Petrol stations may close if prices fall further – PDAM

According to The Star, the Petrol Dealers Association of Malaysia (PDAM) have stated that a multitude of fuel dealers around the nation may have to shut down should prices continue to fall due to high losses.

President of PDAM, Datuk Hashim Othman stated that losses of “between RM20,000 and RM100,000” were reported by several dealers. “If the drop was only a few sen, we could absorb the losses but now with the 35 sen drop (for petrol), we’re buying it high and selling it low,” he added.

Datuk Abu Samah Bachik, president of the Petronas Petrol Dealers Association of Malaysia, has stated that solutions are being drawn up between the government as “all dealers in the country are affected. None of us are exempt from this.”

fuel-pump-nozzle-petrol-diesel-ron-95-ron-97-file 702

Due to petrol and diesel being considered as essential items, dealers are required to possess at least three days’ worth of stock. The issue at hand stems from motorists waiting out from refuelling until after the new price is introduced.

“Some (stations) do run out of fuel because people aren’t buying before the end of the month. But when the price goes down, everyone rushes to buy,” adds Hashim. Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consu­merism minister Datuk Hasan Malek confirmed that meetings between the dealers and oil companies are on hand.

The drop of 35 sen for both RON 95 and 97 plus a 30 sen drop in diesel has resulted in the new price of RM1.91, RM2.11 and RM1.93 per litre, respectively – the lowest for RON 95 and diesel since May 2013.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• who cares on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:30 am

Good…close as you wish.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 724 Thumb down 23
    • satekj38 on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:55 am

what happen when the G suddenly increase the fuel prices overnight previously???

all petrol dealers make extra profits so many times and just one time reduction now already start to complain???

should adapt themselves to this “floating” system and stop complaining!

You are in business, after all! there is risk always in business!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1119 Thumb down 21
      • RM1 million Untung Bersih on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:35 am

PDAM are bunch of lazy lazy dudes. Most of tem, each got FEW licence. One under wife name, one under 2nd wife name, one under 3rd wife name, one under anak name.

So, each PDAM member can get untung up to RM1 million per month.

This is like AP issue. Untung like crazy over the years, make millions over the years, one time make loss, ask gomen to subsidise the loss.

Open the licence to everybody in Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 692 Thumb down 12
        • Gargantia on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:04 pm

What this Datuk nagging for??? Please close now !!!

Just let DrM and his cronies buddies closed all the damn blood sucking dealers !!!

Let the country be free from Cronies !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 377 Thumb down 18
          • Zero Accountability Zero Responsibility on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Yes we rakyat CHALLENGE you to close your shop permanently. Many waiting in line to take over from you bums

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 305 Thumb down 9
          • 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:03 pm

So so so lazy. Still want tongkat. Make millions also but want tongkat. I see most petrol stations owners rumah besar and drive bm or merc

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 215 Thumb down 11
          • Proton when?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 27
          • Alson P on Feb 19, 2015 at 5:16 pm

New producers need to price themselves into the market and this factor causes a fall in the price of oil…
            Shale oil production incurs higher costs than traditional oil extraction in well-established sites, such as West Texas and the Arabian Peninsula….

• ProtonGSCC on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:10 pm

Can you please close down Proton also? Enough of leeches in our country.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 255 Thumb down 76
          • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 215
          • OtakUdang on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:37 pm

Yes, you close your mouth first

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 22
          • 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:17 pm

Everything is related. Proton is a crony also sucking our money badly. Same like AP holders and PDAM

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 36
        • HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Jan 02, 2015 at 2:59 pm

I heard somebody even got 30 license to operate 30 petrol kiosk in East Coast…..

kikiki……

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 5
        • helmi on Jan 03, 2015 at 5:20 am

PDAM & UMW Toyota has one in common. Both are filthy greedy lazy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • ProtonGSC on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:49 am

Cronies to close shop !!!

The Datuk is full of shit by siding them? He don’t even concern of Rakyat when the fuel sudden UP price !!!

Just let a more capable people to run the dealership !!! And not DrM and his cronies friends.

F*** OFF CRONIES !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 297 Thumb down 9
        • Open Lesen to ALL on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:03 pm

Open the station lesen to all and not just Bumiputera alone!!

This clearly shows incompetence and perah the gomen for more money, Our money!

74 comments in 1 hour shows how angry people are!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 273 Thumb down 43
          • nazimahjamal on Jan 02, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Support you. But abolish vernacular school first. Ada brani? Talk cock only.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 115 Thumb down 196
          • 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:20 pm

We are talking about corruption here. Nothing to do with schools bang. You pun nak tongkat?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 57
          • Albert on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Open Lesen To All,1000percent correct..correct…correct(Lingam style).
            This monopolistic PDAM got hit badly.So many shops in kelantan got flooded to their rooftops,they sold off their goods at 50-60 percent losses,and did not murmur one bit.
            Here,just a temporary setback,they behave worst than kindy kids..demanding bailouts.
            This PERLINDUNGAN retarded businessmen are spineless and hopeless.They forgot the hefty gains when gomen increased petrol prices multiple times.
            Remember Badawi increased it to RM2.70/litre ?40 percent overnight gain,why didn’t they complain then?
            Monopoly has its setbacks,now you know.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 8
          • RBNSN on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:33 pm

Did the vernacular schools shut the door for people of other communities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 14
          • letstorque on Jan 03, 2015 at 3:58 am

Petrol station license open for all.

I’ve never heard about quota or anything like that.

Especially if dealer-based station

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 19
          • Alson P on Feb 19, 2015 at 5:20 pm

the newcomers to the oil market have created market forces that threaten their own survival…
            Their one hope is to exploit the very factor that made non-conventional oil extraction possible in the first place – technological innovation….

• Low Budget on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:13 pm

Those profit they made when the price goes up already well spent playing Golf with our Ministers, now they make noise.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 10
          • 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Bagi free pun mahu complain. Stesen semua free

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 11
        • Malas dan Malas on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:17 pm

Open stesen lesen to all bangsa and not just bumiputera.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 213 Thumb down 74
          • salambangi on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Racist statement. Open up all sectors not just petrol stations.I see lots of chinese owned petrol stations. Why are you harping on the bumis alone.Do you know how difficult it is for a bumi to open up a shop in any of the Chinese own shopping complexes?

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 272 Thumb down 280
          • Well said Salambangi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 98
      • petrol on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:35 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 172
        • Peter on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:46 pm

We won know when the price go down in M’sia either, IF not b’cse of Poltician tell us!
          Your complain is legit but should point to the gov. Before they go for free-float system, did they consult all Petrol station/trader in the nation? Or they just sent a memo & consider it done!
          Look, we got 1 more stupid GST wave is coming. If fuel drama could cost you, imagine GST!
          Don say I didn’t speak up. We’re living in a country where gov is more idiotic than average citizen (if you don count those BN parasites). They just play politic but don know how to manage at exec level. I’m not good either but neither I’m minister who sucks Malaysian money in golf club.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 9
      • Julez on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Spot on! Previous months, right before increase in price, they bought the fuel low, and the next day they sold it at a higher profit margin than the day before. After that, it’s margins-as-usual. When prices are adjusted downwards, they will only suffer losses on the first 2 days at worst.

Plus, I personally know a Petronas station owner and even he says it’s just “business as usual”, raking in at least RM80k per day in revenues (that’s what he claims), and that’s only a small station at a kampung!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 2
      • Maserati(Official) on Jan 02, 2015 at 2:36 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 161
        • Business, if there is no loss, everyone also want to do business.

• Jsonting on Jan 03, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Having loses then can ask for government to subsidize a?? Wa… Like that every business can subsidize lo when having losses. Oil price drop is a global issue, same goes to other industries. We all have to take up the business risk and challenge. So if you can’t handle your business, then sorry la, game over. Plus not every time price drop ok??? It’s everytime price increase!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • AngryCitizen on Mar 31, 2015 at 7:24 am

So when prices go up, will you return the money to the government? Dumbass!

