Perodua Axia bookings reach 82,000 units in less than six months, as P2 struggles to meet demand

Perodua_Axia_Standard_vs_Advance_ 002

Yes, it’s a problem, but a good one to have. Perodua has collected 82,000 bookings for the Axia up to February 6 (last Friday), as demand for Malaysia’s most affordable car hits the roof. Order books for the Axia opened on August 15, 2014, which means that the whopping number was achieved in less than six months.

Of the 82k bookings, 38,000 units have been registered, which amounts to 46% of the total. That’s a lot more orders to fulfil and Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh admitted that his company did not anticipate such a strong response on the product planning front, and that they are struggling to meet demand. He told this to reporters at a Chinese New Year lunch gathering yesterday.

“We see this [strong response] as an endorsement of the product by the Malaysian public,” he said, adding that Perodua is working hard to meet demand and the situation should normalised by March or April this year.

Powered by the Axia and facelifted Myvi that was launched last month, Perodua is looking forward to a record breaking year. The market leader has set a sales target of 208,000 units for 2015, which is around 6% more than last year’s 195,600 units. P2’s previous sales record was 196,100, achieved in 2013.

Perodua Axia Standard G

Perodua Axia Advance

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Captain Obvious on Feb 10, 2015 at 9:47 am

Strong response does not mean as an endorsement of the product by the Malaysian public. It is simply because most Malaysians are forced to do so due to our restriction of economical and financial worth.

Blinded by possession, disabled from needs. The more we own, the more we owe – modern day slavery.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 181 Thumb down 5
    • Confusecious on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:59 am

Yes poor response means Proton better sell more sportscar Lotus. Low volume, high quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 45
      • Sammy Vellu on Feb 10, 2015 at 1:14 pm

For those of you who don’t like waiting, talk to your SA, pay your SA extra RM500, and you can get your car in 5 days time ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • sawwi on Feb 10, 2015 at 1:40 pm

You think it’s the golden era of Proton Wira kah? Car body sticker also standard accessories RM250. What a joke.

• 1MDB - 1 Malas, Dolop dan Bodoh on Feb 10, 2015 at 1:58 pm

Whatever Perodua comes out, it will do well. Because it is a well run company. Proton is another story. Too many lazy workers. Lazy like hell. That is why Proton doing badly. 1MDB – 1 Malas, Dolop dan Bodoh

Problem with Proton is like our Civil Service. Employ 100 people to do 1 person’s work. That is how lazy Proton workers are.

Malaysia has the largest civil service in the world. 1.5 million people employed. Australia, a bigger country than Malaysia, employs 250,000 people.

Same principle applies to Proton. Employ lazy lazy lazy people. 100 people to 1 person’s work

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 13
          • Cempaka Suci on Jun 06, 2015 at 11:01 am

Statement banggang…

• Dr M Gaji RM million Per month on Feb 10, 2015 at 1:34 pm

How can Proton make money? Dr M gaji alone runs into RM millions per month. Per annum its berpuluh millions.

That is the trouble with Proton. Pandai pandai get Dr m as chairman to pull strings but in the end pay out more in compensation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • ProtonGSC on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:05 am

Correct Mr.

We should buy only needed, Bolehland current taxes are unacceptable.

We should not be trick by the cronies.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 3
    • Annoymous on Feb 10, 2015 at 1:36 pm

True, set a foreign car such as Vios, City, Polo that price around 10k above this P2, sure can sell better than this empty-filled car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • stupid msian cars on Feb 10, 2015 at 4:40 pm

Well said!

This is precisely what I have been saying all this while.

What is the point of buying fancy cars when you have to pay through your nose for the repayments.

This axia is already an overpriced piece of metal and because of the msia system….. you pay so much for something so little which is not worthwhile….but no choice for most msians.

Cheers.

• OMG….I think P2 r the champion again in 2015 with breaking records 200k units cars sold in here. P1 ahhh…hope still can maintain 2nd place, but don’t be surprise if Honda beat them in sales this year…LOL

• applegreen on Feb 10, 2015 at 9:48 am

Congrats to P2 and condolence to P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 14
  • policeman on Feb 10, 2015 at 9:50 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 154
    • Pak Polisi on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:57 am

Yes we are poor fags and we are lazy to work hard. Atleast we don’t take duit kopi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 3
      • Black Dog on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:38 am

This policeman either too lonely without family or too rich with koip money to buy his kids Felali.

