Proton Iriz launched – 1.3 and 1.6 VVT, from RM42k

Proton Iriz Live 2

It’s finally out! We’re reporting to you live from Proton’s Tanjung Malim plant, where company chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah unveiled the new Proton Iriz moments ago. You’d know that if you’re watching our live stream coverage of the launch event, so if you haven’t tuned in, do so now. Exclusive content such as interviews with people who matter, and a detailed walk-around of the Iriz, are coming up soon.

UPDATE: Our full comprehensive review of the Proton Iriz (1.3 and 1.6 engines, manual and CVT) is now up.

The Iriz, named after the circular structure in the eye, and formerly known as the PCC (Proton Compact Car) and GSC (Global Small Car), is a B-segment five-door hatchback that will take on Malaysia’s most popular car for the past decade – the Perodua Myvi.

That’s no easy task, but the Proton Iriz is well equipped for the battle, which will also happen in other markets with other superminis. The class counts the Volkswagen Polo, Peugeot 208, Honda Jazz, Suzuki Swift, Kia Rio and Ford Fiesta, just to name a few in our market. Plenty to talk about, but let’s start with the size.

b-segment-hatch-dimension-comparison-proton-compact-carcross-segment-dimension-comparison-table-proton-compact-car

Click to enlarge charts

The Iriz is 3,905 mm long, 1,720 mm wide and 1,550 mm tall, which makes it 215 mm longer, 55 mm wider and 5 mm taller than the Myvi. The Proton’s 2,555 mm wheelbase also beats the Myvi’s by 115 mm. If it sounds big on paper, you’ve got to see it in the metal – Proton claims ‘best in class’ cabin space. Boot volume is 215 litres, versus 208 litres for the Myvi. Not bad, but the Perodua Axia trumps all with 260 litres.

That big body sits on a new platform, and Hot Press Forming (HPF) tech is used for vital components of the body-in-white. More commonly used on European vehicles, HPF parts have three times the strength of mild steel, and was first introduced in the Preve and Suprima S. This helps safety, verified by the award of full five stars in the ASEAN NCAP crash test.

The Iriz scored 14.07 out of 16 marks in ASEAN NCAP‘s Adult Occupant Protection test, which is not just higher than the Myvi and Axia, but the Peugeot 208 as well; the latter a five-star EuroNCAP rated car. The variant tested by ASEAN NCAP had Electronic Stability Control and dual front airbags; the top-spec Iriz comes with six airbags.

Proton-PCC-crash-test

Speaking of safety kit, all Iriz variants (there are three trim levels: Standard, Executive, Premium) get ABS, EBD, Brake Assist, Hill Hold Assist, dual airbags and Electronic Stability Control (ESC) as standard. The top spec Premium version gets six airbags – dual front, side and curtain.

Reverse sensors are available across the board, with the Exec and Premium adding on a reverse camera. Stability control across the board is a commendable move by Proton.

“Safety is very important and customers should know which car is safe and which is not. Australia’s ANCAP differs from ASEAN NCAP as it takes everything into account, and we got five stars for that, so there is no issue for us,” Proton manufacturing and production COO, Khairudin Datuk Haji Yusoff told paultan.org in a recent interview.

Proton Iriz Live 1

Two new VVT (variable valve timing) engines power the Proton Iriz. A 1.3 litre kicks things off at 94 hp at 5,750 rpm and 120 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, while the 1.6 litre develops 107 hp at 5,750 rpm (peak arriving 250 rpm earlier compared to the 1.6 litre IAFM+ engine) and 150 Nm at 4,000 rpm.

Both have variable valve timing, but they’re not just Campros with VVT bolted on. With a new block, pistons and valves, this is the first of a new series of engines that will power future models and finally usher off the Campro into retirement.

Both engines can be had with either a five-speed manual transmission or a CVT automatic gearbox. Claimed fuel consumption for the 1.6L is 6.6 litres per 100 km (15.2 km/l) for the MT and 7.4 litres per 100 km (13.5 km/l) for the CVT car, on the European NEDC combined cycle.

PAULTAN_Proton_Iriz_Interior_34

As mentioned, there are two engines, two transmissions and three trim levels, and they interplay to create a total of eight variants – 1.3 Standard MT, 1.3 Standard CVT, 1.3 Executive MT, 1.3 Executive CVT, 1.6 Executive MT, 1.6 Executive CVT, 1.6 Premium MT and 1.6 Premium CVT.

In addition, there are seven colour options – Citrus Green, Silver Moon Dust, Tranquility Black, Fire Red, Genetic Silver, Atlantic Blue and Proton White. The first two are new colours for Proton and all but the white are metallic. While we can’t say that no two units of the Iriz will be identical, it won’t be so easy to find a unit exactly like yours in the parking lot.

Speaking of appearance, here’s how to tell the cars apart. The 1.3 Standard MT/CVT looks as basic as its name suggests, with no bodykit, no rear spoiler and no rear wiper, while the door handles and wing mirror caps are in unpainted black plastic. However, Standard avoids looking bargain basement as all Iriz’ share the same projector headlamps, LED tail lamps and aeroblade wipers.

The Standard also rolls on the same 14-inch alloy wheels (not steel wheels with caps) with 175/65 Silverstone Synergy M3 as the car on the next step up, the 1.3 Executive MT/CVT. 1.3 Standard to 1.3 Exec is quite a big step up in appearance; you get a full bodykit (body coloured) with a rear diffuser and (small, rounded edge) rear spoiler, plus body coloured door handles and mirror caps. Oh, and rear wipers too.

The 1.6 range starts with the 1.6 Executive MT/CVT. The bigger engine brings with it 15-inch alloys with 195/55 Silverstone Synergy M5 rubber, and the same bodykit in a two-tone colour scheme (body colour with Warm Grey -a colour which is like a mix of grey and dark champagne – inserts, rear diffuser in the same colour).

The B pillars and window outline are in black (body colour on the 1.3) and the bigger rear spoiler is of a more elaborate, sportier design. The ‘Proton wings’ strip on the grille is in chrome, as opposed to silver on the 1.3. Fog lamps make an appearance.

The green hero car you see here is the 1.6 Premium, available in MT and CVT like the other trims. The daytime running lights (DRLs) take the place of the 1.6 Exec’s fog lamps, and they also double up as positioning lights (a.k.a. small lights). The area where the dedicated positioning lamps sit (below the signal lamps) have been filled by a blank black strip as a result. The swap is not very noticeable – a good thing.

As for badging, the 1.3 Standard has a ‘VVT’ emblem and nothing more, with an ‘E’ added to the 1.3 Executive. The 1.6 Executive’s rear reads ‘1.6 VVT’, while the range topper has the full ‘1.6 VVT Premium’.

Now let’s run through the price and specs, starting from the bottom.

Proton Iriz 1.3 Standard

– 1.3 litre VVT engine, 94 hp/120 Nm
– ABS, EBD, Brake Assist
– Electronic Stability Control, Hill Hold Assist
– Isofix mounts on rear seats
– Seat belt reminder for all seats
– Dual front airbags
– Reverse sensors
– 14-inch alloy wheels
– Silver “Proton Wings” grille
– Fabric seats
– Three-point rear seatbelts, 60:40 split-folding
– 2-DIN audio system with Bluetooth, AUX, USB
– Unpainted exhaust

Proton Iriz 1.3 Executive adds on:

– Bodykit (body colour)
– Rear spoiler (small, rounder design)
– Body coloured door handles, wing mirror caps
– Rear wiper
– Black painted exhaust
– Ash Grey centre console frame, Galvano Silver gear lever base
– USB chargers (1.5 Amp, 2.1 Amp)

Proton Iriz 1.6 Executive adds on:

– 1.6 litre VVT engine, 107 hp/150 Nm
– Android-based touch screen infotainment system with GPS navigation
– Reverse camera
– 15-inch alloy wheels
– Dual-tone bodykit
– Rear spoiler (bigger, square design)
– Front fog lamps
– Black B-pillar and window frames
– Fabric trim for door cards
– Patterned fabric seats
– Steering audio controls
– Piano black trim on steering
– Chrome grille
– Portable WiFi huddle

Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium adds on:

– Six airbags (dual front, side, curtain)
– Leather seats
– Leather on door cards
– Leather-wrapped steering wheel
– Extendable sunshades
– Chrome trim on AC vents, Ash Grey instrument cluster housing
– Keyless entry and push start
– Auto-fold wing mirrors
– Daytime Running Lights (replaces fog lamps)

PROTON-IRIZ-PRICELIST

Click to enlarge price list

Prices start from RM42,438 for the 1.3 Standard MT, rising to RM62,888 for the top-of-the-line 1.6 Premium CVT, on-the-road including insurance. Final prices for the Standard and Premium match the earlier estimated numbers, but 1.3 and 1.6 Executive prices see a reduction of RM1k to RM2k. Proton is throwing in three years (or 100,000 km) of free service, on top of a five-year 150,000 km warranty.

Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah revealed that the company has 17,000 bookings in hand, to date. Full mass production will start in October, along with deliveries of the first customer cars.

Before you proceed to browse our exclusive studio gallery of the new Proton Iriz, tune in to the live streaming coverage of the launch event on our YouTube channel. What do you think of the new kid on the block?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ProtonGSC on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:27 am

WOW nice now waiting for the test drive review by Driven.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 341 Thumb down 30
    • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:53 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 458
      • Proton Kerusi-lelaki on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:17 pm

I hear the DRB Chairman speech I nearly vomited my breakfast which I ate 2 hours ago. 99% of speech is carrying DrM balls and not about IRIZ. Mr DRB Chairman, whatever you name is, no one interested in your past as a CBU car salesman. We only interested in IRIZ. “Jangan masuk bakul dan angkat sendiri”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 290 Thumb down 42
        • Potong gila on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 288
          • Shitty Tag Lines on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:15 pm

“Betul Onz” is the best they do ? Someone please help me relate that to a car. And what language is that ? Mat Rempit Lingo ? Rm500million in R&D and its Betul Onz ? Honestly.. “WTF” will be better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 101
          • Lazy Proton and DRB workers. on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Proton can come out with this Iriz but their attitude needs to change. Proton and DRB are bunch of lazy fools living off the people. Now a private company but still asking Government money. If Syed Mokhtar took Proton private, why is he still asking the Government money?

Why Malaysians don’t ask Proton this in the launch?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 98
          • kzm dolop on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Today, that idiot kzm very happy. He will say kerajaan prihatin and cares for the rakyat. But he don’t know, kerajaan use rakyat’s billions and give free to Syed Mokhtar the croni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 113
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Can see Proton try their best to launch the Iriz like Apple launch the iPhone 6. Sorry they are no way close.

I felt I am back to 1990s. Do you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 102
          • Jangan Tipu CEO Proton on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah revealed that the company has 17,000 bookings in hand ???

CEO you jangan BULL SHIT !

My friend is Sales Manager in Proton PJ.. Until now only got less than 9 booking for his shop.

Everyone pandai cakap besar saja … lidah tak bertulang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 66
          • Semua pun nak dipolitikkan on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:41 pm

“Rakyat” la and all that politic.. Can you people just stick to the subject? I’ll give you ‘angry birds’ a hint.. Its a bout a car. You know, the one your driving?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 11
          • ABG BESAR on Oct 11, 2014 at 1:08 pm

STOP BEING MALAYSIAN CITIZEN if all of you want to talk bad about your own country industries….

STEP OUT OF MALAYSIA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
        • Operation-Manager (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:48 pm

What is the selling point(s) of Iriz, can any1 tell?

Any key word below could match…?

Low Cost (Cheap)
          Low Fuel Consumption
          Low Emission (EuroIV/V) – Green
          Low Maintenance (/Periodical) & Repair
          High Resale Value
          High Quality (Proven Reliable & Durable)
          High Space Utilisation (Man Maximum, Machine Minimum)

etc…???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 43
          • Hairul Azmin on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:40 pm

totally agree with you. just went to see the car. quality improved, but the finishing is sucks… if choose between iriz (1.3 standard) and axia (full spec), ill choose axia. Axia more spacious and better in finishing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 111
          • azhar on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:19 pm

safety laaa..itu pun tak tau ka

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 10
        • Booooo!! East Malaysia price RM2000 extra
          when shipping cost much less than that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 14
          • No Test Drive Available on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:50 pm

I go showroom to test drive.. NO AUTO model available. I was informed Nationwide dealers NO AUTO units available yet… WHAT A FAILURE !! IS THIS A LAUNCH ? Yes I think DrM should sack the useless DRB Chairman.. not doing his job but only carry balls 24/7

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 9
        • Malu Bising Max on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:55 pm

The DRB Chairman tried so hard to be like Steve Jobs on stage…. soon he will be Jobless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:20 pm

It’s finally out with good pricing for B-segment car! Based on spec and safety features, Iriz is way better than Myvi and Axia..Thumbs up PROTON!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 235 Thumb down 40
        • Mat Ramb0 on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Seems all your comments pro-proton. Must be part of the social media team proton established. How much you get paid? I wanna join can? I don’t mind spinning tales to enrich myself while leaving the public with crap. Seems to be the norm in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 116
          • ex P2 Salesman on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:28 pm

Seem that all your comments are anti-Proton. How much the P2 salesman paid you?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 13
          • to you if anybody backup n pro proton you call it protn social media team. then you what ? you just jugdging without a reason. go n test it. and commen sincerely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
          • ABG BESAR on Oct 11, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Well…. we are Malaysian…

• ABG BESAR on Oct 11, 2014 at 1:20 pm

I’ve done the test drive for both 1.3 Manual & 1.6 Executive Auto…

Thumbs Up…..

What I can say… just stop all your critics and just get a car that you can afford not only for monthly instalment but also think about the maintenance cost.
            If you think you can afford to get a Japs car then just buy it…. if you think you can afford to get a Euro cars just grab it….

For those who love to critics national car so much.. I would like to advice that stop being MALAYSIAN….step out of MALAYSIA

For your info I’m driving X3 2.5i but still support National brands…. Had already book IRIZ….

• IRIZFTW on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Seriously? its not even in the same segment. This is a myvi fighter and i can come up with one reason why anyone would buy a myvi after this. It looks better and its better equipped for roughly the same price. RIP myvi. I’m so proud of proton for finally making a proper product. Malaysia boleh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 190 Thumb down 38
        • another Savy on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Is this going to be another Savy? Savy closed shop two years ago. ProTun using the same marketing strategic for Savy and Iriz. I cried when they stopped the production of Savy due to the low quality. Now my Savy is a limited edition car..crying..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 69
          • Low Budget on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Have no fear and do not cry! Iriz is going to morph to a new Proton Saga model next year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
          • max291 on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:21 pm

Savvy was heavily dependant on French parts. This Iriz is all local design talent and local manufactured. All those hard labor you forgot existed in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
        • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 124
        • another Savy on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:53 pm

For your infor, Savy was launched as so call “Myvi killer” few years ago. Today, Myvi still is an hot sales car while Savy already killed himself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 43
          • another Savy on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:59 pm

and, you should give me dislikes because I was so dump enough to believe the ProTun marketing strategy and bought the ex Myvi killer, Savy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 31
          • another Savy on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:09 pm

The good news is , I have check carlies.com, my ex Myvi killer, Savy have a resale value of RM7k, after 7 years. Bad news is, the 7 years Myvi have a resale value of RM15k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 29
          • Cantona on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:48 pm

I sold my 7 year old Myvi for RM23k ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
          • another Savy on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:35 pm

23k? wow, look at my now limited edition Savy, I really have to cry loudly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
        • Low Budget on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:43 pm

All models will have an RIP day. MyVi RIP day is not too far away, P2 will give birth to a new baby to fight with Iriz, so, this is good for the consumers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:32 pm

Look at the fuel consumption, oh god!

Is the car leaking oil?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 98
      • Don Juan De Marco on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:40 pm

AXIA = BS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 20
        • Low Budget on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Why BS? It has 4 wheels, an engine and steering, tuang sikit minyak and can jalan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
          • Malu Bising Max on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:57 pm

My lawn mover also got four wheel and engine. Kenasai !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
      • 30 Years of Sucking LHDN on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:58 pm

It is solely because of Proton that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars. Don’t know why Malaysians are excited about Proton.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand.

All because of Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 390 Thumb down 216
        • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:10 pm

You name so long..

