W205 Mercedes-Benz C 250 AMG Line – RM339,888

W205_Mercedes-Benz_C_250_AMG_Line_Malaysia_04

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia left many of us surprised when the latest W205 C-Class was launched with just two variants: 184 hp/300 Nm C 200 Avantgarde and 211 hp/350 Nm C 250 Exclusive. The more powerful model, especially, was only available in the more classy-looking trim line when many had expected the sportier AMG Line to make an appearance.

Now it has. The W205 Mercedes-Benz C 250 AMG Line now joins the existing two as part of the Malaysian line-up. Fully-imported from South Africa (where all right-hand drive W205s are made), it comes in at RM339,888 without insurance, a significant RM25,000 premium over the C 250 Exclusive.

So what does the extra dough get you? The full AMG Line dress-up kit, for starters. The front and rear bumpers, as well as the side skirts are unique to this top-of-the-range trim line. The wheels get upgraded from 17- to 18-inchers, in the traditional five-spoke AMG design. It’s quite a feisty looking car – a big visual upgrade over the Exclusive model.

Underneath the aggressive new metal lies an AMG-tuned sports suspension, which is 15 mm lower than the C 250 Exclusive’s comfort setup. This is linked to a more direct steering ratio for improved all-around driving dynamics. Also new is the LED Intelligent Light System with Adaptive Highbeam Assist, which is an upgrade over the standard car’s LED headlights.

Inside, you get the usual AMG Line add-ons, such as a flat-bottomed steering wheel, open-pore Brown Ash wood dash trim and aluminium foot pedals. On top of that, there’s the larger 8.4-inch display (up from the Exclusive’s 7.0-incher) that’s linked to the full-fledged COMAND Online multimedia system.

The sound system has been enhanced too, with the 13-speaker/590-watt Burmester surround sound system (easily denoted by flash aluminium speaker grilles) coming into play here. Lastly, the W205 Mercedes-Benz C 250 AMG Line is fitted as standard with an electric panoramic sliding sunroof. You can refer to the official brochure below, or check out CarBase.my for the full specifications and equipment list of the new car. You can even compare it against the C 250 Exclusive and other German/Japanese rivals.

So what do you think – will this be RM25k well spent, or not? Read our review of the new C-Class from the drive in Marseille, France.

W205 Mercedes-Benz C 250 Exclusive
W205 Mercedes-Benz C 200 Avantgarde

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Not too bad of a deal I’d say. The plastic bits easily cost about 12k, panoramic roofs are about 7-8k, nearly covering the cost increase. And thats before taking into account the suspension change and Burmeister sound system.

But 340k for a C class is steep, though I am very sure when the CKD comes in, it will slip just below 300k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • RicoT on Oct 14, 2014 at 7:10 pm

I believe Mercedes-Benz will be focusing their local production capacity on the tax-exempted CKD S400H and E300 Bluetec Hybrid.

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 7:40 pm

I’d reckon they will still build this in malaysia too in addition to the other C classes. As we have noticed the lack of an exemption after 2015 December on the hybrids, MBM will still be building this. Plus, normally hybrids have a special line as those lines have to be able to cope with the installation of the high voltage battery and the high voltage cables.

• Same L0rrr on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:09 am

Nice outlook, good price.

Guys please support Proton and buy more Iriz. Iriz too expensive, you can get 2013 Preve/Suprima S with RM6k discount also…

Their new managment’s C 250 AMGs are depending on you.

Like Ah Beng said, come come lai lai support Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
        • Folger Getting Greedy on Oct 15, 2014 at 1:46 pm

This car in the US is about US$35,000. At that price, MB in USA already making huge margin and profit. So, by selling this car at US$35k x 3 (Rm100,000) MB in the USA already paid the US government taxes and duties and yet they are ma a margin.

MBM will be getting this car far cheaper than RM100,000 direct from its principal in Germany. Being the official distributor of a country, they will get it at cost price. The cost price maybe US$25,000 (RM75,000)

In Malaysia, the car is RM340k. Our tax max out at 130% which includes excise duty also.

Why is MBM making so much of money from just one car alone?