The average person will start with the cheapest car for himself or for his sons/daughters.

What is your first car? Felali?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
    • vios pn safetynya sama jgk dgn axia yg A segment ni.. tp harga blh bli 2 axia se/advance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • dugongx on Feb 10, 2015 at 12:46 pm

This policeman very rajin to take kopi money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • farhanatan on Feb 10, 2015 at 1:42 pm

Izit wrong to get an axia for pasar trip? Its hard to park a Vellfire, higher fc and pasar is not dat far. My neighbor rides an ex5 to work tho he owns a Clio RS.

Sir, please wear condom and avoid from producing brainless children.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
    • Foolish.

I booked the Axia because it fitted my requirements for a second car, AND also because it is a PERODUA. I owned the first generation Kancil BEL7422 and was absolutely happy with it.

I now have a European luxo-barge, and the Axia fits my purpose and it is quality priced right. I don’t think I am poor, I know I am not lazy, and for sure I don’t think a man’s worth should be based on the car he drives.

Get with the program.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • ptuih on Feb 10, 2015 at 8:00 pm

Wait, the Axia actually yours (maidd/gardener) and the pricey car is actually your boss’s

Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • stupid msian cars on Feb 10, 2015 at 5:06 pm

I will prove you wrong….

My friend who is a professional lady who runs her own law firm who makes more than all the ‘policeman’ is also complaining about car prices in this country.

She owns a new BMW 5 Series BUT this is a property of her company and NOT hers.
      She owns a used Honda CRV year 2010… and still complains about the price.

I feel for her as I totally understand that something so affordable can be so darn costly here in Msia.

Again I will repeat…. i paid cash NZD80K for 2 ‘real’ cars in NZ but here in Msia you get craps plus headache and a heart attack.

So, the above already proved you wrong big time. Maybe you need to get more educated and more knowledge before making such a statement.

AS the saying goes…’never talk and fart at the same time’.

Again and again this proves you are a total idiot.

Cheers.

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Feb 10, 2015 at 5:34 pm

Poor people buy perouda / toyota wannbe. Rich people drive vios TRD the original toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • stupid msian cars on Feb 10, 2015 at 9:07 pm

Correction.

Rich people buy with cash.

Poor people buy with 90%-100% bank loan with a max of 9 years repayment.

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:08 pm

Only retired people buy with cash from EPF. They are poor people without income too. Rich people earn 3k+ like me.

• Sam Boo on Feb 10, 2015 at 9:15 pm

U talked so much yet I only agreed to your very final sentense: A perodua is not safe and you put your family in danger all the time

• Super on Feb 10, 2015 at 9:42 pm

Sound like driving Saga n Persona no danger at all?..

pity you..

• Hemi 426 on Feb 12, 2015 at 10:27 am

Dear Mr.Policeman,

Do not make idiotic statements like this.Who might you be to call fellow Malaysians poor who decide to own a Perodua?

If the vehicle suits their requirements and budget then why not?So are you saying that for 10 years the Myvi was the best selling car in Malaysia was all bought by poor people?How dare you call these fellow Malaysians poor?

May i ask how rich you are?It’s because of people like you that our beloved nation will not prosper further.I am a proud Malaysian living in the U.S for more than 30 years,i started from very humble beginnings here and went to the U.S to cari rezeki.I have done very well for myself over there.Are you rich enough to feed a homeless human being?Would you give 10 rich ringgit of yours off the bat just to buy them food?Right now,i can tell you,like hell you will.

My younger brother’s first car was a 1994 Kancil Ex660 Manual,he refused my help because he wanted to stand on his two feet when he first started out.He lost his job,he never told us,ended up sleeping in the Kancil for a substantial time..then he tried a business and failed yet again and ended up sleeping in his beloved Kancil again.No matter how hard it was for him,he was absolutely smitten with his Kancil.

Now guess what?He is a very wealthy businessman,owns at least 30 odd supercars,has homes here and abroad and etc.At his home here,his beloved Kancil which he has fully restored to better than new standards is parked in the center proudly between his Ferrari 458 Italia and his Lamborghini Aventador.Why?Because it’s reminds him of his humble beginnings.If he had read your stupid statement he would have found you and beaten the shit out of you.

In the near future,please stop being a backwater retard.You have a good day.