As a person involve in Companies Incentives… what your write is pure truth.

Speechless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 41
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:06 pm

So many VIPs seen in the launching, because it is politically correct to support Proton.

I wonder how many of them actually care about the Iriz sales? How many of these VIP will actually buy 1 Iriz for their own use?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 16
          • driver on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:34 pm

Yup, I’m wondering the same thing as well. The shine guy… what models have he owned?

• kzm (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Thai cheapest Almari oso price more than RM43k with 1.2L engine..Almari is nissan thai home breed model.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 15
          • Oh My English! on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 128
          • Anti-Establishment on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Oh My English! – he was being sarcastic. Stop being so serious will you?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 3
          • kzm (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:27 pm

then why people call vios “god car”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
          • Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:52 pm

That was a mocking name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
          • Vivian on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:29 pm

You OME are just as stupid as your friends who pronounce Potong or Plotong!

• berembon on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:27 pm

Aiyoooo…almera in hindi/arabic is almari la…

• Hahaha.. Almari..

Funny..

No. You can only make fun of Proton. But if you calling Almera as Almari that would be fallen under hate crime. Equivalent to rasism and anti-semitic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:51 pm

I support your comment! thumbs up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 28
        • wajaowner on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:34 pm

i must say although your statement is already known by most people, it is well said and good for others to ponder how much we actually paying just to get a decent car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
        • Mustapa M on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:47 pm

I support your comment. My bro just bought a Corolla in the US. After the discounts, he managed to get it at US$12k. Full CBU and comes with 9 airbags, VSC, Isofix etc. That is RM36,000 for a very good C segment car. Cheaper than this Iriz. Here the same Corolla ie Altis is RM139k.

Malaysians have smaller gaji than US but pay RM100k more for a car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 19
          • Anti-Establishment on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Well, Malaysians do pay less tax than Americans for one. And we don’t have to pay too much for hospitalization as Americans do, among other things. Funny thing is, despite having cheap cars, there are still many clunkers on the road last time I was there.

There’s more to life than cars, and there’s more to car prices than just taxes. Look at Langkawi’s prices and you’ll see how a lot of the padding is mainly profit margin (which is why UMW-Toyota staff members are able to enjoy year after year of bonuses).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
          • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:07 pm

Now u know why abg motorhead want to bungkus hantu plocong?

NAP is a success. P2 prove it.

Now scrap NAP.

• get ur fact right.. USD$12k is RM39,048.00.. when peoples bluffing, they will giving the false info because actually they never buying a thing.. As for myself, i know the actual price when i bought something..

• I don’t know why you get so much Dislike. This is the truth. Actually this time we not condemn Proton because making junk car because for me IRIZ is one of the great car from Proton. But the fact that because of Proton (and of course the BN government) the price of other cars are very high in Malaysia. As a national car maker, they should put the price lower for Rakyat but until now, they still put the price almost the same with imported car who have been imposed with 300% tax. Please don’t be so selfish Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 24
          • Anti-Establishment on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:32 pm

What imported car got charged with 300% tax? At the max it’s 105%.

Look at Langkawi prices – a Jazz with similar specs to the Iriz Premium 1.6 CVT is RM 70K. A high spec Vios is RM 66K but only offers 2 Airbags and no VSC. Whereas the Iriz is 59K.

It’s not just the tax that’s pushing car prices up the hill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
          • You don’t know Proton is also high taxed? Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
          • Low Budget on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:49 pm

How to price lower when they do not have volumes and efficiency in production?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
          • but, myvi cost you the same even higher from its value…but why nobody even said anything ? fair enough ? why only proton to be blame..but not perodua..because the are doing rebadging car bisness?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
        • Don Juan De Marco on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:15 pm

” Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia..”

Just one of those total BS statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
        • Proton Factory Owner on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:12 pm

To 30 Years of Sucking LHDN:
          Cuba ler kasi benda2 yang baik sikit pasal proton..
          PRO pun kena ada gak…and Contra pun ada gak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • The obvious on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:44 pm

I totally agree with you. Most people know this but leeches are leeches. They stick and suck for a living till you are dead.

• labkamarul on Sep 26, 2014 at 7:43 am

Even though the cars price in Malaysia are higher than Thailand, Singapore or Indonesia. We still afford to buy one maaa. More and more Ferrari and Lambo on our road. If you do not have much money, buy cheaper car loo.We have choice. You better make your voice loud on house price !!! The developers really sucks our money. Do we have much choice when buying house?

• ABG BESAR on Oct 11, 2014 at 12:46 pm

U r rite labkamarul….

We should think more about house rather than car…

If you don’t like PROTON don’t condemn but what you all should do are step out of MALAYSIA stop being MALAYSIAN CITIZEN

• I bought my brand new Mazda 323 for 14k in 1981. Now Mazda 3 cost 130k..

• ABG BESAR on Oct 11, 2014 at 12:50 pm

STOP BEING MALAYSIAN CITIZEN if all of you want to talk bad about your own country industries….

STEP OUT OF MALAYSIA

• ABG BESAR on Oct 11, 2014 at 1:29 pm

STOP BEING MALAYSIAN THEN…..

• Wisdom on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:16 pm

Regret i have bought my wife the Axia, Advance version. Should’ve top up 3k and get d cheapest Iriz auto.
        Sighhh…regret2…
        ;p

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 34
        • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:53 pm

No bro, when you compare Iriz to Axia, you already WIN. Because Iriz should compare MYVI as people said! so never regret, you got the best deal! trust my word! LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 61
        • Crab Liar on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:06 pm

WISDOM, You are a LIAR. You are a Proton Troll. If you are a Muslim, and you lied, SHAME ON YOU !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 52
          • gila potong on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:24 pm

what did he lie about? the axia buying list is open for buyers so whats up your ass fuckface? sheesh. stupid piece of shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
          • Wisdom on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Haha..
            Some people took it too seriously.
            Thats what amused me in these Proton Vs Perodua bashing battle.
            *Ever heard sarcastic?

And i really bought d Axia Advance for wifey. Refer to my comments in Paultan recently. The car has been with us for 2 days now. So far so good. Not bad at all. Fuel consumption comparable to my x hybrid car. I’ve clocked more than 100K km on that hybrid before sold it so no need to teach me FC.

1st thing 1st, as far as safety is concerned, yes Iriz scored higher marks. However, overall, the safety rating is not that too far off:

Model Adult OP Child OP
            Proton Iriz 14.07 82%
            Perodua Myvi 8.71 54%
            Perodua Axia 12.91 71%
            Mind you d model in test for Asean ncap Axia E spec (25K model). No ABS EBD there.

Making decision between top Axia Advance auto @ 42K vs cheapest Iriz auto @ 45K a good exercise.

Iriz std (RM45K++)
            -1.3 litre VVT engine, 94 hp/120 Nm
            -FC 7.4liter (RM14.10) per 100km
            -ABS, EBD, Brake Assist
            -Electronic Stability Control, Hill Hold Assist
            -Isofix mounts on rear seats
            -Seat belt reminder for all seats
            -Dual front airbags
            -Reverse sensors
            -14-inch alloy wheels
            -Silver “Proton Wings” grille
            -Fabric seats
            -Three-point rear seatbelts, 60:40 split-folding
            -2-DIN audio system with Bluetooth, AUX, USB
            -Unpainted exhaust
            -215 liter boot

Axia Advance (auto only, RM42K++)
            -1KR-DE2 66 hp at 6,000 rpm and 90 Nm at 3,600
            -FC 4.9liter (RM9.30) per 100km
            -Dual airbags
            -ABS, EBD, BA
            -14 inch alloy
            -Projector headlamps
            -bodykit with aero bumpers, side skirting and rear spoiler
            -Fog lamps
            -Electronic retractable side mirror with indicator
            -Rear & Front parking sensors
            -Chrome front grille
            -Painted door armrest
            -Isofix
            -Fabric door trim
            -Semi-bucket leather seats
            -brushed metal and chrome interior finish
            -Separated rear headrest
            -Shift, door & handbrake lever knob chrome finish.
            -ABS, EBD and brake assist
            -Security tint film (Llumar)
            -Touchscreen multimedia audio system with DVD, Bluetooth and GPS with steering audio control with leather wrapping.
            -260liter boot.

There u go.
            Now u tell me, am i regret?
            Hahaha…

*no need to question my religion integrity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 15
          • driver on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:38 pm

are you sure it’s not cognitive dissonance? hehe..

• The Obvious on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Racist, please don’t mentioned religion or race here. We are all brothers under one country. Say that in public and i will slap you.

• Low Budget on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Come on! Why buy Advance version for your wife? Wife should get the Basic version while your girlfriend or mistress should get the advance ones, get what I mean?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
          • Penipu Axia on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Hoi Wisdom … Jangan Tipu la… Baru Axia launch sudah dapat kereta ? Loan express pun tak boleh secepat tu… Kalau nak tipu pun guna otak la ..phhhht !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
          • Wisdom on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:59 pm

They said for gf should get d new jazz rite?

• leoRNado on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:12 am

Dear Penipu Axia – before Axia launch, P2 already have 3000 units of CBU. Once launch on 15th, They already handover to the customer on Wed 17th. As for loan, once u made a booking, loan will be processed subsequently.

• Wisdom on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:21 am

Haha…call me cheat, no problem. As long as u happy.

I booked d car for wifey early sept. She needs a new car. Booking only RM300. Refundable in case i cancel the booking (or the most i lost RM300). We are the first person booked Axia Advance at our branch.
            I did, seriously consider between Axia Advance and Iriz (as the tentative price not too far off between d two. No need to consider japanese B segment as they are just as empty.
            Near launching, we just got info Proton wont have ready units by d time of the launching (25th Sept), but Axia already stock up some units for early birds.
            We proceed with Axia.
            And now regret ;P…
            (the last sentences is sarcastic. Malaysian needs to be told on that)

Anyway, in general, we got a better bargain now, compared to 14-15 years back, 40K can only get empty iswara or 49K wira.
            And 40K now is much less valuable compared to 40K in 1999.

• SomethingWong on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:23 pm

I am not sure you are laughing like a moron high on drugs here…for a few hundres ringgits more, you can buy an Iriz with VSC/ESC. Recently i bought a Honda City E spec for my wife. I topped up RM6k(or is it 8k, can’t remember) just to get the VSC from the S+ spec. I would have considered the Iriz but since wife wants a bigger car, then dropped the idea.
          You have a chance to buy a much safer car for your wife for peanuts more and here you are laughing like a hyena. I am not sure you regret buying AXIA Advance or not, but if i am your wife(hope she’s not reading this), i will surely regret marrying such a stupid husband and who don’t give a shitz about her safety and more interested in saving some fuel. Continue laughing. And ask your wife to drive safely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
          • sanob on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:20 pm

@wisdom, you repeated ABS EBD BA two times, other things that Iriz dun list but still available like projector headlight. It makes Axia features look more than Iriz. I choose Iriz anytime.

The boot volumes are in different measurement imho, litre and VDO. Actually both are in similar size.

• Wisdom on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:32 am

Sanob, sorry on d spec list between Iriz and Axia. I just copy paste. Some features might overlap or not mentioned.

SomethingWong, technically i’m giving more than shit on my wifey’s safety. Buying a better car compared to her older one with 0 airbags, 0 abs, non-crapcap rated.

Why must a vsc become the threshold between safe or unsafe a car is. How many of u, ever, even once, the vsc (or traction control) indicator lit up and beeping and the system correcting the car, due to extreme mis-driving, whether in rain or dry?

For me personally, i need a car with vsc, as im a frequent right-laner, always like to speed in rain or dry, and the VSC indicator on my car always lit and beeping, while the system correcting my mistakes.

My wife? she’s a left-laner type. U know what i mean. More on defensive driving. But i notice she drive quite well and always aware on d surrounding vehicle. A she really likes cute and cuddly car. Only for market trip of course.

Come to a point, u can always argue why didnt i buy a car with left lane watch, blind spot camera, distance alert, roll stability control, collision warning autobrake, pedestrian warning, lane departure warning, lane keeping aid, driver alert control, and the list goes on, to my wife?

let me ask u, why didnt u buy that car i mentioned above, with such advance safety feature, to your wife? U value shit about her rite.

Somethingwong = somethingwrong?

• taratara on Nov 20, 2014 at 10:32 am

somethingwrong and wisdom doesn’t matter what car you buy the thought of giving a car to your wife itself deserves a medal. I hv to buy my own car despite hubby’s earning 3X more.. so Iriz or Axia?

• Wrong. AXIA < ALL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
      • Smart Buyer on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:38 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 202
        • JoeRadzif on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Baca la dulu bang…
          enjin apa pun tatau sudah bash

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 8
          • Taufiqa on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Ada ka kereta la ni interior besi dan kayu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
          • zaidi on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:48 pm

jenis anti PROTON dan malas baca info..memang gitu le

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 8
        • GT3 (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:43 pm

I’m not always biased towards Proton. So far, looking good, Proton!
          Promising safety features across the variants, good differentiation between each variants, satisfying efforts through R&D.
          What’s left now is how it drives. Quality and reliability factors too. It’s only a matter of time. I hope Proton would not disappoint Malaysian anymore.

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Guess how many LIKEs, if I LOVE IRIZ!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 88
      • 42k is just too much for me. Sorry proton, bukan saya tak mahu support tapi tak mampu support.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 39
        • Low Budget on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:55 pm

That is why there is P2 to cover your needs and not your wants. I can only afford Axia, so I don’t care 2 hoods if P1 macais ketuk me for that.

• DiamDiamLa on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Diam diam la

• semak samun on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:13 pm

enjin taraf 90an

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • kzm fanboy on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 245
      • Nobody want to see your ugly body. Your aesthetic value is worst than any ugly car. He he.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 9
      • Ibrahim on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:20 pm

Nobody want to see your ugly body. Just forget it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 8
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Stupid comment..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 4
      • Pengantin Baru on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Aku berkenan betul dgn Iriz ni tapi aku dah ada MyVi, bini aku pulak pakai Viva. Nak kena jual salah satu ni.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 8
        • MyViva on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Lelong 2x. MyVi murah Viva murah!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 3
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:51 pm

It’s worth to buy Pengantin Baru. Join Alami PROTON at COE on 27-28/9/2014 to test drive..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 13
          • Iriz -- Another Saga, Another Wira! on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:01 pm

Malaysians never learn their lesson. Every car after the Saga, Proton promised that the following car was world standards and would impress all Malaysians. When they launched the Wira, they said the same things and proved the same things as they are saying about the PCC now. That was 20 years ago. All the young cikus commenting in PT are all young kids who don’t know what happened even 10 years ago because they were doing their SRP or Form 1 then.

Those old enough will remember. From Saga, Iswara, Wira, Waja etc etc, every model, Proton promised the world. Even when Waja came out, they said it was the BMW of Malaysia and would compete with BMW directly and will banish BMW completely. Then everybody saw how the WAJA was so low in quality.

Before they launched WAJA, they did the same hype they are doing now for the PCC. Same modus operandi and everything the same. All the reviews were top notch. But then, all the Waja buyers all sang a different tune few years later. It became a rubbish car.

The problem with people now in PT, they are all very young. Some even college students. They don’t know what happened from 1985 onwards when the first Saga was launched.

If you follow the trend, every year from 1985, every single model had top notch reviews. Everything also was 5 stars.

So, we wait just 2 more years. I assure you, you will see the same complaints and anger from buyers. Don’t fall for the conjob of Proton, they are an insincere company just sucking our money dry.

They are sucking the government in the billions per year and every years, so many road deaths are because of Proton’s low quality. When airbags were introduced over 15 years ago, Proton insisted they were unnecessary until only 5 years ago. 10 years went by with no airbags but every other car had airbags. Proton said airbags were nonsense and it shortchanged many Malaysians resulting in the tens of thousands of deaths in Malaysia due to lack of airbags.

Malaysians are very funny. When they go to the pasar and buy fish, if the fish monger sells them bad fish, the next visit to the pasar, they will always go to another fish monger.

But when Proton is concerned, already kena tipu from your Iswara and Wira, Malaysians still keep on buying from the same company to be cheated again.

This is not small amount. This is RM60k. It is big money. It is not like you buy a handphone and you not happy with it, you just trade in and buy another better handphone. At RM60k, you are just stuck with a big big commitment. And based on track record of Proton the past 30 years, it is proven not to be that good.

