auto except for over 200hp models. dry-DSG sucks.

Proton should also switch to conventional 6/7-spd auto.. current wet clutch-based Punch CVT is efficient and more refined than DSG.. but yea.. boring D’:

• Nothing is more boeing than waiting for tow truck coming to your stalled VW, HAHA!

• Muhammad on Oct 11, 2013 at 9:25 pm

Own Golf TSI nearly 3 years. Based on my experience DSG 7 speed really sucks . VW very irresponsible .Mechatronic replaced twice one under recall. Now been more than 2 mths still waiting to fix clutch plate . Stock arrived but Q very long. Totally regret looks like have to live with this shitty car coz resale value totally sucks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • JohnDi on Oct 11, 2013 at 10:41 pm

You know what? kimchi taste great… try it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
    • Bob_B78 on Oct 12, 2013 at 5:16 pm

Sorry for your prob bro. But I am curios regarding your problem. You bought ur Golf in 2010 rite? If not mistaken there was a recall in 2011 for the GB. Ur gb kaput before the recall or after u send for the recall?

U have every right to bash VW for poor reliabilty, for U r an genuine owner. Unlike the rest of bashers here that never even own a VW. So many basher, only 1 or 2 owns a VW.

Can any real VW owner come out and bash VW for the lousy GB?

• no need to come out anymore. there’s tons of owners filing lawsuits to VW. so ppl, including my cousin, get replacement box for free under warranty.

but then, they replaced it with ‘improved’ unit. then it fails again. replaced again. then my cousin sold his Mk6 Golf, because he dont wanna pay RM60k for gbox replacement after warranty.

face it, the whole DSG is a design flaw.

• LimPek on Oct 14, 2013 at 4:06 pm

Ya, right. I’ve received the replacement of mechatronics of 7 speed DSG letter.
        VW car is good; but gearbox sucks!

• 1 thing i cncern.. if ever they (vw) goin to change DSG and it will be available in bolehland, hw they goin to price it? I mean should be significantly reduce isnt it? If im not wrong.. or they goin to be monkey bcoz put it other way round..

• Put it more expensive is better because they follow toyota which plays reliability sentiment to people.

Now VW does not only means conti and speed, it also comes with reliability, lol. How weird it is, everyone knows how crappy it is. Must be sold after 3 years of use before it get kaput!

• amuse on Oct 11, 2013 at 10:12 pm

they should eliminate the 7th gear DSG. 6th speed DGS perform perfectly fine. pros and cons..

• besset on Oct 12, 2013 at 8:21 am

Only 6? Then cannot show off to preve turbo drivers coz they got 7 speed. Only can do to some toyota or honda drivers only. So pity.

• 6-speed DSG is wet-clutch version. They work well here because the clutch is constantly ‘bathed’ and cooled with gbox oil. so the clutches can stand constant dragging in hot Msian climate and Msian traffic jams lol.

7-speed is the dry clutch version. They are, well, dry and air-cooled (idk, someone can correct me kah?). not enough cooling. so they cannot stand our conditions.

• Mr Torque Converter on Oct 11, 2013 at 10:15 pm

So this 6-speed auto is actually already used in our Malaysian market Polo Sedan right?

• neemfa on Oct 11, 2013 at 10:16 pm

VW got popular in Malaysia because of DSG.. and then flop because of.. DSG.. learned the hard way eh?

• edrem on Oct 12, 2013 at 9:37 am

Since when VW is popular because of DSG? Everyone knows DSG sucks. VW is popular because it got the conti badge. similar with vios, nothing left to be proud, only the big T badge.

Ok i forgot VW is popular among tow truck drivers. Lol

• Gary Yap on Oct 11, 2013 at 10:16 pm

This is a public admission that the dry dump dsg is a failure, commercially and technically. I wonder how long vw will stock parts for this gearbox. Vw owners with dry dump dsg must be thinking of getting rid of their rides at this very moment. I can only see their residue values plummeting…

• Sam Tow Truck on Oct 14, 2013 at 8:45 am

If they can trade in or sell. Those with 9 years loan have to fork out more money when they realised the resale value is like shit.