• Akhmuadz on Feb 10, 2015 at 9:52 am

A year queue…

• Proton Iriz VS Perodua Axia on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:23 am

Proton apa jadi? Still sucking the rakyat money? Still loss making? 30 years protect also, still make loss ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 25
    • Same L0rrr on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:40 am

Meanwhile you will see RM 8k discount for 2014 iriz when raya is coming. Who knows you can get 2013 persona with RM 16k discount.

For Perodua, people wait for new car.

For Proton, people wait for huge discount on UV tested (under the sun) old stock cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 13
      • Black Dog on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:40 am

Don’t worry. Old stocks go to Indon as their national cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • savy velu (SV) on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:40 am

Axia – the game changer

Iriz – game over

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 17
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:40 am

Proton Iriz should be more then this record.

We salesman none stop taking order.

Come order from us we give RM 8k discount on premium spec. And free goodies.

Smart people drive Iriz, poor no money drive Axia and old tech Myvi.

Iriz Global say by Tun DrM himself… People don’t buy are stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 68
      • Same L0rrr on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:18 am

Your iriz now only give RM 8k discount? better wait for RM 15k discount on raya.

Poor iriz can’t even cross sell to Thailand and Singapore and you still believe what Tun M has said? He might not even own a proton at home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 14
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:49 am

Tun DrM do own a Proton but he seldom use.

Toyota talk big but getting expensive well other dealer lower the price.

UMW cronies of Bolehland !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Paulnut on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:41 pm

Your son own black proton saga anyway.

• Fools and idiots will only fall for tat…
        no need to talk big when the facts r right in front of ur tiny eyes

• Should be? on Feb 10, 2015 at 5:23 pm

“Proton Iriz should be more then this record”

i wonder how long is iriz in market now… still no official order taking figure from proton? what happen? and this is absolute funny… if iriz is so hot selling… why do proton need to offer such 8K dscount to attract buyer? ….. nahhh i suggest better wait till hari raya promotion… should be double from this 8K discount…. ONLY STUPID will fall for this p1 salesmen trick….

• stupid msian cars on Feb 10, 2015 at 8:50 pm

Only idiots will buy proton.

A car company without their own backbone is not sustainable and not because of the rakyat continuous support (rakyat taxpayer monies) they would have been kaput a long time. But then you know la why they still exist. Because Msians are a gullible lot…they will just continue to suck em dry.

• Mozilla Chrome on Feb 10, 2015 at 9:52 am

Imagine if all cars in Malaysia priced accordingly as it should (Civic and Mazda 3 for 60k++ for instance), . It must be more interesting to see how local automotive industry ‘booming’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • That was good imagination. Now stop dreaming and get back to work before I sack you.

• Abu Sayur on Feb 10, 2015 at 9:54 am

Poor proton…But then again self inflicted. So fk em lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • babygrand on Feb 10, 2015 at 9:58 am

Proton fans need your significant comments on the sales figures, business line figures won’t lie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Lane Tamer on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:03 am

Please, please stay away from these. You and your families lives are not cheap, but these things are…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • Low Budget on Feb 10, 2015 at 4:32 pm

Hundred of thousands of Kancil, Kelisa, Kenari, Viva have been sold in the past 20 years, do we have hundred of thousands of death victims from these P2 cars? Tiew………..

• Super on Feb 10, 2015 at 9:46 pm

I think u need to get statistic as well for Saga Orient, Iswara, LMST, Wira, Wira Aeroback & Wira SE..

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:11 am

Proton Iriz still the better and most best selling car on the earth and malaysia.

We salesman can stop taking order !!!

Come order I give rm8k discount on premium spec !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • Same L0rrr on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:21 am

If sales good, still give discount? Joke of the day!!

Look at the HRV or our vios, any discount given for these hot models?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
      • Paulnut on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:43 pm

Your son also got no discount for his black proton saga.

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 12, 2015 at 12:39 pm

Junk are prohibited at my home, they always attract pest (e.g. rats and paulnut).

• Proton Learn from Perodua! on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:12 am

Proton, look and learn. See how Perodua is doing so well whilst your Iriz is struggling. Look and learn. We Malaysians have suffered enough of Proton. Better to close it down.

How can Perodua be making so much of sales and money and Proton, which is older and gets so much protection and money from the GOvernment can be loss making?

