Perodua Axia orders hit 13,500 units as of launch date; company to target 30,000 units by end of 2014

Perodua_Axia_Standard_Launch_ 001

Initial bookings for the new Perodua Axia have hit 13,500 units – a record high for the manufacturer, as of September 15, according to Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid. Not surprising when you consider the fact that the order books are chalking up around 500-600 bookings a day since order-taking began on the morning of August 19.

Perodua is projecting the final sales figure for the Axia to amount to 30,000 units by the end of this year. Out of the six available variants, the mid-spec Standard G variant with the manual and automatic transmission form the bulk of the orders – around 50% split between two transmission options. The AV, or Advance variant, along with the basic Standard E variant make up for 16%-17% of the remaining total orders with the other variants filling up the rest.

Bookings for the base Standard E have exceeded P2’s expectations; driving schools are placing orders

Driving schools have also taken an interest in the new Axia – with one school placing a fleet order for the Standard E variant, with more set to follow over the next one or two years. With the Standard E variant coming without a radio and speakers, some may assume that only driving schools would order the car with this specification but customers apparently are interested as well, with the Standard E variant having 16% of orders for the base car as opposed to Perodua’s own projection of 4%-5% for said spec.

The waiting period for the new Axia has been pegged at a maximum of two months – best case scenario, from the date of order. As of now, customers will have to wait for around a month and a half before taking deliveries of their car. Read more about the specifications of the new Perodua Axia here and have a look at our story of the launch event.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Huzaifah on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Wow.. Great Achievement for P2…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
    • JAFPresident on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Keep it up!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
      • ProtonGSC on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:45 pm

Waiting for Proton to respond with Iriz.

The battle of sales target begin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:48 pm

Tun will order 5k units to challenge this.

Later sell it back to clearance on next year.

Proton go go go and win this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 54
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 9:22 pm

Muhidin yassin, PNB staff n BN macai contribute 80% of aziah sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 38
          • MoFaz on Sep 16, 2014 at 10:42 pm

So what? Proton Saga SV also get 12,000 bookings in 1 month after launching.
            Perodua CEO also said that the loan rejection rate for the Viva stood at 45%. I think Axia might have similar figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
          • Truth hurts on Sep 17, 2014 at 8:46 am

Reasons why Axia will sell 1 million unit:

– cheap and fuel efficient
            – proven Toyota & Daihatsu quality
            – it’s not a Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 55
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:49 am

why aziah sales same like viva??
            1.most buyer are kampung now income( kampung n low income is majority in malaysia)
            2.they hate proton but cant afford real jdm.. end up with indon dna aziah
            3. lack of knowledge.. simply onned by so called japan dna

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 28
          • cheap an so rapuh.

• riz (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:33 pm

New model sales fight has begun
          Axia vs Iriz
          will proton scores better ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:47 am

No need syok sendiri, no need smoke chicken wings smoke christmas turkey.

Good deal or not, sales figure tell.

No need bullshit like JDM wannabe, rakyat smart already. ENOUGH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:35 pm

Hahaha. . What a joke.. all your potential customers already book & order Axia… too late.

Even without testing. . Yeah they are org kampung.. stupid..life cheap bla bla. .

But the big looser IS YOU!!!!

Hahaha. ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 48
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:50 am

we are not salesman or company related person… big looser is buyer who bought n unsafe car n no rwsale value like current VIVA owner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 6:02 am

potential buyer??
            kampung ppl old minded n japan wannabe but cant
            afford real JDM???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:54 am

There is no safe car if the driver drive recklessly. All the crash tests are done at 60km/h only while reckless driver usually drive more than that.

That’s why a lot of Proton cars involved in accident since 1982. Stop imaging you are driving Ferrari, a Proton after all is a Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
          • GingerBread on Sep 17, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Same Lorrr… be a bit ‘rajin’ and read why crash test is done at those speeds… duh… even EURO NCAP is doing crash test at those speed… are u stupid r just like to act stupidly…

• samelorsark on Sep 17, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Same Lorrr said as if all fatal accident happens above 60km/h and as if the fate of accidents happens at above 60km/h is same.

Come to real world, get out from cave.

• same lorr. ferarri i no safer if above 60 kmj.

• pondan on Sep 16, 2014 at 9:47 pm

Proton forever lack behind. So many spy shots since last year and yet not able to launch faster than p2.

Slacker… And more TT during work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 37
        • kzm (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 10:07 pm

Obviously axia win..the price speak for itself. P1 can oni complete with features n added value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 6:04 am

if myvi sales can beat aziah sales… then rakyat will say p2 wins

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 8:40 am

Don’t know if you are ori kzm.. but looks like you can think properly now..

Itu wire suda sambung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
          • kzm (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 9:26 am

i talk using head..not like u tok kok motorhead. i support boleh auto industry. if p1 do gud i support, if p2 do gud i support..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
          • Super Saiyan (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:18 am

Have to justify the winner by sales, not booking number. plus, Proton Iriz not open for booking yet.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:37 am

Bollsheet kzm.. recently you baru baik from down syndrome. .

I talk kok?

Normally I ll give fact & figures. .

Like I said.. if P2 perform like P1.. I ll bash P2 as well..

Motorhead x support botolsusu companies. . Making lost.. & nagging for protection. . Is that talk kork for you? After all the P1 failure & con.. & BS.. you macai mindlessly bash Axia before. . You ve forgotten? Hilang ingatan? Or you want me to copy & paste what u written?

Next time you give some numbers before open your mouth..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:55 am

@kzm If p2 do bad you sure bash, it is ok. What if p1 do bad?

As long as it is boleh car, you support. The statement itself is biased.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • kzm (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:27 pm

I don’t have reason to bash..but I do praise p2 more than I praise p1. Copy paste la if u want..still u must differentiate between bash n critical opinion…if i said seat cannot fold completely is considered bash? Ur fact/figure usually out of out context or exeragate..Motorhead, Same L0rrr…

• kzm (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Want kind of bash axia I previously done Same L0rrr? I don’t say axia ugly or low class. I even said axia is cuter..obviously axia safety aspect is low n outdated. that not bash but that what it is.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:51 pm

I said boleh auto industry Same L0rrr…toyota, honda, vw, bmw, merc, mazda, or any car maker that have production operation in boleh is oso part of boleh auto industry not just p1/p2..they use that same vendor n same boleh people..correct?

• motorbart on Sep 17, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Motorhead gives fact and figures? You mean VVT thingy?