• Jimmy on Oct 11, 2013 at 10:34 pm

In Malaysia, VW is still perceived as more prestigious than ordinary Japanese/Korean brands, no matter what. Just like Volvo which is more prestigious than VW, even if the price is slightly cheaper than high-spec Japanese D-segment vehicles, it is still more prestigious, no matter what the reliability and aftersales are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • I dont.

• JohnDi on Oct 11, 2013 at 10:44 pm

Only those brainless will support expensive cars with very poor reliability, I’m glad I’m not one of those…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
      • tkhengong on Oct 12, 2013 at 1:05 pm

I will not buy a VW & Honda period cause both are owned by the no. 1 crony in Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • Autoexpert on Oct 12, 2013 at 12:23 am

Those who perceives that VW brand is more prestigious than Japanese/Korean are ignorant fools. Volkswagen is Germany means ‘People’s car’ and this was created by the infamous Nazi, Hitler during WW2. Go figure! You must be joking… VW more prestigious than Lexus, Infiniti or Acura ? Please wake up from Bolehland!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • Yes, VW’s are better for driving while Lexus, Infiniti or Acura are better for traffic jam.

• Conti cars are only weekend cars. Where to put face if it stalls in traffic jam during weekdays?

• IS that AN EXCUSE ? Drop a good technology rather than fix it ? then the current VW owner will be forever stick with their shitty gearbox until they get rid of the car.

• Have you even told by sam loo it’d be rotten cabbage in no time?

• vee-oh on Oct 12, 2013 at 11:07 am

very good & safe way of saying that “actually our DSG box sucks”…congrates VW

• tkhengong on Oct 12, 2013 at 11:19 am

With the endless possibilities of this current government, who knows we, motorists, could one day in the very near future find AES camera installed arbitrarily everywhere to suck our hard earned money for breaking frivolously imposed speed limit. In this instance, I opined a 4/5 speed aspirated gearbox would serve well for everyday comuting and occasional highway drives. I drive a Prius and I am happy with its performance and economy both for highways and city use and I travel weekly on the North-South Highway and NKVE.

• Muhammad on Oct 12, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Hi Bob_B78 recall for mechatronic was mid ds year . Abt 4k cars recall in msia . Spore abt 6k . Mechatronic n clutch plate problem in 2012 after 2 yrs . VW change aug’ 12 both parts but problem persist coz they replace with the old version . Under Recall ds year vw replace with new mechatronic version that was done in july 13. . But the clutch plate they replace in 2012 is also old version . Though 5 yr warranty after 2 years ie 3rd yr onwards is insurance warranty . If yr parts faulty , vw will arrange adjusters to verify n get approval . The adjusters may take weeks in my case more than 1 mth before approval is given for vw to order the parts then fixed appointment for u to come bak send the car . Whole process will take 3 mths if u lucky . To change the clutch plate vw told me i hv to leave 3 days that will be next mth . So if u hv faulty parts n car cant move owners r doom without car . Lucky my car can still move but judder due to the faulty clutch plate . i was looking forward to get the new mk 7 gti but alas due to the bad experience i faced i gv up on vw . Anyway the other day the air cond fan faulty take them 3 weeks to get it fixed . VW dun kp such parts . That is y i say vw irresponsible . I hv written once to them n also gv up complaining .I must say the car if no gb problems drive great better than my previous camry . If given a 2nd chance i will not bother with vw . The problems outweigh the ocassional good drive . Service advisor mentioned only the 7 speed dsg giving problems not the wet clutch 6 speed dsg which i blv most vw wannabe is aware . I hv to say if vw can provide gud after sales service , it will alleviate the isses n waiting period etc . But vw is too concern with sales n could not cope with service n i think they dun really care . Coz there will be new naive wannabe like me 3 yrs ago .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Bob_B78 on Oct 12, 2013 at 6:22 pm

Hi Muhammad, thanks for sharing your personal experience. It was very informative. The truth is I got my Jetta in end of August this year. Since Jetta is having the same engine/gb like your golf, so there is a chance i might face the same problem in the later stage. Funny that I was aware of this issue before i made my purchase, but somehow it is a good car to drive and this made me decide to purchase anyway. Rest assured I will be bashing VW when or if my gb kaput. Lol and Cheers!