Better to just close Proton down. It is solely because of Proton that for 30 years, 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars because of the Protectionism given to Proton.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot and have not gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 10 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Pro Proton pondans will say that even Proton pay duties and taxes but every Malaysian know that MITI has clearly instructed all other car brands to price their cars no less than RM20,000 higher gap than Proton to protect the dying Proton.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of Proton. And it will suck all our money dry. Every now and then, Proton will ask our money to support the company.

In 1985, Proton was conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat. That was the speech Mahathir gave on that launch day. If so, why do Proton cars get higher interest rates?

It looks like Proton is not to benefit the rakyat. Infact, besides making the rakyat suffer, Proton bleeds the rakyat. Every year, Proton gets hundreds of million of taxpayers money as form of research grants to keep the company afloat. Last year, Proton even asked the government to give them 2 billion ringgit. Government said no in a sandiwara show. But we know, they will get the money quietly. Now, they are openly asking even more for the Research and Development. How long must we Malaysians suffer? Isn’t 30 years of free money into Proton coffers enough?

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. That is just one company. Imagine all the different car brands from Cadillac, Ford, Buick, VW etc

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. In the 80s and 90s, we were heading to be the Detroit of Asia. Everybody wanted to CKD in Malaysia. We lost all that. Trillions.

Close down Proton. Open Malaysia back again to all the car manufacturers. They prefer Malaysians as opposed to Thais because Malaysians can speak well and are more intelligent. We will see billions, of not trillions flow into our economy vs to now, where Proton is just sucking our money.

If Proton cannot learn from Perodua how to make money, then something is wrong with Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 13
    • Confusecious on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:03 am

Proton better sell their factory to Perodua. Enuff said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • Oldman on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:24 am

DrM said you want quality, show me the money. So he said Iriz is super quality but expensive … he has no market sense and doing business in Proton as if people are begging him, not realizing that Proton is struggling. Until he realize he needs to have a model that is cheap, reliable and have quality to erase all the notorious Proton badge, they will continue going down hill. Not to say Perodua is superb, they are just copying Daihatsu, Subaru and Toyota small cars. Venture to bigger cars and people dump them, see how they screwed up Nautica and drag Rush along. Perodua is the cheapest solution that is more reliable than Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • LandoCar on Feb 10, 2015 at 12:25 pm

An alternative solution for Proton.

Improve your after sales service and bring down the price of your spares.

• Low Budget on Feb 10, 2015 at 4:35 pm

He can’t even turn his ‘Kedai Roti’ into a profitable venture.

• wow!

• Proton Iriz VS Perodua Axia on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:22 am

Many ask why Axia is doing so well and Iriz is doing so badly and hardly see Iriz on the road.

Very simple.

Perodua has a lot of Japanese influence. Their culture is to work hard. Perodua on the other hand have Malaysian culture of lepak, tidur and mintak kerajaan tolong.

See the following scenarios.

Perodua staff: “Let’s work hard. Let us focus on our work and try to make Perodua the best in the country. We must strive and give our best. We work hard but no need to claim overtime because Perodua is our company and we love to see our Malaysian company succeed!”

Proton staff: ” Rilak lah bang. Buat apa nak keje kuat kuat. Jom mari pergi kantin minum teh dan makan kuih lapis. Letih lah, nak tidor ni. Bosan la ku kerja kuat kuat ni, mintak kerajaan tolong lah. Mengantuk ni. Eh, tengok awek cun tu, bezz lah kongkek awek kilang Proton ni”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 18
    • Perodua running out of factory capacity, too much sales.

vs.

Proton running empty factory, AhBeng talking alone in showroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • theCarlover on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:13 am

waaa..manyak untung~

• Can’t imagine 82k car like this on the road.more car means more jammed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • Same L0rrr on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:33 am

You should feel lucky it is 82k units of Axia but not the Alza. We all are lucky it is not 82k units of proton which may break down anywhere anytime blocking the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 19
  • dodgeviper88 on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:18 am

If Axia got 82k bookings then Iriz with fantastic safety and features with such good value in price will have 182k bookings…….oh wait a minute……….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • WaJib on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:40 am

Iriz sales is not expected.. Maybe they offer Jualan Bonanza, Jualan Gempak, Jualan Heboh to boost their sales. If not susah P1 Salesman nanti.

• Proton Iriz VS Perodua Axia on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:21 am

Many ask why Axia is doing so well and Iriz is doing so badly and hardly see Iriz on the road.

Very simple.

Perodua has a lot of Japanese influence. Their culture is to work hard. Perodua on the other hand have Malaysian culture of lepak, tidur and mintak kerajaan tolong.

