Volkswagen developing 10spd DSG, new diesel engine

Der neue Volkswagen Golf

Volkswagen chairman Prof Dr Martin Winterkorn confirmed recently at the Vienna Motor Symposium that the company is working on a 10-speed dual-clutch gearbox and a high-performance diesel engine that will produce 136 hp per litre of displacement.

No word on when they will surface, but the diesel engine is said to incorporate technologies such as a variable valve-train assembly, a high-pressure injection system at up to 3,000 bar and combined charging with the innovative e-booster.

“Since the year 2000, we’ve reduced the fuel consumption of our TDI and TSI engines by more than 30%. I’m convinced that by 2020 we can achieve further increases in efficiency of around 15%,” he said, adding that the enhancement of the combustion process and intelligent lightweight design are amongst the factors that would make this possible.

Volkswagen chairman Prof Dr Martin Winterkorn

Winterkorn also sees potential in natural gas powertrains, deeming them “environmentally friendly, economical and suitable for everyday use.” Emitting only 79 grams of CO2 per km, the Volkswagen eco-up! is the world’s most economical natural gas-powered car, while upcoming products of this nature will include the Volkswagen Golf TGI BlueMotion and the Audi A3 g-tron.

In the medium term, VW will focus on plug-in hybrid tech; in particular its first plug-in hybrid models – the Porsche Panamera S E-Hybrid and Audi A3 e-tron – which will shortly be going into production. They will be followed by the Golf and many other models such as the Passat, Audi A6 and Porsche Cayenne.

“Over the coming years we will electrify all vehicle classes,” Winterkorn also said.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• ae101 on Apr 29, 2013 at 12:26 pm

hmmm 10spd. Nice tech on paper. But is it really necessary for road car to go until so many gearing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Ah Beng Kia on Apr 29, 2013 at 1:02 pm

7-speed pun dah x ok lagi nk bikin 10-speed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • VW Sad Man on Apr 30, 2013 at 10:11 am

The 7 Speed also they cannot sort out, they want to now come out with 10 Speed. The current 7 Speed DSG breaksdown so often and that is why the service centres are so overwhelmed with so many customers that they cannot even handle the normal daily service requests. Everyday, so many cars come in with DSG failures. Ask any service centre people and they will tell you, 1 in every 3 VW’s with DSG has failures. And these failures are not one off. It keeps on happening until you get fed up. So, you can console yourself thinking they give you 5 years warranty but when each failure takes about 3 weeks to repair, this alone will test your patience. I am a VW Passat owner and I can confirm one thing with you, stay away from dry and dual clutch gearboxes. It has broken down on me at least 4 times. When I speak to other people in the service centres when I go to get my car repaired, they ALSO confirm gearbox failures. So, VW, 7 Speed also don’t know how to do, want to do 10 speed. Why don’t VW spend their time improving on quality instead of coming out with higher gears?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
        • Hi there, I have an almost 3 year old golf tsi & and 1.5 yr old Cross Touran. Both have the the 7 speed dry clutch, and up todate…both are running well. May i know whats wrong wt your passat 7 speed dsg?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • Colin Wong on Oct 12, 2013 at 11:34 am

Hi City

You are living in denial and is in brand-defence mode. The DSG problem is well known, well publicised and has claimed many a disgruntled owner. I have 2 friends that had their VW towed back to workshop (Jetta and Golf) and another 2 with bad juddering problem. Not to mention those who reported on community blogs.

We congratulate you for having 2 units of VW that are well behaved. But spare a thought for those who had problems. It’s painful given that all have invested more than 100K on their rides. It does not happen to every car but nonetheless, it is a problem. So learn to accept that and emphatise with others.

• Sam Loo on May 01, 2013 at 12:45 am

More DSG cars on the road means more business for tow truck operators

• Matchbox on Apr 29, 2013 at 12:33 pm

Get the 7 speed dsg right first and we can talk about this new gearbox

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
  • mikasa on Apr 29, 2013 at 12:47 pm

wow 136hp/liter

if 2.0 liter , then 272hp…

1.4 or 1.6 more than enough for turbocharge diesel

• Ramun on Apr 29, 2013 at 12:50 pm

I wonder how much will be the cost of servicing the box? Compared to possible fuel economy by using this box, does it worth it?