No where in the world a car country distributor can make over RM200,000 clean proft from a car except in Malaysia.

The liars in MBM will blame Government tax and duties. But even if you factor in the 130% Malaysian tax in, the car cannot be sold for RM340k.

Folger and all the idiots in MBM are getting very greedy. Their true Nazi nature are showing. Colonise the world now economically by cheating people financially.

• Pinky on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Those who have placed their orders on the normal C250 must be crying so badly right now.. That’s a lot of upgrades you get with 25k..

• I booked one even before the two models were launched last month. But I booked this C250 AMG because the salesperson told me that the C250 will be coming in the AMG trim as well. I’m sure others would have also been informed from their salesperson about it. :/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • Bro.. Congratulation. Its such a good news. But Im sure the most anticipated will be C400. That mofo beast is one hell of a machine.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 14, 2014 at 6:04 pm

Definitely well spent.. However it have wishes that mercedes had given more power to the C250 to make it on par with the 328i.

• What ever line they put, it is still very Uncle look.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 53
      • Francis on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:12 pm

C class is mainly targeted for Ah Pek, sure it must have an uncle look.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 6:12 pm

south africa….no wonder Japanese people prefer LHD cars

• Yes, most Japanese imported conti is left hand drive.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 12:30 pm

in this case i rather have CKD….i rather support rakyat malaysia instead of budak afrika

• Sorry but budak africa in South Africa has a better building quality.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 2:38 pm

are you sure? south africa is one of the few countries in the world like malaysia…full of corruption, robbery and rape cases…only difference is that they have a lot more car hijacking

• now thats the spec i was talking about. the basic c-class is a rip off. This is also a rip off but still its looks tempting.

• D.I.Y on Oct 14, 2014 at 6:27 pm

Waiting list for this? 1years?

• Never own a Mercedes before but, this is quite a nice stylish and quality car inside-out.If its not for the performance and acceleration, i mighttttt be thinking to change this from my F30(328).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • Well, if any ppl commenting they would wanna change from their current luxury car to other brand. Surely will have many dislike. To most Malaysian, luxury car is like beyong god-like. cannot touch, only cronies and sultans. How will the country progress? crazy mentality, always jealous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Nejacky on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:43 am

I agree with you John. People tend to feel jealous when you own any luxury ride.
        To those jealousy disease affected dudes out there, why not find ways to earn better income and change your attitude because attitude is what makes a person successful. Instead of crying like a baby and reset-ing your IP address to spam the dislike button?
        Many luxury car owners work while you are still cuddling in your bed, sleeping like a newborn baby. So dont be jealous.

• Bro.. yes. u speak like a true inspired Malaysian. Most Malaysian have to think like of luxury car owner with racial profiling.
          If chinese owned: sure some tycoon or ah long or gangster.
          If malay owned: cronies, connection with BN
          If indian owned: lawyer, doctor.

LOL… Funny it is how typical malaysian think.

• Legend (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 6:31 pm

Well Spent money on this C250 AMG Line
    will definitely take this one over C250 Executive.
    25K is consider quite reasonable as it has more equipment with just 25K premium over the standard model
    will wait for CKD Model…it will definitely bring down the price below 300k…hopefully.

• pleasestop on Oct 14, 2014 at 6:48 pm

please merc..just stop teasing me…hope to own 1 one day…

• machi on Oct 14, 2014 at 7:49 pm

Once CKD, 1 more booking from me!

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 7:50 pm

Doubt this will be under RM300k…the Exclusive line will be under RM300k to match the 328i Luxury while this baby will match the 328i M-Sport price….see the trend?

• bogdan on Oct 14, 2014 at 7:59 pm

How come no power increase for the amg line? Is it the same power as the CLA amg?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • pomen on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:18 pm

this is AMG LINE not the real AMG.you think can get AMG with this price???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
  • Mercbmw on Oct 14, 2014 at 8:00 pm

It’s worth it to wait. Finally fitted a new tech gizmo – LED Intelligent Light System.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 8:37 pm

The W204 had this but was the xenon system then when he W205 came along they took out the intelligence in the light system!