Same old story from Iswara, Wira, Proton Knight, Proton Aeroback, Waja, Arena, Juara, Satria, Neo, Preve…….same old story.

Malaysians just fall for all the marketing, hype and propoganda.

Malaysians don’t learn their lesson.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 321 Thumb down 134
          • PASMAn on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:08 pm

Panjangnya ko punya klentong. Berapa DAP upah ko?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 72
          • Wira user 21 year old wira on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:42 pm

to Mr.Iriz — Another Saga, Another Wira!. I have been using my wira for the past 21 year. and it is still running perfectly power windows and all. Just maybe la one in a while if you actually cared for your car and did the necessary service and preventive maintenance u would’t have to give your long winded excuses here. Also the last generation of waja sold with the CPS engine was quite a decent performer not that you would know anything about htat now would u? cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 17
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:19 pm

What IRIZ stands for:
          I-llustrious car!
          R-ealization to be global car!
          I-deal car for young, professional and urbanites!
          Z-ealously to be no.1 in its segment!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 47
        • Nobita on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Nak jual bini ke kereta?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
      • SagaLine on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:57 pm

plisss post your facebook profile name “kzm fanboy” so we can trace you while iriz sold like your bet…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Ah Beng felt very proud to be Malaysian today. Our national carmaker capable to build a car from sketch paper. PROTON build IRIZ from ground zero..Their next target is to go global. Come on PROTON! You can do it!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 26
        • Username1 on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Everytime there is a proton news on Paultan I go straight to the comments section. Its so damn entertaining with all u bashers vs fanboy. Most of the time the discussion has absolutely NOTHING to do with the news piece. Heck, we can just look at the comments from a previous news piece about proton and it will be exactly the same ‘discussion’ with the same substance over and over and over and over again: some basher will post the same ‘proton is crap, poor build quality, sucking peole’s money’ comment (which is not far from the truth) and some fanboy will counter with some ‘proton is improving, can go global, compete with honda toyota kimchi’ comment and then the name calling (stupid, never go school etc) will start. In fact, just copy and paste from previous articles also can (some of these posts really ARE EXACTLY JUST THAT – copied and pasted from comments from previous articles!)

• Low Budget on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:58 pm

You can run naked to USA and seek asylum and thereafter can afford to buy Honda or Toyota in US.

• bleukaizen on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:04 pm

run semi naked? what ic number then, proof yoursself who u are first

• Sammy Velluuu on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:10 pm

If the 2 airbags model scored 5 stars in safety rating, does that mean that the 6 airbags model will score 6 stars? Lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 50
      • driver on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:20 pm

The ‘shineee’ guy was a bit annoying, but overall it’s a decent launching event. Too much on the cheeky, gediky teens dancing around the car. Not good p1. Am expecting more info on the engine, but the focus of the event was mainly on the design. Perhaps, PT and team can arrange something for technical explanation about the new engine and platform. Anyway, since I’m not in the market for a compact car, I’m looking forward for Saga3.

One more thing.. fc 13km/litre … hmm.. a bit on the thirsty side for me. Keep up the good work though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
        • Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:33 pm

This is a subcompact hatchback. Saga3, based on this, would be a subcompact sedan.

Compact cars would be in the C-segment, like the Honda Civic and Toyota Corolla Altis. And Proton Preve & SuprimaS.

• driver on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:08 pm

yeah.. maybe i didn’t make myself clear. was looking for a car with bigger boot space. so this iriz is out of league. that’s why it’s derived saga3 is the awaiting model for me. cheers.

• maniam on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:32 pm

Iriz jauh lagi best dari MyVi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 19
      • Don Mok on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:40 pm

use mathematics formula. 2x=5, so 6x=?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Having 5 star or even million star rating is practically meaningless with those salivastone tyres.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
        • koozold on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:00 pm

Whats wrong with silverstone tyres? Dont like them? Change it to other brands. BTW, Silverstone belong to Toyo Tire Japan since 2010.

• Angkat Bodek Culture on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:26 pm

UGLY alloy RIM COLORS. Just keep it simple idiots.. Silver. Looks at how ugly the Suprima rims are on the road. The color of the rim makes the car not only looks cheap but as if owner not washed car for ages. What with Proton with all these darken mat-rempit/ahbeng rim colors

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 60
    • Don Juan De Marco on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:40 pm

GOOD JOB PROTON!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 10
    • Really? on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:57 pm

You mean I only get auto fold wing mirrors and 6 airbags if i buy premium model?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Zizou on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:04 pm

How come they remove the fog lamp for the most expensive model and replace with DRL? Fog lamps are more important in Msia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
      • frossonice on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:19 pm

I think Proton should rebrand Fog Lamps into Hujan Lebat Lamp or something. We need those kind of light during heavy rains. Ir they can invent something like auto rain light, that will be much appreciated by drivers and some drivers don’t really care about it at all or just turn on their hazard lights and keep on driving.

Yes Proton, invent some auto heavy rain lights. We need that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Proton R3 Biru on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:05 pm

we missed you Dato Seri Syed Zainal. If only you are here with us today delivering opening speech. The impact of Iriz could be greater.

we hope we make you proud sir…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 4
      • leoRNado on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:20 am

agree with you. Somebody try imitate him, try to be him, but yet can’t be at par with him…

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:24 pm

You order boleh terus dapat..

Sbb order mmg x byk..

Hahaha. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 30
    • OMG…nice pricing and overall good looking except the cacat rear….ugly lah…puihh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
      • leoRNado on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:23 am

kind of agree with you. everything look ok n fine, except the rear look.

• hpmurah2u on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:37 pm

it’s seem nice hopefully the quality as same as looks

• Mozilla Chrome on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Just visited Proton showroom in Shah Alam Sec 13 and wanted to test drive the new Iriz. Really disappointed as they couldn’t start the engine. The battery seems working fine but they don’t know what’s the actual problem. They called the people from SC and they will call me to test once the car is fixed. All in all, this slightly affect my confident in getting this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 16
      • Mozilla Chrome on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:46 pm

The salesman called me back and apparently you need to press the clutch for manual version before you can start the engine.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
        • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:31 pm

LOL, on clutch to start engine instead of break!? I bet next is a lot people dive in longkang! LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 34
          • BadBET on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:48 pm

safety for manual iriz, why not?

• Standard safety feature for manual car, you need to press the clutch so that the car won’t thrust forward when you start the engine.
            For auto you need to press the brake (not break, as in your comment).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
          • Dafuq on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:25 pm

Dude, am driving a manual DC5 Type R. I need to press the clutch pedal before I can crank the engine. Safety measure. Don’t be a dumbfuck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
          • ganni on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:10 am

Dude,
            it is normal…even the korean did for their manual cars..

• BOYRACER on Sep 26, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Chevrolet Colorado n Nissan NV200 need to depress the clutch to start.

• lazyf on Oct 01, 2014 at 8:16 am

Safety features nowadays for manual trans. Even Great Wall M4 manual trans need to press the clutch first before start the engine.

• Aiman Tak Kisah on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:56 pm

stupid salesman!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • LOL… really proton salesman. car also dont know how to start. BEST IN CLASS training

• guest on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:40 pm

For auto gear, you need to press brake pedal when start, so that if the gear is not freeing up when shut off before, the car won’t suddenly moving. As for manual gear, by pressing the clutch pedal, it will freeing up the gear so to protect the gear box from damage if the gear is not free..

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Evidently, they need to train their staff more. That must have been a really bad first impression.

But I can see the logic behind pressing the clutch pedal for starting the engine in a manual. Maybe better if need to press both.

• Mozilla Chrome on Sep 26, 2014 at 1:49 am

I tested Iriz Executive 1.3 manual. It seems 1.3 is a bit underpowered for Iriz. Maybe due to the kerb weight it needs to carry (1138kg Iriz vs 950++kg for myvi). I suggest go for 1.6 version for people who are heavy footers. Nevertheless, the driving experience of Iriz is comparable with conti cars. It feels stable during high speed and NVH also far better than Myvi (You don’t feel like you drive a hatchback). Conclusion: Well done Proton. It is a good car. Just improve more on the fuel consumption.

• Ex Proton user on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:14 am

Wait 6 mths to a year later, all problems will come after that. Never trusted their QA dept.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:47 pm

What is the selling point(s) of Iriz, can any1 tell?

Any key word below could match…?

Low Cost (Cheap)
      Low Fuel Consumption
      Low Emission (EuroIV/V) – Green
      Low Maintenance (/Periodical) & Repair
      High Resale Value
      High Quality (Proven Reliable & Durable)
      High Space Utilisation (Man Maximum, Machine Minimum)

etc…???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:04 pm

hahahha so many p2 umw macai n salesman butthurt

dah rasa tergugat la ru

kalau takk.. takde la gigih komen hahahahha

peyno suka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
    • OMG…now i know why H.Jazz so hot selling…Bcos of the 62K little Iriz…Indirectly, ppl will start thinking that better buy preve bcos the almost same pricing and bigger car.

• Dr Mamak on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Power windows got lifetime warranty?

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:28 am

Pricing it actually is surprisingly good for what you are getting. Tbh, you would be better off in the Iriz than the top spec Axia (although yes the Axia is smaller and is of the A segment while this is a B segment), but even then, very commendable that it comes with decent safety as STANDARD.

To go against the Myvi, it needs to compete on price and perceived quality. The pricing seems right, but the quality, guess we will know for sure how it will be when we actually see it in the metal.

For now, a very commendable effort from Proton, especially the 1.6 Manual Premium.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 201 Thumb down 12
    • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:55 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 214
      • AXIA ni rubbish laa…spacious bcos thinner besi pakai tau tak? Comfort? Perodua tak pernah kluar ade comfort seat punya kereta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 9
        • stranger on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Even city, almera and vios body are also made from thin metal, tau tak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
        • stranger on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Even city, almera and vios body are also made from thin metal, tau tak?

In fact most of the car manufacturers made the car bodies with thin material, tau tak?

U wan thick metal body car, go buy 50′ mini cooper or 60′ Toyota corolla, tau tak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Axia applied the [Man Maximum , Machine Minimum] design philosophy from Honda to its Axia.

Not purely to judge on exterior dimension, but how is the interior space utilization to be optimized? A comparison of Exterior to Interior, and across all models in market.

Definitely this is NOT even an acceptable taste for those elite group such as tun as they only drive Germans.

What is the selling point of Ariz to 80% Msia with categorized lower income (net)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
      • dont u see how plush and comfort the seats in iriz compared to axia?? aiyyoohh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:56 pm

See & Feel are 2 things, you use your eye to feel or use your butt to see? LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:23 pm

PROTON had promised to combat against poor quality vendors. Ah Beng confident that the quality will improve. Look at Iriz finishing quality, it is better than Toyota and Nissan..Good job PROTON!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 7
      • stranger on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:11 pm

By looking at the finishing quality, I can also tell that the plastic interior are made from the same material as the Proton other models, where the color is darker only.
        Quality never change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
  • Scirwode on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:32 am

I have to say that is one attractive looking car. This might be the first Proton that I am interested in to get as a second car to complement my main car. I can also give it to my parents to drive!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 13
    • sudonano (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Azlan Othman has to be the best thing that has happened to Proton in recent times. If at all, his designs actually make sense, and if you actually watch him present his designs, he definitely knows his stuff.

If Syed Zainal and Azlan Othman were together in Proton, I would say these two people could potentially do a really good 180 degree switch of Proton. Plus, now they are under DRB, it is now more about making money than pleasing supplier pockets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Ex Proton user on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:18 am

You really don’t like or love your parents, do you?

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:33 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 499
    • ahso ngan on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:46 am

KOMEN PALING BODOH AUNTIE PERNAH BACA..AYOOO..SIMPAN SAJA BODOH KAMU SAMPAI MAMPOI

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 15
      • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:35 pm

what language are you using? i cant understand a words from your trash mouth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 84
        • phuckyoou on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:14 pm

if you don’t even know what kind of language she been using, don’t event bother commented on our national car. if you’re malaysian u should know better. go away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
          • The Obvious on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:06 pm

He probably does know what the person is saying. He is trying to imply that the person is uneducated and of a lower life form to speak in a pasar language. I am malaysian. When i hear poeple speaking as such i know they are uneducated and probably not worldly. Speak properly in bahasa or english people will respect you more.

• cinapek on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:58 pm

ahso ngan, kasi lu satu like!

• no taste lorrrrr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
      • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:36 pm

taste? go lick your iriz, can save extra money from polish car..seriously yo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 49
    • ganni on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:00 pm

y compare with axia and picanto?? this car is on myvi and rio territory…not referring to the price though…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
    • kia picanto safety is no where near iris la brader..you high??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 7
      • Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:35 pm

While I don’t look down on the Iriz, I have to say we don’t have ways to compare that yet. The Picanto is quite a safe car in its own right. Which is more crashworthy…well…have to wait for more tests to be conducted.

• nobrand on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Which part iriz is safer compared to picanto. Please give the fact

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:02 pm

who me the fact!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 31
      • KUS (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:35 pm

I bed to differ. If compare to previous generations Picanto, then yes. But if compare to latest Picanto then both models have quite similar safety specification. Picanto score euroNCAP 4 stars.

• Azmir on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Engine? Fuel consumption? Speed? Segment? Boot load?
      Iriz>all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:17 pm

Kia sales agent smelt here

• comfirm kaopehkaobu ni mabuk ketum tahap cronik..statement bodoh nak mampus..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • Fake Same LOrrr on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Dia tu sebenarnya Same LOrrr Syok Sendiri atau Motorhead the Moron tapi dah tukar nama sebab dah banyak sangat kena bashed, dah tak tertahan lagi.

• Annoynimouse on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:49 pm

This sorry bloke only drives a KIA.

• Don Juan De Marco on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:10 am

That ranking must be one of the most buul-sheetest thing people has ever heard!

• The CEO of Proton said, PCC is “Made by Malaysian, for Malaysian”!!! Did I hear right?? What about the world?? For god sake, get a better text writer please!

This sum it up on where they are heading.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 118
    • Proton Kerusi-lelaki on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Proton got CEO ? Only got ball carriers.. I hear the DRB Chairman speech I nearly vomited my breakfast which I ate 2 hours ago. 99% of speech is carrying DrM balls and not about IRIZ. Mr DRB Chairman, whatever you name is, no one interested in your past as a CBU car salesman. We only interested in IRIZ. “Jangan masuk bakul dan angkat sendiri”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:58 pm

What’s the problem with the text! Is everything problem with P1? I think you are the one where got problem. Rakyat smart ady they can’t be cheated with people trying to jeopardize our national car maker..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
  • Àlahai (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:39 am

Will test drive this.. If Ok, i’ll buy it

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 7
    • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 184
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:03 pm

Drive Asiah tala selamat. Low ANCAP..Body tala kuat mcm Iriz guna HPF technology..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:48 pm

You are right KaoPehKaoBu. 30mins test drive couldn’t tell how much extra you have to pay to change this change that.

Build quality means it could last for long long time (7 years and onward).

There are so many Proton victims in Malaysia, in fact you can hardly find someone without Proton experience in Malaysia.

Better wait till 2015 June when the car is launched for months and see the response in the net.

Test drive can’t tell much, but if you find unhappy with test driving this Iriz, it is definitely a clear No.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 25
        • stranger on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:15 pm

All my friends who bought proton regretted.
          and their comment is:
          “My next car won’t be a Proton, I swear!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
          • P2 salesman driving Kancilution detected.

• stranger on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:50 pm

nah, i’m not a P2 fans either.

My friends who bought P2 oso complaint, BUT they rather stay with P2 choice than P1

• semput on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:40 am

ini kereta betul betul kasi aziah semput.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 17
  • car lover on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:40 am

what is the weight of the car?
    why never mention one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • why you have to know the car weight? mau test power angkat kereta kah? hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 22
      • driver on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Power-to-weight ratio la bro. I’m also curious about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • fatcar@protong on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:22 pm

looks like this green grasshopper still has much to learn lol. Lurk more, noob.

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:01 pm

If they mention the weight, you will not place a booking anymore..this is marketing..buy first think later..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 76
    • Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:31 pm

According to the ASEAN NCAP publication, it’s 1150kg.

