Perodua Axia – 42,000 bookings so far, 8,000 delivered

Perodua_Axia_Standard_vs_Advance_ 001

Bookings for the Perodua Axia has topped the 40,000 mark. As of yesterday, 42,000 names have been collected for the compact car, with 8,000 units already delivered to customers. The figures were revealed by Perodua chairman Tan Sri Asmat Kamaludin at the groundbreaking ceremony of Perodua and Daihatsu’s new engine manufacturing plant in Sendayan, yesterday.

“Perodua has embarked on a transformation journey since 2011 that will see our products and services are on par or better than other established automotive brands. These transformation initiatives are in the form of production, products, R&D and procurement, and customer satisfaction,” Asmat said.

“The initial outcome of this initiative can be seen with the launch of our latest model – the Perodua Axia – and we will be making several more announcements on this matter over the coming months. What is important to mention here is that we are moving forward in line with the changing economic landscape. It is indeed an exciting and challenging time for us as we prepare for change,” he added.

Perodua_Axia_Standard_vs_Advance_ 003

The overall Axia bookings figure stood at 32,000 (6,000 delivered) on October 9, and Bernama quoted “39,000 units” from Perodua COO Zahari Husin on October 18, so the momentum is strong. P2 has also started deliveries of the bare bones Axia Standard E to driving schools.

The Perodua Axia was officially launched in September. Malaysia’s most affordable car and first Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) comes in four trim levels priced from RM24,600 to RM42,530.

Get all the specs, info and detailed/comparison picture galleries in our Perodua Axia infohub, and also check out our walk-around video tour and first drive report to learn more about the Axia.

Perodua Axia Standard G

Perodua Axia Advance

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Malaysia Hot car model 2014

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 7
    • No money society on Oct 28, 2014 at 3:41 pm

Yes and also proves Malaysians are a low income society… try selling this car in Europe. ..It will be a joke.

So much for the govt effort in trying to elevate this social issue…its back to the drawing board for BN and it’s NEP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 73
      • Kzm where are you? on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Where is the pro Gomen kzm? Petrol naik also, he say very good for the gomen get revenue because it helps with the building of the country.

Waiting for kzm to come now and say how great our Perodua is and we all must trust local brand and support kerajaan BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 29
        • So Big One on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:28 pm

I sokong… Will be better if Malaysia is known for the most RR and Lambos in the world… just like Monte Carlo.

With money comes happiness

Without money comes Perodua

yeechs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
          • “with money comes happiness”? Poor you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
          • Operation-Manager (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 6:11 pm

From total 8000 delivered, how many unit under spec-E delivered to private customer (excluded company)?

Dare to tell?

• Same L0rrr on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Where is Iriz booking/delivery figure?? Anyone dare to share?

No point to cakap sendiri syok sendiri. Figures will tell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
          • samelorstpd on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:09 pm

Iriz booking/delivery figure of course cannot beat Axia’s 3000K

*sarcasm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Wisdom on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Nice car indeed…

• Sad Sad Sad Malaysians on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Pity. When a good Corolla C Segment sedan is actually sold in the US for about US$12,000.

here we have to suffer with a small dangerous car. No matter how many airbags you got, size is the ultimate defender. Get knocked in a kancil or Axia, you are likely to die.

Those who don’t believe me, go and see what happens when a car crashes into a Santa Fe. Little damage. In a Kancil, you will be vegetable.

This is how our Government treats us. Our lives are only worth so little. The real cost of CKDing a Corolla is probably less than RM30,000.

But Government don’t care for our lives and safety. just want to give us rubbish at the expense of our lives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 14
          • ecctr on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:11 pm

You want to compare bolehland with USA?

Work hard lor, currency value won’t get higher if you reply comment during office hours.

Lazy worker!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
          • u r idiot on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:52 pm

dude, at that time you can surf paultan and put such a comment, clearly shows u r lazy worker… come on dude, don’t abuse working hour typing such unproductive comments… another rubbish in malaysia commenting here with US… find out more about their cars first

• kzm (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:23 pm

don’t spread lies la..I never said that.. u the one who say blame me pulak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • Topless Gear on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Jeremy Clarkson will probably rent an excavator, dig a tiniest hole just to bury this type of cars from ever coming into production

Freaking joke !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
      • Those ppls booking car juz compare price not compare value

• old dog on Oct 30, 2014 at 1:21 am

what low income? can afford to use a toyota price to buy a p1 or p2 car locally, super high income when european people knows it…how come your car so expensive…

thanks to cronies g.