See the following scenarios.

Perodua staff: “Let’s work hard. Let us focus on our work and try to make Perodua the best in the country. We must strive and give our best. We work hard but no need to claim overtime because Perodua is our company and we love to see our Malaysian company succeed!”

Proton staff: ” Rilak lah bang. Buat apa nak keje kuat kuat. Jom mari pergi kantin minum teh dan makan kuih lapis. Letih lah, nak tidor ni. Bosan la ku kerja kuat kuat ni, mintak kerajaan tolong lah. Mengantuk ni. Eh, tengok awek cun tu, bezz lah kongkek awek kilang Proton ni”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
    • Should be? on Feb 10, 2015 at 5:29 pm

hahahha… from ur word… it can show how is ur mentality and attitude…. hurmmm pity you

• Bukapintubayartol on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:23 am

What a really good problem to have…

• and proton struggles to sell cars and drb super managers still think they are Gods in car making!!! and never want to admit it…

• Steve Jobs on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:30 am

doesn’t matter now our road congested as ****. + cheap fuel.

• azrai on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:32 am

So stop Myvi production then, concentrate on Axia. To date still haven’t see any new myvi OTR.

• Myvi (facelift) just launched and I already saw 2 – 3 on the road last weeks (in PJ). In no time, the Myvi sales maybe as good as the Axia… so how to stop Myvi production??

• Super on Feb 11, 2015 at 1:24 am

How to stop Myvi production. There are producing at different plant with different manpower..

• automotive member on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:33 am

quantity always left the quality

• This car is by no means, pretty; and is far from being sufficiently equipped with safety features. Why is it selling in such numbers?

• ah chai on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:40 am

its kill me inside when see family of 3 ride kapcai… hope someday we can buy new car for 1×000..

• sudonano (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:43 am

Having sat in the Axia Advance, I don’t see how it feels nice one bit.

Okay it is spacious. But that’s about it. It feels like a tin can for a car, and compared to the base Iris (which I also sat in), the Iris feels so so so much better.

But of course we still have people who think Perodua = Daihatsu = Toyota = Lexus. Right…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
    • Deus Ex on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:29 am

Aye, there’re quite a number of Lexus Vios TRD here in Kuching. Must be grey imports…

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Feb 10, 2015 at 4:45 pm

Halo brader. You don’t know you don’t talk so much la. Vios IS the same as Lexus IS250. Only Lexus got slightly better quality interior.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:16 am

It makes sense at 25k Tin Kosong spec. It doesn’t when its loaded up to the gills with useless parts selling for 40+

Its a HUGE jump in value from the previous Tin Kosong Viva 660BX at the same price. Having had both the Tin kosong Kancil and 660BX, there is no argument that the Axia E is damn good value for money if you just need a small fuel efficient city roundabout as 2nd or 3rd car.

• paiseh on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:44 am

Anyone saw Bulletin Utama yesterday, the Perodua CEO speech was hijacked by Iriz videos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • MycarMylife on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:44 am

Please can anyone tell me when a car is “cheap” and a “value buy” P2 cars’ quality is always suspect from day 1 !!!! Apart from the tin kosong which I can tolerate, imagine a VIVA’s wheel hub bearing , front disc pads , engine mountings etc all prematurely worn out when the car mileage is only 38000 km ( going to market and college) Never seen before in other Jap makes. Sheesh. Never buy P2 again .Cheap means No quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
  • Great job!!

Ppl buy perodua over the garbage potong shit.

Potong pls close shop!!!

The thought of you makes me sick!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 26
  • thepolygonal on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:13 am

Congratz… pricing strategy. Nothing else is more cheaper and more popular than this car now.

Proton, although Iriz is good and nicely filled with features it is not selling that well because it’s beyond reach for many.

… end of the day… affordability.

• Price is one thing but the brand name top them all. Your bigger sedan Saga and Persona also lose out to Perodua despite about the same price range as Myvi / Viva.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • rakyat on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:16 am

i think the main point is PRICE.
    Cheaper price hence more affordable. a lowest entry point to replace motorcycle.
    Second will go to Branding. Perodua vs Proton
    Japan vs Malaysia
    Third Quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • citizen on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:26 am

Fourth: Asalkan bukan Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
    • Aero (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Japan quality ? What a load of sh*t.