• prabowi on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:03 pm

1150kg? This is one obese b segment car.

• gunar on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:46 pm

City oso 1150kg, satisfied?

• The Obvious on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:18 pm

No its 1080kg. Still lighter and more powerful than the Iriz. Honda don’t build slow and gas guzzling cars.

• intermilan on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:22 pm

1150kg..

For a B-segment hatch, that is slightly on the heavier side of the spectrum .. but still within acceptable range. Just.

Having said that, the 1150kg should be the kerb weight of the 1.6L Executive.

If that’s true, the 1.3L variants should tip the scale better (lighter).

Just don’t expect the 1.6L to be a zoom zoom drive lah.. the 1.3L even worse, but this is a normal point A to B vehicle.

Wish they would publish both engine’s power and torque curve graphs.

• https://betulbetulonz.com.my/

feel free to browse for the WEIGHT there.

• it’s in the proton website.

• Àlahai (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:41 am

3 years free service 5 years warranty? Wow

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 6
    • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 116
      • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Perodua discontinue 3 years free service recently, but they offer 5 years warranty. Perodua only want to earn more because people would have to service their car at Perodua for a prolonged period and pay for service to keep the warranty. but now Proton give 3 year free service + 5 year warranty… Perodua salesman said it’s not important factor just because they simply doesn’t give similar offer.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 2
        • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:11 pm

LMAO, seriously!? You still fall for this?
          Are you sure you from 1M4U? Written on paper & do is TWO different things! When the time for you to claim part from P1, they sure you “BIASA LA INI,TIDAK APA PUNYA NI!” attitude! Than dont come back and give many complaint!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:24 pm

There is shortage of food, land, money, but never shortage of blind Proton fanboys with Proton 5S lifestyle.

1. Sendiri Cakap
          2. Sendiri Syok
          3. Sentiasa Rosak
          4. Sales Carnival
          5. Semakin Mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
          • Man Lancer GTE on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:38 pm

The same old syok sendiri comment from you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • Seriously on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:06 pm

Lol you just shot yourself in the foot. You forgotten your perodua also offered same thing before, or you just joined perodua? BTW, is your name really refers to MaleDogFemaleDog?

Seriously, you better follow-up on your Axia and Myvi prospects. Otherwise, they might go buy the Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Seriously. I LMAO so much on MaleDogFemaleDog! But is actually “people who complaining too much” in hokkian. MaleDogFemaleDog is GaoKangGaoBu. LOL
          Indeed! You are awake! But why you stop surgery?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • silvia 33 on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:41 am

Good Job Proton.Best car in segment B with lowest price compare to the other Brand.Better than Axia and Myvi also.Look nice exterior and interior.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 10
    • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:20 pm

nothing special..just for poor people who cant afford Ford Fiesta, in another words, Fiesta wannabe hardcore fans will buy this..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 42
    • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:37 pm

i bet you have never seat on either car.. look at the meter on Iriz omgggosh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
      • Make sure dont drive your Axia so fast..because afraid the odometer will turn twice…hahahahaha..you or you will fly to the sky..

• Irwan on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:42 am

woooooo! bangganya jadi rakyat Malaysia! Proton terbaik!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 15
  • Hah.

Apa lagi,compare lah dengan Axia.

-Power window rosak
    -Timing chain
    -Badan tin milo
    -Overprice
    -Tak jimat minyak

Here we go. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 121
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Lame and stupid GSC..PROTON will be back as No.1 soon!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • stranger on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Proton already No.1 la, from last.

Not a single company dare to be No.2 from last.

Don’t worry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Ah Beng you can keep on dreaming. lol

Proton already No.1 in begging government money. You proud now? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • The Obvious on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:23 pm

How do you define soon 10 years or in malaysia boleh term 1000 years. Soon in Malaysia is many lifetimes in Japan.

• Jika AXIA accident teruk, U tak akan nampak owner post comments kat sini. Jadi sila beritahu public AXIA ni selamat minyak tapi tak selamat nyawa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • Nah.

Myvi pun ade masalah:

-Power window rosak
      -Gear rosak
      -Badan tin milo
      -Overprice
      -Tak jimat minyak

You dunno ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • farid on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:42 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 118
    • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:44 pm

kesian you..like this alos dislike so much..i smell there’s a lot butthurt P1 salesman around..i feel you..brotherhug.jpg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
  • flashstamp on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:42 am

good looking car. ESC for all variant..good job P1

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 5
    • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:52 am

What about after sales service?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 71
      • naz6411 on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:14 pm

u me ur ASS…shut up la bodo..they offer 3 year free service + 5 year warranty…apa lagi lu mau haaaa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:39 pm

i get dislike on this too? if i get over 200 dislike on this single comment i will stfu..OK? seriously? you guys so butthurt? LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 48
  • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:44 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 223
    • BestOfLuckP1 on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:48 am

What about MyVi and Axia?? All engine same, 2 air bag. Totally cosmetic, ha3…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 1
      • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:53 pm

You’ve lost your logic, small car are meant for city drive, when you are driving in KL area with those jam. What you do with your 1.6L iriz? Drink more petrol! 1.0L Axia is sufficient, it help save lots of petrol. 2 airbag are more than enough jor. I not advise you to drive your 1.6L on highway, even if you do, please drive below 90KM/H. to be safe..over the limit, you will fly kite yo..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 67
        • Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:40 pm

No, man. Kancil’s were meant for city drives too. In Japan (Daihatsu Mira). Yet, you can see them sometimes being used for cross-country balik kampung trips. Then what are you gonna do? Blame them for using a city car for their balik kampung?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
          • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:46 pm

That’s why i said bro, if you have no choice but only got a small car (below C segmment) to balik kampung, drive below 90KM/H and stick on the LEFT LANE, please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
          • Obviously (Member) on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:25 am

Ford Fiesta, Peugeot 208, Renault Clio, Mercedes Benz A-class and other capable B-segment hatches would have something to say to you.

• MoFaz (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:57 am

Axia from E (Empty) to Advance price also differ by almost 20k but still have the same engine, and doesn’t give extra airbags and rear camera like Iriz. you can topup RM2k and buy another Axia (E)mpty.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 0
      • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:02 pm

You are so Right when you compare A to B seg! Proof again Axia WIN hands down! Victory AXIA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 35
        • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:34 pm

who’s comparing different segment? do you mean it’s ok for Axia to have price difference of RM20k between the lowest and top spec but not ok for Proton car to have different price like that? you’re getting more and more ridiculous the more you speak. i would say more stupid too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
          • kzm (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:49 pm

gud reply..haha

• Just like Same LOrrr & Motorhead he is getting more & more stupid every minute.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:17 pm

Bad logic…

Not all of the things you get from Standard to Premium are purely cosmetic, for eg, rear view camera and touchscreen head unit. Proper keyless entry and push start is actually a very convenient feature. Don’t know how the sunshades work, but in equatorial Malaysia, any shading is welcome. And then there’s the leather. All these and more are on top of the 1.6L engine for more power and on top of the 4 additional airbags to mitigate side impact injuries.

I’m sorry if you can’t brain that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • izzad on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:18 pm

so you’re saying your face doesn’t worth rm20k? because you know, another 4 airbags are too excessive to save it? haha

• You dont know right axiah is having problem.. Big body with small engine…yeah u can save petrol if only there is one straight highway without bukit .. small engine to carry more weight surely you have press more the pedal..hahaha..just my 2 cent..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0rrr on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Ford Ecoboost even smaller engine – 1.0L. But no way Suprima S turbo can beat it too. So?

Please comment with reasonable common sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • adoiiii…statement makan diri..kelakar la ko ni..hahahaha..20 ribu dapat engin besar..dapat safety lebih..axiah ?20k sama je…cuma tambah skirting sket2..hahah

• RM25k Beli kosong milo tin AXIA byk mahal

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:53 pm

I dont understand why people say RM25k Axia is Kosong? Got 4 wheel rolling, 5 doors, fit in 5 people nicely. You have forget what car USED to be, car bring you from A to B. -THE END- KOSONG? hard to brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 27
        • The Real Same LOrrr on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Alahai bodoh yang amatnya dia ni!

• DiamDiamLa on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:13 pm

Diam diam la

• NoBrainer on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:47 pm

still dont get the fact ahh? KOSONG mean = no radio, no speaker, steeal wheel and wheel cap, instead of remote alarm key to unlock/lock the car u have too do it insert and turn the key.

• ex P2 Salesman on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Kepala dia kosong takde otak mana nak faham.

• DiamDiamLa on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:12 pm

Diam diam la

• wama1go on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:44 am

wow, just wow. I can’t wait to test drive the car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 6
    • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Make your you test drive for at least 1 year long before you buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
  • VVT. So they replace timing belt with timing chain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 93
    • Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:04 pm

What does VVT have to do with timing chains?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
    • What I meant was, the engine should use timing chain instead of timing belt to save maintenance cost.

• BestOfLuckP1 on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:45 am

Proton got my respect this time

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 9
  • ahso ngan on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:45 am

AKU SUDAH CANCEL PELODUA AXIA…SIKARANG LAGI MAU BELI INI KELETA…ADA 6 AIRBAG JADI JIKALAU ACCIDENT TALAK CEDERA DARAH SGT TERUK

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 166 Thumb down 16
    • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:51 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 167
      • driver on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Reading all your comments.. it shows you know. Which p2 kedai are you from? Maybe can promote to my friends who want an axia …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Don Juan De Marco on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Axia sux!

• KUS (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:47 pm

If follow this kind of ideology, might as well downgrade further to rm5000 motorbike from Axia, then save another rm20k, for another downpayment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 0
      • Kosong AXIA mau lagi RM25k, byk mahal laa bang.

• Allen on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Bila orang sudah tak ada……
        Ada wang apa Guna?

• Irwan on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:59 am

tahniah bro…. anda belanja rm20k untuk keselamatan anda dan keluarga anda!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 4
    • meng meng on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Yup, tapi comfirm wallet awak mesti cedera teruk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 63
      • driver on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:01 pm

Wallet cedera sikit tak apa, jangan badan cedera teruk masa kemalangan. Isi dalam wallet boleh diganti, isi dalam badan macamana? Masa tu, jual banyak-banyak axia pun dah tak ada guna.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
      • naz6411 on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:17 pm

YOLO

• ayamitik on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:20 pm

good decision. 1.0 litre vs 1.6 full blown with all the funky safety gadget is a good choice. punny 66hp compared with 107hp. Axia, prepared to makan asap iriz. that for sure.

• Bataman on Oct 13, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Obviously havent test drive the car…..Iriz Cvt is ovrweight fat car and slower than most japanese 1.5L sedan. A mawi will smoke it easily. AXIA Idont know. …havent test drive Axia yet.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:36 pm

P1 sales agent smelt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
    • Ex Proton user on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:32 am

yes… get the variant with more airbags if you really want to buy a proton… failure rate higher.

• Aero (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:48 am

Well done and congratulations Proton on the launch of the new Iriz ! I’m sure your sales will improve significantly in the coming months. Now that the domestic launch is done, I hope Proton can work quickly on their export plans, and try to launch the Iriz in as many countries as possible.

And well done to the paultan.org team for the excellent live coverage ! It was almost as if I were there. This article came out so fast, exactly 11:19am when the car was revealed on stage ! That’s what I call professional and efficient !

I’m looking forward to paultan.org’s review of the Iriz.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 4
    • Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:21 pm

I’m thinking that this launch article was pre-prepared and ready for posting when the embargo is lifted. They’ve already viewed the car previously and most of the points would have been jotted down already. Not saying that this cheapens their coverage (it is a legitimate move to save time and improve work quality), but that’s how I theorize they posted so much info so quickly.

Of course, you could have already figured that out and I’m just pointing out the obvious.

• TerungPanjang on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:55 am

Ok where is the front fog lamp on Iriz premium 1.6?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
    • Anti-Establishment on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:34 pm

No fog lamps.

I have fog lamps on my car and I hardly use it.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Malaysians do not need front fog lamps. DRLs can accomplish the purpose of showing others where you are in heavy rain. So can your headlights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Obviously you are stupiak. Fog light are mean to switch on during “FOGGY” environment e.g. you go getting OR when raining heavily! Stop misleading other people as stupiak as you to use DRL! DRL means DAY RUNNING LIGHT which is for Day time purpose! stop your idiot brain to thinking that using DRL to replace Fog lamp!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
        • Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Man, you’re funny. The purpose of fog lamps are to increase your visibility. Don’t say they are for illuminating the road during fog and heavy rain. Their effective range is super short and can only illuminate 1-2 meters in front of your car or have you never bothered to see how far the lights are cast?

Have you seen some of the DRLs in use? Sibeh bright wei. They can’t illuminate the road but they can make you quite visible.

• Blue-traveler on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Ha, Mr t, ever been caught in a heavy downpour while on NKEV.? You will thank your fog lamp more then your fancy DRL….does fog lamp help during Asian heavy raining season. SH$T yeah, just as much when I drove in the foggy road in Canada or US. high beam sucks big time in foggy road. That’s where DRL + Fog lamps come in. Btw, most of the time when I drive the bimmer, I switch off the DRL, in daytime. It’s usless expect to help the hidden kopi police mark you more then the other cars.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:55 pm

DRL actually means Daytime Running Lights. And they’re running for as long as the car is in the ON mode. They’re on all the time, there’s no need to switch them on.

Malaysians prefer DRL more than fog lamps, actually. When given fog lamps, they’ll switch it on their wide dispersion can be quite blinding to other road users. DRLs serve the same purpose and are less blinding.
          Plus, they can look so friggin’ cool.

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Again, You are out of logic, during night time there is a switch to turn on fog & the DRL will turn off, even it don’t off at least will dimmer. Unless you are using those CAP AYAM brand self modify. AGAIN, DRL are for day time, not during Fog/Heavy rain. You easily BLIND people eyes when you switch on at night! This is a major issue. Hope people like you don’t abuse it!

• KPKB. Komen mu hanya menyerlahkan kebengapan mu sayang.

• ganni on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:57 am

nice design and spec..in term of the size is bigger than myvi..anyway..what happen to the boot volume??expect to be bigger..

• g00fy on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:57 am

wow! can i trade in myvi and get a discount??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
    • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Myvi you drive over than 5 years on road you can still sell above 70%of the value, but this P1 model when you drive 5 year only can throw in trash contruction site.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
      • Old Beetle Man on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Starting from the launching of Iriz today your MyVi will be depreciated faster.

• matkool on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:58 am

Nice job proton! Although the production value of the presentation boleh dimaafkan. The car looks damn good!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • rosli on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:58 am

overprice.
    rear design out date like myvi 1st model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 83
  • Faris on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:00 pm

iriz offer the best specs on the local market. irreristable car i can say. very lucky those who manage to win this car through “nama siapa hebat” contest. five ***** for this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • rosli on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:00 pm

over price like myvi.
    rear design outdated like myvi 1st model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 71
  • Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:02 pm

The cars look surprisingly good in genuine, non-rendered photos from the front quarter view where they showed off the color options. The blue and red ones are especially nice and on the red one, you can see the potential of it becoming the new Saga 1.6SE with all red body paint and grey-toned bodykits.

The manual stick shift does look kinda weird with the black piano black patch on it, though.

Now….Test drive review! Test drive review!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
    • driver on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Indeed. Am looking for Saga3, possibly a hybrid? (wink wink)

Yup, test drive review comes next.

• proton rocks, stop bashing , comparison should be made based on facts and figures,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
    • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:31 pm

The fact is Iriz still carrying Proton badge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 31
      • kzm (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:55 pm

ya la ya la…Perodua Iriz..ok?

• ex P2 Salesman on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:05 pm

The fact is MyVi still carrying Daihatsu rebadged. Over 20 years yet only know how to design bumper & badge.

• taboogen on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:05 pm

sweet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • kuriang on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:08 pm

I’ll say the rear profile is much better than jazz..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
  • btw, how about steering? do they use telescopic, height adjustable only or fixed location (same with axia)?
    another question would be, how about the co-pilot seat and rear seat folding function? can it be tweak to achieve similar effect to jazz?

still interested to this car, but need more info…

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Peylirno. .

Where’s your bookings 17K here?.. protong officials still numb on figures?