• Apalah bodoh punya statement PDAM…..
        when Government increase the price whereby you still have a stock at old price…. you keep silent and happy. But now when the Government reduced the price you are barking like a dog….
        Tak sekolah punya orang…
        If dont know how to run the petrol station…. give to me…. I will happily run it…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 8
      • Leong on Jan 02, 2015 at 6:40 pm

I quite pity them.
        The margin per litre is very very low, around 5 cents per litre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 63
        • RBNSN on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:30 pm

Plenty of other stuff don’t have big margins. For example the stuff sold in sundry shops, there isn’t a big margin either. Many business survive on small margin. Most of the long time businesses you see out there, photo shops, pharmacies, laundries, etc. Most of them went through a phase much difficult then Petrol pumps do. The petrol pump operators were used to high prices, they can;t adjust now. But what if prices went up. Will they be complaining? Most probably no. Just like any other businesses, the Petrol distribution seems to have come to situation where they have to encounter cycles of boom and gloom. This doesn’t mean PDAM have to make us pay for their problems, that’s unfair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
          • In the end is the smaller dealers that get picked out 1 by 1……not here to argue or anything……just that dealers are victims here….im happy that the government dropped the price……just annoyed as all just see the surface of things…….the ppl who is actually profiting from this is not the dealers….it is the petrol companies……just sad to see how ppl look at petrol retail

• There is no sure-win business in this world. If you think u r losing, just shut down yourself. Those who can survive, win it all. This is business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
      • wendy on Jan 02, 2015 at 8:12 pm

bodoh..make profit if you have high stock. How to keep stock if people filling like there is not tomorrow.

• rapsy779 on Jan 03, 2015 at 2:41 pm

WTF? It is business and of course no one wants to loose out on profit. You’re talking like a kid, are you 10? Don’t you understand business economics? Try telling that to yourself when you open a business. I bet we’ll see you here crying like a baby when price of crude increase to where it was 6 months back. On that day, we’ll tell you to “adapt”.

• Power on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:49 pm

because the Petron owner complain so…

• Be fair, why didn’t the petrol station mention anything when price increase…untung lebih senyap, untung kurang sikit complaint. Kalau tak puas hati terus tutup, jangan bollywood

• Kangkung Jet on Jan 05, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Petrol station owned by richer ppl.
        So G want to protect them from RUGI?

Last time price hike up, now drop down.
        Thats business! No RISK, No BUSINESS

While fuel price up,
        They gain more, pure profit !
        Petrol station owner sleep with smile!

Now price drop,.
        then PDAM want to protect Petrol station owner?

PDAM get paid from income tax..
        Who is paying the income tax.
        Who you should protect?

Floating is fair game!
        Pls make the floating system transparency.
        Talk no meaning.

• aaron on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:06 am

This PDAM is such a joker. Firstly, when the price of fuel goes up, none of them come out and make noise when they’re making tonnes of profit. Secondly, “we’re buying it high and selling it low”. How does this make any sense? Global fuel price has dropped to 30 years low, but you’re still buying them high? How is this possible? Cronyism? Ask yourself what’s wrong with this before threatening to close down your stations.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 245 Thumb down 15
      • Strip the Datukships on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:43 am

I hope both these Datuks get the datukship stripped. Don’t deserve their Datukships. A Datuk is supposed to be well respected and honoured and have served the people and government well.

Here, what have they done when they were making millions in the past? Do nothing. No expect government to use our LHDN money to pay for your losses?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 150 Thumb down 3
        • trololo on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:56 am

the well respected and honoured should be dato’ not datuk which can be brought which extra cash

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • Bunch of Lazy Idiots on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:21 am

They are bunch of lazy croni idiots. When minyak went up, they reaped so much untung. When minyak go down, they complain, complain and complain. Come out with press release, make noise in media etc.

They forgot to tell that average station clean profit per month is RM100k per month.

That they forget to tell. Get free licence. Special privileged group.

If complain so much better open the licence to all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 11
      • Compete and not Goyang Kaki on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:50 am

Overseas, and even in Singapore, petrol stations have to compete with each other for business. They have to compete with pricing. See who can give lowest price.

Here all goyang kaki, free money falling on to their laps. We must follow overseas system. Government must give leeway for them to offer discounts on fuel and see who can compete and give consumers the best service.

Now they do nothing. At most just employ to Bangladeshi, one to clean toilet and another at the counter to collect money.

Expenses at the end of the month is RM2000. Electric another RM1000 and water RM300. That is thier ONLY expenses.

But untung at least RM100k

I think this Datuk is now opening pour minds to tell the Government to pen up a system where each petrol system should compete with each other for pricing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 7
    • ThePolygonal on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:56 am

Close loh. I want to apply the license.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 6
      • Low Budget on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:16 pm

So easy to get a license meh? You need at least a minimum kulitfication in order to apply.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 12
      • wendy on Jan 02, 2015 at 8:16 pm

another bodoh. if you have the $$, you can own a station too. just give you license and operate, ask magnum to give u jackpot too. ! KISS

• OMG…Sound threaten. If they close shop, i think others country punya petrol station pun close shop loh…SOHAI …puihhh..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 0
    • Gelandangan on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:47 pm

Don’t worry PDAM. If the current crude oil price maintain till 15 January. We will have another drop price for February. hip hip hooray.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
    • This is what happens when the Government has been spoon feeding these people all the while.
      No business acumen at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
    • This is what happens when the Government has been spoon feeding these people all the while.
      No business acumen at all.

• Ethan on Jan 02, 2015 at 2:49 pm

To be fair, those who cannot manage the station business shall come out. Let give this to those individual who know how to manage the petrol station businesses.

PDAM roles shall provide assist / helping to petrol station individual. Complaints to public never help.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • aLobang on Jan 02, 2015 at 4:41 pm

Bloody Snakes,for all the years we paid RM 2.30 to 2.50 to 2.80? No one was making noise. Now world price drop and price adjusted, they complain about closing shop? Give me a petrol station license! Saya buka, you tutup!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Sam friend on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:46 pm

Sam Loo owned 3 petrol stations, he ican affords driving luxury Camry 2.5v. He does not complaint because no impact to him. You people better don’t complaint but work hard like Sam Loo so you will be success.

• ailebiutu on Jan 03, 2015 at 8:40 am

Petronas dealers had been kind whenever price increased. They never close shops. Others always closed at 8 pm citing empty storage. And you know who are all these others.