• kentji on Apr 29, 2013 at 1:42 pm

based on the current dsg 6 and 7, the cost of servicing the box cost a bomb as quoted from the center, so you can imagine this 10 speed if they come out in the future lah, but i bet mostly veedub and audi will only plant 1 of these in some high tech vehicles that only the rich can afford and all these cost will be like nothing to them

• kentji on Apr 29, 2013 at 12:56 pm

brace yourself for dsg’s bashing comments

• Toyota Salesman on Apr 29, 2013 at 1:14 pm

Toyota 4-speed auto pwn all gearbox..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • wheeLHead on Apr 29, 2013 at 1:34 pm

doesn’t matter Honda produce 7speed or 10speed in this case, what is weird Toyota only use 4speed already selling alot…WEIRD PHENOMENA happen here..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • 0 to 100 in 1 second!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • frenzyaustin on Apr 29, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Could they get it right? Don’t say about DSG problem or what, just think about 10 gear, when way too many gear gearbox will always jerking and can’t decide which gear is suitable. 7-8 speed is much suitable if looking for maximum fuel efficiency, CVT is there.

• kentji on Apr 30, 2013 at 8:38 pm

not just vw alone are developing 10 speeds, hyundai, gm, ford are doing the same

if 7-8 is the peak of increasing fuel efficiency, then why carmakers even bother to spend money and time on it?

• Bruno on Apr 29, 2013 at 1:25 pm

when are we going to get Euro4 diesel??..no point talking about efficient diesel engines when we are still stuck with Euro2m :(

• ss427 on Apr 29, 2013 at 1:54 pm

Hey Hyundai Junk bro and Maserati bro, where are u guys?

Please repeat your famous lines to this forum that how great a 15 yr old Toyota 4AT is and it can out peform any super high tech 6-10 speed AT on the market… LOL

• Johnny on Apr 29, 2013 at 3:14 pm

Why in the world would we need a 10spd gearbox!?!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • rally_fan on Apr 29, 2013 at 3:25 pm

they have no choice.. its called progression.. whatever VW have now, they will need to continuously improve. Bmw are already using 8 speed auto transmissions today.. and I read somewhere.. 10 speed autos are already being developed by both BMW and Mercedes for the near future.

• ss427 on Apr 29, 2013 at 3:59 pm

And Chrysler oorp is tooling up one of their factory to produce 9 speed AT. It will be used in the new Chrysler 200, Dodge Dart (compact car), Jeep Cherokee etc…

but of cos, no matter how advanced the Americans are, they will never beat Toyota’s 15 yr old 4AT… LOL

At this rate of going, don’t be surprised Toyota still offering late 90s 4AT well into 2020!

• darker marker on Apr 29, 2013 at 6:54 pm

next 5 years…….20 speed g/b??

• Blacktop on Apr 29, 2013 at 8:27 pm

X kesah lah 4 speed ke, 6 speed ke, 10 speed ke.. Apa yg pengguna malaysia perlu ialah enjin yang reliable dan low cost maintenance.. Apa guna bangga dgn 10 speed enjin tp kos nak maintain mahal.. Sebb tu toyota masih guna 4 speed.. Yg lama x semestinya tidak bgus.. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • yusuf on Apr 30, 2013 at 7:09 am

Bagi ko pakai Nokia 3310 nak? Low maintenance and reliable? Apasal cari Iphone, samsung?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
      • Blacktop on Apr 30, 2013 at 12:02 pm

Alu da guna 3310 since f1 til f 5. Masuk foundie 2010 baru guna ipone til now. Skg guna 3310
        As backup incase emergency. Any prob bro? Hanya kerana item berusia x semestinya x bgus. Hanya kerana da lama senang2 je ko nak ckp bnda tu x elok dah n bleh buang / kutuk/ hina dan laen2? Cam2 tukar lah sume PM kita, bg yg muda2 pegang. Buat polisi setiap kete 5 taon kena tukar? Cam2? Tau la ko kaya bro.

• Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Apr 30, 2013 at 9:06 am

Not enough yet. Should be 40 speed gear

• mizan on Apr 30, 2013 at 12:48 pm

bawak masuk model manual la…x payah pening pasal gearbox…syok apa bawak manual

• faarrrrr on Apr 30, 2013 at 2:21 pm

2013 – 10 speed dsg
    2014 onwards – 16 speed like bus