90+% of Perodua’s components are sourced locally or from Indonesia. Even if they were ‘designed in Japan’, they are made here in Malaysia, or ASEAN. It’s not ‘Japan quality’ unless it’s made in Japan.

The Toyota Vios is made in Malaysia. The Honda City is made in Malaysia. The Toyota Camry and Honda Accord are too. The Honda Jazz and Nissan Almera are also made here. Then there’s the Koreans; Kia Cerato, Hyundai Elantra, Kia Rio, Hyundai i10 and more.

It’s not limited to cheap cars, even the Mercedes-Benz S-Class is assembled in Malaysia. The BMW 3er and 5er are too. Some Peugeouts, VWs and Volvos are assembled here too.

It is not ( insert country here ) if it’s not made in ( insert country here ). The badge doesn’t make it ( insert country here ), that’s only one part of the story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • Japanese design + Japanese influence Malaysian quality
        vs
        3 suku Malaysian design + Malaysian “tidak apa” quality

You choose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • I think Proton should come and help to produce Axia

• Yes Proton factory have extra idle capacity, better produce Axia on contract basis.

• Steve Jobs on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:34 am

according to my fellow mate Tim Cook,Perodua can outsource their manufacturing to Proton…hikhikhik

• frossonice on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:35 am

I wonder what is the current demand for MyVi, THE REAL competitor for Iriz.

• Deus Ex on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:54 am

Dear prospective Axia buyers, a low-power engine means the car will struggle to exit T-junctions due to piss-poor acceleration, invariably leading to a line of agitated drivers behind you as you hold up traffic.

While I understand you may be limited by finances when considering your purchase, please spare a thought for us working Joes & Janes trying to get to work on time by keeping your car in gear & ready to go at T-junctions. This will reduce the time you’ll need to exit said junction and lead to a better driving experience for everyone. Remember, the power is yours!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
    • Proton, how low can you go? Since when Axia is underpower? Exora underpower adalah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
    • sawwi on Feb 10, 2015 at 1:38 pm

Go lick your Proton campro leaky turbo bocor engine lah. CVT also jerking, worse than China crap cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • nabill (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 12:04 pm

whats wrong with this population ??? this is the ultimate facepalm…

• Aero (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 12:05 pm

I’m not mad about Perodua’s record Axia sales, as a matter of fact, I’m quite happy for them. The Axia is a good, value-for-money package. I just wish Perodua could offer an optional ‘safety pack’ with ESC and 6 airbags (like the Corolla Altis). This way, educated Malaysians wouldn’t mind spending an extra thousand ringgit or two for the added reassurance of safety in such a small car.

What I AM MAD ABOUT is how sooo many Malaysians keep comparing the Axia and Iriz. Really ? Just because they look similar in shape and size, just because they were both launched around the same time, and just because one is a Proton and the other is a Perodua… it’s ‘okay’ to compare them at FACE VALUE ?

It’s okay to consider the fact that both cars are similar and all, but you just cant say one is better than the other. No, just no.

The Axia can be compared to the Kia Picanto, Hyundai i10, Suzuki Alto etc.

The Iriz can be compared with the Ford Fiesta, VW Polo, Honda Jazz, Kia Rio and even the 2015 Perodua Myvi facelift.

Both the Iriz and Axia may look similar, but they are very different cars which cater to very different markets. Why can’t Malaysians understand that ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 7
    • What a sore loser. Iriz compared to Jazz, Polo? …. Don’t syok sendiri la. Should compare with Savvy, Tiara.
      Your Iriz will soon join the hall of shame as Tiara, Juara & Savvy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 78
      • Aero (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 3:36 pm

Man, you never fail to amuse me. Haters gonna hate.

I’m not saying the Iriz is better than the Polo or Jazz, all I’m saying is that they’re in the same class (B-segment, 5-door).

When the Prevé launched, it was quite rare at first, but now they’re everywhere. Time will tell whether the Iriz will pull it off, or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • Yeah … and I still see savvy…. once in a blue moon…. Preve? how many 2013 unit still in yard?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
        • delusional on Feb 10, 2015 at 5:18 pm

Preve are everywhere? Hahaha yeah rite after so many big discounts lelong old stock 2013 and patrol cars. Proven a failure. Big joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • nabill (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 12:57 pm

bro , u are fighting a losing battle !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Aero (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 3:26 pm

I’ve been fighting a losing battle since early 2010, the very first time I stood up for Proton in front of my classmates.

