GALLERY: Old and new Honda Jazz, side by side

honda-jazz-new-old 251

When it comes to illustrating just how much a new model has changed, we know few methods can beat lining it up alongside its immediate predecessor. So we decided to give the privilege of our New vs Old comparison gallery to the rule book-rewriter that is the popular Honda Jazz.

Launched in July merely a year after the introduction of the locally-assembled (CKD) facelifted second-gen Jazz petrol, the new third-gen 2014 Jazz is evidently a major departure, looks wise.

Ignore the old car’s ‘floating’ bumpers and fog lamps bestowed upon it by the optional Modulo kit; you can clearly see the new car has adopted quite an attitude through its edgier and more aggressive styling – a wonderful contrast to the old car’s rounder and cutesier appearance overall. This new V grade car rides on 16-inch alloys; the old car wears 15s.

honda-jazz-new-old 258

The new Jazz hasn’t gotten any wider or taller than the old one, but it’s longer – by 55 mm in overall length and 30 mm in wheelbase. This translates to more room for occupants as well as luggage. Boot volume with all seats up is now 363 litres; a notable increase from the previous 337.

Under the bonnet resides the same 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC four-cylinder petrol engine that develops 120 PS and 145 Nm of torque. Max power is made at the same 6,600 rpm, but max torque now arrives 200 rpm lower at 4,600 rpm. Also, as in the Honda City, the old Jazz’s five-speed auto has made way for an ‘Earth Dreams’ CVT.

Throw in lower kerb weights across the board (old car 1,110 kg, new car 1,067-1,088 kg depending on variant) and it’s not difficult to see how Honda can tout an improved fuel economy of 17.8 km per litre.

So the new car has rear drum brakes as opposed to the old car’s all-round discs, but the upshots more than compensate for that. Where the previous car had only one spec to choose from since local assembly began (Hybrid aside) – which sits roughly between the new car’s base S and middle E grades in terms of equipment – the new Jazz has three variants. And there’s so much more standard kit as well as options, which include navigation and a Mugen kit for the first time.

Still need more evidence of the ‘newness’ of the 2014 Honda Jazz? Just step aboard. The dashboard is altogether more upmarket, more contemporary and, due to the comparative absence of buttons and knobs, less fussy than the old car’s.

The brilliant Ultra Seats and centre fuel tank layout are retained. The new car’s rear seats are more sculpted, with distinct side bolsters setting them apart from the old car’s flat rear bench. For the first time, our Jazz gets keyless start and entry, a touch-screen with HDMI and touch-panel auto air-con, amongst others – although of course you’ll find these only on higher-spec cars.

Finally, safety. An aspect in which the new Jazz shines. While the old car had two airbags whether you liked it or not, the new V grade car has six airbags and hill start assist. Although the new S grade car is actually worse for wear here than the old car, having no VSA. ASEAN NCAP recently tested the new Jazz (equipped with VSA) and rated the six-airbag variant five stars and the two-airbag variant four stars.

Learn more about the 2014 Honda Jazz through our comprehensive launch report, interview with Jazz Assistant Large Project Leader Daisuke Uragami, and test drive report from Hua Hin, Thailand. The Jazz wasn’t launched in time for Driven Web Series 2014, but we featured its sedan sister in Episode 1.

Also, compare the Jazz with rivals such as the VW Polo, Suzuki Swift, Ford Fiesta and Kia Rio via CarBase.my‘s car comparison feature.

2014 Honda Jazz Grade V

2013 Honda Jazz with Modulo package

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Gargantia on Sep 04, 2014 at 4:27 pm

New or old it still look nice.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 5
    • Same L0rrr on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Yes, both looked nice.

With Honda, you get nice designs; with Toyota, you get reliability; with Proton, you get yourself good friends from garage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 127
      • My Frenz on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:45 pm

With Same LOrrr you’ll get good friend from hell full of slanders & hatred every time, ever where & everything.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 14
        • Dead Chicken Kick Pot on Sep 04, 2014 at 8:35 pm

Cause he is so free and has nothing else better to do. Has all the symptoms of a jobless, friendless and recluse person

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
          • keyel on Sep 04, 2014 at 9:31 pm

Same Lorrr losing his mind to equalise Proton with problematic VW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 05, 2014 at 10:42 am

Proton vs VW, which one is more problematic?

You losing your mind?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
          • keyel on Sep 05, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Of course Proton is more reliable than Toyot, Toyot got huge racalss all over the world, not as reliable and safe as before.

LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
          • Protonsucks on Sep 05, 2014 at 6:31 pm

Go bang a Vios (4 stars) with your Saga (1 star BLM or 3 star FLX) and see… bodoh!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
          • keyel on Sep 05, 2014 at 9:09 pm

Thatd old car bodoh. If like that i also can say try bang toyot ke 70 with saga flx

Remember PCC got VDC summore so much much safer than Vios or myvi

• karam singh on Sep 04, 2014 at 8:27 pm

May I add on Toyota – you get old engine old tech along with minimal safety features.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
        • Vader (Member) on Sep 05, 2014 at 7:40 am

Once the umw toyo having low sales, what the salesman going to do?
          Talk kok and surf net loh.. lol

• samelorsark on Sep 05, 2014 at 12:25 pm

And the winner goes to………..

Same Lorrr

Muahahahahaha

• Same L0rrr on Sep 05, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Typical Proton fanboys: talkok based on nothing. Go check up the sales figure before claiming Toyota sales low.

You can say Toyota sales low, no sales whatever BS. But we still have good bonus, good increment every year. We are enjoying quarterly europe trips while seeing Proton begging for money. This time RM1.6 bil next time RM160bil??

lol…

Proton begging money, the fanboys syok sendiri in the net. Who care about the build quality and keeping customer? No one.

• samelorsark on Sep 05, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Sam Lorrr you know la preve are everywhere on road. New altis? New catfish fugly vios? Very rare. Either they are in showroom, factory yard under sun, or service centres after breaking down kaput

• karam singh on Sep 04, 2014 at 8:30 pm

And for honda and Proton nowadays,
        safety for the driver and passenger are that good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • williamtellsamlor on Sep 06, 2014 at 10:30 am

Naaa…honda=good design+realibility. But Toyota=realibility but no good design haha

• karam singh on Sep 04, 2014 at 8:51 pm

U also get best FC in the segment.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:06 pm

i kinda like the new jazz design..look bolder than previous gen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • bubbaonsteroids on Sep 04, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Agressive design gives an extra umpph.. well done there.
    I own the older one (CBU-Hybrid) which I feel was quite a bargain as it came with 6 airbags,VSA, HA, EBD, paddle shifters etc just under 95K. Sadly they stripped off some of it on the CKD versions Petrol & Hybrid alike.
    I do hope Honda could retain those euro specs & sell it at a reasonable price here in M’sia in the coming future. Just make one or two variant for global market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • mat honda on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:30 pm

I think everything you’ve mentioned about Honda Jazz Hybrid CBU is missing from CKD, probably to cut manufacturing cost and to make it more attractive in pricing

• xiper (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:22 pm

wrong, its bcoz some “party” wanted to “reduce” the car price by 30% in coming years

• looks interesting.but according to my average Malaysian man’s life automotive chronology :
    15 y/o:any car would do as long as I can drive
    18 y/0: still any car, but preferably Satria.Stylo wehh!!Muffler with 2.5 inch piping~
    20 y/o: Dam* yo, that EVO/Impreza looks nice!!!Definitely will buy after get job!!*starry eyes**
    23 y/o:Dam*,can’t afford la to buy Evo/Impreza.It’s ok,Wira Evo will do.or Saga-ru Impreza.But Myvi is a better choice after graduate.
    25:Yay!!finally can afford to buy Evo!!Search around for 2nd hands, but then decided to buy City/Vios.
    27:Got married.Still use City/Vios.Wife drives her Myvi/Vios/City.Got first child,immediately change to MPV.Traded in wife’s car for Alza/Exora/recond Wish.Must have DVD player for kids to see Dora/Cars 2/Frozen.
    29:Wow that Porsche looks nice.Wahhh kids nowadays soo young also can drive Beemer.Must be parent’s car!(Envy usually arises while driving MPV in traffic jams.Have to as already have 3 kids fighting over the drop-down monitor.Vios/City strictly for work only.Haha.)
    32:Now time to change the City/Vios.Looking through Beemer/Merc/Audi catalogs, but only keep the H/T/P1 catalogs.Kimchi is good option,but have to listen to SamL**,not good RV.(ended up buying face-lifted vios/City/Civic)
    35:Waiting for promotion.MPV in bad shape already.
    40:Promoted at last!!Kids have grown.Can let go of MPV and the vios/city.3series looks nice.but maintenance aduii.Hmmm..*buys an Accord.Wahhhhh..executive brooo!!**Wife asking for car.Buys her a facelifted Myvi.Alasan:you langgar bumper pun no problem.Cheap to fix.and you kan slim so tak perlu pakai kereta besar2.:)
    43:Wahhh Accord still ok la.(still under warranty so ok.)
    47:Accord stays at home.Its a kereta majlis/ceremony car as it has passed the warranty already.nanti rosak mahal.Now have to find a fuel efficient low maintenance small city car.Jazz..a bit too expensive.hmm..takes wife’s myvi.Buys her a facelifted City/Vios.bigger (you are not as slim so need bigger car.*Survives flying plates and frying pan.).Daughter asks for car.Of course buys her Fiesta (as suggested by Jeremy Clarkson).Son ask for car.Buys him 5th hand 1996 1.3 satria manual.Tell him when I was your age this is the ultimate car.Don’t worry,the power window will be just fine.
    55:Almost pencen.HAVE TO OWN A MERCEDES!!let go Accord.Buys 2nd/3rd hand Merc E-Class.Preferable from a friend.Prepare for maintenance.
    60:Pencen already.Merc still ok.Vios/City still ok.Fiesta still ok.Satria……..now with MIVEC 1.8 already.with fibre GTi bodykit.
    61:Sell Merc..need prestige but pencen money not enough for maintenance.Buys a Saga FL top line.Vios/City still in use.Fiesta sold as daugter buys new City/Vios.