Hahahahahahahaaaaahahahhahhha

hahahhahahahahaahaaaahhhhhaaahah

hhaahahhahahhahaaaahhhhahahhhh

• JAFPresident on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:31 pm

Good job!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 6:00 am

telling the sales figure, booking numbers n long waiting period is old tactics , old gimmick la

never learnt from new vios launching time???
      what umw salesman n p2 macai said???
      long waiting period.. hot selling bla bla??

now after a year in the market… what happen to vios?? new city outrun vios sales..umw slaesman butthurt

same goes to VIVA launching time… big order p2 salesman n p2 macai soo happy ,.. but they didnt own/buy viva… after 5 years.. what happen to viva owner now??? p2 salesman n macai supporter can help them.???

they wanna trade in viva buy aziah also nobody wanna accept

see

rakyat smart oredi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
      • yushimura on Sep 17, 2014 at 8:50 am

Peyno wasting 6 years in Japan but his brain still like Mat Rempit loser.

Dasar Pandang Ke Timur? Pandang look at Japan only, but never learn from Japanese brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 7:12 pm

yoshi kun
          kawaisoo na maresia jin

me 6 years in japang.. talk laik japang.. speak like japang, think like japang,, drive real japang car still can appreciate proton

p2 macai n umw salesman.. just selling 3rd
          grade jepun celup asean made sudah feell sooo jdm??

hahaha pity them

so now… we are getting more negative comment by potential buyers after they tesr drive the car
          the true color of aziah appear…
          hahahha
          happy to see ah beng booked aziah without test drive… later after received the car n found the
          car vibrate during idle n super duper umderpowered
          hahahha that time smart ppl smiling and said.. padan muka
          japan tech hahaha

• The real mccoy. on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:11 pm

What are you saying? If you can’t type in English then use BM. If you can’t use BM then don’t say anything.

• Low Budget on Sep 17, 2014 at 9:30 am

What talking u? They just accepted my 2008 Viva SX trade in and now I am going to the P2 show room to pay the down payment for the Axia. Later this year P2 will open pre-owned P2 cars from trade in P2 models. Can Proton do like wise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • rosli on Sep 17, 2014 at 10:32 am

bang peyno,

that is normal in life bro… like janda also half price… hhhhhhhhh

• peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:13 pm

but.. last time they said they buy p2 viva coz high resale value…. hahahha

now kena cheat orediii

rakyat smart oredi

• loo sam pah on Sep 17, 2014 at 2:20 pm

come come come…come to my kampung. i belanja you kluang railway coffee and ice cream.

we in kampung may not be as rich as you driving your jdm but what counts here is our heart is far bigger than your purse.

then after coffee and ice cream i am sure you will be very happy and wish that you shall not looking down upon lesser wealth endowed kampung people.

sure hope it make you happy…..

• peyno (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 8:25 pm

after test drive aziah… i heard alot of buyers cancel the booking

test drive unit engine vibrate during idle.. after 2 months vibrate like earthquake

• cashier on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Same Lorrr / ioma are busy taking orders, after this continue to bash Proton

• Sam Loo (ori) (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:10 pm

those people which trying to replicate me are boring..
      P2 or P1, as long as its not K-pop or Konti, it will have resale value.. except mazda and nissan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 31
      • Death To Toyota on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:18 am

Sam Loo (ori) talk c**k only. None of your theories make sense!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Pak Pandir on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:19 pm

Bagus bagus!

Banyakkan lagi supaya Proton musnah hancur sekali buat kali ini!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 85
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:26 pm

p2 macai spotted
      car for driving school …

after years owning then regret like current viva
      owner

rakyat smart orwdi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 29
      • nopey on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:34 pm

p1 macai spotted
        car for ponteng school boy

after years owning then reget like current savvy owner

rakyat smart orwdi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 25
        • riz (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:22 am

Both of you stop it..
          P1 or P2 both are Malaysian company,
          why fighting each other..
          Not believing on our own carmaker are like not believing on our own people..
          We can be global if we unite, like the Korean.Kia&Hyundai nowadays are that good.
          Selamat Hari Malaysia ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
          • ProtonGSC on Sep 17, 2014 at 9:07 am

Can Gov reduced or abolish the crazy taxes?
            Then the real battle begin.

P1 and P2 don’t even dare to competing without excise duty on CBU cars. CBU drop price so does CKD.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Good! with good quality, you don’t worry of sales drop. CBU drop price, CKD become cheaper, all Malaysians are benefited.

You seriously think Vios can’t be sold at Rm40k? haha, think again.

• i love malaysia but not Umnyok on Sep 17, 2014 at 3:27 pm

You joker lah. with “Unite” can go global? You can only go global when u are right in recruiting talents and best suppliers for the company. Look at P1 potong, full of crony suppliers who supplies lousy accessories and lousy services, a racist chairman, and incompetent staffs, how to go global? P1 will forever stay in the kampong, not even in city because P2 already there.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:15 am

savvy buyer didnt put hi expection on savvy
          they didnt exprct hi RV

tak macam macai p2 beli viv
          kunun ingat nanti hi RV.. tetiba keluar aziah… menangis vuva owner

esp viva elite
          hahahha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • pondan on Sep 16, 2014 at 9:50 pm

Proton lagi koyak. Not even considered to for driving school cuz drink petrol like no tomorrow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 22
        • Àlahai (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 12:25 pm

I see a lot new saga bought by the driving school for DA (auto car) license. What say you? Hahaha

• Pak Pandir on Sep 16, 2014 at 10:05 pm

Ini bukan macai ke tak…ini pasal kewujudan proton menaikkan harga kereta dan bagi kroni kaya! Selagi ia boleh buat proton hancur binasa…tidak kisah apa caranya…faham???

Dah cukup dah ngan penindasan harga kereta…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 35
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 4:35 am

see macai bodoh… lo ingat p2 tu takde kena mengena dgn gomen ke???
          p1/p2 bith under gomen protection n nap… kli nak boikot.. org akan boikot sume kereta nasional.. org yg real anti nap.. boikot sume keta national… ni kutuk keta nasional satu.. n soakong keta nasional satu lagi

nampak sagt macai p2 yg budget
          import car

hahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 4:39 am

macai x tau… sebab gomen nak protect p2 jugak lA keta import compact car lain jazz, swift, picanto, polo sume mahal… dam macai pon mungkin tak tau p2 jual murah dioverseas tapi mahal dlm nwgeri

jgn nak budget import car owner laa macai… sama2 under NAP… nak budget p2 BN crony under umw pnb x de kena mengena dgn gomennn kununnn

hahag

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • kzm (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 9:57 am

if u dont know p1, p2 use the same vendor..eg APM n AutoV..they not only do p1 n p2 but for toyota, honda etc…car in ASEAN tend to be higher in the world not oni in bolehland. eg in US camry price start from USD22k..in ASEAN Camry price start from eg thai USD39k, boleh USD49k, indo USD43k, singapore USD132k…

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 9:42 pm

P2.. please roll out your sedan.. buddyz.. make sure EEV too.. get rid plotong of the market.