Yes, I got laughed at and boo-ed. Yes, I lost a lot of friends in my ‘battle’. But I gained new ones, and I know that many Malaysians silently agree with what I say here (about Proton) on the paultan.org’s comments section. I’d like to say that I represent their voices, but I don’t have a right to make such bold claims. It’s up to the others to ‘continue the good fight’.

“All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.” – Edmund Burke

(the evil here is bigotry, ignorance and carcism (that is car-racism btw))

• sawwi on Feb 10, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Proton will name new car after your nick, remember? Proton Aero. By macai for macai. Loser.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 31
      • Aero (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 3:27 pm

I have asked someone from Proton (face to face) whether the ‘Proton Aero’ had anything to with me.

They said no.

• dugongx on Feb 10, 2015 at 3:38 pm

I don’t like perutdua. They are very greedy.But somehow they managed to hit the sweet spot for majority of malaysian buyers that income are barely enough to survive month to month. (70% of households earn less than 3k per month). How to talk about safety? So they win by pricing itself.

My money is on base spec E manual or G auto. Getting SE auto is no point since its so near Iriz price range already. Buying Advance version only shows your stupidity.

Proton needs a marketing strategy to pull the crowd in. Iriz SV is needed.

• Sang Fakir~ on Feb 10, 2015 at 12:34 pm

axia .. myvi killer?

• Diesel Power!!! on Feb 10, 2015 at 1:01 pm

To say that axia is poor’s man car is absolutely rubbish!!!

My sis income roughly rm7k per mth but still prefer to buy axia because she just wants a reliable and cheap transport yet can settle quickly, dun wanna burden with high debts..

So it is matter of choice, if u earn 3k, and wanna show ppl u rich and get a vios/city but hardly has any money to spare or u get a cheap car, and plenty of savings…

Some how in our country, ppl just too like to show off without real substance!!!

• CLS driver on Feb 10, 2015 at 1:09 pm

I remember last year on the way to Malacca, I saw a custom Proton Preve Blue car driving very fast to Malacca. I remember I tried to race with it but my car could not catch it. the car had very nice Blue colour and had sports body kit on it and was very fast I recon it was doing well over 220KM as my car was around 219KM when I tried to catch up with it. I never saw the car again but trust me if I see it again I will ask how did they do it? it was not a stock car and was for sure a custom model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Preve? Seriously? Is this junk still relevant?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
    • WaJib on Feb 10, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Mentaliti Syiok Sendiri Agak Tinggi… It just a Preve la.. Not Lambo or Porsche. If he dun want life, dun affect others life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • Hahaha … kelakar la your comment. They tak habis-habis trying to create hype about their junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
        • Try p1 cars. No fight on Karak, only sport cars like porsche, ferrari etc can do. Hint : Turbo

Not even new C class!

• Same L0rrr on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:18 pm

Only 220km/h to Melaka?

I once heard from proton fanboy that even F16 couldn’t catch up their suprima s. The suprima s managed to beat F22 around Mars (the place they test proton hybrid) due to awesome handling.

Don’t underestimate them! I meant their “Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok” skill.

• ayam kampung on Feb 10, 2015 at 1:29 pm

more demand, staff work more harder..quality of car will be effected.. i hope they dont produce car with lots of faulty, i still havent receive mine yet. I found many perodua car on the road with faulty third red light.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • sawwi on Feb 10, 2015 at 1:49 pm

If cannot wait, go buy old stock Proton Iriz RM6K rebates lah. Gearbox jerking tak apa, boleh tambah memory 8GB RAM kasi laju pancut.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
      • ayam kampung on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:09 pm

Dont be stupid, if i want to buy an axia why should it be related to iriz? Better get a honda jazz or picanto.

• Dude, what kind of theory is that? More demand, quality will be affected? How do you explain Proton? Low demand and lousy quality too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • Sammy on Feb 10, 2015 at 2:21 pm

P2 struggles to meet demand.

P1 is also struggling…..

• Ah yes, Malaysians can only affort sh1tboxes…

• Jason Lim on Feb 10, 2015 at 3:32 pm

i feel iriz is not bad but still cannot fight axia
    sad case
    end up later iriz become like savvy

• same kot on Feb 10, 2015 at 5:30 pm

even the ahlong use this car to put their ad on the tiang2 lampu..sohaiii

• neonceejay on Feb 10, 2015 at 6:53 pm

I’m 19 years and decide to buy a 2nd hand car…
    but that dude who say perodua is a more practical choice is challenging my insanity~!
    I just successfully persuaded my parents allow me to buy a satria 2 years later… perhaps even a GTi if budget ada lah….

