Ferrari FXX K – the hardcore 1,050 hp LaFerrari

1400443_CAR-Ferrari-FXX

This is the Ferrari FXX K, so hardcore and uncompromising that one might spew out expletives upon hearing what it’s made of. The laboratory-car is based on the LaFerrari, Maranello’s first hybrid model, and will grace the world’s tracks from next year. The ‘K’ in the name refers to the KERS kinetic energy recovery system the FXX K adopts to maximise track performance.

The FXX K is moved by 1,050 horses, 860 hp from a 6,262 cc V12 engine and 190 by an electric motor. Maximum torque is over 900 Nm, 750 Nm of which comes from the internal combustion engine. A seven-speed dual-clutch transmission completes the powertrain.

The V12 features new camshafts and a modified valve train with mechanical rather than hydraulic tappets. The intake manifolds have been redesigned and given a special type of polishing treatment. The exhaust system has been modified and silencers have been removed.

1400445_CAR-Ferrari-FXXK

Ferrari’s HY-KERS system has been tailored specifically for pure performance here. There are four settings on the Manettino: Qualify for max performance within a limited number of laps, Long Run to optimise performance consistency, Manual Boost for instant max torque delivery and Fast Charge for a fast recharge of the car’s battery.

It’s pretty obvious that plenty of aero work has gone into this car. The front is dominated by a twin-profile spoiler and a larger splitter, which is 30 mm lower, with a gap in its centre. This design is an application of the concepts developed to improve aero balance in the GT category of the FIA World Endurance Championship, which Ferrari has won for three consecutive years.

Two pairs of vertical elements, an endplate and, externally, a dive plane, together with vertical fins channel the air towards the car’s flanks, generating a longitudinal vortex that creates a localised depression. This in turn sucks the wake from the wheels to the outside of the aerodynamic underbody. Along with the side skirts that extend out from the sills, the vortex helps isolate the airflow from the underbody to boost efficiency.

1400446_CAR-Ferrari-FXXK

At the back, the tail is higher and a mobile spoiler extends further for a total increase of 60 mm. A vertical fin and a small wing at each side act as guide vanes in the low drag mode and boost the spoiler’s efficiency in the high downforce one. This system also creates considerable downforce, 50% improvement in the low drag configuration and a 30% improvement in the more aggressive setting, or 540 kg at 200 km/h.

This mega LaFerrari rolls on Pirelli P-Zero slicks with sensors that monitor longitudinal, lateral and radial acceleration, as well as temperature and pressure. This ensures an accurate analysis of the interaction between the tyre and track surface, providing even more data for the traction control system.

The intervention level of the E-Diff electronic differential, F-Trac traction control, Racing SSC (Side Slip Angle Control) – specially calibrated to match the slicks – and the high-performance ABS can be controlled via the Manettino. Carbon ceramic Brembos are handed the task of stopping those 1,050 Italian stallions.

Unhindered by homologation and racing regulations, the FXX K will never be used in competition. It was designed for an exclusive group of “Client-Test Drivers” in Ferrari’s XX driver development programme that will run over the next two years.

The “regular” LaFerrari

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Stay Clear on Dec 04, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Dont you park near my FXX … or I cant get outta my car !

• Better than Sex on Dec 04, 2014 at 5:00 pm

How do you become Vulgar and Beautiful at the same time? … ask Ferrari FXX designers

• spongewai on Dec 04, 2014 at 1:45 pm

dear Naza, bring this 2 beast to showroom and wanna snap your beast and sit on that beast

• GT3 (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 3:30 pm

This car is a toy for ultra-rich lucky bast*rds who think that the ‘normal’ LaFerrari wasn’t fast/hardcore enough.
      And it would be amazing if someone could review this FXX K back-to-back with McLaren P1 GTR.

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 6:55 pm

If I’m not mistaken the FXX program was basically you “buy” the car, and the car gets parked at Ferrari’s race track. Once in a while you’re allowed to fly to that race track and take the car for a spin, and then you leave it there.

• GT3 (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 9:24 pm

Yea it’s like buying a car that u can’t take home. It may sound ridiculous but those customers/owners/clients could have super exclusive experience in racetracks around the world. Set the place and time, and just bring yourself. The car will be professionally prepared by the crews and ready to be driven. All the driving data will be collected by Ferrari for future reference, improvements and R&D.

• Some few rich car enthusiast out there would buy this car for fun and track use, for them its a pride of joy but for you its useless,sorry this wasn’t made for you but for them but because this is internet so you can say your opinion……..

• I think I just wet myself….

• RR ghost is damn cheap if compare with this ferrari.

• Omicron Tau (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Like mencarut only the name…

• laferrari on Dec 04, 2014 at 2:03 pm

FXXX !!

• OH what the FUC K…..

• Ferrari FUC K. XD XD XD

• CamPor on Dec 04, 2014 at 2:11 pm

K

• dodgeviper88 on Dec 04, 2014 at 2:13 pm

apparently it was done to intentionally spell like a certain foul word with the middle letters censored. Cheeky Ferrari FXXK

• JoeRadzif on Dec 04, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Jaw Dropping…

• alex91 on Dec 04, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Holy FXXK! they Made it faster

• weeee on Dec 04, 2014 at 2:29 pm

you sure its not F*CK

• lolololo on Dec 04, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Its a F**king F**K Ferrari! hahaha

• Xeralis on Dec 04, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Irresistible but the name could have been way better!

• erwinkarim on Dec 04, 2014 at 2:40 pm

look how much Fxx Ks that this ferrari gives….

• philippecr on Dec 04, 2014 at 2:49 pm

It’s soo fast, soo awesome, you’ll say “FXX K!!!”

• AVH (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 3:06 pm

I’ll admit the Ferrari LaFerrari is my favorite of the three hypercars that was launched(P1, 918 ,LaF), But has probably the worse name of all….all time by Ferrari standards.

This is literally the best name for a Ferrari ever. F**K is Awesome.

• Think of the price tag i feel fxx k dy… Really a fxx king expensive car

• almighty tokong lim guan eng on Dec 04, 2014 at 3:53 pm

People are using F1 technilogy but here in Malaysia, protong still selling car with dinosour 4 speed gearbox and no VSC and two airbag.

Poor malaysia people have to buy them because of brand loyalty and RV and cannot afford 5 star safety car. Protong truly the bane of the rakyats.

• Aerodynamic bro on Dec 04, 2014 at 4:43 pm

More sounds like UMW Toyota than Protong

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 7:01 pm

The sarcasm is strong in this one. Or the stupidity. Not sure. You were talking about Toyota, weren’t you?

• thedarkside on Dec 05, 2014 at 11:00 am

Ferrari news oso want to talk bout proton
      F1 news oso want to talk bout proton
      Mclaren, Porshe news oso talk bout proton
      I bet when you go out for a date…all you do is talk proton. good!…happy with your life.

• Aerodynamic bro on Dec 04, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Make sure the front LED headlight is bright as FXXK!!! xD

• jackchaivoonchoon on Dec 04, 2014 at 5:34 pm

This Fxxk falari cant fuxking with my BMW Z5 Quad Turbo 0-100 3 sec 10 Pot Brembo Brake .

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 7:45 pm

what the FXXK

• Nissan on Dec 05, 2014 at 1:34 am

What a nice FxxKing car

• thedarkside on Dec 05, 2014 at 10:57 am

would love to go for ride…as the co-driver.