Yep.. daily commute ve changed indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
      • peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 4:41 am

prtyyhhh
        suok sendiri

daihatsu japan n indonesia must be laughing at u

they know p2 capability laa… only can make bumper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:09 pm

lol, sorry even Proton can’t make proper bumper. So many cases bumper fallen cases on Proton.

How you know your Iriz fuel tank won’t fall suddenly? lol It is a Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:11 pm

Agreed with Motorhead.

Once Perodua sedan is out, Proton really have to start selling condom (Protection always Best).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
          • same lorr….the toyota heroes.toyota is the best car. joke….

• Pak Pandir tu hanya terkenal dengan lurus bendulnya tapi ko ni siap dengan dengki kianatnya..tukar le nama kepada yang lebih sesuai..kesian kat Pak Pandir tu..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Super Saiyan (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:22 am

Your name really you.

• mel8488 on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:21 pm

i wanna know who bought E variant without radio?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Aero (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 9:15 pm

No need radio wan…. nowadays people got iPhone, Samsung Pad, Galaxy Mii… you know, those things ! I’m old school, I still use a bajet Nokia which I bought in early 2011. My car has a radio, but I don’t use it… it’s distracting and most of the music they play nowadays is terrible anyway…. except Light FM… 80s FTW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Obviously driving school

• Low Budget on Sep 17, 2014 at 9:35 am

Now the P1 supporters children and spouse got to learn driving using Axia.

• Super Saiyan (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:25 am

very suitable model to replace kancil at driving school.maybe the high booking number is from driving school.

• Ceplos on Sep 16, 2014 at 9:38 pm

My cousin one of them. She is student at UTM. Can’t give any details.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 16, 2014 at 10:21 pm

You may be surprised.

Actually I am very tempted with the E but I will give it a few more months and a few production batches before plonking in any money. Probably the best value for money. The difference between the base E and the most expensive variant is basically accessories and a bodykit. Find hard to justify almost 15K worth of accessories.

I have a spare radio and speakers and a set of spare 15″ alloys with good tires that I can put on…. afterall, I think many people will eventually upgrade the small 14″ into 15″ eventually.

• Mr.Skywalker on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:07 am

15k pretty much for accessories alone should make more mature/seasoned drivers think twice. But for young/newly licensed drivers this would probably be no issue at all.

It’s sad to see a national company as successful as P2 whose staffs receive quite a sum of bonus each year still decides to take advantage / capitalize on this instead of really moving forward. Or was it so hard to replace all those add-on accessories with safety features?

Yes P1 may never be able to catch up to them anytime soon. P1 involves R&D with far more stakes in the business (which is worsen by cronies problem) and a reputation to fix. International makes also won’t simply because they can’t ever be priced as good as P2’s. But due to these P2 is allowed to gladly remain complacent and proud of themselves..?

• Knock Knock on Sep 16, 2014 at 10:48 pm

I will! I can buy radio off the shelf with much lesser cost difference than buying cheapest variant with radio.

• speeds on Sep 16, 2014 at 11:08 pm

I booked it E Standard.
      I am planning to install the aftermarket audio and alarm.
      Is this good idea?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Chris (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 8:37 am

Sounds good. I wished it come standard with a tachometer though.

• Chris (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 8:43 am

Erm, correcting my previous post.

Just checked the perodua website. Standard E doesn’t have rear wiper and rear defogger. What?!

Car shape like this is going to be horribly dangerous to drive in the rain without any sort of stuff to clear away rear windshield water droplets or fog…

• Trust me you wont use the rear wiper and defogger. My rear wiper been stolen 1 year ago,until now i just let it be. RM 65 weyh for the rear wiper.

• E spec on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:28 pm

The truth is, if it rains so much that you can’t see the back without using a rear wiper, your front visibility won’t be much better either. Remember you’re moving forward so rain don’t hit the rear window easily.

One problem is when reverse parking/exit parking in heavy rain, then you need a rear wiper, but in those cases you can use side mirror to compensate.

• Eyesore on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:08 am

If not mistaken from the pics, E version dun even have RPM meter at it meter combi….and its manual…. aren’t RPM reading is essential for manual car in order to timed ur gear changes…lol

• moha774 on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:19 pm

You will feel the need to change gears in no time, since its a 3 cylinder…I suppose the ROAR will be there..

• Please .. hope everyone buying the model with ABS,
    having hard time for my car being hit from the back from the car without ABS during traffic jammed …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • during traffic jam kena hit mostly bcos they main hp la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • riz (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Both main contributor …
        dangerous driving while using smartphone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • ABS only makes a difference from high speed. At traffic jam crawling about 20-40kph ABS wont come into play at all, your car will be stopped before your tire can start to skid.

• riz (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 4:57 am

yeah 20-40kph maybe ony a little diff..
            also it depends on the road surface and tires. what if during slippery road when raining… bigger difference ?
            lets have a test 20kph emergency stop on slippery road, there also BA/EBD helping the car braking if there is hydroplanning…

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 8:29 am

I beg to differ. I was almost rear ended by an old Corolla before when entering a stream of stop-and-go traffic. Some Malaysians are crazy. They either don’t notice you or are not thinking of letting you merge until the very last moment and they slam the brakes.

Also, if your tires are a bit worn, they can lose grip a bit easier so ABS is good to have regardless.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 10:19 am

well with ABS at least u can control..last monday i almost ram a motorcycle from back when the motorcycle suddenly brake..what make matter worst the motorcycle signal n brake light not functioning n it is after rain..my car lose grip n skid. luckily my car im not driving fast n stop in time..my saga blm do not hav ABS though..if i hav those i might able to control more.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 10:28 pm

I see you’ve secured your nick. Welcome to the comment club. lol

• riz (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 4:58 am

thanks man.. secured it ,
            lets see if there still someone trying to copy my nick..

• ProtonGSC on Sep 17, 2014 at 9:16 am

Good job, my name been copy various times by them.
            Now even my real starting name been secured by others.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 10:06 am

choose special one n register..

• Knock Knock on Sep 16, 2014 at 10:50 pm

ABS? During traffic jam pace? Seriously?