But then!!! perodua kelisa, Or even viva, aXia is a more sensible choice!!

Fxxx up, mindset kena challenge. Why is it so hard to enjoy motoring?

• Hew Zi Jin on Feb 10, 2015 at 9:30 pm

Haiz,same topic since last December!What topics,Iriz tak laku.Let me tell you something.Until now,Proton have received 70k bookings of Iriz.I am not lying.I am a Engineer of Proton on RnD Department and e.t.c.I admit,till now,Proton got big problem.Late delivery.And we will release 40k of Iriz that already ready to delivered starting tomorrow.So to people who is waiting for their awesome Iriz,you are going to get it tak lama lagi.And another thing that Malaysian wait till now,the Proton R3 car line.The Suprima S R3,Preve R3,and Iriz R3 is going to launch this year.Lastly I want to said to Proton Haters,stop hating and saying bad things that never exist from Proton.You guys are spoiling the others.Peace

#ProtonNowThenForever

#This year

#ProtonHatersLiar

• stupid msian cars on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:13 pm

After reading what you have written …. i am more skeptical and worry.
      Firstly, you are AN engineer and not A engineer. This shows how pathetic Proton is …. from the quality of its staff.

Next was….Proton got big problem. Late delivery. This sentence or statement tells the truth that Proton does have big problems…… buy at your own risks my friend.

Next….you guys are spoilling the others. This is absolutely POWDERFUL ENGLAND.

Would you trust an engineer with such POWDERFUL ENGRISH? I am afraid the cars will be equally the same as the engineer.

Cheers!

• Super on Feb 11, 2015 at 1:34 am

Ini Engineer graduate dgn low CGPA. Mcmana proton blh amik jadi staff ni?..

‘I am a Engineer of Proton on RnD Department and e.t.c’.. etc ni dept apa?

• stupid msian cars on Feb 11, 2015 at 11:13 pm

Etc tu meaning apa pun kena buat.

Jack of all trade but master of none.

• perodua axia on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:01 pm

Are you the one they are talking about?

Proton staff: ” Rilak lah bang. Buat apa nak keje kuat kuat. Jom pergi kantin minum teh tarik dan makan kuih lapis. Letih lah, nak tidor ni. Bosan la ku kerja kuat kuat ni, mintak kerajaan tolong lah. Mengantuk ni. Eh, tengok awek cun tu, best gile lah kalau boleh kongkek awek kilang Proton ni”

• Aha… so you are one of the 3 suku engineer.

• Hew Zi Jin on Feb 12, 2015 at 9:47 am

Haiz,Haters in action!!Mr.stupid msian car,does your English to good until you can judge people?What is Engrish!!What is powderful England?Are you using Bangladesh English?

• stupid msian cars on Feb 13, 2015 at 9:50 pm

Wow….you amaze me.

You may not be able to speak or write or read proper English but you sure can read very very well those ‘you so called Bangla E nglish’ ….

Hats off to you….true champion.

• Jeffrey Chen on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:38 am

Well, these figures for Axia has been predicted earlier….

I’m more interested in knowing the proton official released figures on booking for Iriz. I feel it’s a good car safety wise. Looks will very much depend on individuals. However, I feel it failed to emphasize on things that matters like fuel consumption, durability of CVT compared to normal gearbox, repair / spare parts cost and most important of all – interior spaciousness.

I will buy a Iriz if I’m petite.

• Rasta on Feb 12, 2015 at 11:08 am

I would take Axia if they can change their boot’s design of this car as it really look weird..

• Iriz Fan on Feb 12, 2015 at 11:37 am

Axia don have push start button, keyless entry & Traction Control System.. haha!

• Mr 2nd car on Mar 27, 2015 at 6:13 pm

Been booking G spec axia since 1st january,till now still no news yet,dont know how longs more to wait?

• wakmat on May 23, 2015 at 1:08 am

Those contemplating to secure stock fast or for balik kmpg raya for eg…strongly recommended not to source stock from perodua outlets. U’ll finally end up with super hypertention.

Best solution is to source from P1 where they have ever ready a lot of excess stock on hand coupled with big big discounts.

Its just a matter of how u put the priority on. Quality vs quantity vs urgency.