• tokmoh. on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:37 am

Close la. Then sell to me for RM1, WIN.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 6
  • orang minyak on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:38 am

When the price goes up, all PDAM members rush to increase it without all the noise and bag in the profit. When price drops…lost la, cannot tahan la, my balls hurts la, bla bla bla…. If can’t sustain then close down la…free economy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 246 Thumb down 7
    • GT3 (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:31 am

It’s 2015 and they still think we rakyat still bodoh.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
    • das auto on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:35 am

Yeah…if don’t know how to run business better close down and let me take over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
  • Gracke on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:40 am

When the price up and up and up again until a dollar, we all drivers still maintain until now some even say nothing just annoying about it but now just drop few cents until 30 over cents only, they wanna close shop, losses and etc……who going to maintain us!!!!?!!! Hopeless….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 5
  • slumber on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:40 am

Yeah…. you don’t complain you earn too much when there is hike of fuel price…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 6
  • What happen when fuel price increase?they buy fuel cheap and sell high price after new price?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 5
  • JB_KIA on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:41 am

when price up, I don’t hear anything from u? You guys buy low sell high rite? Crude price didn’t drop a lot overnite, it was gradual. So u know who to blame…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 5
  • Midship on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:42 am

I think it’s absolute rubbish for the dealers to be crying over spilled milk, they have been buying low and selling high form all the price increases throughout the years

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 6
  • heybadigol (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:42 am

Blaming it on falling fuel prices is unfair. When fuel prices were going up, wouldnt it also mean these station operators were making big profits (buy cheap, sell expensive)? Wouldn’t it be fair to say that whatever loss they are making now, was already made up by increases/profits earlier in 2014? This is business – sometimes you make money, sometimes you lose.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 4
  • Vomit blood to this rascal(so call) president pdam.stop showing that u r rascal.I vomit blood.drop oil price is Intl.phenomenon.n stop eating fish head curry bez it spoils badly ur common sense thinking.go ahead now n stop all station minyah.open challenge.its 21st century u monkey

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Bullcrap on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:44 am

This is just utter bull crap … Don’t they know the fuel prices are going downhill already? Don’t know how to run a business ? When increase diam² je? Untung few Mil rugi 100k because of own stupidity bising lagi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
  • cendol (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:44 am

I really want to see how many will ACTUALLY close

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 8
    • heybadigol (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:12 am

Saw one station closed down (Petronas I think) on Bukit Jalil Highway recently. Don’t know if its because of this or something else. But if they close, there are still others open. So no big loss to consumers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
      • PeteM on Jan 02, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Let them close. Even if they re-open after fuel price increase, to me they are forever close cause I will not go there ever again. There are still many petrol stations out there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • That is a JOKE in 2015. Why they keep silent when the fuel price increased

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 6
  • bryan on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:47 am

What about those days where you bought low and sold high ?

I understand the need to operate at a profit but this is one of the few times that we see a reduction vs the increase that we had to cope with in the last few years.

The days of you buying low and selling high will come again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
  • satekj38 on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:47 am

what happen when the G suddenly increase the fuel prices overnight previously???

all petrol dealers make extra profits so many times and just one time reduction now already start to complain???

should adapt themselves to this “floating” system and stop complaining!

You are in business, after all! there is risk always in business!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
  • The transaction between station and fuel supplier requires to adapt a new system that suitable for floating fuel price. This is how our neighbor countries are doing right now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Shaekey on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:15 am

I just would like to share what I was told from a friend who own a petrol station. When the petrol price increase, usually they don’t have much stock left to sell at the new increase price because people usually lined up to fuel up before the new increased price take effect. So whatever that was left doesn’t give much profit compared to when the price decrease. When the price decreased, they have to sell at lower price than what they get from the fuel supplier. They cannot just let the petrol storage ran dry and wait for the the new lower price before ordering from the fuel supplier. There is a certain stock level that they have to maintain. So if they are caught with a full stock of petrol and the price drop the next day, then they have to bear the losses due to the price drop.

So I agree that there must be a better mechanism between the petrol station and the fuel supplier to resolve this problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 28
      • wendy on Jan 02, 2015 at 8:19 pm

THIS IS A FACT. At last, some comments worth reading.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • This risk should have been foreseen. Like all businesses. That is why, knowing the culture, buying patterns of your customer is important, unless otherwise.

• Sarled on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:50 am

If new 2015 petrol at Houston USA pump prices translates to RM1.49 per litre, unsubsidized and already taxed by government, please don’t tell us you will lose money selling fuel in Msia. Maybe temporarily but not more than three days’ worth of loss. It’s the business world, suck it up and live with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
    • Bro..Are you sure it is MYR 1.49 per litre? not USD?
      I checked to http://www.houstongasprices.com/

• Dont forget their prices are in gallons not litre :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Sarled on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Sure bro. Coz they go by the GALLON.

• Buddy on Jan 02, 2015 at 6:38 pm

1 gallon = 4.546 litre so simple maths will work out 1.15 RM per litre

• Alson P on Feb 19, 2015 at 6:22 pm

US gallon = 3.78541
          UK gallon = 4.54609
          Usd/myr = 1/3.62

>>Regular gasoline in US 89-90 AKI (94-95 RON)

petrol price USD2.274/gallon(16/2/2015)

>> 2.274 * 3.62 = Rm8.23188

Rm8.23188 / 3.78541 = 2.175

Gasoline(petrol 94-95 RON) di US – RM2.175(16/2/2015)

• Alson P on Feb 19, 2015 at 6:20 pm

US gallon = 3.78541
        UK gallon = 4.54609
        Usd/myr = 1/3.62

>>Regular gasoline in US 89-90 AKI (94-95 RON)

petrol price USD2.274/gallon(16/2/2015)

>> 2.274 * 3.62 = Rm8.23188

Rm8.23188 / 3.78541 = 2.175

Gasoline(petrol 94-95 RON) di US – RM2.175(16/2/2015)

• Rubbish!
    So what’s the case of the earning when fuel price shot up? Didn’t plan for rainy days a.. then that’s a mismanaged fuel station, better close down. Do not take this as a reason to ask rakyat to subsidize your fuel Mr President of PDAM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
  • Can smell bs this pdam. Price go up no prob. Crude oil went down then of coz selling price will go down. Bs bs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • dodgeviper88 on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:59 am

This shows that your price adjustment on a monthly basis is not viable. If you adjust it on a weekly basis then it will gradually fall thus reducing the drastic difference in gas prices. As I remember during the last drop in prices (2009?) it was adjusted on a fortnightly basis. Also those gas station owners in Malaysia had it easy all these years. Many countries change their prices on a daily basis and compete with other gas stations as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Acrix on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:00 am

What utter rubbish!! There is always risk in business with profit and losses. After earning millions from the past few years of price increase where they buy low and sell high now they want to complaint about a few thousand losses??!!! Adapt to the new changes or close shop or change to a free market system and each station can sell at their own prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • First rule of doing business.
    When you earn money in the early stage, keep some % of it to cover for loses when it rains.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • ThePolygonal on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:09 pm

Yup, first rule of doing business… always take a percentage out of the profit to cover future loses. Min buffer of 3-6 months. Then.. only start thinking about that S-Class which will take 6 months to decide which by the end of the 6 months, the target probably shifted to a Huracan. By then you got bored and start donating to charity instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • BLT_Club on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:03 am

Are you kidding? Years of profit cannot sustain a few months of losses? This is another tactic used to protect profits (not even their rice bowl) and to pressure the government to maintain a certain floor price. If the whole nation has to accept a floating price mechanism why not these bloodsuckers? Is petrol dealing a profit guaranteed business? This unscrupulous behaviour should stop and the Government should make a stand. Else the rakyat should make the stand for them in the next GE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • ThePolygonal on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:10 pm

Its not even ‘few months of losses.’ It’s one day. They are planting news on the newspapers which cost cash.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:05 am

Senang aje cara penyelesaian…

Petrol dealer ni kenalah UBAH CARA HIDUP…!!! bangang…!

Bila semua harga barang naik harga, konsumer yang kena ubah cara hidup. Sekarang harga petrol turun, masa ni lah dealer kena amalkan cara hidup yg berbeza…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • I believe the price now is fair, if they would close down, all petrol station around the world cannot survive either, that’s the reality. What comes around goes around, look at the bright side, if that’s struggling then close down would end the struggling. Raise price for not being close down? hell no just shut up and die. 尘归尘,土归土.

• This is between government and yours issue, not our consumer, PDAM is a victim when price fall down, how about the price increased? all your rubbish selfish operator earn multi million and just keep quite, now is your pay back time, dont hate us, this is between operator, supplier and government, congratulation for yours, everyday keep suffering and cant closed down, if dare, close shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • infinity on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:09 am

One interesting point here is that the petrol dealer must have 3 days’ worth of stock. However, I do often see that the RON97 runs out of stock. Does the RON97 not included in the essential item list?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • World record on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:12 am

Fuuhhhh….
    World record…..!