• so sad on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:38 pm

for E spec, no radio is fine, but y cant perodua make a storage compartmemt for it. must seal it up meh~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • alahai on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Perodua is not sincere about the rm24k Axia. They only want to gey people’s attention. They told me that they dont have it here. They only have the G, SE and Advance version. I think waiting time for E version is too long because perodua only produce fewer E spec compare to other specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
      • Sama-Value (member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:46 pm

bro, i just booked the 5 units e- spec for my macai(s). Sorry about that, Don’t blame Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • 4G63T DSM on Sep 16, 2014 at 10:32 pm

maybe thats because they only anticipated 4% of the sales to be the E variant.

But seriously, this isn’t something new. Almost every new launch of popular models end up with big waiting lists.

• MoFaz on Sep 16, 2014 at 10:34 pm

E = Empty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Chris (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 8:58 am

Agree with attention seeking.

They made noise about what they offer for the money, and I thought it’s a steal for the money compare to the Viva BX. But if you look at what’s missing instead of what is being offered, here’s what you’re missing for RM5,200 between the E and G spec:

– Alloy rims
        – Electric folding side mirrors
        – Rear wiper (what?!)
        – Rear defogger (what??)
        – A lot of convenience pockets and compartment
        – ICE
        – Info Display Panel
        – remote/alarm/central lock
        – Reverse sensor

It may be cheaper to install those things afterwards, but it doesn’t seems like it’s worth the hassle at all. I mean, how do you install a rear wiper?

• Ah Chong on Sep 17, 2014 at 9:54 am

There are reasons for Perodua to make those kosong variants,
          BX stands for Bull Xhit
          E stands for Empty

…and later Perodua might make a new variant called OT which stands for Otak Tahi.

• riz (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:35 am

Rear wiper later can be found halfcut..
          dont you worry.. if u noticed, some people install rear wiper on wira/perdana/old civic.
          what need to worry are the safety features,

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:29 pm

yes, rightly So. 5200 isn’t much if you split it into installments.

But we do have a Viva BX sitting at home.

Its fine for a city car that is cheap to run to the shops to be a little bare.

compared to the BX, the E has;

1) a bigger, newer engine, where the BX is underpowered by the 660cc.
          2) stronger safer bodyshell
          3) bigger interior
          4) power windows
          5) Painted bumpers

and for less $.

Now, we also had the base Kancil before the Viva BX…and I can tell you what it didn’t have.

1) 4 speed manual (no not a typo.. 4 speed manual)
          2) no radio (as usual)
          3) No glovebox, no rear parcel shelf, no centre console, basic door cards, no grab handles. ONE (1!!) sun visor
          4) black bumpers
          5) missing a lot of carpets and trim pieces.
          6) manual everything

The Kancil was much smaller and didn’t have any safety features to speak off other than seatbelts, where the BX and E at least has dual airbags.

…..and it cost more new than the BX and this new E

Honestly I wont sweat it too much for the rear wiper. It is a good feature to have on our square backed MPV that does highway runs…but I don’t miss it on the town restricted Viva….and the only addition it has is the alarm and keyless entry…it still doesn’t have a radio…but normal drives in it only last 10-15 mins.

• Contribute to the 1% ~ 3% car price reduction of what MAI promised mar.. KNS.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:44 pm

Ok.. now how’s Iriz booking figures? Can anyone tell me??

Hahaha. . Uhhh.. buntut macai plotong mesti sakit…

Potential for my next toy car to work.. but no rush.. kasi org susah punya order dulu.. im happy for them…

Even my last Kancil 850ex was 29K.. now 1.0 at 24K?

Rezki koranglah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 31
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:40 pm

soo u expecting iriz 60k order will be better than 40k aziah??

rakyat smart oredi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Ah Chong on Sep 17, 2014 at 9:56 am

Yeah, rakyat smart oredi because they want cheap cars with kosong features so they booked the Axia E.

Rakyat smart oredi

• Same L0rrr on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Cheap with kosong features, but it is still reliable.

Expensive with full features, sorry they will bypass Proton and just go for Vios/City/Jazz/ Fiesta.

No need bash say Vios sales drop below. Don’t waste your energy. Sales figure tell. No need syok sendiri here.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 2:47 pm

indonesian is laughing at p2 macai who bought this car
            time will tell…
            indonesian smart orediii

kampung malaysian ppl later regret

• Iriztahibuntutsakit (non-member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:44 pm

P1 will never show its sales figure until TDM himself booked 5000 units. Then after that sell them back to P1 with higher price. Then no more money for P1. Then begging the G to give more money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • motorbart on Sep 16, 2014 at 9:19 pm

Last time kancil got radio. This one why no speakers, no radio, no remote key, even no RPM display??

Going backward???

• pondan on Sep 16, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Buntut p1 macai sudah tak larat.. Already numb and still being “serviced” by all. Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • das auto on Sep 16, 2014 at 11:25 pm

Nothing much to shout about la. You have always been a sucker buying overpriced perutdua junk. Even now perodua is not taking orders for E spec Axia and giving excuse of no stock or 1 year waiting list. When in reality they r probably producing only 2% E spec and causing the problem.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:44 am

looking at aziah…. now u feel kancil viva n myvi owner sooo stupid rite

• Same L0rrr on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:18 pm

You looked more hilarious, when we look at you practising Proton 6S lifestyle to the max. lol

1. Sendiri Cakap
        2. Sendiri Syok
        3. Sentiasa Rosak
        4. Sales Carnival
        5. Semakin Mahal
        6. Semua Subjective

• Low Budget on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Sales carnival under coconut trees..

• samelorstpd on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:16 pm

Toyot 7O

1.Overpriced
            2.Overhyped
            3.Obsolete
            4.On garbage lorries
            5.Out of proportion
            6.Outdated
            7.Overrrated

Toyoto and p2 good quality control:

1. Looks Bad
            2. Sounds Good
            3. Promised Good
            4. But never Good

• I like on Sep 16, 2014 at 7:44 pm

All I can say is, WELL DONE PERODUA! Love this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
  • alahai on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:07 pm

Just back from the showroom. I checked the steering. There is no adjust for reach and rake. WTF axia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
    • It’s a small car. You do not need to adjust the steering. Just adjust your seats since it has height adjustment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Less adjustment, less point of failure and better build quality.

You can go for Iriz for such adjustment. And you definitely need to pay more to garage on every extra feature you’ve got. It is a Proton anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
        • iiioo on Sep 18, 2014 at 12:03 am

It is a Proton? You must be high.

Those extra features like VDC and airbags are not made by Proton but suppliers which supply same things to other auto makers as well.