So this AMG line has a panoramic sunroof, Burmester sound system and the adaptive LED lights over the M-Sport which only has its adaptive suspension, a slightly powerful engine and 0.4 inch extra screen space to boast about.

• policeman on Oct 14, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Steering issue fixed or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • this is the best looking c class ever…

• shawal on Oct 14, 2014 at 9:54 pm

CKD this exact same model
    add in red leather interior and adaptive suspension, or change it back to comfort suspension

• Ray (Member) on Oct 14, 2014 at 9:58 pm

Not really a fan of Mercs but I guess the 25k upgrade is okay. At least it’s better than Audi’s 13k sat-nav.

• german car lover aka jian on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Just might be changing! Should i stick with my 2013 C250 coupe, change to this car or wait for the W205 C250 coupe?Any suggestions? Wish there was C250 W205 Grand editon with the classic MB grill but with AMG wheels! Btw i like BMW and Audi too! ButBMW`s 2 year warranty worry me and Audis service reputation isnt grat either!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Sorry but most ppl wouldnt like it and be jealous of you stating that u have booked ur car. This is the typical Malaysian mindset. They think only cronies or sultans and purchase luxury cars. Normal rakyat should not touch. An ordinary C-class is like a “bentley” luxury to them. Therefore, u got 4 unlike. However, congratulation. I would say go for this AMG line.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:36 pm

u sure not sam loo dislike cos he buy mercedes and not lexus/prius?

• Kuntakinte on Oct 14, 2014 at 10:04 pm

I booked the AMG line and was really waiting for its release.

The price really pushes the envelope one would pay for a regular C Class and with two months to the new year, I’d rather wait for the CKD ones. Since I’m one of th early ones who plonked down the booking, I should be able to get my hands on the early batches that will eventually roll off the line in late 1Q 2015 or early 2Q 2015, as indicated by the SA

• Add another 80k and wait for a year to get the Macan, faster, more versatile, and more prestigious than a C250

• paparadzi (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 12:14 am

An AMG for poor people, as it’s engine capacity is only 1991 cc. Rich people will use a car with engine displacement of 2000 cc or more.

(This may sound stupid, but there are people who still think along the engine displacement line)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • 1st saw the price tag, I was like wtf is wrong with this. Goddamn MBM and Government. In Thailand where car price is more expensive than us for luxury segment. Their C250 AMG cost RM325K. But after seeing our local spec which is so highly specced. The pricing is justifiable. Hope to see one soon on the road.

• anakonda on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:12 am

I notice that this model Audio consist of only COMAND Online with Touchpad, 8.4-inch display, Burmester Surround Sound System with 13 Speakers, 590 watt …

While for BMW 328i it has Navigation System with BMW Professional Audio with DVD Drive, Hard Disk storage, MP3 decoder, 8.8″ monitor operated by iDrive, Bluetooth, USB + 9 Speaker HiFi System.

Why can’t merc be more generous…why? why?

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:36 am

Can’t just compare specs like that. The Burmester system is in an entirely different league from the BMW system. I doubt the BMW sound quality is anywhere near as good as the Burmesters. The article also does not mention the ingenious front bass subwoofers in the footwell of the C Class, so you “feel” the bass come from the front like you were listening to a concert on a stage in front.

But seriously, none of them can compete with the Lexus IS250 F Sport’s Mark Levinson surrounds. That is the true class standard for sound reproduction in a car.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:19 am

Flat bottomed steering, Burmester surrounds (though ppl claim that it looks better than it sounds), and the body kits look awesome.

But will the C200 come with AMG Line as well or is this exlusive for just the C250? Cos RM340k is quite expensive, though if you consider the fact that it is CBU it does make sense. If one puts the RM25k AMG Line package to the RM286k C200, it will only cost RM311k.

Another thing I just noticed, in the US, the C Class with the 2.0 turbo is called the C300 (unlike here which is called C250). Power & torque is similar, though the US model comes with AWD (for 2014 models) for the benefit of those who have to drive in snow & ice. Just the find the different naming convention between US and Malaysia (and rest of the world) a bit odd.