First time aku like semua comment…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
  • jimmy on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:12 am

it must be like that, as global price is unstable, and fuel subsidy cut therefore people will try to control their cost of living and keep to buy lower price to suptain

• kimi's fan on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:12 am

self interest…..

• BeemerFreak on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:15 am

That is not the consumer’s problem. The retailers have pledged to take the risk when they decided to take up the franchise. Furthermore petrol companies should have thoroughly evaluated an individual entity’s ability to provide such services before awarding them the contract. The government has to be proactive to ensure that the consumers needs are taken care of first. It is not the consumers fault that these companies cannot cope with constantly varying prices, and they should not be punished by the result of that. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Henry on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:17 am

Due to petrol and diesel being considered as essential items, dealers are required to possess at least three days’ worth of stock. The issue at hand stems from motorists waiting out from refuelling until after the new price is introduced.
    —————————————-

When the price goes up you also benefit from three days’ stock bought at a lower price. So, what is this guy bitching about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • Hottuna on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:18 am

Please go help the flood victims instead rather than complaining on fuel price drop. Seriously shame on you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • jinggo on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:19 am

tauke petrones suda berbunyi.. mana tauke syell, kaltex, petrun & BheshP? come on la tauke, fikir waras sikit la, kasi bantu rakyat.. jangan langsi maa!

• BLAME AM MASLAN !!!
    BLAME GOVERNMENT /sarcastic

Anyway, for the few to benefit, the whole country to suffer.

Yea right, shame on you petrol dealer, masa untung sibuk joli, masa rugi sikit, komplen banyak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Redline on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:20 am

For years the petrol dealers have made huge profits due to the many price increases, including 20 sens and 30 sens jump in one go in petrol prices. They don’t make noise when they make instant profits like this. But one time the petrol prices go down 30 sens, they make noise. I think the petrol dealers need to accept this as part of the business that they are in. Cannot expect 100% profit all the time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • let’s set the petrol free flow system, owners can sell as high or as low as they wish because market’s force is stronger than controlled force. Happy New Year!

• Spitfire on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:27 am

Suck it up,dealers.If you want to close, then just close, don’t have to talk to media and threat to close shop.all the better for us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • nabill (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:27 am

And no one will feel sorry for u… Infact, we can help u close down by lighting a cigarette near any pump!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • TheDuh on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:30 am

I have ZERO pity for you, PDAM.
    Why don’t you do something productive and, say, donate some of your ill-gotten gains to the flood victims?

• blackbox on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:36 am

A bunch of cronies, please close shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • dislike more people will kill you! on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:37 am

Dont try to dislike!We will track you and kick your ass!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Gomen very good with 1Malaysia like 1Klinik Malaysia, 1Kedai Malaysia, Br1M, etc. Tak lama lagi ada ler 1PumpStesen Malaysia.

• panjang on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:38 am

Rubbish and nonsense comment from PDAM.Why is it u never mentioned the profit u made when the price surged?
    U can claim that users pump the night before the increase but who knows u might claim that u r out of stock?

Go ahead and close shop.I dont mind letting the Gomen handle the fuel selling thamselves just to show that it can be done.

Dont try and bully the people by saying u make loss and might close business.Some of us knows how much u make every month.It is not the price problem that u might shutdown business,its your own cash management problem.

Tun Mahathir once said to Pak Lah “Kalau tak pandai menari,jangan salahkan dan tuduh lantai x rata”.I think it apply to u too PDAM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • zamer on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:38 am

forget about petrol statios operator..

they are 1% of 99% population which suffered more.
    we had enough..let our turn to feel happy.

by operating a petrol stations, you must be prepare with all this kind of thing.

same like us, when we buy car, we look for low fuel consumption car. sometimes sh!t happens and you have to deal with it. And not to complain to the parents. you all not kids anymore

• President of PDAM, Datuk Hashim Othman kalau kereta pakai battery tak pakai peterol baru lah stations minyak tutup kedai tahu tak, walau Bagaimana pun stations minyak Akan Jadi charging stations dalam tahun 2800 tau tak

• ae101 on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:46 am

Manyak countries already practicing open way. This is so easy to adapt with copying our neighbor methodology. You as petrol dealer should sorted out all the problem with gomen before implemented and not now feel like shitting only survey where to dig hole.

• pok mang on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:47 am

all petrol station bought stock when high price and have to sell low price after 31 dec? i thought that only rakyat bought petrol with high price from them when actually world oil price goes down this two month recently

• The international crude oil price drop since Oct. Tell me if they need to use 2 months to process the crude oil. It must be not realistic. If yes, petrol-maker please change the supplier.

So, the day before the price dropped. I believe they are earning in a bigger margin than ever. Now, we “the-consumer” just got a little relief.

• dealer on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:53 am

It’s unfair to just say petrol dealers make big profits from fuel increase and can cover the loss of the decrease of fuel price. Most of us still suffer bigger losses from the change of fuel price.

When there’s news of fuel price about to increase, people line up at our petrol station to fill up their vehicles as much as they can, most of the time until we run out of stock. What’s left in the station’s stock was little to profit from the appreciation of fuel price.

When there’s news of petrol price about to decrease, no one fill up their vehicles, not until the fuel price is adjusted. The lost petrol dealers had to absorb is higher as there are more stocks in our tanks.

In the end, most of us absorb more losses than profit from the changes of fuel price. While a few others got lucky due to the timing of fuel order and delivery.

No matter in what business, there are risks and benefits. Petrol dealing is not just highly risky, the capital involved is also high, while the margin is very low and we must strive for high volume of sales. We need a sustainable business that is not just profitable, but also can provide jobs to people for their livelihood. Adjusting the price recklessly really is affecting our business well-being, and we have a right to voice this up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 65
    • blackbox on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:23 pm

If really cannot cover then shut down the business this is normal for all business.
      Don’t mention provide jobs, there are not many workers at one petrol station and half of them are not Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
      • dealer on Jan 02, 2015 at 5:02 am

half of them may not be Malaysian, but they are also human, and good workers too. another half are locals with not good enough qualifications, just finding a decent job. please don’t talk like they are some balachi’s or some bummers. everyone’s in a tight position at a moment.

we are not even 1% of the population, perhaps 0.1% including the workers, but if you want to just brush us away as a mere statistic, I won’t be mad. if it’s fate we all have to shut down the business and let the government or oil companies to fully manage the stations, I have nothing to say but to move on. we’ll see what will happen when the government have full control over the fuel sales, I hope it’s a pleasant change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 31
        • st3wpid on Jan 02, 2015 at 2:58 pm

heh.. bakup konon..kalo tatau meniaga petrol station, tutup je lah.. buat meniaga lain barang… jangat nak menjerit2 kat sini kata semua petrol dealer rugi… semua takda modal pusingan kaa??

• dea1er on Jan 04, 2015 at 12:37 pm

We’ve been on business for more than 10 years, you can call me names or whatever you like, but we’re pretty much experienced in the business.

No one is ‘menjerit2’ here. I did’t even use one exclamation mark or all-Caps word.

Of course we have ‘modal pusingan’ @ working capital, but by definition itself, it is used to finance the day-to-day trading operations. In this case what you need is more to emergency funds, and we need them a whole lot to cover our working capital.

In one night you lose 1-2 months worth of profit, you expect us to sit down quietly and relax minum kopi? Any good businessman would voice this up.

But it seems voicing up in this comment section is pretty much useless because there are so much haters and ignorant people who prefer calling names. I see not many people who can think logically and make a reasonable argument.

I’m out of here.