Please get your facts right.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 11:03 pm

This comment had me loling. Made my night. haha

• Sama-Value (member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 3:01 pm

This is a good practice by perodua, despite cut he cost and can give you less headache also. My macai(s) all small small one so this is not a problem for them. Last time i bought some sxvvy for my macai and we have problem with steering (loose and cannot stay still) and send to workshop and u know what the workshop people said? “ini kereta proxxx, tak payah baikilah, pakai celleofone tape ikat dia sudah jadi..”.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:27 pm

now.. rakyat finally realised.. sales figure only beneficial for the salesman n company itself… not for
    the customer or buyer like us rakyat

now p2 and thier salesamn talking about hi order same as what they did when viva was launched

but what happen to viva owner own.. can thwir
    salesman help them ??? salesman dont care of buyer

they are fighting over the net just for their
    survival to feed their family

buyer suffer… nobody carws

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Same L0rrr on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:23 pm

Sales figure, don’t care…
      Build quality, don’t care…
      Safety features, subjective…
      As long as Proton, you are smart rakyat.

Man, i can see you syok sendiri at max level. What do you smoke?

• Konijiwa on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Well done perodua, let see what will be the sales for junk gsc, maybe 100 units by end of 2014, with 90 units bought by TDM for his mamak relatives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
    • riz (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:39 am

if Iriz can sell better than 100units when it launched,
      what u gonna do ?
      cut your dxxx ?
      u seem confidence, I respect that

• Konijiwa on Sep 17, 2014 at 2:28 pm

I never said i want to cut my dxxx. And yes, i bet iris junk car will sell more than 100 units for sure, with 90 units bought by old mamak, 1 from u moron and another 9 from other idiots. congrats that you will got more spare parts in market than car in malayisa. And I don’t need an idiot’s respect, save it to your mamak…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • bapariz on Sep 17, 2014 at 2:39 pm

riz’ 5S anatomy;

1. Sendiri cakap,
        2. Sendiri syok,
        3. Selalu bullshit,
        4. Sendiri hisap
        5. Sendiri beli kereta lain.

Prove us wrong by showing your booking order for iriz…if not please shut up. TQ.

• Sama-Value (member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:41 pm

Emm, good, i just ordered 5 units for my macai. Basic car basic price. No radio? no problem, just install rm99 china radio player with mp3 and bluetooth…no power window? no problem, can exercise your hand and lifetime warranty for it no required.

• simivula on Sep 18, 2014 at 12:08 am

Can you add ABS EBD BA Airbags at Kedai Ah Beng? If no then GTFO

• lazyf on Sep 16, 2014 at 8:41 pm

Just came back from the P2 showroom.

All I can say is Axia is more like an upgraded version of Viva and more likely to say a real replacement of previous Kelisa.

The feel of Axia is much better and much much more solidness compare to Viva.Standard G spec is quite good enough for those who would like to make this car as an 2nd car meanwhile the Advance spec is awesome!!!

Its just my humble opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • You sure? Kelisa is such an awesome driver’s car. Vrooom vrroommm

• Ceplos on Sep 16, 2014 at 9:31 pm

Good job P2.
    To all Perodua Axia owners enjoy your new cars.
    For me, I’m still waiting for 25th September 2014.

• Savoc_Smyh on Sep 16, 2014 at 9:43 pm

ASEAN NCAP detail results please refer to :

http://www.aseancap.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/Perodua-Axia.pdf
    OR
    http://www.aseancap.org/perodua-axia-2/

• riz (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:45 am

P2 are bullshitting us ..
      ISOFIX not available for base E Axia,
      because it lack stability control/traction – 4stars
      if dont have ABS/EBD/BA – 3stars
      no Isofix 3stars for driver/occupant, 0stars for child. \

http://www.carbase.my/car-comparison?id=6QsMcejNlc,6RPBbQ9HJN,6Rv0aBYAYm,6SxdXhMw81,6TUSWSlpPB,

• I thinking I we’re to get the cheapest variant, I will just get the CD/mp3 player, speakers, alarm and reverse sensors from local car accesories shop. Small matter…..

• Mozilla Chrome on Sep 17, 2014 at 10:12 am

But wonder why they omit the RPM meter in the E spec. It is important to see the revving output from the engine especially from manual transmission. Is RPM meter too expensive?

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Ok. This should be the last post about the launch of the Axia…now waiting for a proper, extended post-launch DRIVEN review.

• gabin6 on Sep 16, 2014 at 10:50 pm

always good to seee people have money to pump into the economy instead of complaints day and night

• Albert lee on Sep 16, 2014 at 10:56 pm

P2’s CEO is very modest and humble by projecting only 30k units up to year end.
    No syiok sendiri and always willing to progress attitude.
    Their sales trajectory is ever moving upwards.I reckon they will hit 45,000 units of Axia before Dec 31.
    I just don’t know what happen to Proton.Its time to stop playing catch up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 4:45 am

similar story during viva n new vios launching

rakyat smart oredi

• Garfield (Member) on Sep 16, 2014 at 11:01 pm

Ppl who have always wanted a sub-40K budget car would have put down their bookings already. Ppl who can spend a little bit more need to just wait a few more days to see Iriz for themselves. I believe P1 still have some aces in their sleeves to steal some sales from this group. There are probably 120K-150K sales that can be made from this group alone in a year, so 90% of the potential customers haven’t made their decision yet. It’s P1’s to lose if they make a pricing mistake and if their aftersales support doesn’t buck up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Mugilan on Sep 16, 2014 at 11:19 pm

Why target 30000 ? Target 60000 !!!
    Because we 10 lane highways in major cities across the country and no one heard of traffic jam in Malaysia.

• Car Boy Fan @ Malacca on Sep 16, 2014 at 11:20 pm

Soon our Malaysian roads will be even more congested with these inexpensive mini cars :(

• Daniel Tak Kesah on Sep 16, 2014 at 11:59 pm

Daniel tak kisah, all companies wants higher profits.. hmm selling empty car for rm24k??? n why is it Malaysians r so rude nowadays? parents didn’t teach abt manners???

• hotakko on Sep 18, 2014 at 12:11 am

Yes Same Lorrr is teaching about manners here everyday, please join his class.

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:08 am

Toyota/Daihatsu in disguise..When is Perodua will start building their own chassis and engines?

• I would rather them not. P1’s doing that and we had enough of that.

And global trend is platform sharing, thought P2’s not doing that (exactly) but it’s close enough.

• riz (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:54 am

hahahaha …
        wow, P2 copy others no problem …
        P1 copy others, all this and that bad complains.
        why ? because Tun M own Proton ?
        that is not fair.

