SPAD survey finds 71% satisfied with public transport

easy-taxi-super-easy-taxi 268

A survey carried out by the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) in 2012 and 2013 has found that 71% are satisfied with public transport in the Klang Valley, Bernama reports.

According to SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar, statistics involving all land transport systems show commitment to improve. Details of the survey, including demographics and sample size, have not been divulged.

“To continue excellence in service and the satisfaction of the users, SPAD will study various measures, including using trams in cities… but (for trams) we will have to wait for the reaction and reply from the government,” the national news agency quoted him as saying.

P90145242-highRes

“No country has ever climbed from low-income to middle- or high-income status without a significant and dynamic land public transport. Therefore, it is important for us now to give priority to public transport investment, rather than giving priority to building roads in the name of connectivity and relieving congestion,” he said.

The Star reported earlier this month that SPAD had recommended a hike in nationwide public transport fares, saying that operational costs had increased of late, with the recent Causeway toll hikes cited as a factor.

Syed Hamid told the English-language daily that bus and taxi operators had appealed for a 30-40% fare rise, saying that the last fare increase was in 2008.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:20 pm

That rating is going down soon…

http://www.nst.com.my/node/54395

• Kangkung Ayam RM1 on Nov 20, 2014 at 8:43 am

This is the first time I see all post with Thumb Up!
      there is no Thumb down found!
      SPAD, pls read our post here.
      Fact is fact!
      Dont fool people, dont fool yourself.
      U memang BOLEH! Muka Tembok!

• What a Big Lie! on Nov 20, 2014 at 9:27 am

What utter lies. Every Malaysian know, our public transport is in shambles. SPAD is one lying body. They should tell people how much the No 1 man there earn. Rumour has it it is 6 figures per month.

Yes, we Malaysians are supporting those highly paid SPAD guys to spread lies.

• alldisc on Nov 20, 2014 at 10:35 am

that 71% were the ones using LRT and komuter lah.

remaining 29% are the ones using stage buses and taxis.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:22 pm

…..wonder what sort of sample size and what criteria was the sample size / population selection based on.

How many % was actually happy with the taxi service?

So for areas outside Klang Valley, 0% satisfied?

I’m having serious doubt issues with stats from government departments.

I for one am very happy with KTM Komuter when I take a short hop from my place to Sentral at 8pm against rush hour.

I wont have the same to say if I have to brave the horde of foreign workers at 7am during rush hour.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Black Dog on Nov 21, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Komuter customers most happy because most stations no need to pay!

Taxis? They are the WORST! Maybe 90% unsatisfied.

• Let the Merdeka Center do the survey…hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Maserati(Official) on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:27 pm

stopped reading at ‘carried out by SPAD’

its one of the most useless agency out there…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
  • joyah on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:33 pm

who are the participant in this survey?

seriously 71%??????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • gaviny on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:35 pm

they surveyed 71 people only? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Kak Timah on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:36 pm

Ya ka ni……I smell something fishy….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Macam Katak Bawah Tempurung on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Before this survey i thought its 70% ++ not satisfy with current public transport service

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • I believe the survey were conducted in PWTC and Dewan San Choon only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • stranger on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Wayang-wayang shiok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • consrito on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Survey syok sendiri???

• Crazy!! on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:50 pm

OH MY GOD… I JUST WANT TO SPIT ON SPAD…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • kittfoxx on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:50 pm

I’d have to say I’m not in that 71%

Punctuality.. quality of service.. safety.. all need drastic improvements.

Not too long ago, I was almost run over by a RapidKL bus that barged its way through a line of people that were queuing to get on another bus.

And why do these RapidKL busses have their backs covered? What do they use to ‘see’ what they’re reversing into? “The Force”? I don’t see them having reversing cameras in the dashboard. Is JPJ OK with that 100% tint on the back window?. I once saw a guy almost got himself squished because of that.

And how many times have we found ourselves becoming navigators for taxi drivers? I’ve actually caught one too many of them trying to use the long way.

• hahahahahahahahaa on Nov 19, 2014 at 4:52 pm

wow april fool joke is here!!

• Satisfied on Nov 19, 2014 at 5:00 pm

??????……most likely the opposite!!!!

• Jason Lim on Nov 19, 2014 at 5:01 pm

perhaps the survey does not include the taxi service.else it will be 7.1% satisfied

• i’m curious on how SPAD carry out the mentioned survey

• This is RUBBISH!!!

• Jimmy on Nov 19, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Sendiri cakap?

Or low yardstick?

No vision?

• 91.7% says this survey is bullshit. 82.1% says the SPAD chairman is an idiot. 72.5% thinks he never takes the public transport since Merdeka.

I think ‘71%’ is Syed Hamid’s hip-hop name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Rangers on Nov 19, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Joke of the year and it shows how retarded is SPAD, I bet they also got survey of no speeding truck, bus and no black smoke of those as well…

• Jonathan on Nov 19, 2014 at 5:30 pm

As stated that “Details of the survey, including demographics and sample size, have not been divulged.”

