Spyker Cars – Dutch supercar maker goes bankrupt

spyker1

It seems the plucky Dutch supercar maker has finally run out of luck, as Spyker Cars, builder of some of the most exquisitely-crafted machines on the planet, has formally declared bankruptcy.

A Dutch district court halted a temporary moratorium on payments – equivalent to Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection in the United States – granted on December 2, because the committed bridge funding did not arrive in time to save the company. This puts Spyker and its wholly-owned subsidiaries, Spyker Automobielen and Spyker Events and Branding, into receivership.

Spyker’s precarious financial position has been at least partly caused by its 2010 purchase of Saab, which itself went bust a year later after a last-ditch sale to Chinese carmaker Youngman Lotus was blocked by former owner General Motors. Spyker sued GM for US$3 billion over the matter, but the case was dismissed earlier this year.

Spyker B6 Venator Spyder-06

“None of the ambitions we had when we founded Spyker 15 years ago has vanished as a result of today’s events,” said the company’s CEO Victor Muller. “In 2000, we set out to establish a super sports car business from scratch with a global distribution, and we achieved that. Over the years, we undertook some daring ventures that left their marks on the company which in turn contributed to today’s demise.”

“I will relentlessly endeavour to resurrect Spyker as soon as practically possible and, assuming we will be successful, pursue our goal to merge with a high performance electric aircraft manufacturer and develop revolutionary electric Spykers with disruptive sustainable technology.”

We say good luck to Spyker on its ambitious future aspirations, and, as its Latin axiom proclaims, “Nulla tenaci invia est via” – “For the tenacious no road is impassable.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• ProtonGSC on Dec 19, 2014 at 2:36 pm

When is Lotus turn??

Oh I forgot P1 as ATM machine needs money as Proton.

PROTON nees money ask R&D jer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 73
    • synthium on Dec 19, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Bail out using Shell oil money bukan budaya Holland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
      • Holland won’t bail out anyone.

Fokker aircrafts and DAF trucks already went bankrupt without any help from the dutch gouvernment.

And at least DAF trucks was resurrected and is quite successful nowadays in Europe.

• Albert on Dec 20, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Proton cannot bungkus at this moment.Why?Those dead wood on the take will fight till their last drop of blood.Once Proton is gone,rezeki finished,thats their worry.
      Anyway,with so many powerful politicians backing it,it will only take another 1997-1998 great recession to mampuskan Proton.
      It has been bleeeding profusely after buying ailing Lotus,and yet DRB is not calling it a day yet cos they are doing compulsory national service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
  • Mr. Kenedy on Dec 19, 2014 at 2:43 pm

I think here in Bolehland, Bufori will be the next one to go. follow the footsteps of TD cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 58
    • Proton needs to go, too much hanky panky going on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 36
      • kadajawi (Member) on Dec 20, 2014 at 7:19 pm

Do you really think if Proton were gone car prices would go down? Do you really think the government would give up their tax income? Hahahahahaha. What a fool.

If Proton is gone, there won’t be affordable cars in Malaysia anymore. Perodua has no competition and can raise prices, and you can pick between P2 and overpriced death traps, as other brands see no need to lower price (if they even can) or to offer better, safer cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 37
        • Satria Neo on Dec 21, 2014 at 3:42 am

That’s why he is not happy Malaysia has Proton. He works for over price death trap jap brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 20
          • Boleh on Dec 21, 2014 at 11:33 am

Yes, he is not happy Malaysia has a death trap plan called Proton. Malaysian has to work overtime just to buy overprice jap brands to avoid Proton. Because of Proton, Malaysia has to suffer using unreliable car with stupid Punch CVT whine. Because of Proton, Malaysia has to suffer the loss of economy because car investors rather invest in other countries than Malaysia. Because of Proton, the people has to swallow the pride and ego of Dr M and his fellow supporters. Proton is a death trap for Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 41
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 186
  • cendol (Member) on Dec 19, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Proton bila lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 118
  • Low Budget on Dec 19, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Proton’s life is like Snake Fish (Ikan Haruan), very hard to die one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 80
  • jinggo on Dec 19, 2014 at 4:03 pm

mesti nak kaitkan dgn proton, wadefak men…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 49
  • Albert Sam on Dec 19, 2014 at 5:45 pm

like same lorr said, cannot sale meant quality no good. spyker r.i.p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 19, 2014 at 10:58 pm

wah banyak proton salesman and dealer owner come here dislike comments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 33
    • akulamd on Dec 20, 2014 at 8:25 pm

I dislike negative comments becouse of I love and care of our country. Pls study and learn more on basic economy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
      • I love my country too but i dislike manipulation of economy though politics a.k.a NAP. Also, i dislike stupid supporters that support everything Proton even it is wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
        • akulamd on Dec 22, 2014 at 4:46 pm

the intention to create proton is no doubt good for our economy, if you are lazy to work hard, or stupid to get better job with better pay to enjoy any car, don’t blame other rather than yourself.

• common sensor on Dec 20, 2014 at 8:20 am

Whoa .. opportunity for DRB to buy over and use its technology to revive Proton .. wink wink

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7