• P1 copy? Har what? P1 very original. Maybe that’s the problem…

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:10 am

Dont compared with Proton Iriz cause its a diff segment,Axia is 1000cc for God sake..

• WinWin on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:22 am

“the mid-spec Standard G variant with the manual and automatic transmission form the bulk of the orders – around 50% split between two transmission options”

Its good to know that the manual transmission still in demand these days.

• I think more booking for axia because of the cheaper price compared to pcc. Not because it is good. Who don’t want cheap stuff?

In addition some people do not have choice since they have really tight budget. “Terpaksa” beli. Tak mampu, etc like me.

Do you think axia sales can compete with pcc if pcc price range is similar to axia which is RM24k – RM42K? I don’t think axia stand a chance at all.

After all, good sales may come because of rakyat marhaen macam kami terpaksa beli.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Sorry to those who booked an Axia.. Test drove this car yesterday and I would say it is crap!! Engine is damn underpowered compared to Viva. When idle, the engine vibrates like no tomorrow. Dashboard feels ok but the aircond dial is like those China toys.. And what I can’t stand is that you can touch the inner side of the fender from the engine bay and the inner wheel arch is not coated!!! What a let down!! The only plus point for this car is the interior space… Other than that, it’s a rubbish car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
    • Gargantia on Sep 17, 2014 at 9:29 am

Wait until Paultan Driven review, then we talk about that.

P1 salesman/designer please go back to work and stop bashing.

• pengguna proton kecewa on Sep 17, 2014 at 10:50 am

hahaha.100% agree with you…it seems that all these junk test drive is merely to give false info/perception on the new car..I think these cybertroopers have gone to the offensive this time around

• peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:10 am

no need paultan review
        this model already in indonesia market a year ago
        indonesian review said this car underpower idle vibrate like hell

this time not like myvi, viva, alza era where p2 salesman can cheat rakyat…. now indonesian drive it 1st n they know better abiut aziah than us

indonesian laughing at japan wannabe malaysian

• Abenaz on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Gargantia, I agree with you. I was totally disappointed. I came to test drive the car and book a G auto spec unit. Test drive totally failed. The car vibrate like hell before you start moving and underpowered severely especially when going a slight uphill road. Pity why people buy this car without test drive. Add 10K more and you get an almost perfect mini car – the undisputed myvi. Sorry Azia, you failed!

• Why do I need someone else to test drive it when I myself had test driven it? I’m not on p1 nor p2 side.. Don’t believe me on the Axia rough and underpowered engine and under average quality? Go test drive one today.. If you like how the engine and its quality, that’s your preference and your choice.

I’m just being honest here…

• BagayaluP1 on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Good say. But you should say P1 salesman and designer go back to continue their tea-time. Their tea-time is more than working time. Morning start work at 10am after tea-time, then lunch time 2 hours. After that work for another hour, then another tea-time i hour from 3pm. Then work for last hour (actually just facebook and check email) and go home at 5pm. They are working very “HARD” for 3-4 hours a day and finally they come out with one of the “best designed car in the world” (claimed by P1 supporters only), Iriz…

• talkkok on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:49 pm

Do you have proof or you just talk kok here?

• protonian on Sep 18, 2014 at 10:17 am

Dear BAGAYALUP1
          Its totally wrong on what u claims PROTON RnD are. You just said without a fact.
          Designing a car is not just picking up from the list. Its a activity started from hearing whats customer need. Translate it into drawing. Adding values as WOW factor to customer.
          Drawing board and actual component were never be the same.
          The local and oversea supplier need time to adopt the changes required on their quality. Thats reflect to reliability of the car.
          Nevertheless, the design were follows current trend.
          Open ur eyes..nit just pointing in the dark. So that others can judge ur tiny little brain never works

• so easy to be a P2 CEO. want to launch a new car? new model? just pick a model from the list of Daihatsu range, and Voila! You got a car. Just redesign the skirtings, and you can claim the whole car is your design!

• rosli on Sep 18, 2014 at 2:03 pm

The important thing… making profit dude… and people buying the car. hhhhhhhhh

• Good job produa with rakyat economy car…
    Proton nowadays is luxuries car maker,people cant afford the price.

• pengguna proton kecewa on Sep 17, 2014 at 10:46 am

what can I say…P1 cybertroopers is REALLY working OVERTIME today..hahaha…

• peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:24 am

rakyat noticed p2 salesman is trying hard to convince rakyat that aziah is japan dna ) actually indon dna) they try to convince rakyat they are victim of NAP n protection ( actually they are same as proton )

now rakyat smart oredi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • yushimura on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Even if you go back stay in Japan for another 6 years also tak guna. No Japanese value can change your idiotic loser brain.

• Pengguna proton kecewa on Sep 17, 2014 at 12:44 pm

P2 salesman is bz at their showroom la,so many people coming in day n night..so many new bookings…..at least for 3 or 4 days they dont have time to write comments on any blog…lain kali fikir mendalam skit..

• peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 9:32 pm

p2 salesman at showroom

customer
          ” why aziah only 2 airbags?, no eac?? only 4 stars?? engine vibrate
          suring idle?? underpower???

p2 salesman
          ” makcik proton no quality, proton campro, proton no value, proton no japan dna, proton bla bla”

customer
          ” i tanya pasal ur aziah… bukan proton”

p2 salesman
          ” errrrrrrrrr”

• Samurai G on Sep 17, 2014 at 10:58 am

I’m feel cheated with P2 advertisement. They only want to make noise and want to get people attraction on RM25k Axia. P2 salesman also not encourage us to book the E segment (RM25k). That’s why people call it E for empty. so i think P1, this is your time now. Most awaited car..Proton Iriz

• congrat P2 on Sep 17, 2014 at 1:02 pm

congrat P2, figure tells everything, people are smart already to differentiate what car is value for the money. btw, am also bought one G-spec and chose Lime Green color. :)

• peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 6:52 pm

yeahhh sales figure tells salesman happy

self satisfaction tells buyer happy

• saga3rdgen on Sep 17, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Reading comments here is interesting, I really dun give a damn if Axia gets more bookings. Cheaper stuff might have better attraction. But it’s not always.

Buy Axia and later make complaints that it’s rattling coz of 3 cyl engine, NVH not good enough, bla bla bla, I think it’s messy. If people can wait for Iriz, top up a bit (from 37k to 42k) that’s much better specced and safer.

Unless for people who cannot afford then that’s different story, or if one wants bigger boot then why not wait for new Saga 3rd gen. Dun worry about boot Proton always gives it a big one!