..and the circle of life continues.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 183 Thumb down 23
    • Obviously (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Story of your life, huh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • kl fella on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 118
      • kl fella on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:07 pm

but would like to add before that i drove 1985 honda accord and 1992 proton saga magma 1.5cc!! (both were dad’s old trusted cars, sold for scrap value) for donkey years and then 1.6 satria throughout my early working life, then only upgraded to honda civic before moving on..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 53
      • Wow kf! Would love to learn from you how did you get to where u are today!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
      • immillionairedrivessaga on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:44 pm

At 35, i achieved financial freedom with u -cant-imagine hardwork from young. Now at 38, i build a simple house in my kampung, i donated rental collections to 10 charity bodies, i find that cycling is better than driving but i still keep a saga , just in case…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 05, 2014 at 6:44 pm

With Saga, you better pay more for life insurance. Saga BLM has only 1 star while Saga FLX get a little more (3 star).

Proton is not as safe as those Proton fanboys said. They syok sendiri is their problem, you die in unsafe Saga is your own problem.

The safest Proton (Preve and Suprima S) are in fact in the showroom or warehouse, no one actually interested to buy.

Simple: How could ppl trust a car maker with its 6 airbags, VSC while they can’t even make power windows right? Check up the 3 pages long self-QC on receiving new Preve, developed by the Preve owner club themselves. https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=3887886

• Such safety gadgets made by same supplier for other brands too.

• well done bro,me 34,
        already got 8 properties, include 1 shop and 1 semi d,the rest condo.
        coz the money that supposed for megane and merz i throw in investment.
        driving civic and pug turbo only, so what?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 41
      • Forex scam????lol.. i guess so. Or maybe Herbalife by telling those aunty uncle it can cure ALL the diseases….hahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • DonkeyKong on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:37 pm

Eh? I thought that “next richest man in the world” has become a monk?? Where did this come from??

• Krasher on Sep 04, 2014 at 11:45 pm

Your 5 properties were under banker’s name, your name is only in the mortgages.
        Just saying :)

• In cybernet he own 5 properties, in real life he own a bunch of shot.

• Vader (Member) on Sep 05, 2014 at 7:46 am

Oh Shxt!!!!!!!!
        Now the car blog is the way to show off how many properties you have??? lol
        Better you all create a free facelook account and promote it but not here!

• Stranger on Sep 05, 2014 at 11:45 am

I thought a guy that think sky is the limit, drives beemer with 5 properties should read this http://paultan.org/2014/08/29/driven-audi-a3-sedan-review-malaysia/
        Why still click and read about Honda Jazz? For downgrading?

• what’s ur business? Drug Dealer? Or UMNO cronies?