• Spitfire on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:26 pm

lol, like we really give a damn, when fuel price was increased, were you voicing out or expressed your dissatisfaction over it? No? Then what are you complaining about now? Bunch of sore losers

• Guest on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:27 pm

lol, like we really give a damn, when fuel price was increased, were you voicing out or expressed your dissatisfaction over it? No? Then what are you complaining about now? Tak cukup duit nak beli Lamborghini ke???

• Peter on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:55 pm

You’re right. M’sia gov is just a party when feel like having free-float then have it after a few meetings and read some selected ‘experts’ opinion. They don care / manage at the out come. So is the GST … see other have GST they also want GST but al depends on the hired ‘experts’ report. After reading expert’s comments, leave all to them, then go to play golf. Next day appear with suits on newspaper announcing another kpi achieved.

• Green on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:53 am

Bull Shit.
    dont let me see USD 90/barrel selling at RM3.00 per liter.
    Make Fat Profit and Causing High Inflation within Malaysia you will just keep quiet?!

Ultimately.
    government should implement Min-Max Selling price that is revisable every 5 years.
    say:
    1. Min selling price = RM1.90/liter.
    2. Max Selling price = RM2.70/liter.

The Petrol Owner/company in Malaysia should look into enhancing the efficiency of the business management to ensure zero loss at the minimum price.

If this is not agreeable by the oil company. then we should have a new rule:
    Oil company in malaysia only allowed to earn a profit capped at 12.19sen/liter – 25sen/liter.

You Do business dont allow a downtime?
    it’s the world petrol price making u lost Money! Not Malaysia Government.. Bull shit complaining. none of Rakyat and Government business. Close shop as you wish.

When a company make loss, company dont even need to pay tax to Government too.

The company who manage with low management and maintenance cost will survive.

• biggbro on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:53 am

What kind of businessmen are these petrol station owners? Do you honestly expect to make huge profit only, with no plan for small loss. See what you have gotten yourself into now…all motorists and users in Malaysia are cursing you pampered lot for bitching too much! Should consider you guys lucky enough to run petrol stations, most of us can only dream the kind of profit you guys earning. So i say it now…have some charity in your mind and donate to the needy instead of whining childishly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Government should publish this Company name to see Which Company Fail to do business efficiently that suddenly have to incurring Loss for selling Cheap Petrol @ high price in Malaysia.

Show us the Name!

• leonardo on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:55 am

According to a petrol owner friend, they don’t make much money on selling the petrol itself. If I am not mistaken,the margine is less than 0.5 sen a liter. Yes, they have to pay cash when petrol is delivered to their stations.
    But they actually make money on the franchaised goods in the station, like mineral water, sweets, canned drinks, snacks, etc.
    If the owners are making losses, it is due to mismanagement, more than anything else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Kepala apak dia close shop.Cakap tak pakai otak punya datukship

• don’t understand why they “buying it high and selling it low”?

• buster on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:58 am

Many has misunderstood the claim of buy high sell low here. What the petrol dealers are saying each time government declares price drop, they faced losses as they have 3 days stock in hand (at old price) and people usually start buying after the price drop (at new price). When the reverse happened (when government declares price hike), people usually rushed to buy up all the 3 days stock when the price are low, so the dealers cannot reaped profits to counter the difference. The solutions should be Government stopped leaking out news until last minute.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • bust d buster on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:31 pm

Excuse me have you not been reading the posts above? Even if they are required to keep 3 days stock, there is no max limit. So when prices are going up, they can buy as much as they want first right? Buy low, sell high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • isipetrol on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:32 pm

petrol price mmg floating di negara lain, tp stesen petrol di negara lain semuanya tak tutup walaupun harga petrol turun naik. mungkin pengurusan petrol di Malaysia masih perlu penambahbaikan??????

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Lol total bull crap these list of jokers from PDAM.

So you mean to say you bunch of fools still buying fuel for the same price when the rest of the world already enjoying low price of fuel? Sorry to say but we aren’t on the same level of stupidity as you.

When price go up you profit so obviously when price go down you’d expect to make some loss in the beginning right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • SeanTahii on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:41 pm

Kalau you tak tau, you diam diam jangan bising. Kailua you bukan owner of BMW, tolong aliihkan gambar itu.

• Haha, deserve it cronies.

• venus on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:18 pm

So you make a loss in this round for selling the 3 days stock for low price- BIG DEAL! what about those many years of selling them at high price? please don’t say all these years of profit cannot cover these few days of loss? International Crude oil price are all years low, so it is normal to see a drop in the gas to align with this. We, the consumers, have been sucking up all the price hike over the years. So, forgive us if we cannot share our sympathies in your “loss” this time.

• blackbox on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:25 pm

The profit made all these years already used to buy Porsche and Ferrari. Now they worry how to pay the Lamborghini that he just ordered.

• kenix tim mun chong on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:23 pm

if cannt tahan loss, then close the shop la.. after all, mostly of them hire foreigners run the shop.. we suffer a bit only which need to run further a bit to get petrol station to fill up.. if cant compete in open market, find somewhere else..

• buster on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:26 pm

I think the petrol dealers are facing Losses even if world price are low because the price they buy are still high as it is CONTROLLED by ‘Government owned bodies’. The margin of profit are predetermined. The one that is really sucking up the blood here IS the ‘Government owned bodies’ as they buy low sell high to the dealers, and not the dealers themselves as they cannot buy direct! In addition, we people are facing the Greatest Losses. We should point fingers at policymakers so that oil prices should exactly follow the world petrol price, and not price predetermined by them which are higher. Subsidies have been taken off the budget, now in reverse, people are SUBSIDIZING back, what the heck is going wrong here?!

• carCrazee on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:28 pm

Whenever there is a Decrease, petrol station makes noise..
    why aren’t they making any noise when the petrol prices increases overnight?
    Even some Petrol stations shut down their business just in order to enjoy their profits after the price increases the next day….

• Mars Toh on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Please close it asap..If you can’t adsorb the losses. When fuel price increase u all keep the stock and sell it next day to gain crazy profit, why never heard complaint from u all?

• honest on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:35 pm

Now the price is at the bottom level…wait for it to increase this year…then who will suffer the most

• Smart one on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:52 pm

Pdam and all petrol station owners…after u read the above, READ MINE CAREFULLY.

You are in business where demand will always be there. Other biz struggle to create demand, but you guys are bunch of selected people who are in business to make money.

Manage your inventory risk…that is all it takes. Plan ahead..monitor the crude price and anticipate changes. Get use to the system.

Why must always the consumers to take all hits regardless ups or downs? We been creating your volume. Help us so we can help you too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • C. P. MOHAN on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:52 pm

I thought the problem is between PDAM and Oil Co. not with consumers.

• ipoh lad on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:53 pm

Can we have someone have a bit more BRAIN CELLS to run this organisation please. Very obvious that this guy never been to the London School of Economics like Sir Tony Fernandes.

• FU Brother on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:54 pm

Petrol price increase those ppl never make noise. Now drop 1 time only dah kecoh? Deal with it bruh!

• MeToo on Jan 02, 2015 at 5:01 am

Minister says, “Kalau you tak suka, tutup saja dan bagi orang lain”.

• When price increase, are they saying gonna open few more petrol stations? What an idiot comment.. Can we get a more educated and talent GOV?

• polbaik on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:16 pm

Fuck them…they were enjoying big profits for years…now only a few days of price drop they complaint already

• Zachary Fernandez on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:21 pm

A good price that I think we all can agree on
    RON95 – RM2.00
    Diesel – RM2.10
    RON97 – RM2.20

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 33
    • WOW.
      it’s obvious now the Government and all Petrol Seller in Malaysia can Have Profit if selling at RM2.00/liter.

If the World Oil Price goes to USD 90/barrel or RM3/liter.
      We will be Paying Goverment Extra by RM1/liter.

this is not fair.