• Low Budget on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:40 pm

Yes, Have to admit Axia is cheapo 3 cylinder car, people like me are realistic people as long as the car don’t suck too much petrol and cheap to maintain, we will buy it as 2nd or 3rd car for our family members to commute within the cities, taking public transport is not an option.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 6:50 pm

p2 salesman wudnt tell about 3
        cylinders laa.. what they said just this is jepun mari engine oooo super good one.. not like campro..
        here conversation btw customer n p2 salesman during test drive session

customer:
        “why my seat vibrate??”

p2 salesman
        “japan engine mmg camni makcik”

customer
        ” oooo hebat hebat”

• baekh on Sep 17, 2014 at 8:46 pm

p2 salesman : proton kuat makan minyak makcik

customer : iyeke? anak makcik punya Saga minyak lebih kurang je dgn suami makcik punya Vios

p2 salesman : itu laeennnnnn
          (sambil meninggalkan makcik terpinga-pinga)

• peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 9:28 pm

p2 salesman
            ” beli aziah makcik.. jepun mari taww sume jepun ni”

makcik
            ” walaupun aku tua.. tapi aku baca internet.. ni bukannya model kat indon tu ke??”

p2 salesman
            ” eeerrrrrrrrrrrrrrr…. tu laaennnnnn”

• p1 in trouble on Sep 17, 2014 at 1:15 pm

if iriz can’t hit 1k booking, guess potong must sack another batch of 6k useless staffs to compensate for this ya!

• Garfield (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Positioning of P2 in the market is hardly surprising for two reasons. Firstly, it is smack where cheapness is. Malaysians can’t afford to do expensive national service (i.e. high excise duties). It commands two of lowest segments, with P1’s Saga in between Viva (now Axia) and MyVi.
    Secondly, it’s the perceived quality and reliability. I say perceived, because their cars need not be built to high standards (u get what u paid for). They are cheap to maintain, and their target market are not people with high maintenance attitude, with some have not even been regularly sent to service centers (therefore less history of warranty claims). Their favourite mechanics usually reside under roadside trees.

My disclaimer here is I’m not generalizing most owners; but just experience and friends around me. I had known quite a few Kancils that needed full engine overhaul but the owners attributed those to their own negligence. The Kancils and Vivas are only stepping stones to their dream of the bigger MyVi. Somehow those free maintenance offers recently had educated these group in regular maintenance.

The next step up as we know it is the MyVi. To these people on the up, the MyVi is a marvel. The build quality is better, hence the overall praise from a group that had never experienced real motoring divine. Again, they only need to withstand normal warranty period, afterwhich the cars do rattle. I had a worse ride in a 5-year old MyVi than an 8-year old Picanto. Safety is a luxury inside them.

P1 had shot its own foot so many times in the past while the products itself were not that badly designed. Issues of sub-standard suppliers had stung them. Service staff with attitude of blaming P1 (“biasalah, Proton….”) doesn’t help either.

Watching the telemovie “Kereta Kita” on Malaysia Day had brought me back to what P1 meant to so many people. It was their own arrogance that pushed them to where they are now. There were a time that I paid higher price than new just to get a used Saga/Iswara, the bread and butter cars to people who doesn’t want to drive Kancils.

I won’t blame the Malaysian largesse if they avoid P1 at all costs after the bad experiences. I too, had my more than fair share of a lemon Waja. A car that nevertheless gave me a year of driving joy during my outstation trips through the twists and corners of Kluang-Mersing route then. As I said, a not-badly designed car with bad parts suppliers.

But I could see a glimmer of sincerity from P1 in the latest iteration of Iriz. The intention had been showcased since 2010 by the EMAS concepts. Safety takes a precedence and never again Malaysian’s lives should be compromised in a Milo tin. They’re back in the segment where it counts for their own survival.

I have to disagree with our beloved Tun M. For their own sake, I hope P1 revisit the root of their existence and I do mean that we need a quality low-priced product. Change the jaguh kampung mentality in only wanting to just beat the Myvis. Trounce them in price as well while you are at it, you owe the people so much. That will seal my faith in your sincerity.

• Lot of people TLDR? Not me
      So you want Proton to go back to sell cheaper as one lower segment, I don’t think it works.

• Garfield (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 1:09 pm

I didn’t mean that P1 should even foray into the A-segment business handled by P2 now. I’m saying that P1 had realized the folly of neglecting the original spirit of quality low-priced motoring when Saga first came out. The car was of acceptable quality at its time even compared to when Kancil was first launched. By the time when the new Saga arrived, MyVi had already turned the local car market around.
        P1 should know by now that to survive, they need to sell cars that the people need and want, at a price point that people can afford. I honestly think they have learnt the lesson; if not the incoming Axia would have got the dimensions of Savvy or the EMAS concepts they previewed. Innovation should be continuous and at least the culture is more alive with P1. The locals should not be neglected even if they want to go global, which I think PCC has got what it takes.

• Garfield (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 1:12 pm

I’m sorry, errrr….. I meant “the incoming Iriz would have got the dimensions of Savvy or the EMAS concept”

• cendol (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 2:40 pm

I saw people driving this car on the road already. It was moving side by side with a VIVA,
    I must say Axia looks way much better and bigger than VIVA.
    Hidup P2,
    P1 sigh

• peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 6:46 pm

pity proton viva owner rite… they feel stupid buying proton viva rite

• Sama-Value (member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 2:49 pm

I just order extra 10 units axia e for my macai. My macai said why no speaker also, I told them no problem, rm99 china radio with mp3 and bluetooh and 2 rear china speaker rm40 make the day. No reverse sensor? I bet we been using poton car with no reserve sensor for the past 27 years. If you want? no problem rm80 for 2 china reverse sensors. No centerlock? no problem, rm150 china center lock with remote with fancy 7-colours LED display. With less than rm400 all e-spec become g-spec…my macai(s) happy now.

• If Macai wants extra airbags plus VSC, what say you?

• OK I know you will say, “go die”

Too bad

• Sama-Value (member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 8:06 pm

Thambi, g spec only 2 airbaglah same with e -spec….my macai all working in ladang, 2 air bags enough. Thambi lu jangan kurang ajar….