• glaze on Oct 13, 2013 at 12:14 am

my golf TSI is still queuing for clutch pack change, same case as you knowing the DSG is having issue and I still buy it. Sorry to say i’m fed up now after calling the SC for many times without anyone picking up the call. At least my experience with Honda for the past 5 years are way better!

• Joker on Oct 13, 2013 at 12:22 pm

last year i nearly bought CC, after I done some survey through my friend and VW Facebook, and found out CC equipped with 7 speed DSG, immeadiately full stop. In the end picked 8speed ZF

Conti car need conti level SC, not local chap Ayam SC

7dsg is causing huge problem toward polo, Jetta, golf tsi, CC and passat. Good luck

• jason22 on Oct 12, 2014 at 3:02 am

hi im also interested in the jetta but am worried about the bad press. hows yr jetta now?

• JohnDi on Oct 12, 2013 at 10:27 pm

Expensive Car + Poor Reliability = No Thanks. For those VW wannabe… wake up guys before its too late..

• samlok on Oct 12, 2013 at 6:34 pm

they finally bangun

• if u wanna buy reliable VW car, the only reliable is polo sedan

• RejimKejamGanas on Oct 13, 2013 at 1:00 am

Unfortunately, even the Polo sedan is unreliable. Read this for complaint to local VW:
      https://www.facebook.com/VolkswagenMalaysia/posts/540744516013357

• guys is there any way we can know the sales of GTI mk7 sales figures in malaysia? and so far any complaints?

• Sam Tow Truck on Oct 14, 2013 at 8:53 am

My business had been so good till i further expand my fleet. Oh, i even bought a new bungalow, thanks to VW fans. Every day there is poor sucker who buy a VW. Good also for my business.

So, readers, don’t buy toyota ya…it’s boring and lousy, no safety. Come, join the vw gangs. People will see you up and even tow trucks will become your best friends.

Don’t forget to call 1-800-Sam Tow Truck. Tow 4 times Free 1 time. We even have platinum package where you get unlimited towing for 1 year at very cheap price.

Thank you VW for making my business boom so good. TQ TQ TQ.

• budlee on Oct 14, 2013 at 2:36 pm

I have yet tested a car with DSG, so I have no idea what it feels like.

Torque converter auto will be my fave, just because it does things smoothly.

CVT are nice for the excellent fuel economy and the seamless transmission but you have to get use to the weird rubber band effect. It felt weirder on the Altis CVT since I know its a CVT but the RPM meter goes up and down like a torque converter box.

• Sparcov on Oct 16, 2013 at 8:44 am

My Family Vw Jetta don’t really have much problem. already using it for 3 years.

Is it the same gearbox with golf?

• neutral on Oct 16, 2013 at 9:49 pm

Sam tow truck pls troll harder next time. Don’t make shame of paultan readers with your idiotic joke. Vw provides 24 hour free tow service fyi. Platinum package my ass.

I don’t deny the fact that the dsg has its prob but pls look at the number of vw cars on the road vs the problematic one. No other continental cars can match their sales. I don understand why so many non vw owner bashing as if they Have own one, and I doubt even have them sat in one.

• Nice say neutral! DSG is indeed problematic I can say as I drive a golf tsi for one year plus. Change the mecha for free and small problems which all cars will have. I also wonder so many non vw owners bashing here and there, have you ever really drive a vw and test the DSG? I would say vw owner have the right to comment but not u and u and u which heard from other ppl. The only suck is the service center after sales service which need to improve definitely. And the biggest joke in 2013, proton to compare vw. Banyak pandainya.

• huzer on Oct 17, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Wow the argument and counter argument of a DSG is very informative and refreshing. Thanks a lot guys.I am actually pondering to buy the Golf MK7 1.4L but now I have a second thought…