Hahaha. .. Hahaha. . Huahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 71
    • Anti-Establishment on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:23 pm

You know, reading your incessant harping about sales figures got me Googling and all I can say about it is this – NO POINT HAVING HIGH SALES BUT LOW PROFIT MARGIN.

I don’t think Axia’s profit margin is much better than Proton’s to be honest – A-segment cars more often than not are not high margin vehicle, hence why carmakers need to push out tons of it out. So I ask you: 13,000 units at a profit margin of RM 500 per unit or 10,000 units at a profit margin of RM 1000 per unit – which is better?

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:32 pm

You got an arrow to your knee, to sum up is P1 Value for Your Money! but P2 Value your Pocket Money! Wake up la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Axia defeated in all aspects… now they can only compete with booking numbers.. moronhead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Ya ya..

So how’s bookings anyway? Brapa? Some of you said I auta.. but penyunoo said 17K dy?

Ohh.. okok.. numbers doesn’t mean the car not good.. ahh.. like Preve is it?

Okok.. fhm2. . Quality subjective. . Numbers also subjective is it?

Rugi also can..

Untung capitalists. . Plotong must be a welfare company.. rugi xpa.. bole minta duet sama gov..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
      • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:18 pm

I wonder how you do business analysis.. do you even read the article properly? it’s mentioned there that the Proton CEO said Iriz has 17,000 bookings. moronhead.

• Seriously on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:21 pm

Haiya, corporate bigshot Motorhead. Don’t be so eager to bash la. Read the WHOLE article and the booking numbers for the Iriz is mentioned in there. You have to show the people you are idiotic, for what?

• peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:08 pm

i think simeone already paste the link of official state

neway where is ur official 30k booking 2 uear waitung period

jahaha

prfffthhhhh

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 142
    • no need to spend money on vios because you cant carry five persons in vios..hahahahah..if you know the case of vios la..hahah

• yello on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:11 pm

this engine is using timing belt or chain…paultan..need some answers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 49
  • Lookman on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Iriz 1.6 VVT 107hp & 150Nm torque.
    Ford Fiesta 1.6 122hp & 152Nm torque.
    But FoFi cannot beat IRIZ price..

• Pretty impressive. Only concern is the quality. This only will know after a few years of using. If no problem, then this iris a the turning point for proton. Keep it up proton.

• isengard12 on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:17 pm

new engine? just checked http://www.carbase.my/ that the HP + torque of this so called newer engine block with VVT (1.3) got the same figure with the Saga (1.3)? Can enlighten?

• 1.6L is 6.6 litres per 100 km (15.2 km/l) for the MT and 7.4 litres per 100 km (13.5 km/l) for the CVT car, on the European NEDC combined cycle.

Proton just DESTROYED the advantage of CVT tranny… HAHAHAHA..

Only jaguh kampung.. which country buy with those kind of FC..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • notso on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Nope. That’s very good actually, it’s like a manual kancil 850 cc in city driving FC

This Iriz is 1600cc, wow!

• Nubians on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:20 pm

Dear paultan, what is the fc for 1.3 model mt and cvt?

• amirul on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:20 pm

i guess too little, too late…

• 13.5 km/liter only cvt version ,everything is good,but the fuel consumption is bad in class. honda jazz local managed to get 17.81 km/litre (manufacturer’s data, New European Driving Cycle)

• prabowi on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:09 pm

FC has never been protons forte. Never been its priority.

• jazzer on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:55 pm

When you enter KL Penang JB traffic jams, you can throw those number into rubbish bin!

Welcoem to real world!

• The Obvious on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:26 pm

13.4 you sure. Thats what manufacturers claim, with perfect conditions. It will probably do less, but give it a year, than the real figure will appear. My myvi says 15.4 but i am averaging 13.5km/l

• Actually, 1st decent design from Proton i am interested in. Pls dont compare with Axia which is totally different class. 1.6 MT is wat i am interest …however, only plan to buy a 3-4 year old used 1.6 MT Iriz proton car. 20k range is the value i will consider for a used Iriz.

• It could have better name….. *facepalm*

• this is what we call the real product of malaysian car with its own distinctive design.i cant deny this car is really good looking car. cant wait to see this car on the road beat the daihatsu perodua myvi

• Hallo Brader! on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Nice, the standard spec come with alloy wheels instead of rim kompang, also a ABS for standard spec.

• IRIZ is by PROTON

AXIA is by PEROTSU…..

you choose…

• by the way is it the same cvt gearbox ffrom suprima??? if yes then gonna be noisy?

• Faizal on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:38 pm

As a Perodua Myvi SE 1.5 owner, i am proud to say that this time Proton has nailed it! Proud of you Proton!
    If Proton Iriz came out a bit early before i bought this Myvi. But… What to do. What’s done is done..

So guys, any ideas how can i change my Myvi to buy Iriz? (bought on 11/12/2013, just less than a year used)

p/s: Im still a student and my dad bought the Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • proton lover on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:47 pm

no need to change car bro..myvi still a very good cars..use it until u puas then bru u changed..less a year want to change..rugi wo.cat pun msih berkilat..lgipun myvi minyk pun jimat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • if u want to change car pls change to vios.. u will regret if u buy this cheap plotong… as for your myvi u can throw it away… pelodua also cheap and lousy like plotong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:25 pm

student nowadays… use whatever you have, be grateful to your father and don’t take it for granted. once you earn your own salary then buy whatever you want.
      or if you think your father is very sporting, ask him to change it to Iriz. you can say that your life is important, must drive car with 6 airbags.

• The Obvious on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:30 pm

If you want to change car, please change to Myvi. It has a track record, parts are cheap and fuel is decent not fantastic. Good resale value and everybody is driving it, meaning everybody cant be stupid. Oh wait a minute you already have a Myvi. The reason you want to change again????

• Despite what Bashers may justify devilling it, this Iriz really a killer…however felt sorry on the FC though…Congratz Proton

• Very well packaged with all the safety features as standard. Nice.

The accessories are great too.. Alloy wheels even for base variant etc.

Mr. Danny Tan, is there a cruise control available? At least in the premium variant?

• Mozilla Chrome on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Wanna see more of white one..

• Hang Tuah on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:43 pm

Is it the same engine as Proton saga??? it seen a bit heavy fuel exhausted… due market so much better car and so much cheaper than this with same segment. why should choose Proton Iriz?

• say something on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:43 pm

I just cancelled my myvi 1.5 SE auto this morning.
    This car is just amazing! Hope that I won’t regret of buying this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Wish you best of luck, hope you dont visit SC so often.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • Ex Proton user on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:44 am

during our lifetimes, we would make such mistakes like this one in the spur of moments when you forget to sit and think hard before making a decision that would regret for significant years to come and scarred for life. understandable but make sure you would learned from it and never make the same mistake twice.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:43 pm

Mareyy beli..

You deserve to be conned.

Hehehe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 60
  • ByStander on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:45 pm

WTF? only the one who praise the car got like, whoever is criticizing got tons of dislike.. is this Iriz that good?

Engine efficiency is always the question.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 61
    • Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Most of the critics of the car you see here don’t have any basis for their criticisms except for Proton’s bad track record.

Those who praise the cars are hopefuls looking at spec sheets, comparing specs with other car manufacturers, or are praising purely from an aesthetics perspective.

The car’s fuel efficiency ratings are listed above, so there’s no question about that. They’re not very fuel efficient, but not too inefficient either. You must compare the value with other NEDC combined cycle ratings for a valid comparison, not to your own driving style.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
      • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Experience speak louder than your stupiak paper sheet!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
        • Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Are you trying to be cute by saying stupiak?

I know very well that experience speaks louder than paper, but I have yet to have a chance to experience this car so that’s all I have. You’re dragging Proton’s dirt from its years of bad track record for everyone to see. We have all heard of these things before. But some people believe that others can change. You are not one of those people, so you’ll always be stuck in the past, stuck with all your bitterness, unable to move on. People like you will miss out on many things.

For me, I don’t actively support Proton. I will call a spade a spade, a boot a boot. If I were to test the Iriz and find it to be wanting, I’ll be calling it out. If it happens to be good, then I’ll be sure to let others know. Ownership experience has always been a sore point for Proton, and perhaps you’re infuriated by that. But people can change. Companies can change.

Whether Proton has changed or not, we’ll find out soon enough. If they don’t change, they’re in for a world of hurt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
          • xxxsa on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Well said. That’s a very clear display of thinking-out-of-the-box, positive thinking and respectful mindset. If only average Malaysians are having this thought and we won’t be stuck as miserable 3rd world mindset.

Hats off to you sir

• xxxsa on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:35 pm

Well said. That’s a very clear display of thinking-out-of-the-box, positive thinking and respectful mindset. If only average Malaysians are having this thought and we won’t be stuck in miserable 3rd world mindset.

Hats off to you sir

• goproton on Oct 01, 2014 at 2:26 pm

despite, as you mentioned ownership experience has always been sore point for proton, i myself might be the one rare lucky proton owner.. i bought gen2 back in 2005.. the only issue i had in these almost 10 years of ownership is only the central locking problem which i think it was just a small issue that i can live with.. but one thing for sure that makes me admire this car is the decent handling that safe my limb and other road user`s life at least twice.. then in 2012, i bought an inspira.. its been almost 2 years now and im still happy with it.. only go to sc for periodic maintenance.. i married in 2010 with my wife and her myvi.. in those 2 year ownership, i personally think myvi not as good as its reputation.. if put other things aside except for `option` that we have, i think that proton is still worth to consider for someone that value safety and handling/driving excitement the most – until 1 day the import duty are no more.. but, against all odds, hope that proton will still be out there n shine!

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:33 pm

What to do..i’m telling the fact but majority people are blind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 45
      • kzm (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:24 pm

What fact u give? Axia>all? Is that fact?

• kzm dolop on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:54 pm

Better than you, person of no brain. Semua dapat free dan masih mau pakai tongkat mahu bising lagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • Le Zap de Spion on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Nope, it’s the potong cybertroopers out in force to show support for their idol. As though we care about upvotes on a web forum, kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Do u read those bashing comment? Most r retard bashing..do la proper opinion regardless bad or good..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • kzm dolop on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Brader, your existence depends on people’s hard work. All you know how to do is tongkat and mintak diskaun. The only retard is you. Don’t call others retard. By the way, it should read as, “Did you read” not “Do u read”. That is retard English

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • all rounder on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:53 pm

if the only think you care is engine efficiency, get the famous vios VVTi.
      this car is just the all well balanced car.
      with safety equipment, and all kits available. I dun say it is really good since proton does not have good quality yet till now.
      my house have:
      2009 proton persona 1.6, 131k mileage
      2010 perodua alza 1.5, 50k mileage
      2010 toyota avanza 1.5s, 59k mileage
      2011 proton saga 1.3, 40k mileage
      2014 toyota vios 1.5E, 2k mileage

i can say the vios is not as petrol saving as expected, buying it after seeing all the vios people saying it is fuel saving is just pure bullshit.

people say perodua have better quality than proton but i will say no. the alza rattles more than the saga and persona. but yes the alza fuel consumption is ok.

the avanza drink the same amount of fuel as persona on highway trip which makes the persona better choice due to driving experience.

the new vios is remarkably quiet. only inside. the new vios exhaust note is so loud outside!

persona only cost 56k to come with 2 airbags, 4 disc brake, ABS and EBD. hydraulic lift boot if you all are concerned. better horn also. biggest boot space with foldable rear seat, remote boot release.

the vios cost 86k to come with also 2 airbags, but drum brake of coz with ABS and EBD, remote boot release also. but cheap horn. very good wind soundproofing but I think they took the soundproof material from the roof so that they can offer you soundproof for the doors! when it rains, it sounds like the zinc at the house!

saga is cheap at 40k but got nothing just like the alza.

avanza wise, doesn’t wanna talk much about it coz it is not nice to drive anyhow.

So we expect to have at least things that make us feel satisfied. This car will be as efficient as the so called efficient vios, have safety with Stability control and all the touch screen stuff here and there. So far haven’t get met a car that satisfied every aspect of consumer wants. Toyota does gave me the quality but it is so boring to drive. Proton give me much fun when driving but the quality is not that good. Is a trade off.

So for me all those people that keep saying which is better are just commenting on their pros and other ppl cons. of coz for all rounder I will also say this car is nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
      • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:10 pm

tldr; but i see you are Bios fanboy, so give you my comment, Firstly your Bios cannot seat 4 fat people in car, why? because you cannot! you cannot cross 5cm bump. 2nd your Bios sound like disco when raining! you can mute your speakers and enjoy! The end of my sincere comment. KTHXBYE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
        • Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:44 pm

If you bothered to read, you can tell that he isn’t a Vios fanboy. Just giving his 2k km mileage’s worth of ownership experience as well as driving experience from his family’s other cars.

I like his discourse. It was somewhat detailed and quite unbiased. Sounds like he has quite a big family though, to have so many cars in the stable.

• Vios is not safe car, it does not havesafety feature such as Electronic Stability control ( ESC ) which can save your life. And Vios in other country ( called YARIS) comes with ESC standard, just not in Malaysia.

• with no ESC, Toyota VIOS will lose control. See example here, Jalan Kerinchi:
          https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3x7vKzEfZUU

• soya cincau (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:46 pm

1.6 premium is way better than vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Agree but still lost to Axia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
      • spongebob on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:31 am

@KPKB

Axia > Iriz > Vios??

Seriously?! You dare declare war on your big brother T? How many bookings have you lost on the axia? Pity you..

• JustPassby on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:47 pm

I dont like proton car but this is better deal than honda ugly jazz no doubt..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 9
    • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:34 pm

What to do..poor fag only can compare with low class car..they never go above the line forever!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 37
  • Anti PreOccupied on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:48 pm

If your mind has been already pre-occupied with the idea of ” malaysian brand” ( Proton / Perodua) is lousy, never ever able to compete with other, etc etc..by all means, no matter how Proton & Perodua try top improve their products, you will come to any online automotive website like Paultan, and keep on harrasing/ judging ( even without reading the whole text) and pretending that you are some sort of automotive genius and start to influence others to hate the car. :)

Be open minded guys..
    Be critical & fair.
    Too much unfair, bias comment in Paultan..
    I am not saying that we shall not complaint, in fact we need to comment for the betterment of the industry, but we need a constructive comment :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • Super Saiyan (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:50 pm

A very good looking car and good safety features. I think this car will be well accepted globally. Please improve marketing strategy. Good luck to Proton and for those whom looking for new 2nd car, this is definitely a good choice.

• Cancel booking with perodua n get this car instead.

• guest on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:52 pm

I really don’t know why people keep compare Axia and Iriz, both are in different segment and different sales approach. Axia is marketed as EEV while Iriz is Safety. If you want good FC, then just go for Axia, if want good safety, then vote for Iriz.

Also, the new Iriz is really good in design if compare to previous model, and the safety of Iriz is much better compare to others as it equipped with ESC which is located to higher specs of imported cars.

Axia in the other hand is EEV vehicle. The FC of Axia is really good if compare to most cars. But the car lack the ABS to its Standard E in term of safety, the most basic a car must have these days. Hence the starting price of the Axia so cheap.

So compare to both Axia and Iriz:

Axia – Cheap (easily owned with income less than RM2000/mth), Good FC (save fuel), poor safety (high % death in car crash)
    Iriz – Expensive (monthly income better put at RM3000), acceptable FC (regular at pumps), Good safety (lower % death in car crash)

So you decide which you like..

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:26 pm

The Malaysian market seems to be that way. As long as 2 vehicles are priced close to each other, there will be comparisons. What more, 2 of our local carmakers launching 2 vehicles in quick succession. People will definitely compare the two, even though the targets of both cars are quite different.

One thing is for sure, though: The MyVi has been effectively killed by both of these cars.

• guest on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:03 pm

You got a point there, its time for a major upgrade for Myvi to survive.Put all the goodness into Myvi and we will have another show to watch.

If the new Myvi got:
        Aluminium engine block + VVT ( Green engine EURO V )
        ABS,ESC,6 Airbag,front/rear parking sensor,security film,nice and big interior,…whats more?

Guess how much Perodua gonna price the car then? Hope we can see that coming..

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:39 pm

What’s more? Reverse cam, touchscreen head unit.

