RENDERED: Perodua Axia Sports, three-door version

perodua-axia-sports-rendered

Rendering wiz Theophilus Chin has provided his take on what a three-door version of the new Perodua Axia might look like. Dubbed the Perodua Axia Sports, it goes to show that if in the highly unlikely event Perodua re-engineers the Axia as a three-door, this is what a future ‘warm’ hatch could look like.

In conceptualising the Axia Sports, Theo has begun by lowering the roof and shoulder lines of the car, while changing the angle of the rear tailgate in order to make it more pronounced. Nothing significant was done elsewhere, apart from a slightly lowered ground clearance.

Click to enlarge.

The production Perodua Axia, based on the underpinnings of a Daihatsu Ayla and Toyota Agya, was launched last month and is priced at RM24,600 for the basic model and goes all the way to RM42,530 with on-the-road costs factored in.

It’s powered by an all-aluminium 1KR-DE2 1.0 litre engine producing 66 hp at 6,000 rpm and 90 Nm of torque at 3,600 rpm. Transmission choices are a five-speed manual and a four-speed automatic gearbox. Fancy a sportier-looking three-door Axia then? Let us know below.

GALLERY: Perodua Axia 1.0 Advance

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• fdsfmm on Oct 14, 2014 at 2:52 pm

3 door version with a 1.0 litre turbocharged engine..

Perodua Axia ST, anyone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 41
  • dogbert (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Turbo? With upgraded suspension and brakes! Remain 5 doors and take my $$ :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
    • Dream on….

P2 engineers know nothing but designing bumpers,bonnets and grille only.

Hehehe…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • RUbber meet oil on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Hope P2 do some revolution.
      come out Mini GTI version.
      VGT,ABS,EBD,BA,ESP, 6 bags
      Less than 55K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • tatu880 on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Dream on bro. The kosong spec Myvi 1.5 is already RM56K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Actually they did but the price will up to 70k. The P2 boss knew malaysian only want fuel save, therefore u get the kosong spec

• ayamitik on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Nice concept but… 1.0 litre turbocharge from perodua? Keep on dreaming. until kucing bertanduk.

• Theophilus Chin on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:16 pm

I wonder if Perodua is able to shoehorn the 1.5 litter engine into this Axia if they do build a 3-door variant.

• elson on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:30 pm

cornering sure drop into longkang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • mirage on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Proton Satria worst nightmare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • i think theophilus has a bit too much time on his hands.

nobody buys a perodua without the intention of stuffing their extended families along for a balik kampung trip

• How could you forget those tailgate white light myvi on the road

• Penang Playboy on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:02 pm

hahaha, white light myvi..it remind me of this pathetic myvi that keep flashing me on the highway on the right lane when I was already at 130 kmph. Well, just to teach this pathetic myvi a lesson on never flash a car that are far more superior than it, i just lightly press my pedal, and the pathetic myvi was left so far behind.

Until now I never understand why pathetic cars such as Myvi, proton saga, vios, city, or even Viva want to go so fast on the highway with their pathetic brake system…are they trying to kill other drivers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
  • HaIrI on Oct 14, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Should be considered as ‘Cold Hatch’ if the same engine was used.

• meng meng on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Ha ha, wa ha ha ha!!!!!
    Joker p2….
    i aways support p2.. but now a bit disappointed to them…
    pls la…

• Interesting.

In mature markets like UK and Australia, such cars are popular with the elder set. Its safer as nobody can sneak into the rear door.

I would buy one, sport or standard.

• Baja Lapis Seng on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Please NO.

• You thought P2 designers are so creative like you?

• Ah Zah on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:52 pm

sport with 66hp. ptui !!!!

• BLT_Club on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Front looks like
    http://www.peroduaprice.com/images/myvi_4.png
    Gasp, the horror!

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Side window line and profile does remind me of the VW Polo 3 door.

Warm hatch from Perodua? Ask them to improve safety then we’ll talk.

• Without enhancement on engine power/braking/handling and without VSC, this 3 door hatch sport is almost useless… The car already small, still need to make the passenger hard to enter the rear seat?

• Car this light, with turbo it will go flying.
    Dangerous woh

• Petrofsky77 (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:47 pm

I’d choose a 5-door over a 3-door anytime. 3-doors are only practical if the ride is solely yours and yours only.

• tin milo sport..hahaha….buy one…u should get i coffin…

• Plz don’t promote it as a sport car…u know our malaysian driving style

• passerby00 on Oct 14, 2014 at 9:35 pm

Daihatsu Coopen Turbo Axia makes more sense …

• Ray (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:02 pm

It’s a Polo! Jokes aside, a little part of me inside loves this so much. But then, it’s still a Perodua so meh.

• marsredx on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:29 am

what the point of having this rendered picture?? its pointless

• 76' Hemi Barracuda on Oct 15, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Good point bro. I want to hit button “Like” thousand times, but it allow only once.

• qaseh arjuna on Oct 15, 2014 at 12:55 pm

dream on perodua…what an ugly design???

• leoRNado on Oct 15, 2014 at 6:00 pm

read it properly qaseh. thia is just illustration frm mr theo. If u said ugly, then it shud refer to mr theo.