• You sir made my day

• Haha.overwhelming.i took the story of malaysian men that i knew.almost the same story,especially owning a mercedes (and a banglo) when we are 60.and i dont know why it HAS TO BE AN E230!Haha.
      As for me,my story is complicated.im 34.and a surgeon.and married with 2 kids.and not using parents’ money.haha.ok ok la. a family guy.used to be high achiever.now worries more about Ebola.:E
      http://paultan.org/2014/08/29/kia-sorento-2015-korea/#comment-3192915

• paanjang16 on Sep 04, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Your story almost same like my family’s, especially the Merc part at 55.
      Anyhow here is what I think my family’s auto history:-
      Just start working in early 80s late 70s?: Dad bought a Honda Accord. Mom had a Honda Civic
      Mid 80s to early 90s: Change to 2nd/3rd hand Volvo 240, the blue Swede since got 2 children already. Mom changed to Nissan Sunny
      Mid 90s: Dad change to a better paying job with company car, Volvo 240 too high maintenance so have to let go. Mom upgraded to 94 Wira 1.5GL auto
      Early 2000s: Dad still have company car, I got my lesen already so took over the Wira. A year or 2 before dad bought a Toyota Unser MPV for mom. Dad bought himself a 2nd/3rd hand early 90s model W126 Mercedes S-Class.
      Mid 2000s to 2010: Then when my younger brother went to college bought him a new Myvi. That time also bought himself a brand new Camry 2.0E XV40.
      Early 2010s: Have to let go of the Merc, maintenance was getting out of hand :( After dad that bought a 2nd/3rd hand auto Toyota Celica T230 sports car.
      2013: Going to retire soon, both sons already working, dad bought himself a 2nd hand Merc E200K.
      So now there are more cars than people in the house; I still driving my Wira which is 20 years old, my mom still has her MPV, my brother still has his Myvi and the Camry and Celica is still around.

Like your post, the Camry for majlis only :P

• Hahaha.but it’s interesting to know about our family automotive history as the pages are rapidly changing.I personally keep mine to show my son later.and i keep the pics as well in a scrapbook.My father’s first MB 1975 c70,car 1983 Mazda 626 gold colour.I think it’s a must have for all car enthusiasts.Im supervising the hospital’s management HL7 system and the website development,and currently pushing medical architecture in Malaysia as a Founder, but my ultimate goal is to develop a site where car enthusiasts can share their automotive family tree. I will only permit Paultan.org to consider this as a project for us in Malaysia first.Amacam Sir?:)

• shame_Loo on Sep 05, 2014 at 2:21 pm

Interesting. Most of us starts with 2nd hand local champion car P1 or P2, slowly get into new P1/P2 or go with Japs entry level…..then Japs D-segment or Conti entry level……Keep upgrading to 5er or E-class (or better if someone is successful in their financial grow) until kid grown up and then start buying entry level Jap or P1/P2 for them…….

Some kids are lucky, they live and grown up with D-segment Jap and Conti. Anyway, safety and comfort for driver and our be love family always as priority.

• Nacho Vidal on Sep 05, 2014 at 6:57 pm

My Story;

15 y/o: Rides BMX
      18 y/0: Rides Suzuki RC100
      20 y/o: Upgraded to Suzuki Panther
      23 y/o: Still rides the Panther. With chicks at the back
      25: Purchased a 15 y/o Saga Knight. Just got married
      27: Upgraded to a brand new Wira. Got one kid
      29: Upgraded to a new Waja. New baby on the way
      32: Got a new job and huge salary raise. Upgraded to Mazda 3. Awesome ride compared to Waja.
      35: Another new job and doubled the salary. Booked an Accord. Wife gave birth to a twin and gets a re-con Toyota Wish.
      40: (Now) Proton rebadged the Accord. Quickly trade the current car with 5 year old BMW 3 series E90. Wife still happy with her Wish. Elder kid started to get interested in cars. (Possibly will get a 20y/o mistress for some adventure ;) and buy her a Myvi)
      45: Will probably upgrade to BMW 5 Series F10 due to the E90 old age. Wife will change her’s as well possibly to a brand new Civic. Will pass on the E90 to eldest kid. MPV no longer needed since space is no loger a requirement. (Will dump the mistress due to her high maintenance, if cash flow permits will get a new one)
      50: Due to age factor a new E-Class started to look good. Will trade one with the 5 series. Second child will drive wife’s Civic chauffeuring his mother and younger brothers. Assumed the eldest kid will got herself a new car by now. (Repented and get rid of all mistresses if any)
      55~65: Swill still drive the E-Class. Started walking to get some exercise. The twins started driving but no more cars for them. E-Class is off limits.
      70: Will walk more. My kids will drive me to anywehere. Only drive when needed.

• samlok on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Yup, new indeed better

• Same L0rrr on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Not all the case, the Proton GSC will be even newer, but will it be better?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • viosobsolete on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:09 pm

Got VDC much better than obsolete Vios!