Can we assume that 71% of those who are satisfied with public transport is derived from a “marginal” percentage of commuters of public transport in the whole of Malaysia (Includes Sabah, Sarawak, and other small towns in all the states)? Because I am sure that there are more who drive than taking public transport due to “poor” public transport system. If it is so, then it is still unsatisfactory service.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 19, 2014 at 5:43 pm

Lol they got to be kidding me, more like 71% are NOT satisfied with public transport!

Our taxi system is going backwards and our buses do not even have proper bus stops and are creating more pollution!

• bubbaonsteroids on Nov 19, 2014 at 5:44 pm

Seriously SPAD ??!!

• Jonathan, your subject is misleading. Should put like this ” SPAD survey finds 71% satisfied with public transport in Klang Valley “

• Low Budget on Nov 19, 2014 at 6:31 pm

Klang Valley? No, no,no, it should be those who live in down town Kuala Lumpur.

• Shiok Sendiri Survey (SSS)

• doubtful on Nov 19, 2014 at 6:01 pm

71%? Where did they get their sample from? UMNO general meeting?

• Low Budget on Nov 19, 2014 at 6:33 pm

No lah, if they get from umno general meeting, the result will be one thousand and one per cent satisfied, better than orgasm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • EnergyAnalyst on Nov 19, 2014 at 6:01 pm

LOL. There is only one problem—where is the independency in this survey when it is done by SPAD?

• how reluctant and inaccurate details who are satisfied with taxi? dont tell me SPAD ask their own staff who dont really take frequent on cab than driving car.

• SkullJuju on Nov 19, 2014 at 6:29 pm

ACHOO! *sniff Sorry, I’m allergic to bullshit..

• CF Lam on Nov 19, 2014 at 6:31 pm

This is clearly a manipulated figure. You can ask any tourist how bad our public transportation is and will get endless complains. It is a shame that our government agency is making up figure just like this.

• If they narrow it down to taxis-only, the dissatisfaction will increase to 99.9%

• Cakap bohong on Nov 19, 2014 at 6:41 pm

I strongly doubt the stats are accurate. Most taxi drivers in the Klang valley does not play by the rules and follow the meters. A lot of tourists get slaughtered.

This is really embarrassing and is a far cry from the taxi services in Singapore.

weak enforcement is to be blamed

• Otakudang on Nov 19, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Ni buat sevey kat opis sendiri..sah2 ramai vote “yes”. Result good. No need crackdown. Cuti tahunan semua lulus

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 19, 2014 at 7:59 pm

i wonder who the fler survey…the drivers ah is it…

• Guess on Nov 19, 2014 at 8:49 pm

a typo thing… 17%

• Surprise of the century…

• Albert on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:04 pm

All the annual reports from auditor general,Botak Spad..are of little or no value.
    They are “SYIOK SENDIRI,KAMI AKAN MEMANTAU ,TUNGGU LAH” reports.
    Have you heard about Rm Juta Juta of equipment ordered lying int the junkyard/storeroom?
    In fact the reverse of the SPAD report is true.Less than 30percent surveyed are satisfied.
    Throw all these reports to animals.We dont need them,since no corrective or remedial actions are forthcoming.

• winwin on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:41 pm

This survey has no meaning to Malaysians at all. It only says 71% are satisfied with public transport. We all know that foreign workers occupy alot of spaces in our public transport. So if the survey truly finds genuine Malaysians are satisfied then only it carries some weightings. If not, this is just syok sendiri only.

• protonsucks on Nov 19, 2014 at 9:53 pm

they survey 100 participant… 71 of them are taxi drivers..

• Spad_99 on Nov 19, 2014 at 10:02 pm

What! 71% satisfied with public transportation? SPAD must be joking. Do they survey on public transportation or pubic transportation?

Woi Syed Hamid, go count your hair is better than doing this kind of survey la.

• What the -.-

Meanwhile,during the 8 o clock news on ntv7,a lady got slapped by a taxi driver..so how did this results from this survey possibly even exist??

Plus,caught that taxi driver,what next? -.-

• Aero (Member) on Nov 19, 2014 at 10:25 pm

I have used almost every form of public transport in 2013 and 2014, including normal taxi (at least 20 times), bus, KTM (4 times) and MRT (3 times). None of them are particularly good. The worst has to be taxis, because they’re expensive and sometimes dangerous. However, I’ve spoken to many of the taxi drivers and they all said that they cannot make a stable and comfortable living with their jobs. They barely earn enough to serve their essential needs, let alone their family. It’s not the taxi drivers’ fault that taxi rides are so expensive. I’m aware that some taxi drivers don’t even use the meters, and some are plain criminals. Fortunately, I haven’t met a taxi driver who didn’t use his meter, and none of them tried to kill me yet… maybe I just got lucky. lol The KTM is the second worst, the new trains aren’t that bad, but their ‘questionable’ occupants can make some people feel uncomfortable. Buses, I can’t say much, I only went on RapidKL once, and I can’t remember much to share. The best of the lot has to be the MRT, the one that we can take to the Petronas Towers. The NVH is terrible, I felt as if it was going to break up and crash whenever it made turns. Scary for first timers. But at least the people who use the MRT are okay, normal middle-class and lower-middle class Malaysians mostly, and also many tourists.