• Tiara on Oct 28, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Why Axia top choice by rakyat:
      – automatic gear not whiny, noisy or jerking
      – 20km per liter
      – timing chain low servicing cost
      – proven Daihatsu Toyota quality
      – it’s not made in Tanjung Malim

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 58
      • Abu Sayur on Oct 28, 2014 at 3:54 pm

Proton lose liao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
        • Low Budget on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Proton on ICU liao. Need oxygen from gomen. Looks like year 2015 will be no different than previous years, P2 still leads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 17
          • Axia is A segment, Iriz is B.

Iriz sure loses to Axia because it cannot reach tin milo moving coffin award like Axia.

Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
      • Don’t say proven “Toyota” quality. I have viva and have problems… it’s low cost car…not toyota level,

• Matrix on Oct 28, 2014 at 6:24 pm

you are wrong!
      City is hot model compare to this!

Perodua has never good RV before.

• Same L0rrr on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Axia or City, sushi car rocks!

You got money, you buy City. You have less money, you get a Axia. As simple as that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
        • ramps on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:28 pm

But at 70k, city dun have turbo. Sure makan asap preve turbo

Kakakakakakakakaka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
          • Dehhhhhhh on Oct 29, 2014 at 2:44 am

Cheap class clown like you only knows how to drive a cheap skate turbo car to smoke. where executives on Benz or Merz are laughing off their asses LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • Ayam Sodomx Ahwah on Oct 29, 2014 at 8:49 am

Preve got turbo,
            it might smoke city on land.
            hahahaha…
            But can not go up Genting!

• ramps on Oct 29, 2014 at 9:00 am

Wah nowadays, Proton been compared to Benz. Sure Japs cars are nowhere turning to garbage.

Oh btw, many contis use such soft turbo thingy. Axia got one kah?

Kakakakakkaka

• KANCIL MYVI NUISANCE on Oct 28, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Govt should impose a nuisance tax on Perodua

They are the main cause of traffic jams and haphazard parking around major towns.

And they burn the most subsidised fuel but everyone is squarely blaming the higher capacity cars instead…

If you get into an accident 70% probability it’s with a Perodua.

Impose nuisance tax on them !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 40
    • Abu Sayur on Oct 28, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Good then give proton drivers subsidy

• Same L0rrr on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Get your fact right. Proton has the highest fatality rate with its drivers in car accident. People buy Perodua because it doesn’t break down easily.

Most of the break down, hit tree, split into half are mostly Proton. And still Proton promise the customer their car can smoke this smoke that fly to moon nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 22
        • Proton has very good safety features, Axia is tin milo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
        • The fact is Perodua cause traffic jam, accident n killed rakyat most. The owner of Perodua unable to tell the truth bcos they no longer in bumi.

• Albert on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:21 pm

You are right,SameLorr.
          Protons are converted into killing machines by those “smoke” mat rempits.
          They think they can overtake Hamiltons and Schumachers.
          Not only split into half,have you seen the police investigating those split into 3 pieces?It is like MH 17.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • SameLorr the Sorhai on Oct 29, 2014 at 6:08 am

hahaha …from his reply, Now we all know Same Lorr only drives a milo tin… a PERODUA..

a mindless defence for a lost cause

• Leonardo on Oct 29, 2014 at 8:54 am

Silly observation and no facts. Remember some soldiers were killed driving a TANK in East Malaysia recently?

• anyone aware that alot of toyota and perodua third brake light kaput.. you all try count today when drive back home. i count 10 this morning for 18km from my house to my office

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • PecahLampu on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Because always on the road and causes traffic jam… ultimately causing their own brake lamp to fail

Small cars consumes the most national resources/ petrol as their numbers runs into the hundred of thousands on the road EVERYDAY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
      • kzm (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:34 pm

I see from all brand p1, p2, honda, toyota, mercedes, bmw, suzuki, yamaha, modenas, nissan, mitsubishi, lorry brand ..lampu go kaput..no need to count eye sore already n dangerous

• Ayam Sodomx Ahwah on Oct 29, 2014 at 8:51 am

I found nissan kaput more…

• old dog on Oct 30, 2014 at 1:29 am

still cant compare to the Waja power door handler, and windows broke down record..