• hakim on Sep 17, 2014 at 3:08 pm

just got back from the perodua showroom. first i thought the axia going to be quite small, but i was wrong. when i sit in the axia, it feel like sitting in a myvi. At least now there is a car better than just a viva, within the same price. built quality is nice in my own opinion. haven’t got the chance to test drive it.

good job p2.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 3:55 pm

wait until u test drive… super vibration during idle n underpowerd as commented by indonesian ppl

indonesian smart orediiii

• Low Budget on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Slight vibration can be expected from 3 cylinders cars (any marque), the buyers can understand that. Where else P1 cars will vibrate and squeking after one or two years of usage.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 6:18 pm

slight vibrate?? go test drive n read indonesian review… do u think kg ppl makcik who booked this car it has 3 cylinder?? 4 cyclinder???

their salesman just inform this is jaoan enginee… vely good oneee

jahhaa
          now we buy aziah got free seat vibrate massage

suddenly makcik said.. wahhh buy japan car dapat free ogawa massage mehh

prrrfthhhh

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:12 am

Best comment so far…ermm i mean best stupid comment..if you have not test drive don’t give comment la..i personally test drive it & I can say p2 are getting much better than T&H in term of quality. Vibration is just a Plus function. At least it not made from Milo Tin Kosong campur Lalat Tahi.

• Baru balik showroom.. door handle much more better than myvi, backseat too straight, interior quality, much better than viva, plus, much better NVH. Steering response, nearly like my new city. Radio speaker sound, much better than my extream, less engine vibration, better than viva. The seats, lowgrade than myvi, its too soft.

Em.. if ok, i want to get the full spec one, but, will wait for the new 1.3 iriz.

• àlahai on Sep 18, 2014 at 9:51 am

For me, the door is just too light. Like nothing in between the outer layer and inside. Like a tin kosong or a piece of aluminium with hollow inside. Good for girl or eldery people.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 5:46 pm

so now… we are getting more negative comment by potential buyers after they tesr drive the car

the true color of aziah appear…

hahahha

happy to see ah beng booked aziah without test drive… later after received the car n found the
    car vibrate during idle n super duper umderpowered

hahahha that time smart ppl smiling and said.. padan muka
    japan tech hahaha

• Tiger on Sep 17, 2014 at 10:23 pm

If me the P1 boss or oner will sack the ceo or entire team for failing to launch the Iris ahead of tis P2 model..imagine how many potential sels gone…from last year just test and test and test nonstop, now after Axia announced P1 sudddenly panic and woke up…same wit p2 continue selling the old Viva wat a shame, in paper the company said will continue sell as long as got demand

• Mr.Skywalker on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:32 am

In your perspective it might be true. It’s the price P1 has to pay anyway if quality really comes first and they don’t wanna screw that up this time (let’s hope so). But launching first doesn’t necessarily mean P2 are gonna win big. Noticed how many new vios booked last time, all the hype etc? Notice how many new vios are on the road now?

• Myriz on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Driven the Fiesta Eco-boost, also a 3 cylinder, 1 litre engine car. No vibration, steady and quiet handling with power. Same cannot be said for Axia.

• It’s output is similar to 1.6l car! Why compare turbo with n/a?

• peyno (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 5:59 am

who cares turbo or nA… the point is ecoboost engine 3 cylinder but not vibrate like Indon DNA engine Axia

• Savoc_Smyh on Sep 18, 2014 at 1:08 am

Ford 1.0 L EcoBoost Engine didn’t want to follow other automakers with a counter-rotating balance shaft. Ford didn’t want to go that route with the small three because that design takes up space, adds weight, increases cost, and can cut into fuel efficiency. Those problem vibrations are in a vertical direction, and Ford manages to alter that with a flywheel and pulley at opposite ends of the engine that are very specifically unbalanced – plus some crankshaft work – to redirect the vibrations fore-aft. Engineers then use sophisticated engine mountings to quell that motion. The result is 123 bhp and 148 lbs.-ft. of torque.

Where as Perodua Axia using 998cc 12-valve DOHC 1KR-DE2 l3 but still lacks VVT-i. The new 1.0 litre engine offers 66 hp (49 kW) at 6,000 rpm and 90 Nm (66 lb ft) of torque at 3,600 rpm.

• Mr.Skywalker on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:19 am

Err you do realize we’re not all engineers..? Straight to the point la bro..

• Ahirul on Sep 18, 2014 at 1:16 am

I am pretty sure this car will spark the interest of parents looking to buy a new car for their kids going to universities and college . I know a lot of college students that would benefit from better safety features , myself included . I’m not expecting 7 airbags to be equipped to a budget car but no abs as standard ? from my personal opinion that’s a bad move from p2 . Most student are new drivers and still have the mentality of a.. well , a student. We can’t expect all of them to drive 90km/h or have the ability to perform evasive maneuvers under pressure and without ABS as standard i fear…

How much does it cost to include ABS in the car anyway?

• peyno (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 6:11 am

pity seeing viva driver with new plate number wa ***** x.. frim their face ( mostluy ah soos n girly) i can see their sadness… felt cheated

maybe that time they bought viva they said… i bought viva coz hi RV.. not like proton.. suckss

hahahah now… regret???

• Berann on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:23 am

Surprisingly Axia has wider and longer interior space than myvi. Even bigger booth space, more fuel economy and longer wheelbase than Myvi.Better crash test rating as well. Don’t think will have huge power diff if compared to 1.3 Myvi since Axia much lighter. I will go for Axia instead of Myvi and save RM 15k +/-. Perfect for City car.

• rosli on Sep 18, 2014 at 1:45 pm

just came back from test drive axia g auto. The best so far for 1.0 cc car.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 18, 2014 at 6:00 pm

the best compared with viva, kelisa , kancil

hahahah

• rosli on Sep 19, 2014 at 9:31 am

that is normal bro in business. Hit and run strategy. Popular car only lasting about 3 years time… after that the sales graft will go down. P2 busniess minded was awesome. hhhhhhhhh

• rosli on Sep 19, 2014 at 9:19 am

yes bro. in Malaysian if u sell rm25 k to rm39K new car with new trending look and reliable engine, u surely got new record sale. PCC to expensive for working class people.

• Eyo (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 7:27 pm

i adore the axia for its practicality and affordability . If only they can offer at least an ‘optional’ safety features that can satisfy safety conscious people like me .If money is not an issue i suggest the upcoming proton iriz with atleast abs and esc as standard . I wish we were living in a perfect world where accident is non-existent but alas , there will always be a few reckless drivers .

Try not to endanger others . I’ve been there and truly regret my self-centered driving attitude . Luckily no one was injured .To anyone reading this , please drive safe :)

• Darian on Oct 07, 2014 at 9:32 pm

haha..Proton will be dead.
    Yesterday, i was told that the booking is up like mad due to fuel price.
    It’s already 37k booking and 5 months waiting list.
    SE variant looks great on the road!