Sad to say, our public transport has a long way to go. Just my dua sen lah, I’m sure others will have very different experiences to share.

• aming on Nov 20, 2014 at 9:42 am

Aiyoo brader,
      Equality is in the sense of giving the chances of mobility to all, that’s racism opinion is no good.

• Aero (Member) on Nov 20, 2014 at 12:23 pm

Where exactly did I express this ‘racism opinion’ ? If you mean the KTM and MRT part, then let me ask you, have YOU ever taken a few KTM rides ? You won’t understand the feeling until you experience it.

• Just another Malaysian Joke of the day…

• maskcooler on Nov 20, 2014 at 12:56 am

this is rubbish la

• Sendiri Syok on Nov 20, 2014 at 1:39 am

As stated that “Details of the survey, including demographics and sample size, have not been divulged.”

I know one of the surveyors. They surveyed 1000 ppl. 71 were satisfied. Then they removed 900 non satisfied ppl from the sample size as incomplete since those not satisfied must give valid reason but did not do so.

Stupid SPAD. Better change your name to SPIT.Ptuii!

• leonardo on Nov 20, 2014 at 9:00 am

Who carried out this survey?

• The reason for this survey is to justify the planned fare increase, just like how they hype up the fuel smuggling activities right before the fuel price increase.

• superdriver on Nov 20, 2014 at 10:20 am

Who ever did this survey didnt/never climbed the metro bus nor have climbed a taxi only to get chased out like some common animal by selfish and self indulgent driver that do not want to go to where you actually need to go.These taxis prey on the desperate people especially on nights , to squeeze the max money they can get from others.

The public transport in Malaysia is abysmal and any progress done to it has gone down the drain. The rapidkl China made busses are very uncomfortable and honestly not safe at all especially for the elderly and children. When the driver brakes hard and you lose your grip from the really oily dirty poles/hand railing or the ridiculous hanging hand grips in the busses that are too high to reach,pray hard and fast you dont hit/smash your head/skull hard on the edge of the stairs,poles and etc. Mix this with really impatient bus drivers and you have an extremely unpleasent journey to work everyday.Dont believe me take the bus from Taman Tun and to KLsentral, I swear you will forget why you climb the bus in first place after waiting some hours for the bus.That one bus virtually goes around the entire damansara and reaches close to 1 hour later to KlSentral. I believe this apply to all other klang valley area too.

You cant actually blame the tension drivers, they have to drive the bus to a certain route , handle tickets, money(exact amount) and really manage a ton of people the wholeday(i dare say they have seen more foreigners and know and understand their behaviours than our people in wisma putra with the influx of banglas, indons, indians, china, white people and etc) and arrive to their final destination within a certain time only to repeat the cycle again.

The lrt/putra trains and services are ok but thats about it.

• superdriver on Nov 20, 2014 at 10:33 am

OMG , nationwide price hike, petrol already hike, food, water milk everything hike, prices of houses are unbeliveably high somore, what the hell we are working for guys? Pretty soon blue color workers like us wont be able to afford even a basic meal. Better find some other line of work, like driving taxi , taking survey and etc. else doom to suffer the indignity of poor a life quality like some illegal kuli despite being a professional

• Can Do on Nov 20, 2014 at 10:36 am

Dear SPAD, if you read all the comments in this blog and every comment are hitting you right under the belt, you have a problem. And a serious one that is. I have travelled to more than 50 countries both developing and developed countries and we certainly have one of the worst if not, champion of the worst taxi services you can find and I cringe every time I think of the taxi services in Malaysia. I do not take taxis in KL. I have my own cars but I pity the folks that depends on it. Please publish which professional body that did this sampling for you just whack some nice figures out there and hoping the nation will smile and agree with you. I dare challenge you to take 10 taxis in KLCC or Pavillion shopping belt. If you can get 7 taxis to take you anywhere you wish on meters which is your 71% as claimed, you can whack everyone that commented in this article for good and hold their peace. And if you fail to get 7 taxis to get you around on meters, then you failed in your job and should resign if you still have your dignity.

• ben yap on Nov 20, 2014 at 11:21 am

nak tipu pun jangan tipu sampai macam ni.

dosa, bang… dosa…..

• thanks for making me laugh today…..

• then 31% came from taxi driver i guess

• The 71% satisfaction may be correct; except that the survey was probably obtain from all those bangla & illegal foreigners whilst riding on the ‘free bus’ service in town.