• nuisance? on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:02 pm

impose nuisance tax on you??

• Free loader on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Good idea but govt should not give that 1.7 billion refund to Proton also. Fair and square. Merugikan duit rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Perodua buy the car first, then resell to boost the sales figure?
    Or this number include thousands of test drive unit?
    Why not choose a Proton Iriz? Is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
    • -Iriz, nice girly name. Can suk or not?
      -Sure,all Protons suk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
      • nazimahjamal on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:15 pm

This Proton Iriz not only sucks, it swallows too… the pondan Axia that is :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • Ray (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:12 pm

To be honest the Axia is a pretty good car, significantly better than its predecessor. Yes there are areas that could be improved: ABS on the G models and stability control on higher end variants but the price really is a killing feature.

What I’m more concerned about is the increase in 40 000 cars on the road. That’s a bit more worrying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Ononimos on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Kereta launch date lagi awal dari Iriz tapi sampai ke lo ni takde full test drive and actual fuel consumption review lg dari Paultan..

Come on Perodua. Just prepare the cars for them to do the review as fast as possible. -.-“

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • rosli on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:08 pm

1.0 liter car, what u can expect bro….hhhhhhh

• Ray (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Talk to the 1 litre Ecoboost Fiesta please.
        Small 3-cylinder engines can sometimes be fun to drive bro.

• メルビン on Oct 29, 2014 at 2:01 am

Wan 2 gif u like
          But here is Bolehland
          or Bobianland
          either u pay 94k 4 Fiesta 1.0 or 32K 4 Axia

• nazimahjamal on Oct 28, 2014 at 7:50 pm

Just prove that Axia can do at least 18km/L under the same test drive conditions done by Proton Iriz 2 weeks ago? Ada brani?

• rosli on Oct 28, 2014 at 4:15 pm

No wonder, until now, i did not get my Axia G(A) spec. Paid booking on 23/9/14. Aaaahhh yoyoyo a paaa. 2 month already. huhuhuhuhu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • What the bru haha on booking numbers? How about loan rejection rate nowadays? Last time Aminar says 60% loan rejection rate meaning on 42k bookings only 16.8k will get their loan approved by financial intitutions.

• Annoynimouse on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:00 pm

It’s not ugly, but just not special… just a typical cheap practical mode of transport for the masses. Nothing more…

• rosli on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:06 pm

only 16.8 K ? good… but until now, where is my axia… hohohohoho… My wife make noise already… hhhhhhhhhhh

• robert on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:17 pm

People just want a car that meets the following requirement:-
    1. Low monthly installment – when one earns small obviously one have to manage ones budget to meet all the daily expendiatures
    2. low maintenance – of course one would not want to have a car which constantly breaks down and have to be sent to a service center. When ever one sends to a service center, one have to take leave and absent without a car. Is the manufacture going to reimburse the user for the lack of use of the car ?
    3.Low fuel consumption – Perodua cars have really decent fuel consumption since they are quite light weight and have pretty efficient engine (I have owned a Perodua Kenari for 5 years and currently own a 2014 Mivy, I also have a 2008 saga BLM)
    4.Decent safety feature – Most Malaysian accept 2 airbags as the minimum safety feature, as for ABS, most can accept to not have it even though it is really good to have. As for people boasting lack of 6 airbags, VSC, ESP etc, they are not in sync with the reality that Malaysians in general feel it is quite unnecessary to pay a premium for those items.
    5.Long term reliability – Perodus seems to have a long term reliability as compared to Proton. My family member still owns a 10 year old Perodua Kelisa and it is still going strong with minimum issues, other than standard wear and tear items. I had a Kenari (Manual) for 5 years and it proved to be a reliable car. The first year Perodua replaced the CD player and after that it did not have any issues what so ever. My current 2008 saga BLM (A) had the following issues within the time frame :-
    a) < 1 year : IAFM plastic intake manifold replacement due to "tak-tak" noise. Many owners had this replaced between 2008 to 2010. Hazzard light switch replaced because it was unable to latch. Aircond water drain hose replaced as a precaution since there were many cases of water from the aircond causing rust on the steering rack.