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:20 am

Assuming CBU & CKD quality is the same, suggest that people wait for CKD versions to come out. I got a feeling the hybrid might surprise everyone like the S-class

• Drzack on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:28 am

Wow… This is great news for poor people like me… Can buy this one and i slap C63 badge on it… Hoping to be the first guy to do that…hehehe

• Nejacky on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:46 am

lol bro,dont do that just yet, you may need to change the hood and brake calliper covers to make it look really like the c63 or else people will call you a poser :p

• cendol (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:41 am

Can anyone tell me why is it cheaper than CLA 45 AMG at RM390k?
    We all know CLA is supposedly smaller than C-class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • Roflcopter on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:46 am

Here’s a dude comparing a 250 to a 45.

Mercedes Benz “AMG Line” marketing has succeeded

• CLA45AMG – 360hp, 450Nm, lower specs, RM390k
      C250AMG – 211hp, 350Nm, higher specs, RM340k

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 15, 2014 at 11:33 am

What you’re comparing is akin to a BMW 528 M-sport equipped model and a M3. If anything this shows how value for money the CLA/A 45 AMGs are.

• stranger on Oct 15, 2014 at 12:01 pm

it’s just the accessories and body kits (AMG LINE)
      Not the AMG engine

Like BMW also offer M-Series kits for normal BMW.

• If you wanna more power must wait for the brabus version

• MBM has nailed it so right with this baby.

Red leather interior option please?

http://paultan.org/2014/09/10/driven-mercedes-benz-w205-c-class/mercedes-w205-c-class-france-121/

Now with this, it will officially be the perfect car in terms of the balance in size, specs, design, prestige and value.

• holofanboi on Oct 15, 2014 at 11:48 am

W205 Mercedes-Benz C250 Ebola line

I’m sorry i really did try to hold back but I just can’t! I.Just.Can’t! ;_;

• stranger on Oct 15, 2014 at 12:08 pm

Seriously the wood dash trim doesn’t match with the AMG Line lo.
    AMG should be sporty, but this wood dash trim makes it looks uncle-ish luxury, unless the wood dash trim is in super dark brown color

• TengkuSyah on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:16 pm

This is a good graduation present for me… Im upgrading from recond is 250…

• german marque lover (not perpetually) on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:45 pm

I was interested in the C200 but was persuaded by the salesperson to change to C250 since there was only an allocation of 150 units for the first batch and all of them had been accounted for. (FYI: I was the first one to drive and own the previous model in Klang Valley). When the C250 arrived, I was shocked by its “uncle trim” hence I told my salesperson to change back to C200 since it had a sportier outlook. Alas, since I last visited the showroom, until now they have been unable to furnish me with a test drive vehicle. I do not even know whether and when I will be getting my car. Hence, I told the salesperson that I rather go for the A250 instead. Even with this vehicle, he was unable to tell me when I can get my car, maybe end of this month or perhaps next month??? So, fed up with all these lame excuses and delaying tactics, I opted out, cancelled my order and decided to look for another luxury manufacturer who does have cars in stock plus test drive vehicles. I am sure that my case is not the only few cases whereby MBM had lost sales to other competitors due to its lack of test drive vehicles plus failure to have sufficient stock levels. As for those who are politically driven, they will always be around and belittle those who drive so called luxury cars. Not all Malaysians are cronies and black sheep of the society, some of us work hard for the cars we purchased whilst there are lucky few who inherit their wealth and are able to afford such cars. I have owned and driven all 3 major German marques and am now giving a new kid on the block (so to speak) a try! As most have mentioned, another RM 25k for the AMG line is not that expensive, considering that this is an all new model plus CBU as well plus featured packed. Alas, it comes from South Africa, not to sound racist, I do prefer my German marque to be made in Germany instead of another country unless the pricing is significantly less which is not the case here, unfortunately. Also, do not forget we are entering E-Class territory once we start to pay above RM 300k for a C-Class. So there it is folks, a well balanced commentary, I hope.

• Jules on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:26 pm

Although they are diff class…. this makes a strong argument to get a A45. A real AMG :)