70k, maybe? Haha

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:44 pm

I actually hope they change out the gearbox. I really dislike the characteristics of the 4AT because of the sometimes large change in engine RPM between shifts. Plus, it’s less efficient because of the large ratio gaps. 5ATs are better but not enough people care about transmission choice for Perodua to care.

• Mike Tan on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:01 pm

Thank you P1 for including isofix across all variants!

• forgoodd on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:02 pm

Just cane out from jalan ipoh proton branch, not bad car, I can try and test all I want without problem since just less then 5 customer at the same time watching this iriz.

• front and console like fiesta,back like Hyundai ilo.
    certainly nicer looking than the ugly jazz.
    Just like a premium myvi.

• esaukiao on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:03 pm

The design is quite nice to look at but how about the structural chassis design?
    In case of the car overturn will the roof panel able to withold the impact or will it collapse on the driver and passengers?
    Asean NCAP nor the euro ncap include the mention tests before giving out those stars.
    For the safety feature, I still prefer buying myself a Subbie(although its in different vehicle category).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • farghmee on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:16 pm

i dun have answer for that (iriz).

but looking at safety,
      when exora was introduced, there was a rollover test done on exora. i’m no expert in crash analysis, so pls youtube that.

after exora, proton came out with preve, with utilizes advanced stamping method to achieve higher metal strength than normal process could. & iriz comes with this RESS structure also.

implying these are correct, i’m in no time will believe that chassis strength is proton’s forte.

pls google for few accident cases regarding preve. well again, im not an automative engineer to confirm ur findings.

ps: if im not mistaken, started from Waja, proton has complied to Gulf standard, whereby the roof structure must able to withstand the load in case of overturn.

• adzley on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:19 pm

There are 5 Hot Press Forming parts in Iriz’s sturucture. I dare to say that it is tough :)

• papaya5333 on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:03 pm

ABS+EBD+ESP+ min 2 airbags across the ranges is really a highly commendable move by Proton. For that, “Well Done!!” However I just wonder how will potential onwers view the price of Rm6+k for a B-segment national car (may it be P1 or P2).

• RUGAL on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Still, some of us might think that timing chain is the REAL technology for cars.

• guest on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:36 pm

The timing chain already been around for decades. Its not new technology anymore. There are several common timing system in cars and lorries, example is timing chain, timing belt and timing gear.The comparison for timing chain and timing belt is:

Timing chain – long service life, louder operation noise, expansive price
      Timing belt – short service life, quieter operation noise, cheaper price

When timing belt been introduce, there is a time when almost all cars equipped with timing belt, as the belt is made from rubber so the cost is low compare to timing chain that made from iron, or alloy. So its no new news that car maker shift to timing chain or timing belt, as long as the engine problem is minimal..

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:13 pm

The timing chain predates the timing belt. It’s old tech but it’s still no less advanced.

Adding on to your comparo list.

Timing chain – heavier (more inertia for engine to overcome, so slight impact to engine performance and fuel economy), the more advanced (and more expensive) timing chains are quiet.
        Timing belt – lighter (less inertia for engine to overcome).

• cheaper price and shorter service life is still relevan compared to timing chain. Mana ada org servis timing belt 3-4 bulan skali kan….

• axia lover on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:07 pm

To motorhead
    Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah revealed that the company has 17,000 bookings in hand, to date. Full mass production will start in October, along with deliveries of the first customer cars.

Read more: http://paultan.org/2014/09/25/proton-iriz-launched/#ixzz3EIi7KgX8

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Good try.. what a rubbish.

Folks go ahead open the link.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Booking numbers are actually on this page. Ctrl + F and type in bookings to find it.

• shawal on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:08 pm

It is a monumental task to take on the Myvi, but proton is very well equipped for the fight…

Its a good looking car, to many that should seal the deal, to some, worth noting that its all malaysian….

like the savvy before it, which later the platform is lengthened and used to create the saga…, I’m very well looking forward to the next saga…which will be based on Iriz’s platform..
    benchmark the vios for looks, and city for practicality..

for now, proton can be proud of themselves…

*** but is that 6.6L/100km FC is similar to Prever’s CFE ?

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Definitely not. The 6.6L/100km is measured using a constant 90km/h (lol) while this 6.6L/100km is measured under the NEDC combined cycle which is more realistic.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:47 pm

Clarification:

The Preve CFE’s 6.6L/100km is measured…while the Iriz’s 6.6L/100km…

• all rounder on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:57 pm

preve not based on the NDEC cycle.

• guest on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:42 pm

*** but is that 6.6L/100km FC is similar to Prever’s CFE ?

This is why Proton use new engine this time and not use the old Campro.The VVT in the new engine will surely have a big impact on the FC, as VVT already used by other car manufacturers and has proved to save fuel. Quite a nice move this time by Proton.

• VWfanboi on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:13 pm

This car looks good! They did a great job this time with the design, safety features and even the price! But i’m quite dissapointed with the fuel consumption for CVT gearbox thou

• guest on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:47 pm

The CVT gear box really not good in FC. The main selling point of CVT is just there is no significant power loss when accelerating as compare to Auto Gear box. Also the car will run smoother in CVT. I still prefer manual gear, not only it is fun changing the gear, it also keep me alert on the road..

• A few things : –

1. Great effort by Proton, at the moment it looks like a sure hit.
    2. Great pricing for the load of specs offered.
    3. Potentially this will create an attractive export market.
    4. P2 better come back with something better or even maybe a sedan or a crossover if they want to maintain their no 1 status from a market share point of view in Msia.

All that said, still hate the fact that we are paying extremely high prices for vehicles accross the board only so that these bunchy of jokers (P1/P2) can have their jollies!!

Guess have to be sutck with water downed entry level luxury brands instead of being able to really get my hands on some solid models and specs.

Congratualtions to Thailand and Indonesia. You should be greateful to Msia and you have no worries at all as to what the jokers are doing here as they will never ever rise up to the occasion and challenge you…at least not in my life time or with the current policies we have here.

Jaguh kampung rules!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Zahary on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Praise to Allah, Congratulation and all the best for Proton Iriz!
    I’m really Proud of Proton and my beloved country Malaysia. We can do it if we get the right people to manage Proton. I’m for sure to book one to replace my old kancil.
    Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
  • policeman on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Fuyoooh, got Vios dashboard stitching. You can go wrong when you have elements from God car. This car Winrar!

• Diana on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Excellent job Proton!
    i love proton and i’m using proton car…

• alphawolf on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:31 pm

I am not a Proton fan, or a fan of the government policies or politicians, but I do hope that this car will be a turn-around for Proton. Why?
    1) Tons of our money already “invested” into Proton. It would be disastrous if Proton is to be closed down and all the monies lost.
    2) A successful Proton will make opening up of the car market more likely.
    These are my opinions, so the monkeys and trolls here are welcome to disagree, I don’t really care :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Very good points you made. Really wish number 2 would happen sooner.

• alphawolf on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:55 pm

Thanks. Although you are welcomed to disagree with me, your posts are usually measured and “civilized”, compared to the vast majority of people here who just shouted something akin to BODOH and SOHAI at each other..
        Keep it up good sir.

• Alang Zach on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Those who belittle IRIZ tryg to hide how important is the ‘Hot Press Forming (HPF)’. Also the ESP. The idiot haters only talks about the airbags to fool the genuine buyers. This car has got everything better and cheaper against myvi . Myvi better in 260 ltrs boot space. I’ll definitely buy this car !

• Hedges on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:32 pm

No white Iriz?

• Berann on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:35 pm

Well done proton to have ABC,EBD,HA,BA and ESC as std even for the lowest spec 42k .. Is a shame to see vios without ESC across the range and flagship Toyota Camry RM150k without ESC!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Seriously on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:45 pm

Please don’t disappoint us this time Proton. Not again, not now.

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:44 pm

Seriously? :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Seriously, I think if they do, there will be a whole generation of new Proton haters.

They have a lot riding on this car. They couldn’t possibly do something stupid to botch it now…could they? Haha, who knows. Wait and see.

• Le Zap de Spion on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Again these people left out the weights. ‘Car enthusiasts’ konon, haihh.

• Sam Boo on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Proton, pls put in the new VVT engine with larger cc into current Exora, to replace the aging campur engine which very kuat drinking petrol (although power is sufficient for this MPV), and your Exora will be much more attractive than now.

• taking advantage aaaa….good la you…

• Exora CFE / Turbo already got VVT inside
      Compare it with other 1400kg and 2.0l engine MPV/car please, NOT with SLK (small little kancil)

• ah chai on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Guys, Go and see and Drive the car before u give ur 2 cents comment.

I’ll go test Drive it This weekends.

On paper it sounds good. Good job proton.

• Ah Chai…these people comments based on their experience and their knowledge about the product. Even they have seen the car and drove it, it does not mean that their comment can be regards as professional. Let them comments laaa…its a “free” country…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • So heavy on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:55 pm

I couldn’t bare to look at the kerb weight figures….
    It’s heavier than Saga and almost on par with a Golf….

ORZ

• fatcar@protong on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:20 pm

omg I just checked out the official weights. The lightest 1.6(M) is 1150kg.

Power-to-weight ratio is worse than Suzuki Swift 1.4, Kia Rio 1.4. It’s basically in the same class as 1.4l cars, what a fatty.

• vti-L on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Golf weight is nearly 1300kg. Get your fact right.

Iriz 1.6l is same with 1.4l class car weight?
        That means it’s much more lighter.

• rickyll (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Nice looking car and well packed with all the safety features. The pricing is okay though a bit on the high side. Now what left to be considered is the performance of the so-called “new engine”. From what Danny has written, the FC for 1.6L manual is 15.2km/l and 13.5km/l for cvt as claimed by Proton, these are quite far off from the 18.?km/l on the video clip which we have seen some time ago. So, why the disparity in data given to the press. Personally, I had been stung by Proton thrice,(Saga, Iswara & Waja) and vowed not buy another Proton again, but this one is very tempting. Let the 17,000 pioneers sample the car first and to be honest, the thought of sending the car to Proton’s service centre really turns me off.

• labix7 on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:25 pm

this car kerb weight at 1150kg … so, maybe the actual FC as what they stated currently. As for 18km/l … maybe only in ‘control environment’ driving mode/condition..

• kzm (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:33 pm

18.2km/l is constant 90km/h those. 15km/l n 13km/l above is NEDH cycle. Better u re-read those article..

• sukai on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:57 pm

p2 getting butt hurt.. prove? you can identified one by bash p1 and praise p2 at top of the comments

• Sam Boo on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Lets have a slight cool down from the excitement of the Iriz launch. For ppl who has shortlisted this car but not hurrily to chg car by now, lets wait for 1 or 2 years to study the feedback of this car from 1st 2nd batch car owners then baru decide on next action then…

• victor tan (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:05 pm

Have anyone notice about the kerb weight???
    It is heavier than Saga and almost as heavy as C segment Vw Golf.

I’m afraid that this will hurt the FC…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • frossonice on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:21 pm

Where did you read it? Are you making things up hah?

• victor tan (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Bro, information is everywhere, all u need to do is use the search engine.

• FC is a concern, but can be forgiven if things are all more durable and solid. not to mention NVH levels is hopefully reduced.

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Told you thats P1 marketing, put all good on paper but hide all bad under table. Sadly, 1M4U people has no brain & eye. This will sell like Hot cake first year, 2nd year all crowed at SC to replace parts!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • kemalss (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:03 pm

curb weight 1185 for high line..
        go and read the brochure 1st la before comments.
        typical p2 salesman…

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:59 pm

That’s probably why the FC is in its current state even with the improvements made to the engine. A sacrifice for a tougher body, I guess.

• CarLover on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:07 pm

Proton has done a great job with this one. Whether the car will sell in truck loads or not will all depend on the market’s acceptance of the price. Imported brand prices are going down at a new low and I fear that this will affect Proton’s market share. If 7 or 9 years loan term was demolished, I’m sure many Malaysians will again flock back to the local brands.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Why can’t u do 7yrs loan? U can take 2yrs of loan if u have money…loan now is “up to 9 yrs” mean that u can take loan fr 1 to 9 yrs..

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:32 pm

CarLover meant that if the banks stopped giving out 7-9 year loans, then more people would be forced to buy local cars again. A bit of a misunderstanding…hehe

• rosli on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:10 pm

just came back from viewing live iriz car. 1.3 standard (M).

rears designed very poor like savy + myvi 1st model look.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • JoeRadzif on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Looking forward for Iriz R3 version..

lalalallaaaa

• sukai on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:14 pm

No doubt..this is the best car ever malaysian made

• protonsucks on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:15 pm

RM 62K for a proton car ?? this is ridiculous, they make use of the NAP system and sell expensive price. perodua u r even worse with your useless myvi…i find it so expensive just to buy a local car!! dont talk bout international car, even more expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • guest on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:56 pm

You just buy motor bike or bicycle then..For your own good health, i will ask you just walk everyday and never buy a car..

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:51 pm

If 1M4U is free from Robbers,Rapers…. I will walk. Take my words!

• guest on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:20 pm

What you say also true, now a day we can even get bobbed while in car..

• Fly High on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:15 pm

U got to be kidding..Too much gadjet and safety devices, still price lower than European car (ignored gov stupid tax n future GST)..Wa Lau Wei..Thank You P1 for making affordable and safe car for lower income like myself..

• CitizenX on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:16 pm

paultan.org, are you sure the engine is new? Block and etc? The Bore and Stroke sizes of Campro and Iriz are the same. So are the compression ratios. Even the power and torque outputs are the same!

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:20 pm

VSC?? 42K?.. mahal lah.. patut jual RM32 saje..

Dua airbags saje?

What? No EEV?.. ahh.. xde engine 1.0 pon.. xde duit for R&D..

Guna balik lah campro 1.3 & 1.6 sampai bankrupt.

Hahaha. ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 32
    • konxz on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Axia top spec 42k still no VSC? lagi mahal dari Iriz lah.. patut jual RM32K saje..2 airbags je punnnnn

1.0l saje? Iriz 1.6l bole smoke Axia sampai lebam

What? 21km/l? Itu NEDC not real KL traffic jam.

Guna balik lah enjin lama MyVi/Kelisa sampai bila-bila

Hahaha..

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Mari beli.. Axia kena tggu 1 thn..

Iriz. . Hari order besoh boleh hantar.

Sbb order mmg tak byk.

Hahaha. ..Hahaha. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • Miss nurdia on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Please support our local product!

I believe in Proton..

I want Proton to be the best in the WORLD..

Fighting2 Proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • driveabird on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Proton Edar / EON …teach your salesperson how to catch people heart..no more arrogant..equipped them with all the WOW factors…surely this good product will sell.

• izzuan hassan on Sep 29, 2014 at 9:32 pm

based on my automotive sales experience. Most buyers will concern more about financing such as loan margin, installments, interests. Because when people has decided to buy certain car they can live its flaw or weaknesses. Except if the decision was not of their own. Buyers with more knowledge in technical aspects of a car also do not depend on the salesperson to provide the information. Usually people who come over ask too many things about a car will nor end up buying the car. Buying car is a personal decision. like LOVE. If you love the car for whatever reason, you will be ready to spend your life with your decision and learn to live with and accepting the limitation of the car. but i may be wrong. cheers.

• goproton on Oct 01, 2014 at 3:40 pm

yeahh.. second to that…

sc and distributor are one of factors that gave proton a bad name.. for instance, found out defects in a brand new car is normal as no car manufacturer is ever clean from consumer complaint.. but the way proton sc and distributor treat issues raised by customer is sometime really unprofessional.. i can see that reflected in most proton`s car club/forum.. if such thing addressed by proton, their brand name can stand out further.. proton icare alone wont be able to do that

• nabill (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:31 pm

that 1.6 manual looks very tempting , must be fun to drive..u need balls to offer full spec in both manual and auto….
    one question is does this vvt engine stil have that iafm installed ?? from the pics of the engine bay looks like its no more , that can only be a good thing as it was very unreliable ,unrefined and troublesome unit….

i think in this class , quoting the 0-100 times is not what these cars are about anyway….a sub 10s/12s is more than quick enough…

and jus cant get why some only bother about timing belt or timing chain…what freakin difference does it make anyway??? or thats all thy know about engine parts i guess….its very lame and one dimensional…

looks wise looks good…front has that flx look but i prefer the rear , with the plastic cladding looks sporty n purposeful

wanted to go have a peek just now at a showroom nearby my place but jus too many people…

• The whole even was to bodek sesama sendiri and more importantly syok sendiri. Bodek will get you somewhere but it won’t keep you there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Just went to showroom just now and see this car myself…really sad to see my myvi compare to this.when i have to pay same price but this iriz have more to offer….wawawawawawawawawa … test drive look convincing…handling jauh beza dengan my myvi…i want to sel my myvi..awawawawaw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • yi ying on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Hmm.. ada salesmen p2 tak kat cni… nak cancel booking axia

• Lawrence on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:43 pm

I am surprised that 1.3 standard model does not have a rear wiper. It is a safety feature (rainy days) due to the hatchback geometry and fluid mechanics. I would strongly recommend to include the rear wiper even in the basic model. I hope Proton is reading and considering this feedback.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Iriz a big questions mark for now on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:53 pm

2 new vvt engine specs 1.3 to 1.6 but only a difference of 13HP & 30 Nm torque, not so good and the fuel consumption is not all that good !! Price difference of 11k to 13k between 1.3 & 1.6 low\high variants.