• Jimmy on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:21 pm

There are many risks in businesses.
    Hope you are competent.

• blade36 on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:43 pm

Probably govt should implement rule that once a petrol kiosk declare closed to avoid loss, pull back their licence to operate, and when price goes up and they decide to open, don’t allow them as they are blood sucking nuisance to the public..

• Duncan Lim on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:45 pm

They just want rakyat to rugi. Cronies must not lose a cent of income.

Datuk is asking Gov to protect them. Don’t let fuel price goes down any further. Cronies didahulukan, rakyat is just the money input machine for them to spend.

• Government is doing business.
    Low petrol price = Minimum profit or some loss.
    High Petrol Price = Big Money earning from Rakyat.
    at the same time Causing high Inflation.

What kind of system is it?!
    Government is ripping off the Rakyat..

• BLADE36 on Jan 02, 2015 at 2:21 pm

I PERSONALLY FEEL THAT GOVERNMENT SHOULD IMPLEMENT A RULE THAT IF A PETROL KIOSK DECIDE TO CLOSE ITS PREMISE TO AVOID LOSS, THEY SHOULD PULL BACK THEIR TENDER, AND NEVER LET THEM BACK TO REOPEN IF FULE PRICE INCREASES BACK… BUNCH OF BLOOD SUCKING LEECHES…

• Bomoh on Jan 02, 2015 at 2:22 pm

this is another one of BODOH example after MAS, PLUS highway, LRT and even Proton. Now we should divide business in Malaysia to Cronies and non-Cronies. Business which run by cronies will always fail and give ton of reason..once business fail and they just pass to mat salleh

• turbo on Jan 02, 2015 at 2:25 pm

When these petrol dealer earns extra profit when the petrol pricing shots up, how come i dont hear them saying many people are affected thus we shld nt make so much and hav a price ceiling? But nw they making losses then they make noise, eh brudder, this is business la, ada risk punya, kalau tak mau risk, go work for others la why open petrol station??????

• Aniki on Jan 02, 2015 at 2:25 pm

when buying low selling high no complain, now ddl complain

• LIARS!!!

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 02, 2015 at 2:42 pm

to make it a level playing field, the government must subsidize the petrol dealers as they are in danger of losing money each time there is fluctuation

take my station as an example, when goverment announce price increase, every q up to buy the petrol, so essentially i dont make any profit since they all sapu my minyak at the pre adjusted price

but when gov decrease, many ppl hold off to purchase my more expensive stock to wait until price decrease, so im selling my expensive fuel at a reduced rate which makes a big loss

how am i going to pay for my workers salary? my family needs support too

in long term, this business will be so difficult for us unless the governement set up a special fund to compensate us when we are paying so much for the loss..

in fact looking at it, we as individual business owners are subsidizing your fuel everytime when there is price decrease, how is this fair?

datuk is making a fair claim for all of us, i dont think there’s anything wrong with it

so you rakyat stop your complaining if you contribute nothing, everyone has right to speak in this country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 36
    • Yeah right, everybody has the ‘rights’ to voice out. Yeah…..right…as if.

• kosikang on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:19 pm

apa lu susasusa, u balik kampong toleh getah pun ada untung apa, satu mingu toleh tiga ari,hujan tak payah toleh boleh tilo, shoping makan anggin, mana yu mau cri, apa u mau lgi

• beg to differ on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:25 pm

3 days worth of fuel reserves = standard requirement i reckon.

in the event there is an increase(from time of announcement to actual price change implementation):

‘time-gap:short’ – i doubt your 3 days reserves would’ve been swept out in just a short span of time;

‘time-gap:average’ – surely you would increase your inventory much earlier before hand at lower rate prior to the expected hike

either ways, don’t keep harping on the fact that we consumers can plan the timing of our purchases. if we can, i’m sure you could do it as well. also, i’m quite sure the timing of your info/news would be much more updated than an average consumer (i.e. more time to act).

• tokmoh. on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:40 pm

How about u sell your VW with DSG? That’s your “family” that needs too much support, so cut it off already.

Choose Godcar. It doesn’t have VSC, 6 airbags, so should you be in accident and most likely dead, good riddance you bloodsucking arsehole crony.

• blackbox on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:58 pm

Government have no more money for your small cronies, because all money already suck up by the big fish.
      If the government give you license you also don’t know how to survive, better close shop, sit at home and wait for BR1M.

• I wonder why are you blaming the government for the loss that you will be making? Government are created by the people. They are taking the majority interest at hand. Letting off subsidy and allowing free float is a well-balanced economical strategy in the long run for our government to survive its already balloon debt. You should well know that the goods that you are selling is an international goods that follows the international market price. The tremendous international price drop got nothing to do with Malaysian government. In fact, this is the best period for the government to release the subsidy that they have been holding for so long or rather a masked subsidy. I still don’t get your point on the claim from PDAM. Or are you saying that all business that face losses gets to claim from the government because of their changes in policy? I think you are pointing at the wrong place. The PDAM should be discussing with the O&G company about strategy to overcome this problem. Not whining to the government to solve this kind of problem.

• obviously u r pretender.. just gave comments to make people marah at BN.. u hati busuk punya olang..

• stupidity at the highest level good

• winwin on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:03 pm

When Pak Lah raised price suddenly to RM2.70/L that time okay , buy cheap sell so expensive. Now price drop say want bankrupt. Faster close shop. So many people want to operate their own petrol stations

• faster close dont talk so much on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:10 pm

talk so much for what. want to close faster close. like kiddi wanna resign from work let the whole world know but last last no resign. wasting server space to keep this type of news.

• imaumasupumi on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:13 pm

tak lama lagi DR m akan masuk campor : lu tegok, chinese sula banyak pakai hybrid kreta, pasal tu minyak jtauh, kita jangan kasi mreka bli pakai, nnti station bumi sumua tutop, kalau mau hanya ble bli potong, atau porshe hybrid, sebab tu AP porshe gua punya anak punya AP

• Ckeng on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:19 pm

When they going to reduce the tolls price, transport charges, TNB…etc? All these increase was due to the increased of petrol, Now reduced, what they can say?

• Kokoi on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Agree, everybody must reduce price including chinese who control the chicken, vegetables, fish, household items,

• You mean cooking oil, rice, and sugar too? Owned by someone?? ^^
        Malaysia will be changing soon on how business grow. I’m looking forward to the free float effect on other businesses.

• petrol station owners can get more income by charging those wanna use their toilet. Maybe 20cent per entry :p :D

• Buchstaben on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:53 pm

oh please..dont give them the idea..theyll implement it to gain profit loh!! (reason: we also pay our cleaner)

• Go ahead and close on Jan 02, 2015 at 4:10 pm

Drop 35sen close down?! Those days these operators must had opened more outlets during the petrol hike period, so what’s the problem? Good time open more, not so good time close a couple, if can’t take it, juz close, end of story. In fact, We don’t need an article telling us they will go bankrupt.

• ForeignPetrolStation on Jan 02, 2015 at 4:12 pm

Are the petrol dealer saying Malaysia is the 1st country that runs managed float system that made the dealer suffer from loss?

• Jeffrey Ng on Jan 02, 2015 at 4:33 pm

To be fair to all stakeholders, there must not be any announcement a few days ahead of any price changes be it upwards or downwards. This prevents fuel hoarding or long queues. Politicians should also not be allowed to gain brownie points from rakyat with any price leak.

I propose that if the price change is monthly, the government shall only announce it via all FM stations at 10pm (after rush hour traffic) on the last day of every month. 5 minutes before the monthly announcement, there shall be a “blackout period” at all stations nationwide; sales of fuel shall be frozen for 5 minutes. Once the new price has been announced, the stations immediately adjust the unit price on their system and sale resumes.

If the price changes are immediately after announcement, people would not be able to snap up fuel before the change.