b)5 years = 100,000 timing belt replacement; had to replace timing belt tensioner bolt because the early saga BLM had a 12 mm bolt head on a larger diameter bolt shank (looks like 14 mm bolt) which might snap off during removal for timing belt change. Rear right hand side wheel bearing failed due to rapid wear. Saga FLX has a larger more durable wheel bearins. All 4 door check (the item preventing your door from swinging open when you park on a slope) is teribbly loose and cannot hold the door whan parked on the slope. Everytime I have to hold it with my leg if I am carrying items out from my car. It sometimes have difficulty every now and then starting after a days'run. The engine can crank over but it wont fire unless I floor the accelerator pedal to the floor.
    My car is exactly 6 years now, other than that it still runs well fairly reliabily getting at best 10 km/L. I intend to keep it for a full 10 years to maximize the money spent on it. I only change cars every 10 years once.

I believe in redirecting my money else where, on food, holidays, savings. In the end one should not be in debt for long periods!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
    • Ray (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Have to agree with you bro but I kinda disagree with your point number 4.

I have to admit that most Malaysian drivers perceive that 2 airbags + ABS = safe car to drive which is clearly not enough. And now with the increasing popularity of automotive sites like this and people being exposed to more info on the internet, I think I’ve noticed some departure from that mentality. People are starting to look at the airbag count and the inclusion of stability control in cars, well perhaps that only applies to B segment buyers or above that have more cash on hand to decide. Look at how cars like the Vios and Almera are gradually flopping, people are starting to turn to cars like the City. The Swift is no longer that popular either, people are going for the Jazz, 208 and heck even Korean models that were once abhorred by resale-value-conscious Malaysians as they do indeed offer better safety features at a similar price point. Notice how the sales of the Cerato is growing while the Civic and Corolla previously being default choices are slowly reducing in numbers? And let’s not mention of the *facepalm* Camry that does not even have VSC at 150k given that a tiny Picanto that costs about one third has it with six airbags even. Toyota is no longer leading the D segment either with disappointing safety specs, and the looks that are not doing any help.

Back to the Axia topic, yes the safety features might be a tad on the low side but I guess buyers that have 40k to spend do not have many alternatives either. I believe most Axia owners are either having it as their first car or a spare car in the household for short distance trips. The SE model should tick all boxes, given Perodua’s decent history on fuel efficiency, reliability and aftersales service. Some might disagree with me though, saying that the Saga is a better buy but I believe some people are very very afraid of the name Proton. But yes the Saga is also a great choice at that price bracket, it’s still selling pretty well today.

Like it or not, the Axia is going to sell like hot cakes, unless another manufacturer comes out with an A segment with better safety features below 40 grand. Do remind me if I missed out any possible rivals to the Axia (the Picanto is a brilliant car but that’s out as it’s a lot more expensive, which I believe most Axia buyers will not consider it).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • nazimahjamal on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:20 pm

I can accept all shortages of Axia, but I just cannot tahan the Vibrationssss…. The car vibrates like hell when engaged in gear and moving slowly. Just imagine during bumper to bumper traffic jam… the car will vibrate like hell continuously.. THIS I CANNOT TAHAN…

• Say NO on Oct 28, 2014 at 5:24 pm

aiyoo…added so many more thousands of car on the road..please DONT make it SO affordable to OWN carlah..add more pollution, choke up the road more, hike up accident rate ( a lot of F1 wannabe in MYVI,SAGA,AXIA etc etc…ONLY know how to go fast ( ? err WHAT to show OFF in ? 100k cars ? 200k cars …laughing STOCK bunch of OWNERS/DRIVERS …) in SubQUALITY CARS but DONT know their car CANt stop, no balance etc etc .. )
    HOW lah…MRT Please…LESS BUT MORE QUALITy DRIVERs & CARS on the road pls! aiyoo oo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • albag on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:04 pm

meanwhile proton iriz sales? *cricket*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • nazimahjamal on Oct 28, 2014 at 8:23 pm

Iriz is a real car. Axia is a giant shopping cart with engine … :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
      • Josh Ling on Oct 29, 2014 at 12:08 am

real car or not, sale volume speaks louder still. at the end of the day, market share is still the king.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • 4G63T DSM on Oct 29, 2014 at 11:55 am

True that. Definately a shopping cart with an engine.

A shopping cart that countless home makers (like my mom – which uses a Viva 660BX) to go to the market in the morning.

Likewise, younger ones driving them to shopping complexes to do thier weekly shop.

