GALLERY: Honda Jazz Hybrid at new Yorii plant

honda-jazz-hybrid-yorii 009

Here’s a gallery of the new Honda Jazz Hybrid (Fit Hybrid in Japan), brought to you during a visit to the company’s new Yorii plant at the Saitama factory. The vehicle is the first to be equipped with Honda’s new Sport Hybrid Intelligent Dual Clutch Drive (i-DCD) one-motor hybrid system.

At the heart of things are a 110 PS/134 Nm 1.5 litre i-VTEC Atkinson-cycle engine, a 29.5 PS/160 Nm electric motor built into a seven-speed twin-clutch ‘box, and a lithium-ion battery. Unlike the previous IMA-equipped car, this one can go full electric – it automatically switches between EV Drive, Hybrid Drive and Engine Drive depending on driving conditions. Off-the-line starts are done in EV mode.

A new electric servo braking system increases regeneration efficiency to the lithium-ion battery, while a fully-electric compressor reduces engine load. These contribute towards a significant 35% improvement in fuel efficiency to 36.4 km per litre – the highest of any vehicle available in Japan excluding plug-in hybrids.

Launched in Japan in September, the third-gen Honda Jazz also debuts the company’s ‘Solid Wing Face’ – the design identity that will be applied in stages to other Honda models around the world. It retains its clever interior packaging and centre fuel tank layout, and the audio and climate controls have been replaced by a touch-screen panel and a touch-pad respectively.

The latest news from Honda is the announcement of a new VTEC TURBO engine line-up comprising a 1.0 litre three-cylinder, a 1.5 litre four-cylinder and a 2.0 litre four-cylinder, all with direct injection and forced induction. The 2.0 litre will give the upcoming Honda Civic Type R hatch 280 horses to play with!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• sohai on Nov 19, 2013 at 11:48 pm

This car needs to come to Bolehland soon!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
  • I think this wing face is already on city

• huge leg space and boot space for a hatch

• alldisc on Nov 20, 2013 at 12:33 pm

ahh.. finally a full hybrid from honda. a full 15 years since the 1st toyota prius made its appearance.

• torquealot on Nov 20, 2013 at 12:20 am

Finally a hybrid from Honda which beats the Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
  • Macam cantik pulak tengok jazz yang baru ni. Before this (on Paultan) somehow looks really ugly.

• ZZZzzZZ on Nov 20, 2013 at 3:50 am

“At the heart of things are a 110 PS/134 Nm 1.5 litre i-VTEC Atkinson-cycle engine, a 29.5 PS/160 Nm electric motor”

a 160 NM electric motor!!! wow!!! really!!!

• Honda got it right with the ‘package’ for Jazz. I want to also the new City!

• motorhead on Nov 20, 2013 at 8:46 am

Uuh ohhh.. Bring it here, quick. CKD.

• jibby on Nov 20, 2013 at 9:01 am

bro, CKD production will strip everything. leaving it with 2 airbags only. sigh..

• hayato on Nov 20, 2013 at 9:40 am

wow.. electronic shift lever as seen in the Toyota Prius :3

• Please provide rear boot cover … it should be nice to have.

• Ash Menon on Nov 20, 2013 at 9:57 am

While I do agree it looks better, I’m saddened by the usage of touchscreen tech for the center cluster. Usually if I need to adjust the aircon or something while I’m driving, I can work with my fingers without taking my eyes away from the screen. Not going to be possible to do that anymore :(

• kusochon on Nov 20, 2013 at 12:16 pm

yeah.. really hate this touchscreen trend.. have to look at the screen to adjust something.. cannot ‘feel’ the button anymore..

• if u don't have something nice to say. just shut up! on May 29, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Drive the airplane if u still insist to feel the button.

• totti on Nov 20, 2013 at 11:58 am

Honda need new Jazz to complete with new toyota Vios and Nissan Almera.

At this moment, Vios still the King of B segment car.

• gerrard on Nov 20, 2013 at 9:44 pm

izzit got such fuel efficiency? toyota prius ordy can make it 38km per litre(source from jp)!!!

• stone cold on Nov 21, 2013 at 8:07 pm

Horrible interior design.not as sporty and cool like the 2nd gen model.longer than old model makes it more difficult to park.Extremely ugly grille and face design.backside ripped off a volvo.poor volvo.LOL.useless and unreliable touchscreen pads.not safe to use when it malfunctions.speedometer looks like TRASH.overall a sad car which carries the jazz/fit NAME only.the bastards who designed this vehicle must have been sleeping everyday in the office.A Horrendous Car like this also can be approved by HONDA?What the hell were they thinking?Hyundai ix20 looks much more beautiful than this modern junk fit/jazz.Malaysian’s will sure buy this junk cuz it has a HONDA badge and fact=MALAYSIANS WORSHIP THE HONDA BRAND.nuff said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • High tech,more powerful engine.that part i love BUT UGLY INTERIOR, HORRENDOUS FACE AND HEADLIGHTS,not to mention the ugly backside ripped off a volvo.u are defintitely right about the interior.I checked out the making of the new FIT/JAZZ documentary when i was in japan recently.apparently there are 2 idiots who designed this JUNK CRAP.one joker designed the interior, and the other the exterior.HELL, honda themselves even hired designers from other countries to help design but still looks damn ugly.This car oni has the jazz name oni but doesn’t really look like one.even some of the fit fans whom i met in japan also said that this car looks simply horrible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • m&m's scsa on Dec 11, 2013 at 3:38 pm

If u are after looks.2nd gen jazz is for u.But for engine Performance Fanatics, this a great machine to drive, especially on racetracks.Still looks pretty dull though.shape and body design nothing special. based on ur negative comments, Honda did rip off the taillights from a Volvo.SAD car to look at but engine got more Power than 2nd gen.Its basically up to the driver’s preference.Performance or Sad looks.