The exterior of the car looks good but the interior still moderate but definitely a plus for safety and keeping it the same across all variants except for air bags count.

I really think the pricing could have been better within the range of 35k to 55k (1.3 & 1.6) as touching 42k to 62K too much as there are other cars even through its different segments but many other reliable, cars out there for the selection.

Finally proton learn what is key-less entry coz I still remember the sales person mention the same thing for preve but still use remote to open, so well done, got bit of improvements done by proton.

End of the day, let the sales figures do the talking if proton wants to win back the hearts & minds of the rakyat…good luck proton but if failure is immanent then its bye bye protong !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Who cares about those numbers?
      Vios 109PS and City 125PS, makes no difference at all!

• Krasher on Sep 25, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Srsly?? Top spec for RM62k?
    Toyota Yaris G Spec costs RM60k only in Thai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • please someone tell me that gearknob isn’t permanent.

• viva owner on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Who want to buy my viva? I want to make down payment for Iriz…according to sam lorr, Toyota brand car has high RV. Viva is malaysia toyota. So, it should be high RV as well. Peace

• rosli on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:17 pm

viva owner,

sell to me for RM9 K cash. I need auto + power streeing model. call 0162529913.

• Nice looking car from front to 45 degree angle. However the rear lights i think could be better designed.

• firdaus on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:34 pm

went to proton showroom at Hicom during lunch time…
    only 3 people came to view the car…but a lot of proton employees were taking pictures of it.

eventhough the dimension numbers paint a bigger value comparing to myvi, this car does not even come close to the roominess of an Axia!
    im 6 foot tall and feel that the Axia provides better comfort and seating position than Iriz.the myvi is better than Axia, so go figure.

the engine is big and looks very similar to campro head block size.which make me to believe that is not an all new engine after all.remember how proton conned us with CPS!if it was a new engine, we would have been told about the development way long before.this is a surprise and I don’t buy it!

when the front door is open all the way, the frame of the door actually pinches the cables that connects all the power window controls and speaker between the door and the door hinge pillar.

anti roll bar looks huge in terms of diameter.
    rear door when closed, has that Viva feeling and light.

that’s about all for the 5 minutes I was there!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 33
    • oneandonly on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:00 pm

I am 6 feet tall too, and I have tried sitting in both cars. I can assure you, the Iriz has better legroom and more comfortable seats, as well as head clearance.

• I disagree on the legroom. At 5ft 10″, I find the legroom behind the driver’s seat lacking compared to the Axia but, yes, the headroom beats the Axia and the Iriz’s seats are much more comfortable.

• Not surprise with the bad wiring. Proton is well known on this. Seen the Saga SV wire dangling at the rear boot. Won’t be surprise if it happens to this too. We haven’t talk about their wiring design which explains why their car always stall for no reason.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:08 pm

desperate p2 salesman in proton showroom

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:34 pm

Proclaimed from Datuk.. yeah right..

Please give any link or newspapers of overwhelming sales of Iriz..

Because I can’t find any. Because 17K should overwhelming. . But news in sales is cold.. very cold.. for plotong. Or media don’t like plotong also?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • rosli on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:45 pm

motorhead,

http://www.hmetro.com.my/articles/ProtonIrizRM42_438//Article

Tanjung Malim: Proton Holdings Bhd (Proton) yang sebelum ini menamakan model terbarunya sebagai Proton Compact Car (PCC) akhirnya mengumumkan secara rasmi nama model berkenaan sebagai Iriz dengan tawaran harga bermula RM42,438 hingga RM62,888 seunit.

Iriz yang mempunyai nilai pelaburan RM560 juta itu dijangka menjadi penyumbang majoriti kepada 160,000 unit jualan keseluruhan model kenderaannya tahun ini.

Pengerusinya, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad berkata, rekod itu dapat dicapai bersandarkan tempahan Iriz sejumlah 17,000 unit sejak ia dibuka kira-kira dua minggu lalu dan penghantaran pertama pada pertengahan Oktober ini.

• komen berfakta on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:38 am

booking saja banyak yg lepas loan bank takat 5000 je.. harga mahal kalau murah macam axia lain la…

• peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:12 pm

hahaha p2 macai kantoi

tq rosli for the link

• This is very tempting, but proton always have their reputation in ‘minum minyak macam minum air’. Lots of its predecessor claims that it’s a fuel saving engine, but end up consuming more oil that a perodua car. Another point is that, proton service centre always could not deliver their service on time. A few of my friends send their car to the service centre (service crew said that they can get back their car by the next day), but when they went back the next day the crew will say takde parts lah, terlalu banyak kereta lah and etc etc. Longest wait was 2 months, cause they said have to wait for the parts to be imported from overseas (Talk about made in Malaysia).

Conclusion, I will still prefer Axia over Iris, 1st fuel consumption is lower, 2nd proton need to build up her confidence in me again. Well, these are just my opinions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:10 pm

u choose aziah coz u cant afford irz

n we r kg ppl.. urban priority is aafety

• yes I’m poor, I admit that…if I buy Proton Iris, would you compensate me the petrol price?..I dont mind to top up the difference in the car instalment…and I mostly drive from home to work and vice versa…and I do believe in supernatural intervention for protection…XD

• pdstrn on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:42 pm

Vios dgn Saga dua2 minum minyak byk sikit pun sama je. Klu nk jimat jalan kaki lor

• hahaha on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:43 pm

no offense but it looks like mitsubishi colt from the front…nice looking anyway but a bit disappointed with rear design

• This car is a useless and pointless car. With so few things to offer, how to capture people’s attention? For example, only two reverse sensors? What the hell is this? The interior sucks, everything about this car is wrong. Proton, stop cheating Malaysian citizens with your shitty products.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 32
  • hahaha on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:49 pm

no offense but the front looks like mitsubishi colt…anyway it looks nice but not so for the rear design tho

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Aiman Tak Kisah on Sep 25, 2014 at 3:59 pm

aiman test drived the car just now.. waaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy better than axia.. cayalah proton!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • komen berfakta on Sep 26, 2014 at 12:33 am

jaguh kampung.. kat kampung saja nampak hebat kat luar sampah

• Aiman Tak Kisah on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Aiman rasa ramai PENIPU in this forum.. pls, go test the car 1st.. n pls, this is not a luxury car, for that price, this is really really really great..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • peyno (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:07 pm

iriz already have 17k booking???

ni wonder la p2 salesman sooo butthurt

prrrfthhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • superman on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:08 pm

this was a very cheap show. I believe the launch of Suprima show was better. this looked like an internal factory launching. remember the PREVE launch and DSSZ speech??? cost cutting by drb at its best.

• agree with you bro..suprima launch was quite a show..this one is so dull

• wak din on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:44 pm

drb person dun know how to present this car laaaa…hahaha..all know nothing!!!

• alphawolf on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:46 pm

You want Proton to build and sell good cars or be a event management company giving out good shows?

• Now i get it why proton launch this car on thursday

By friday night comments here will reach at least 500 and they are hillarious!

it’ll make a good read on weekend. thanks proton+paultan

• mosama on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:28 pm

tag line “BETUL ONZ”=”BETUL ON…ZZZZZZZZZ”

• sebelum keluar, suruh kuar cepat.
    bila dah kuar, tunggu R3/SV pulak,
    bila kuar semua haram xbeli pon… hahahah

• kenny on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:54 pm

I wonder if all those safety features really working in time of emergency. Power window can be problematic in all those previous models and i darned to think for the other features.

Of course all the features looks promising but we need to see the durability and longevity of the car.

• bmwowner on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Even beemer dun give warranty for those its safety gadgets, not made by beemer.

Haha!

• buaya on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:35 am

I can vouch for the VSC, one time I was driving my preve in smart tunnel at 120kmh approximately, at the end where you exit to Jalan Tun Razak, I didn’t realized that the last corner was quite sudden and there is a pool of water probably streaming from the outside as it is raining at the time. The car skidded,getting really close the wall but then suddenly regained control out of nowhere. I thank god nothing happened. After that, no more speeding in smart tunnel for me :)

• Sy br balik dr showroom proton setia alam…sgt kecewa dgn salesman disana…hujan renyai2 xbg test drive..kereta ni b segment kn?tp knp sempit?luas lg axia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
    • anti_mie on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:43 pm

Mie..dah habis modal ke nak kutuk..last2 kutuk salesman..

• La….sape plk kutuk…sy kt kecewa..mmg bti la…xcaye g la sana tya…org dh seronok2 nk tgk kereta,dh dikata xleh test drive sbb hujan…

• azhar on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:32 am

test drive kat sri petaling..ok jer dorang kasi w’pun hujan renyai2…mmg patut kena hamun salesman setia alam tu…memalukan proton jer

• Sparcov on Sep 25, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Most of the Myvi buyer are lured into

“Toyota” technology in Myvi!. No doubt, it is true that Myvi is based on Toyota/Daihatsu designed drivetrain and chasis. Eventhough most of the parts are equally “Buatan Malaysia” but the vendor selection and QC plus the Toyota style of management system managed to control equally good product. That’s make Myvi become best selling car for the past 8 years and they prove it based on the reliability of myvi and resale value.

Now, Proton has come out a fully loaded equipment, newly design car and fresh look. Plus the selling price eqully match the myvi. Can they beat myvi? Yes, I will say possible due to myvi lacked of innovation and equipment plus on the market for years. But again, the people mentality and perception that myvi (toyota) based technology are way better than Proton Iriz have to go away. On paper, Iriz is a better equipped car. In reality, myvi is a proven car.

Again, in term of reliability is a very subjective. Let me ask you Is the current 14 years old waja still on the road? are they reliable? Yes right? Again, a honda civic 3 years old broke down because of electronic issue. Are they reliable car? No right?

Time proved that Proton also equally reliable, with highest safety, best performance car, low fuel consumption, parts are readily available and low maintenance cost. Come with years of warranty, why not give it a try.

By the way, all car experience depreciation no matter how good is the brand name and car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • ex P2 Salesman on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Well said bro.

• The Obvious on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:48 pm

Yeah you are right. But wait a minute, what happened to Waja in Thailand? Maybe we can see some Wajas in Indonesia or Singapore. Maybe not, why please do tell why waja only in malaysia.

Its like driving a garbage truck for 14 years as you mentioned 14. Poor fellow. He could had maybe driven a brand new Altis then have a bit of change to buy a new civic after 6 years. But Plotong has insured that it wants to be your only car especially if you are poor. The rakyat suffers for the existence of this miserable national car. And those that say otherwise are cronies that will gain from this sort of daylight robbery or people that do not know better. Think people.

I will change my mind if proton says that this is the last car they will build. And if it fails they will promise the people of Malaysia that they will close shop forever and admit failure. Not continue and suck the people dry. They do this, then Iriz will have my full support. I will even go to the sales center and cheer for them every weekend.

• Sparcov on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:04 am

Dear Obvious,

Is all back to square. Why? The price and the brand name. If we, Malaysian (I assume you are) also not supporting the national car maker, why the Thai’s?

In Thailand, as a open market, they have plenty of choice that equally match with the Waja Selling Price. I can have a Vios at RM 60k after conversion in Thai. And due to the popularity of The Toyota brand in Thailand, will you put your saving on a Proton? Yourself as a Malaysian also think twice and some even bashed Proton.

No one is going to stop you change new car every year or at least every 3 years. Driving a 14 Years old car does not mean that we are a “garbage collector”. It is all down to our pocket and whether we can afford to have a new car loan since the 14 years car serve me well. Don’t forget, not many afford to pay the car in cash!. Some may need to top up to the bank loan when they sell the car.

Again, I do agree up to certain extent that the current system and the government image do affect the confidence of the “Rakyat” which Politically shall not be discuss in the Auto Forum.

“Closing Down” Proton is not a straight forward action, especially after years of establishment of Proton. Why? Have you ever think that we also working and getting salary from Proton? The vendors? the spin off effects? the country image in the technology innovation? It may not be you or me. But there are thousands people benefiting from this Auto industry.

The same concept – applied here for example. Security Guard in the housing estate. If the house owner don’t even want to pay the security fees to support the community, can the security system been established? This is not charity this is a supporting game from the stakeholders!

If we don’t support them as a “Rakyat”, who else?

By the way, please admit that Proton are improving their quality and also their image.

Proton needs to however put more effort on the Service Center and the mentality of the mechanics. Why? because car owner will need to see them at least once in 2-3 months for maintenance. The attitude shown by them is disappointing. Why, when you complain something not right with the car they will answer you. “Is like that, Proton mah” and up to certain extent wheels alignment, they will answer you “car manufacturer will give you cheap tyre”, is like that, you better change new tyre then can resolve”…

Most of the people lost confidence because of this !

Ask every Proton owner, I can guarantee you they will concur the same!

But at least, be positive !

• spongebob on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:04 pm

i’m giving credit to proton this time not because the iriz is superb but because they finally succeeded in making other brand salesman go haywire and super duper butthurt that they tried too hard to put proton down.. now they start using negative advertising to smear their competitor.. it just shows that they’re really feeling the heat right now hahaha..

kudos to proton for their ethical approach of not slandering their rivals during the launch.. everything was great except the surprise appearance of the drb chairman which i personally think is a bit too much of @$$-licking..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • LUV IRIZ on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Dah booking…. value for money.. lap in the first line… beware….

• Yang Bijak Pandai on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:13 pm

B0D0H, Hanya MACAI2 sahaja beli kereta Proton.

DIPERBODOHKAN oleh Kerajaan jika beli Proton.

Lebih baik beli Vios lebih besar, selesa dan luxury

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Rimau on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:12 pm

hang tue BODOH… Kalau xnak beli/xmampu nak beli xpayah nak kondem org.. Cermin diri dulu kawan…

• rimau131 (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:33 pm

Hang tue bodoh.. Kalau xde duit/kurang berkemampuan xpayah laa nak hasut/komen bukan2.. sembang nak beli vios.. so,lau minat sgt beli laa..pastu duk diam2 ok..

• youbodok on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:36 pm

Vios is luxury? Selesa?
      None, nil, nope, no, zero, never.

• kalau ko ben tol tanya DEALER Toyota , suruh dia compare VIOS dengan PERSONA…tgk which one better…hahaha…masih dalam tempurung la lu ni…masih tak tahu isu melanda vios…cube try google banggg……jangan main hentam jeee…hahaha

• rosli on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:13 pm

peyno,

yes bro. P1 17 k booking without testing the car. Malaysian people so good, P2 also got 20 K booking. I think 2 of them are a big liar. hhhhhhhhhhhhh

• annzack on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Dah booking… very good car… lap in the first lane… Tapau axia….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • jaguh kangkung on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Proton Iriz setanding kereta global RM100K tapi lebih murah harga RM60K?

Ok, turunkan sikit cukai eksais kereta dari 75% ke 50%. Sikit saja, kerajaan masih dapat banyak cukai.