Now if the best selling car in Malaysia is a “shopping cart with engine”, it does say a lot that we malaysians love to shop. So whats wrong with that? Its good for the economy.

:p

• Albert on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:28 pm

Another 34,000 cars to be delivered in this 2and a half months.I guess some may have to wait till after Chinese new Year or the march 2015 school holidays.
    Perodua,this time ,like Harison Ford says in movie “EXpandables 3″ ”you f…up”.
    Do you want to wait 5-6 months for a car?

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 28, 2014 at 10:46 pm

Some cars are worth waiting 5-6 months for. This is not one of them. However, some who buy this one have no choice in the matter.

• u r idiot on Oct 28, 2014 at 9:55 pm

why so focus on BOOKING but not the actual delivery?
    they can claimed 100k or 200k bookings but instead delivery only 5k…

• I believe it’s because of the capacity of the factory. I bet they can actually produce about 150-200 unit per day. Whatever it is, sure Perodua employees will enjoy their year end bonus $$$$ :D lol
      Still waiting to see Iriz on the road.

• zoomzoommm on Oct 28, 2014 at 10:16 pm

I just wanted to see later it will be as number 1 total-losts or the most fatal accident car in malaysia.

• roxas on Oct 28, 2014 at 11:42 pm

saw a few on the road, the white color is so damn cheap n yellowish

• Brutality on Oct 29, 2014 at 12:18 am

It’s a cheap car. What you expect anyway? A ferrari quality? I’m interested on axia for my 3rd car while having a Lux and altis. Do you think i expect a comfort lika a T from this budget car? U sir got Small brain and i approve that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • venyx on Oct 29, 2014 at 12:44 am

I paid for booking on 17/9 because salesman said Axia advance are ready stock..ready stock my ass..bank loan already approve but until today i did not hear any news about my stock..How long till i can get my car? you’re not lamborghini or ferrari to make me wait for a couple month to get ..You’re just a Perodua.. pfft

• Ayam Sodomx Ahwah on Oct 29, 2014 at 8:55 am

P1, P2 no meaning to continue business in Msia.
    National car supposingly, free tax.
    only sales tax/GST.

They are cronies business.
    suck ur money.

40-60K get such A,B segment car.
    It’s crazy price.
    We earn little, pay more, get less.

• rosli on Oct 29, 2014 at 10:04 am

you right bro… P1 and P2 and imports cars are over priced… better ask NGO, Persatuan Perguna and people to do something about this and ask wakil rakyat to mention it to Parlimen urgently.

• Leonardo on Oct 29, 2014 at 8:59 am

Can Axia owners share their honest experience with their new cars?

• rosli on Oct 29, 2014 at 10:06 am

do not believe that comment. I already test drive Axia recently and no vibration at all.

• Low Budget on Oct 29, 2014 at 10:27 am

I own one G variant and already clocking more than 1000 Km, so far no manufacturing faults showed up.
      The engine is relatively smooth as compared to the older Viva, gear changes are quite smooth actually despite some jokers in this forum claimed as ‘vibrate like hell’ despite bieing 3 cylinder car.
      Road noise become quite noticeable when start cruising at around 80 Km/H, steering fell a tad heavier than the Viva, the fuel consumption meter goes down only slowly, but I did not measure the actual fuel consumption, my only dislike are the Aircon control knobs which look super cheapo.

• aBc.dEf321 (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 5:23 pm

hi,im a newbie here~anyone tried going up genting yet driving an axia? >< an honest question.reli wanna know d result~

• rosli on Oct 30, 2014 at 10:05 am

Rasional thinking, for 1.0 engine, of course like intrakota buses.

• rosli on Oct 30, 2014 at 10:45 am

just call P2 showroom. I will get axia g(a)green color on month end of December 2014. huhuhuhu 4 months of waiting. Many customer book green color for G spec.