In terms of price between petrol station and their supplier, it is up to them to decide a mechanism among themselves.

• buy high sell low? even if you buy high cannot sell that’s your karma!

• tucsonr86 on Jan 02, 2015 at 4:53 pm

what a stupid statement… for the past decade the prices have been going up and each time they r making money… only in the past few month that we have been seeing some fall in price n they started shouting. hate these kind of selfish ppl. only think about their own pockets. so what now? gov going to fix the price again(at higher price definately).

• komarad on Jan 02, 2015 at 4:57 pm

I propose no more price control from government let’s market decide 100%… so consumer can choose petrol station by the price they’re offering… free the market..

• No more Value on Jan 02, 2015 at 5:06 pm

Like Japanese did? Then this is much more funny because malaysia produce the petrol…. It supposed to be cheaper than non production country.

• kemosabe on Jan 02, 2015 at 5:04 pm

This is clearly an act of selfishness. No doubt the dealers will lose that amount when they sell off their high priced petrol, but they would have the entire month to make it back.

Its just that they would have profited less for the month as next month could be a different price. If its higher, then the dealer makes more for the duration of their lower priced petrol supply. If not just make a bit less for the following month, and so on.

I don’t think there is a solution to this simply because the situation doesn’t need one.

What the people would really need is for every businesses out there to play fair, which is to adjust their prices accordingly to what they have done when petrol prices were being increased.
    Of course this is just a dream……

• No more Value on Jan 02, 2015 at 5:04 pm

All business man in Malaysia especially who run family business and small and medium size business are all shit. They enjoy their life when they make profit after the oil price increase, now one time reduction so much complain. Agreed with first comment. Close as you wish. Without you, someone will still do the work. The world doesn’t lack of any business man.

• wendy on Jan 02, 2015 at 8:22 pm

this is called supply and demand. work harder my friend.

• No more Value on Jan 03, 2015 at 12:20 am

I know what is supply and demand. They talk nothing when so many time petrol price increase and now one time reduce talk so many shit. Is there any supply and demand here? What kind of business does not have risk to face loss. Loss one time already complain, what about us who pay for the damn high price petrol? We demand to have cheaper petrol oil and goods price, does they supply what we need? Work harder my friend

• nevermind on Jan 02, 2015 at 5:17 pm

Nevermind, gomen can give them RM 500 BRIM. Sure happy like what rakyat feels when they got BRIM.

• ben yap on Jan 02, 2015 at 5:24 pm

anything out from the mouths of associations are pure bullshit. out of 100 words, all are lies.

they are here to protect their members and make profit.

• TakAdaAkal on Jan 02, 2015 at 5:43 pm

Ini gov apa? cakap tak fikir… pergi sekolah belajar memikirlah! kalau tak suka turun saje.. kasih org lain jadi goverment… jgn duduk saje, ambil gaji buta, buat komen * 2 tak masuk akal…

Kalau nak tutup kedai, biar mereka pergi mampus… kasih license mereka tu utk org lain yg buat business yg lebih senonoh.

• Gojeng on Jan 02, 2015 at 7:29 pm

Haiyah ini bolo apa punya olang. Lia ciakap Oil Dealers Association ma bukan gov. Lu tala leti biaca ka? Mau tunjuk pandai tapi sohai.

• Just change the price daily like other country and allow petrol station to have different price so that is up to the user which petrol they prefer. So when then price drop the station can sell higher if they want to and wait for customer to come… tell them your petrol is the old stock which is more expensive and because is more expensive is better! See if anyone will buy. Or just keep it until the price go back up. SIMPLE

• the vosa on Jan 02, 2015 at 7:24 pm

Masa harga minyak naik dan keesokan hari jual dengan harga yang baru dan untung gila…tak bising pun bukan sekali tapi berkali kali…tak kan rugi sikit pun nak kecoh…

• If u have such ability to talk shit, then go out the world and make the oil price increase. We dun need to be a high-salary country, but we wan high-currency country. Can u make our ringgit like sing dollar? Datuk worr…so what?

• Qwerty on Jan 02, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Please introduce more affordable EV’s n station so all petrol station will closed. Tq

• wendy on Jan 02, 2015 at 8:10 pm

FACT: Fuel price increase by midnight – All of you like zombie, queue and pump up like there is no tomorrow. LOW STOCK= LOW GAIN

Fuel price decrease by midnight – All of you like zombie, sleep till midnight and pump like there is always tomorrow. HIGH STOCK= HIGH LOSS

FACTs..even you are not Zombie, the dealer still lost BIG time. All thanks to those who voted BN.

Ron97 Ron95 Diesel
    8-Jan-14 280 (+5) 210 ( ) 200 ( )
    7-Feb-14 285 (+5) 210 ( ) 200 ( )
    7-Mar-14 290 (+5) 210 ( ) 200 ( )
    6-Jun-14 285 (-5) 210 ( ) 200 ( )
    9-Sep-14 275 (-10) 210 ( ) 200 ( )
    2-Oct-14 275 ( ) 230 (+20) 220 (+20)
    19-Nov-14 255 (-20) 230 ( ) 220 ( )
    1-Dec-14 246 (-9) 226 (-4) 223 (+3)
    1-Jan-15 211 (-35) 191 (-35) 193 (-30)
    NETT (-64) (-19) (-7)

how to make profit if you suffer (-90) cents per liter for the whole year of 2014.

why don’t you guy ask the mamak to close shop too. NEVER cuz teh tarik never going to go down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • No more Value on Jan 03, 2015 at 12:25 am

We the people in Malaysia, does not deserve to bear the risk of their business. Every business have a risk. Even Sony this kind of huge company making loss. If the business man can’t afford the loss, just quit the business,quit the game.

• You are dealing with International pricing right now. You will have to look at international pricing. Subsidies have been lifted. Congratulations, you are now running a business dealing with international market. Hope you guys know, the risk of running one. Government no longer can help you guys, because Malaysia is not like US/China that has bigger buying power to control international market.

• This is business Wendy. You should have expected the price to go down on 1 Jan and maintain minimum required volumn on the last few days of Dec. The pricing formula is not a secret, do more study…. You only quoted the price movements for these few days while you are making profit in the remaining 95% of days throughout the year. Having a license is a privilege and you should appreciate it, the risk in this business is so much lower than other businesses…

• No more Value on Jan 04, 2015 at 1:45 am

The biggest risk is no one visit their station. And the lower petrol price will only last for few month, after that I believe everything will return to normal. And those business man who cannot afford loss will make their profit again.

• Sohigh on Jan 02, 2015 at 8:20 pm

Walaueh! I pumped full tank at old high price. I paid 7 days old stock. Matilah. Pay me back also la, datuk!
    Where I komplain?!!
    Little bit also kaw pek kaw by. Sohigh.

• What a joke statement. Malaysia is not the only country which float the fuel price. Go benchmark with other country. Do some research retarded old man..

• Henry on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:41 pm

If ever there is a license to operate a risk free business you can be sure this guy is first in the queue.

• Rahman on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:43 pm

For those who have the opportunity to live in Malaysia and overseas, you will be able to see that Malaysia is a country that only knows how to improve the profit by increasing price. It is evidently clear in most segments in Malaysia, be it in public or private sector. Malaysians do not know how to improve profit by increasing productability. Please la Malaysia! Other countries who were behind us 10 years ago are already overtaking us

• Rahman on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:47 pm

After thinking about it, I may be wrong. We must have some mathematics genius in the country. The price of fuel has drop in just 2 days and they can already calculate their losses. Wow! I respect that!

• ritcher on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:52 pm

when the other goverment promise to lower the oil prices you all never vote for them now padan dengan muka lu semua melayu cina india . Pdam you better deal with the barang naik government to put harga siling minimum for oil lets say rm 2.00.