Kita tengok rakyat beli Honda Jazz atau Proton Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • kzm (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:22 pm

Roughly..this may not entirely correct
      Mitsubishi MIRAGE Thailand CBU (no import tax, no ckd)
      Mirage CVT-Mid A03AXTHHR : Customs value RM26340
      Langkawi(L) : RM43013.15(selling price)
      Langkawi no “import” excise tax(65-105%), no import(30%) tax(ASEAN Cept no import tax) n no sales tax (10%)
      Moreless Mitsubishi profit margin: RM16709.15
      Peninsular(P) : RM59543.65(sellling price) (without sales tax 10% : RM53589.285)
      Excise tax govt take (P-L): RM10576.135
      Total Peninsular Mirage CVT-Mid govt take: RM10576.135(~25% excise) + RM5954.365(10% sales) = RM16530.5
      Total Peninsular Mirage Mitsu take : RM16709.15

• SHINEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!

• guilt (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:42 pm

I’d still don’t understand why people bashing this car. No doubt Proton sucks but this car look ok and worth checking out although I still think the seat design looks weird.

• Can the paultan team do a more rigorous comparison of the specfications between the various variants? Items such as interior roof grab handles, removable headrests vs integrated headrests for rear seats, and whether the door visors have mirrors or not.

I already spotted some items in the Premium that were not found on the Standard.

• Sudahla Proton. You expect people to believe you? Like that stupid song you have created “suprima s kereta idaman semua, idaman, idaman, idaman”

But sales macam sial, idaman konon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • insider on Sep 25, 2014 at 5:53 pm

one good thing i noticed is that the central lock button is located at the dashboard, within reach of the front passenger. i drived a persona and my wife need to lean or used anything to push the lock knob down to lock the car when i go out just for a while.

• Senaling on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Yeah, my next car. Nice and safest car of its class.

• abdrosman on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:06 pm

P1 only digging its own grave.
    Why wanna kacau the A and B segment market
    when u can monopolise the 1.6 and premium market?
    Go improve your Preve , Inspira , Exora . upcoming Perdana and not forgetting Lotus too.
    These models needs your immediate attention cos sales are dropping and in dire straits.
    P1 will once again end up as a jack of all trades and master of NONE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • P1 is digging Axia dn P2 grave.. and put them in peaceful graveyard.
      Someone had too much worried of P2 sales after see obvious high booking rate by Iriz..
      so bye2 Axion and Mybiii.. celop car smelly indon japang no more safe here.

:)

• pegasus on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:18 pm

fiesta + myvi + random korean hatch = new proton?

• Vemal on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Abolish the Excise duty for Local Made car…This will allow low & Middle class to own Proton plus will reduce the Resale value issue since the car already cheap to buy…Or Proton will continue digging the sand……..

• Pokli Seluang (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:20 pm

i still want to buy axia G.
    i don’t care about A segment car or B segment car.

• holofanboi on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Wow, just took a look at the list and its really well equipped! @_@

Great job on Proton to be honest, the preve and suprima was a little bit of a…’halfway there’ attempt. The Iriz seems like a properly done car this time! :D

I for one am excited at the 1.6 manual! At that price point im definately looking forward to getting it as my ‘bitch car’ (A car for me to treat like an underappreciated whore). Pardon my language :p

Get ready Proton! Imma charge to your damansara showroom guns blazin :D

• alphawolf on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Sometimes looking through the comments in the pages of PaulTan.org, especially those pages reviewing or previewing local makes, makes me worry about the level of intelligence a typical Malaysian has..

• farghmee on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:39 pm

in the last 7 years, i see the quality of comments here is degrading.

• Ononimos on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:56 pm

Dear P2 salesmans,

Your desperation is too damn obvious.

Sincerely,
    Everyone with brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • The Obvious on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:35 pm

Only one thing to ask. What is the weight of the car. The weight will determine the performance. It will also really tell you how much fuel it will consume and whether it will drive like a tortoise or a fox. You can have all the specs but if it moves slow and consumes more fuel who would want to buy. All B segment fall within 950 to 1050, maybe 1100kg. So what is the Iriz, weigh?

• Are you kidding? 1150kg same with City. It’s CVT, if you never try it before you dun know. The RPM needle will go straight to your desired target RPM once you push the pedal, unlike conv auto which goes down after each gear changes.

The benefit? You can get the max torque much faster, and of course the driving is more convenient.

• Very very strange on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:17 pm

It is wierd that a lot of ppl ask about the car’s weight yet the info is readily available in the internet. You can come here and post a comment but do not know how to search the info. It is very very strange! I give you a clue for those who wanted to know the full spec of proton iriz, just type proton.

• The Obvious on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:11 pm

Sorry did not see the info. I goggled it yesterday still could not find. Only released today. At 1150kg, its HEAVY. Myvi still at 970 kg, almost 200kg lighter. Lighter means zippy less fuel.

• just wanna say that myvi is lighter because lack of safety electronic devices.. ABS, ESP and so on. These devices cost more weight to the car.

• Bataman on Oct 13, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Honday City full spec also lighter than Iriz full spec. Bigger car somemore. So how??

• masonteh on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:22 pm

Overall =nice,but there is still a lot to improve term of interior and exterior styling.example the steering .wanna be a global car should has a global styling.make it extraordinary.dont be mistaken,i am not asking proton to put up an F1 steering there, but should offering something that myvi or other contender car dont have.(maybe a steering wheeel ala audi)hehe
    And really ,proton should quickly facelifted the suprima model,especially the rear lightning of the car which is too simple(only a small red line lightning?!)which is not attractive at all..

• KJ Tan on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:46 pm

Proton Iriz -Another Failure like Savvy. Should name it Proton Savvy 2

• How you know? on Oct 05, 2014 at 12:36 pm

How you know failure? This car just launched production also not yet? Why? Because Proton, is it?

• KNSlah (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:24 pm

Is it just me, or does the Iriz look like the Kia Picanto, if you squint really hard?

• Bataman on Oct 13, 2014 at 12:23 pm

No lah…Picanto looks better…but Picanto is a horrid drive…

• Alex (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:28 pm

No fuel consumption figure for 1.3? Guess the ‘smaller’ engine consume more again. Damn this market practise, down stroke or down bore an original engine just so the original can be sold at premium, at cost of both efficiency and output of the ‘smaller’, smaller in displacement not the engine alone. Bet it could weigh slightly more due to extra metal in the block. And also, dohc with single vvt? Why? Why go through trouble for dohc then? Duh…… I am so angry I am crying…

• How you know? on Oct 05, 2014 at 12:39 pm

You also sakai. You want consumption for 1.3 you look yourself lah. You play assume that 1.3 just because didn’t say means it bad fuel consumption. You can buy 1.6 manual you tak mau. So that means if the car didn’t say got tyres means it got no tires lah? Sakai…

• Pemerhati on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:45 pm

Blog ini penuh dengan orang yang sakit jiwa dan sakit hati pada Proton. Sanggup meluangkan masa yang banyak untuk kutuk dan hina Proton. Jelas orang2 ini diupah pesaing Proton atau telah gila.
    Tiada siapa yangakan jadikan blog ini untuk rujukan lagi.

• powershot (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Danny,

the boot space for Great Wall Haval M4 is 310 litres

• Sam Boo on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:07 pm

Good to know that the entry variant 1.3 standard manual pun ade Audio system… wow great!!!

• rimau131 (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Already test drive..superb car for this segment…thumb up to Proton…

• rimau131 (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:27 pm

Already book & test drive.. Superb car for this segment..Sori Axia…huhuhu…

• frossonice on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:01 pm

Perodua salesmen, you guys are being too obvious. Like those paid jews writing smear campaign on the Palestanian in western media.

• Make it 1000 comments!

• cctvpro on Sep 25, 2014 at 11:50 pm

sama2 lihat berapa buah ada atas jalan.adakah melebihi Savvy yg memenuhi federal highway??proton buat kereta menrugikan pembeli.

• mamat yo-yo on Sep 26, 2014 at 2:45 am

well for me…. im proud with Proton… yupp…. proud becoz it made in Malaysia… this is one of the prove that Malaysia Boleh spirit…. tapi masalahnye… proud aku dan sujpport aku agak hilang bile aku pakai saga flx tahun 2012 hari tuh….sekarang masih lagi pakai….. aku pakai x sampai setahun…. flx cvt standard 1.3…. satu hari tu.. x dapt nak start!…. try2 start x dapt…. alih2 tunggu dekat setengah jam… baru bleh start balik… tu pn lps usik skit dekat die punye bateri…. pergi kat proton servis.. die ckap kena tuning balik….. alih2.. x sampai dua bulan tuning…. jadi balik.. susah nak start… g kat servis… die ckp.. kena tuning balik… nampak mcm komputer box die ade masalh…. smpai lah sekarang masalah tu masih lagi berlaku… tapi skrg dah pandai laa skit… bile susah nak start.. pomen kat servis tu ckp.. tekan minyak dulu dlm 2 -3 kali…. baru start balik…. tp masalhnye… problem susah nak start nie mcm xde jalan penyelesaian….. pihak proton macam ambil sambil lewa masalah nie…. bukan nak ganti ke ape2… kalau tanye pun tu lah jawapan die.. kene tuning balik gune komputer… nak jual kerete FLX aku tu plak harge skrg da jadi 15K-17K je kat pasaran… baru pakai 2 tahun!.. emm.. ni gara2 proton keluarkan saga SV ari tuh…. well…. proton.. this is maybe my last time to buy ur product…. aku nie pun bukan lah pendapatan tinggi mane…rendah aje…. dengan minyak pn telan tahap gaban… maybe next time i will choose Produa Axia….. tadi aku try naik Proton Iriz nie hah… well bleh nampak perubahan dari segi interior design die.. mmg nampak macam honda ataupun Kia… mmg ade umphh… ade perubahan dari segi kekemasan.. tapi tu lah… di sebabkan kecewa dan takut pisang berbuah dua kali…. harapan untuk proton… agar prton terus membaiki die punye after sales service… org2 yg jage QC proton tu.. kena cari jalan penyelesaian setiap masalh proton barulah pelanggan puas hati… ade keyakinan…. aku bukan nak kondem proton 100%…. kalau ikutkan proton lah antare pengeluar kenderaan yg memecah dominasi kaum lain dalam penjualan (dealer) di malaysia… di mane tahun 70-an 80-an dedulu.. toyota dan nissan dealer mereka mmg di dominsai oleh kaum lain… proton lah yg membawa usahawan bumiputra untuk menceburi bidang jualan kereta di malaysia….. dan harapan aku agar proton dapat berubah… (dengan nada kecewa)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • MoFaz (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 3:25 am

setuju.. service centre tu kena berubah. Aku pun pakai Proton je, bukan tak mampu nak beli brand import tapi selalunya aku tukar kereta setiap 5-6 tahun. kalau beli kereta mahal, masa nak jual tu akan terasa betapa tensionnya tengok harga jatuh RM60-70k kan…dah 3 kali tukar kereta proton, dari Wira ke Waja dan sekarang Exora Bold.
      pengalaman aku dengan Proton ni.. kalau tak puas hati dengan satu SC, try SC lain, atau try di tempat kamu beli. tak boleh juga, report pada i-care… ada sekali aku report i-care, dan tak sampai seminggu lepas tu SC call suruh datang untuk fix problem. problem aku tak serious sangat, seat recliner rosak je.. dia ganti satu seat terus. ataupun, kalau dah fed-up, try repair kat bengkel biasa yang dipercayai… masalahnya, proton kata tak rosak, tapi bengkel biasa ni selalu cakap macam-macam rosak sebab nak untung.. hati hati je la :)

• I hate both proton & perodua. They are selling cheap car for a high price….
    Shipping to East Malaysia cost more than shipping to UK. That’s why over there both car cheaper than East Malaysia. I not gonna buy any…

• Proton CEO just an @@h h0l3…he should had launch irix in December and said Iriz far better than myV…
    then explain why is far better instead of MEMBODEK…

HE SHALL BE FIRED!!! Proton fxxk this guy out..

• sambalbabi on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:07 am

would be awesomely perfect if they’ve fitted rear brake disc for the 1.6 litre variant.

perfect, almost.

• Azrul Ezwan on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:56 am

Congratulations Proton, hope more innovations will come. I am really proud of the effort taken to bring our national car to higher level. A lot of improvement have been done as seen in previous edition, Preve, Suprima, and now Iriz.

• Azrul Ezwan on Sep 26, 2014 at 8:58 am

Congratulations Proton, hope more innovations will come. I am really proud of the effort taken to bring our national car to higher level. A lot of improvement have been done as seen in previous edition, Preve, Suprima, and now Iriz. Excellent move by Proton.

• Usavich on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:59 am

the more i see these pics, the more and more i felt the car look like the MYVI sibling..

• selva on Sep 26, 2014 at 10:51 am

has anyone tried opening and closing the glove compartment? i hear it does not close properly.

• Ori Motorhead on Sep 27, 2014 at 11:05 pm

Ko dah zip seluar ko? Dah habis modal nak kutuk Iriz le tu.

• darren on Sep 26, 2014 at 11:16 am

I am not gonna buy a Proton car anymore as the after sales services are outright incompetent. When you ask about some problem such as rattling sound within the cabin they will just brush you off by saying “Rattling sound is not covered by warranty, we won’t check”. This is really a very turned off reply from the officer that attended my car.
    Oh btw I’m driving a Proton BLM 2010 MANUAL manufactured. My car will auto accelerate when clutch is depressed. RPM will jump from 1,000 RPM up to 1,200-1,300 RPM. Sent to service center, all of them could NOT diagnose my problem and just brush me off “ALL saga are like that.” When I sat on other BLMs, there is no such problem of auto accelerating.

So, yeah, no MORE PROTON for me! :) goodluck with your sales and after-sales service. just my 2 cents worth of opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Bataman on Oct 13, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Auto-accelerate when clutch is pressed? SmartCar.

IFong also no fight.

• longan on Sep 26, 2014 at 3:46 pm

it will be BOOM if the prince are below 50K for premium..

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 27, 2014 at 9:32 am

Probably the hottest post in paultan.org for the year 2014. Almost 600 comments. Woosh.

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 27, 2014 at 10:28 am

Because Proton has wasted billion & billion of all our tax payer money just to come out this piece of sh*t!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • the back seat cannot sit if tall ppl is the driver… Sad

• anonimos on Sep 29, 2014 at 12:33 pm

mahal doh

• Justin on Oct 02, 2014 at 1:49 am

Why wasn’t it compared to a Honda Fit? They look almost exactly the same.

• Camry Lover on Oct 04, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Only time will tell if this car will touch the hearts of us Malaysians. Proton will have to fix their SC as well, not just the product. A good product will only be as good as the company that supports it.

• darkermarker on Oct 06, 2014 at 11:58 am

Sorry, Proton. No more Proton for me.
    I rather go 2nd hand japs. better quality, better performance and FC.

Proton, please dont be angry. It’s my money, and my decision. Nothing to do with patriotic and support malaysian product at all, k?

• remy383 on Oct 10, 2014 at 12:20 pm

motif??? no more proton??? but still ‘semak’ kat sini..hahaha..

• megacs on Oct 07, 2014 at 9:29 am

seriously, if you dont like Proton so much, why spend so much time to see the review and post your shit comment?? no people bother you whether you want buy or not… izzit you all just come here to smash Proton? Dear Malaysian, grow your mind please, how old are you all already?? thinking like a kid

• honda, volvo, etc etc already DVVTi few decades ago………sekarang proton baru nak start VVT

• NeedFeedback on Oct 15, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Need some feedback from other IRIZ test drive users. I’ve tested the Iriz car and thought of asking your opinion as I’m really keen on purchasing the car but have some doubts about its back passenger quality. In the Iriz I tested,(I was a passenger during the test drive and upon coming out of the car, I heard a cranky sound as I was about to come out of the car). To my surprise, upon further inspection, I noticed that the bottom part of the car seat was sort of already detached from the car (ie., you could lift the back seat up about 30degrees up from the bottom). In my heart it was only recently released for test drive and can’t be that its faulty so fast. Checked with the sales agent and he said it was because the car has been tested by the 70+ testers before we tested the car and might have been abused. Hm.. I’m just wondering if you notice dis-attachment of passenger seats as well on the units you tested elsewhere? Or is it just a one off thing. Thought better to gain more feedback before I confirm my order. Any other observation is much appreciated. Thanks.

• the real taiko on Nov 11, 2014 at 2:54 pm

i hv tested the 1.3 model.not too much impress.if you plan to trade in yr p1 with this model should be ok.suitable for daily and short distance, and for the ipt stdt.not for the real adult.cheers