Hyundai Elantra – Inokom assembling and exporting facelifted model for Thai market

Official Rollout of the Hyundai Elantra for export (L-R Hideki Yanagisawa, Rizal Jailan and HK Kim)

In a follow-up to the launch of the Malaysian-assembled facelifted Hyundai Elantra in Thailand, Inokom has announced that it has indeed been assembling the refreshed Korean sedan in its plant in Kulim, Kedah and exporting it to the Thai market. As we reported earlier, the move was made due to favourable tariff rates as a result of the ASEAN Free Trade Agreement (AFTA).

Around 1,000 units of the new Elantra are expected to be shipped to the Land of the Smiles in the first year. So far, the company has already exported 200 units since June, and will ship another 200 units early next month. The number of cars exported is expected to increase to meet an anticipated increase in market demand due to the significant price drop over the previous Korean-built model.

How significant? Prices for the new Elantra start at 749,000 baht (RM74,800) for the base GL model, rising up to 819,000 baht (RM81,800) for the GLE and 898,000 baht (RM89,600) for the top-spec GLS Navi. This is in contrast to the outgoing model, which came in at between 899,000 baht (RM89,700) and 1,198 million baht (RM119,600).

10527813_847775091907201_391069862483871979_n

“Though this is our first collaboration with Inokom, we look forward to future collaborations and possibly, for the other Hyundai models as well,” said Hyundai Motor Thailand president Hideki Yanagisawa.

Inokom’s managing director Rizal Jailan said that this collaboration may grant the company more export business avenues, particularly through the assembly of Hyundai models.

“We have proven our capabilities and we have vast experience in producing high quality vehicles,” he said. “We place emphasis on quality, productivity and efficiency and this will ensure that we remain competitive in both the domestic and export markets. We are confident that our track record and reputation in producing quality vehicles will help the product’s success in Thailand.”

Rizal also mentioned that Inokom was looking to establish a long-term working relationship with Hyundai Motor Thailand, as well as looking and evaluating other business opportunities in ASEAN. In addition, the company is hoping to further cement its support for the new National Automotive Policy (NAP) through the development of new vendors and the increase in participation of current local vendors.

Now that we are already assembling the facelifted Hyundai Elantra for other markets, how long more until we can have the spoils for ourselves?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• “Good things must give to other people, leave the useless stuff for our own people”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Madani Sahari on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:18 pm

Of course. Why you think in Thailand Altis is cheaper than here? Because bodoh Malaysians will pay for it. Thai people are clever, they will question and boycott!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 11:22 pm

Thai say: TQ Inokom Hyundai selling 1.8 Elantra CBU Msia at 74k to 89k & most significant cheaper than origin manufacturer country 9x-11x k.

Haha…
        we thai pay less to purchase made in msia product;
        while msian pay more, high commitment cannot enjoy life, & suffering 9yrs loan.

After 9yrs your low quality product kaput & most likely need to engaged another 9yrs, & the cycke continue so on…

Luckily our thai govt good to rakyat thai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Arabs pay 50% less on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:49 am

Malaysians have no shame. This is like Proton. Sell in rich Arab countries half the price. Every single Proton model is sold in Arab countries for half the price sold here. We Malaysians are subsidising rich Arabs to make them even richer. Proton make its own people, their own flesh and blood suffer with double the price. Government make its own people suffer.

Like this Hyundai, Government make its own people suffer and sell it cheaper to Thailand.

When are the kampung people going to wake up and see the truth and light?

We poor Malaysians subsidise rich Arabs and give them cheap Made in Malaysia Protons for half the price!

• Madani Sahari on Aug 28, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Berita baik ini adalah akibat ketekunan kerja pekerja pekerja MAI.

Pekerja pekerja MAI berkerja kuat untuk menjadikan Inokom assembler yang paling handal di dunia ini.

Saya ucapkan tahniah dengan pencapaian ini!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
  • Legend (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:30 pm

what the hell
    u assemble the car here in Malaysia but export to other market first?
    Seriously happened ONLY IN MALAYSIA LOL
    shame on you Inokom
    and pity Hyundai need sell their car here with Inokom Badge only replace Inokom badge with Hyundai Badge by Sales Executive before hand in the car to the owner lo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:33 pm

Inokom Badged cars will have the same fate as KIA.

Cannot even be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 17
      • Vader (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 9:21 pm

Hi shameless, where are the RM35k one year old sonata, k5, sportage, 3008, 5008 and etc??? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 23
  • ben yap on Aug 28, 2014 at 6:44 pm

assemble here but sell to others cheap even though include all the transportation costs and what not.

if sell here cheap, say no make money.

i cannot brain it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • lazyf on Aug 29, 2014 at 9:53 am

Maybe they are selling the downgraded version of Elantra in Thailand. No wonder la the price is so cheap compare with Malaysian version…lol

*Feeling Sarcastic

• niterunner99 on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:00 pm

Look at it this way – this is 1st time building this car with Hyundai badge…so sell 1000 units to thai to ‘test water’ on quality lah!
    if there’s lots of complaints from Thai side…then can get improvements to future batches that can sell in Malaysia. :-)

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:07 pm

It will be ultra cold door car in Thailand.

No one in their right mind in Krub land will drive a kimchi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • Prayforsamloo on Aug 28, 2014 at 11:18 pm

We got it… Toyota is the best in the world, kimchi cars worthless.
      Son, now may u REST IN PEACE under 6 feets with your Toyotas n Kimchi cars that u sell. Dont annoy people anymore by talking cock here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:55 pm

airbag how many

• roxas on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:59 pm

pity malaysian. locally assembled but expensive than export model to thailand. not to mention we are always lack behind of everything!

• Kindly re paint your production floor before take a photo TQ, This photo might represent Malaysia.

• Garfield on Aug 29, 2014 at 10:12 am

I’m so sorry to see that our people still doesn’t realize that 50% of high car prices now is attributed to the car makers (or assemblers) taking advantage (and profiteering) from the deep rooted notion that car price is high ONLY due to government taxes.

Yes, government is partially to be blamed, but lowering taxes also result in the companies taking in more profit rather than just passing the benefits to the consumers. Inokom & Hyundai is the blatant evidence of such companies taking advantage of the CKD program. They are doing it, because they just can. More profit per car even though less car sold. Still same $$$ at the end of the day, with less work!