• Same L0rrr on Sep 05, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Check up the 2 years old Preve engine sudden die problem lar. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3284621/+1180

No need syok sendiri one!

• viosobsolete on Sep 05, 2014 at 9:24 pm

You dun read kah? Settled already.

Again vios is obsolete coz no VSC. PCC got VDC
            Vios can go into longkang!

• EnergyAnalyst on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:11 pm

There are only two trends for hatchbacks these days
    Segment C—everybody wannabe Golf
    Segment B—everybody wannabe Fiesta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • i can say this car price & design everything is just nice. It doesn’t cost much or over.

will not regret after owning this car. Perfect city car.

• Interior – New Win
    Exterior – Old Win.

I prefer old Honda Civic, old Honda city and Old Honda Jazz Exterior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • WDY41 on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:30 pm

I like em both!
    But then the newer jazz’s multi function steering with assymetrical button arrangement is kinda naff compared to the older jazz’s one.
    The touch control on the aircon is a gimmick too. How would you feel the controls while you’re driving. My 2 cents though.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:48 pm

put back in cruise control and we are good

• tiadaid (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Looks good, but the return of the CVT is worrisome when you recall the problems with the old CVT model.

• the old jazz look much better front and back.
    new one too square.

• Pokli Seluang (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 6:12 pm

beautiful car —> new jazz.

• Diesel Power!!! on Sep 04, 2014 at 6:45 pm

“kl fella”, not everyone so lucky as you…not quite agreed if work hard & smart can buy this all sort of things..u r lucky maybe your parents is quite financially independent, and you can concentrate on earning for yourself, but what if your parents are quite broke themselves, fully dependent on you? And if you have brother & sister to support?

• Diesel Power!!! on Sep 04, 2014 at 6:52 pm

I am earning 5 figure income, but only afford to drive below 100 grand car, becoz after epf/tax, 70% of my income goes to my parents & children…:(!! And to earn this income, i hv to work 10hrs a day, sometimes 7 days a week!!!…some people are just luckier than others…that all i can say…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • ben yap on Sep 04, 2014 at 7:46 pm

I prefer old design

• rickyll (Member) on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:09 pm

I must say both cars have their own appeal. I bought the old Jazz (petrol) early this year for my daughter. It’s a nice car for ladies, good handling and easy parking. I have no complain except during the few occasions that I drove the car, I found it to be lack of power especially with full load. The FC is another disappointment because this Jazz of mine only returned roughly 12.5 km/litre on average city roads. It’s just slightly better than my 6 year old 1.8L Toyota Altis.

• seancorr on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:13 pm

Lol paultan comment section sometimes can be very interesting…from car comments become life story now haha damn cool wei.

Anyhow back to the topic, the new Jazz is better in every aspect comparing to the old Jazz. Just take a look at the interior and you know what I mean.

Somehow I think models coming from Honda and Toyota especially…when a new model arrives it makes the old one immediately obsolete and old looking.

It doesn’t age well comparing to a BMW or a Benz in which even if you’re driving one generation older the car still looks good and not dated.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 04, 2014 at 10:33 pm

As long as it not a kimchi, it will have RV

• GK5newowner on Sep 05, 2014 at 12:09 am

Just got my new GK5 V-spec.. a little bit disappointed with the cabin noise.. kinda loud and unrefined.. also sad that we didnt get the Direct Injected engine with 130hp… and it doesnt come with a proper tailgate spoiler, drl, and econ button…. no paddle shifters also. still. love my new jazz.

• leonardo on Sep 05, 2014 at 8:32 am

This is one time I would prefer the old car over the new one. Reasons;
    1. Cleaner and simpler exterior styling, looks more wholesome.
    2.Friendly exterior looks. (Probably the new Jazz more aggressive styling is trying to win more male buyers).
    3. A more cohesive and harmonious interior, with better detailing, compared to the new simpler form and shape.
    Anyway, it’s your choice ultimately, to sign the dotted lines, or buy the 2nd hand Merc 230E!

• lazyf on Sep 05, 2014 at 12:18 pm

The All New Jazz looks smarter without body skirting.

If add on body skirting, it will looks miserable.

Just my honest opinion :-)

• Thomas on Sep 05, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Something is wrong here…..
    “Max power is made at the same 6,600 rpm, but max torque now arrives 200 rpm lower at 4,600 rpm.”

• mythologyart on Sep 05, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Like Barney Stinson rule..new is always better.

• kamen rider on Sep 06, 2014 at 4:13 pm

hey paul..kindly please do side by side for old 2009 honda city and the new one. appreciate that.