• jjmike on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:08 pm

How about when it increased 20 to 30 cent previously, why didn’t you complain then?????

• When the crude oil market is up, business owner earns. When it’s down, then they do make some loss. This is a trade and it’s unavoidable. Can anyone GUARANTEE a business does not make any loss? If there is one, please let us all know.

If just a few months of down trends making your petrol station close, please by all means go close down (and give the chance to people who needs it!)

• PDAM are all bunch of lying cow dungs

• CyberPatrol on Jan 03, 2015 at 7:02 am

Greedy is main cause of this issue, back in those days (50 years) petrol station on provide fuel only then they upgrade it to a convenience retail store, car service workshops, car wash, ATMs, cafe, and some with fast food chain outlet as added value chain into the business or additional income. Car growth increase yearly as report lately this contribute to increase of fuel consumptions.

As long petrol owner maintain good customer service and closely monitor cash transaction i guess you will not bleed to death. I know some petrol owner close their business because of lack of attention to business can be due their lifestyle spending debts or gambling debts.

No reports of your commission rates reduce, and has your customer service KPI improved. What you are nagging about here, let us hear your full transparent stories and maybe rakyat lend a hand to your plight.

If you see it as loss business, on the other hand someone see it a profit because they can think of creative ways of a value chain into the business or other personnel investment from profit gain.
    So to speak… I hope this apply in our country petrol business license model. Try think in a WIN-WIN situation.

• darkermarker on Jan 03, 2015 at 10:37 am

PDAM,

Bila untung banyak-banyak……senyap senyap saja…

Bila mula rasa rugi sikit……make noise here and there….and even threaten to close business…

You think your business sure guarantee PROFIT punya ka?? Mau suap lagi?? So damn shameful la….

• darkermarker on Jan 03, 2015 at 10:46 am

“Kalau you tak suka sini, you boleh keluar malaysia”

Familiar?

• Yeah, like anyone bother when petrol price increase? Now all consumers happy even tho other barang still mahal.

• Already 50 years of independent and we still can see morons bringing up racial issue on everything. Nothing is so special about we Chinese. We are Malaysian and we are here to stay to make a living. Thats all. Tanah tumpahnya darahku.

• Chong on Jan 03, 2015 at 12:38 pm

The thing that wonders me is if the petrol station are purchasing their stock based on current oil price, or based on “government controlled” prices as per consumers?
    I don’t really think that the stations are really losing that much of money. Current consumer-price are according to the past month average price, which means they have been earning loads of money for the past month due to falling global oil price and government-fixed consumer price.

• yeah right on Jan 03, 2015 at 12:41 pm

Yeah, please close.. its not like u did not earn ‘extra’ when the government increase the price. Stop nagging and close shop la. Sell ur license.

• Hi, I am a retailer from x oil co. , there are many thing u guys dunno. U know why we are complaining ? When the price going to increase, oil co. Will never send extra quantity for us to make extra profit. When the fuel price going to drop like 2 days ago, they will full filled our stock tanks. This is unfair that’s why we are complaining.

• i know you on Jan 03, 2015 at 4:47 pm

sound likes petronas…hehe

• Littlebear on Jan 03, 2015 at 7:35 pm

Be honest with us, will you close down your station if the price of fuel drops further?

• _Anonymous_ on Jan 07, 2015 at 5:42 pm

then you should complain to the company you signed agreement with to be their dealer! why not gather all brathers and sisters and go knock on their doors!

• handsomeguy on Jan 03, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Best joke of the day….LOL

• marduk on Jan 03, 2015 at 5:04 pm

so what?? this is liberal market!! capitalist is everywhere including u PDAM..take it or leave it n stop nagging. face it like a man brother!

• Rosalam on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:42 pm

Masa untung diam, takda pula cakap nak runding dengan kerajaan. Masa rugi sikit bising. Sedangkan minyak banyak harga naik harga, berbanding turun harga. Apa la, niaga, mesti ada pasang surut.

Nak runding, rundinglah, asal jangan menyusahkan pengguna. Jangan pula kamu ajak memanda menteri bersengkokol matikan rakyat.

• Satu Sama on Jan 03, 2015 at 9:52 pm

satu tutup , sepuluh buka, kalau mahu tutup , tutup lah
    there is alway someone waiting to take over, no problemlah, those cannot do should let other take over, very simple saja

• Lane Tamer on Jan 04, 2015 at 2:37 am

Sorry, can’t be bothered…

• Ha Gnih on Jan 04, 2015 at 9:06 am

If they wanna close please do so. Then more business for those who are smart enough to remain open.

• c.s.ang on Jan 04, 2015 at 8:08 pm

This is so called business.

• steven on Jan 04, 2015 at 10:58 pm

If you cannot sustain, close shop, get our from the business. Business, fierce competition and risk are related, you cant run a business and expect no risk and no competition. If you dont even understand this simple concept, close shop and balik kampung tanam jagung.

• grimoire weiss on Jan 04, 2015 at 11:59 pm

Itulah cara orang bodoh buat bisnes, yang dulu bile dapart untung yang melampao bila harga naik, korang membelanjakan profit sampai 90% kah? takkan begitu bodoh tak ada contigency plan? Ini bukan bisnes tongkat ali lah dato. Lebih baik korang tutuplah kedai lah, yang tak tao bisnes, boleh bla dan biar yang berkemampuan terus membekalkan petrol kepada rakyat tanpa complain bodoh macam kao

• Chan KH on Jan 05, 2015 at 11:16 am

Are these guys really in business? With more than sufficient time to plan for the price drop, and yet complaining about huge losses! Fuel prices had been on the upward trend for more than a year, reaping extra profits along the way, but can’t sustain a reverse trend ??? Then you guys better close shop, and let the more competent ones to take over!

• Kenny on Jan 05, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Please go ahead and close it. You didn’t mentioned when you profitering the whole year 2014 when fuel keep rising. How many stocks you are keeping prior to price reduction of 35 sen? I bet you could have known beforehand the price reduction from the Ministers Dept.

I also bet that you have keeping the lowest stock in hand before the announcement too. So the losses of Rm20k to RM100k is not substantiate with evidence. It just lip services here.

I also bet when the Govt announcing price increase, you also already stocked up to the brim.

So just don’t give lame excuses.

• Kenny on Jan 05, 2015 at 2:46 pm

This PDAm President mentioned losses of Rm20k to RM100k, wow he must have many vested interest in few stations. Serve him right for his greediness.

But where is he when the fuel went up from 1.85 level to 2.36 to 2.90 level (RON95/97) and he is reaping multiple of RM100k.

Typical dumno like him will live on leeching the public and any slight drops in his lavish spending due to lower profit will made him start throwing tantrum.

Please go and suck your mommy thumb.

• lolbigtime on Jan 06, 2015 at 6:31 am

Now I know these petrol stations are run by little babies.

• In US, the petrol price is different by daily and even by stations.

They adapted the nature of the business. At here, petrol station would not need to worry about the price competition among different brand of petrol, because fuel selling in a standard price.

I did a search in Google, normally the tanker deliver around 28,000 to 32,000 liters of petrol.
    So, a price drop would cap to the lost of revenue around RM10,000 for a 3 day circle.

Lost means that the fuel cost higher than the revenue. If the “lean profit margin” mentioned by the petrol-station is a few cents. Then, it would be a lost. If the profit margin is just like the drop (35 cents). Then it would be a tie. Assume it as a “public charity” for 3 days, would make you (the petrol-station-owner) feel a lot better.

How “lean” is it, I would never know. Perhaps some of these petrol-station-owner can reveal the cost. So, we (the public) can give some suggestion on improving the revenue and reducing the operation cost.

• Sajid on Jan 15, 2015 at 11:59 am

Really bad