• KlangAxia on Oct 30, 2014 at 6:32 pm

Just got Axia delivered.
    Except for lack of the rear boot cover between the rear seat and hatch,it is a very well made modern car.
    The car is the basic manual.
    I know the engine which is the same engine used in the Toyota Yaris sold in the U.K.
    The Yaris uses a 1KR engine and the Axia the 1KK engine.They have both 4 cylinder (1.3 litre) or 3 cylinder (1.0 litre) there.The difference between the 1KR and 1KK engine is probably the lack of a catalyic converter in the 1KK.I can’t see it in my Axia.
    The price of a 1.0 litre 3 cylinder Yaris in UK is about 10,000 pounds (about RM53,000 ) on the road.There’s nothing wrong with 3 cylinder engines..the japanese are world leaders in small capacity engines given their topography and landscape(not forgetting their physical stature).
    Now European makers are catching up.VW has launched the Volkswagen City car called the VW Up using a 3 cylinder 1000 c.c. engine starting slightly (about 500 pounds) more expensive than the Toyota Yaris, their main competitor.The Yaris 1KR engine is also used in the Toyota Aygo,Peugeot 108 and Citroen C1 ..all well established city cars sold in Europe for around 8000 pounds new.
    How do I know this?
    Well, a friend of mine was thinking of buying one of these, saw the launch of the Axia, found that they have almost similar engines(Toyota owns anout 20% of Daihatsu which owns about 40% of Perodua)
    ‘booked it in august and got this beautiful machine delivered for the equivalent of about 5000 pounds.
    BTW I’ve owned BMW, Jaguar,Mercs and Volvo previously so Know a little bit about cars.
    Moral of the story for car makers..don’t waste money re-inventing the wheel( campro??)..use a relable world class engine (1KR..and you will get the other parts of the car right.
    The Axia is almost the size of the Myvi short of about 50 mm and nobody can tell the differnce when it whooses by.mine has been mistaken for Myvi countles times.
    Still under 1000 Km so far .Manual gears are easy to use..the change from second (down) to third ( up and right) needs to be done carefully or it might go to first) this needs some getting used to.
    Use 3rd and 4th for town driving.For motorway I use 4th and 5th.
    Family also got a Vios some years ago..costs about 80000.This Axia is almost the same..I mean the same new car feel but amost 3x cheaper..could have got 3 cars for the price of one and solve my family’s transport problem./At the end of the day it is only a car..to get you from A to B safely in airconditioen comfort.

• KlangAxia on Nov 03, 2014 at 4:55 am

This is my report of my experience after first week of driving Axia .
    Being the basic manual model (24,900), the car has just got steel rims.There was not even a wheel cover.So I took it to a tyre shop and asked the man there if he has seen the Axia with steel rims without wheel cover.He said that they usually come with the covers but on close examination of the car ,I was told it uses the same size wheel as the Myvi so sfter much haggling,I changed the new steel rims for a set of used alloy wheels for RM300.There was no demand for the steel rims so I took them home to use as spares just in case.With a bit of polishing, the alloys looks quite smart.
    There is also no clock and obviously no Radio in such a basic car.There is an airiel sticking out from the roof so it would be easy to get one fitted.The black plastic intternal front two door lining has grilles built in so it would be easy to fit a radio and speakers.This would be the next job.Maybe an AM/FM/MP3 unit with GPS and maybe rear camera built in.

The odometer need to be resett before it shows the mileage travelled .It has done less than 1000 km so its a long way before the next service.The dealer very promptly phone us to ask if car ok so far.
    So far we are very pleased with our purchase with no faults to report.

• CWKen on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:13 am

Booked a Yellow SE manual spec during one of the Sundays when it was launched, following Sunday get liow. No sweat.

That’s why one should get manual, save the hassle of waiting. Still insist on auto? Then slowly wait lo for th e next “thousand years’ XD

• KlangAxia on Dec 03, 2014 at 6:14 am

Axia left for three weeks untouched and started on first turn of ignition key as well it should.
    The manual being about RM10K cheaper represents real value and if one can avoid driving into town in peak rush hours an automatic is not really necessary.
    Modern manual clutches are easy to maintain.Just remember to make a budget for its replacement after 3-5 years ..don’t kmow how much.. but probably RM300 to 500 .Automatic torque converter transmission should last the life time of the car but if you forget to replendish the transmisson oil,its going to cost you a few thousand for a replacement.
    Friend of mine got an Automatic Axia and so far so good.She booked on the Sunday of the launch and got delivery last week.
    Would be interesting to see sales figures of Axia by end December .No official figures yet but from anecdotal evidence it should easily surpass all comers .

• rosli on Dec 18, 2014 at 10:57 am

finally i got my axia g(a) spec on 22/12/14. booking on 23/9/14. almost 3 months, short 1 day. Can not wait until monday… hahahahahaha