Singapore to reconsider proposal on free entry time

singapore-coe

Singapore’s Ministry of Transport is considering a proposal to revise the free entry time for Malaysian-registered vehicles looking the enter the country via the Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP), of which Malaysians have to pay in addition to the recently introduced Causeway toll hikes.

Currently, Malaysian-registered vehicles are exempted from paying for the VEP should they enter Singapore on weekends, Singaporean public holidays, 10 business days per calendar year and between 5 pm to 2 am on other weekdays.

A proposal to revise the entry time from 5 pm to 7 pm has been considered, with the intention to bring it in line with the Off-Peak Car scheme for local vehicles. Most of the Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) gantries stop charging after 8 pm.

“We will consider the suggestion on revising the VEP-free periods and also factor in the possibility of Malaysia implementing its proposed charge on non-Malaysia-registered vehicles entering Malaysia,” the republic’s Transport Minister, Lui Tuck Yew, said in Parliament. He added that currently, about one in 10 foreign-registered cars entering Singapore needs to pay the VEP fee.

Lui also disclosed that the average daily number of foreign cars entering the country on weekdays and weekends is 10,900 and 12,100 respectively over the six months from April to September 2014. The corresponding figures last year were 11,900 and 13,600 vehicles respectively.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Azure on Nov 06, 2014 at 3:46 pm

I wonder if this because we introduced “show IC for fuel subsidy” thing?

Singapore introduce VEP, we should follow like them. They are first world country after all.

• bg je lar free masuk singapore.. malaysia bg free je masuk pendatang asing..

• Singapore government not need to re-consider just execute, charge everyone who enter to Singapore on weekend. Soon Singapore will know how this affected their economy! Malaysia government should also charge higher entry fee to Singaporean, due to they never pay for repairing our road/highway! and also Malaysia government must make sure Singapore car can’t pump petrol with GST! kao kao one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • Wouldn’t really effect their eco. Kindly use your brain, Malaysian mostly go SG to earn money not but spend. while Singaporean come Malaysia and Spend.

With your Kampung mindset, the European Union concept
      will fail (as they have access to most highway in Europe).
      Additionally,for your info, they pay for unsubsidizes Ron 97 and Toll.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • JB_KIA on Nov 07, 2014 at 12:55 pm

mcm patriotic sgt tp bodo….

• kiasu sinkaporklian at the best

• As suspected, many people read it wrong. It says revert entry time from 5pm to 7pm. Meaning change from 5pm-2am, to 7pm-2am.

• saladin on Nov 06, 2014 at 7:25 pm

whatever u charged, we charged u back lor. its business no heart feeling.

• Teksi Drebar on Nov 06, 2014 at 8:06 pm

Maybe should consider dismantling the causeway and 2nd link. Then no need to implement VEP and toll. Problem solved. End of story.

Wait a minute, but then how if Singapore adrift further away offshore to Pacific Ocean or Indian Ocean or maybe it reaches Antartica?

• Masuk masuk on Nov 06, 2014 at 8:50 pm

100% pasti Singapore bagi masuk free dah, sekarang dia tu berlakon sahaja.
    tak sampai 2015, mereka sudah bagi masuk free laa….

• ipoh lad on Nov 07, 2014 at 7:28 am

Loser = Malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7