Volkswagen Malaysia issues range-wide price revamp

2013-top-five-golf-gti-p01

Volkswagen Group Malaysia has confirmed a new price list for its entire lineup. As one can trace from the table included below, every single model in Volkswagen Malaysia’s lineup receives an increase in price except for the Tiguan range.

Models such as the Polo GTI 3-Door and 5-Door, Scirocco 1.4 and CC Comfort are among the models to receive a hike in price ranging from RM2,000 to RM5,000. The Volkswagen Touareg TDI receives the biggest increase of RM10,000 – now RM503,888.

The entire Golf range also receives a hike in price that now sees the Mk7 1.4 TSI model begin at RM163,888 – an increase of RM4,000. The Mk7 Golf R now costs RM251,888 and RM291,888 – an increase of RM6,000 on both versions – for the 3-Door and 5-Door variant with Tech Pack, respectively.

VW-Price-Jan-2015-WM

As for the entire Beetle range, a RM4,000 increase is applied, the 1.2 TSI Design now starts at RM135,888 while the range-topping 1.2 TSI Sport Luxury begins at RM146,888. Volkswagen Malaysia has stated that the revamp in price across its range is “solely the result of recent currency developments.”

Back in October 2013, Volkswagen Malaysia announced a similar price hike. Unlike this round, the previous hike was supposedly the result of “a few years of price stability” – you can read the full statement here.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Sammy on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:15 pm

Price hike??
    Just what are they smoking to come out with such idea…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 2
    • Wookie on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:31 pm

That is brilliant marketing and reverse psychology. Their sales have dropped and to counter it, the prices are increased. But in reality, a lemon by any other name still tastes sour!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 6
      • 2014 Passat Owner on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:01 pm

I bought my Passat in March 2014. in 9 months, my car has broken down 4 times. Each time, it was DSG total stop ie gearlock and cannot move.

4 times I had to stand by the side of the road waiting for tow truck to come and get my car. In my tie and smart office shirt, I got to wait in the hot sun for a tow truck to come and get my car despite paying BMW prices for my car.

Middle of the year, VW started their complimentary car service. So, on my 3rd breakdown, I got a complimentary car. Two days after suing the complimentary car, that car also broke down.

What to do VGM? My car broke down and my replacement car also broke down. I ask service technician, all say DSG pasal.

How VGM???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
        • Golf R on Jan 13, 2015 at 4:22 pm

As a Golf R owner, so far it doesn’t have any issue within 1 year of ownership..
          I’m quite satisfied with my car as it’s fun to drive..

• 2014 Passat Owner on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:07 pm

VGM had 3 Managing Directors in less than 2 years. Why did they leave? Very simple. Each of those managing directors were told by VW AG that DSG cannot be sold in Malaysia because DSG cannot handle hot countries.

So, those MD told the VGM management that. VGM management being unethical and no morals say, no such thing. We sell in Malaysia whatever we want. We don’t care about quality and we just want volume.

So, they made sure all the MD kena sack if they did not change their view. If they promoted the faulty DSG in Malaysia, the MD could stay on.

• Where did you get this information?
          Please tell me more about this..
          I’m getting curious to know more

• Burning on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:17 pm

The dsg problem is already resolved by now. Before, they used the synthetic oil, now they change it to mineral based oil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
        • Maserati(Official) on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:48 pm

No, it is not resolved. That is the goreng VGM told you and all of us. My DSG just failed last week.

• Drivetrain Selalu Gagal (DSG) on Jan 09, 2015 at 4:01 pm

There is a reason why everybody calls VW “Drivetrain Selalu Gagal”

• so lame... on Jan 14, 2015 at 11:17 am

You still dont know that DSG problem has been resolved already? pfffft.

• James Bussen on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:22 pm

Malaysians are very stupid. You pay so much for a problematic car that makes you spend half your life in the SC.

Pay RM250k for a car that has ZERO status too. Malaysians kena con big time to think that VW are same status as Audi, Merc and BMW. All over Europe and the world, the VW is known as a low class car. It is like owning a Proton in Malaysia.

But Malaysians willing to spend so much to buy a VW after falling for VGM marketing tricks. Remember the VW is just a normal car in Europe. You are better off owning a Proton in Malaysia and have RM150k in cash to buy good food, travel and enjoy life.

Or even better, a 3 year old Mercedes E250 or a BMW 520i F10 is now about RM190k. Better you buy the BMW or Mercedes. This brings you more status.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • Have Mercy on us BN on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:46 pm

Where is najib’s promise to reduce car prices? Already 2 years have passed. BN and UMNO Tipu rakyat lagi kah?

Woi BN, 250,000 people in Malaysia lost everything they ever owned. Everything destroyed in the floods. Only their lives left. Everything they worked for the past 30 years all lost completely.

And you BN don’t feel sorry for your rakyat who is suffering? Still want to maintain high car prices? 99% of those suffering are the poor Malays who lost everything they ever owned. Even homes also hancur BN.

Our biggest payments in a month is our house and cars. Car payments make us suffer a lot. Most people need two cars because 1 car Emak use to take kids to school.
          So, it is better BN reduce car prices, that will be a better way to ease our burden long term.

Have mercy on us BN. Please have Mercy on us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
        • TheAnonymous on Jan 12, 2015 at 10:15 am

Get the facts right! VW is German’s local car, it’s totally different with Proton, VW is built by fine quality of materials instead of those cheap plastic materials..
          You can’t compare VW with Proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Yes you’re right.. Previously,VW Germany had claimed that DSG 7 unable to be used in hot countries is due to the wrong materials that used for DQ200.. Hence, VW had recalled all those affected models to change the mechatronic units, gearbox oil as well as update its software. Since then, those complaints regarding DSG had majorly reduced.
        Recently, they had sent 10 German technicians to Malaysia as to train local staff and take initiative on their after sales service.

• linked.in on Jan 14, 2015 at 11:28 am

well said bro. i can see the effort from VW to fix the problem efficiently.

• Golf MK7 Owner on Apr 23, 2015 at 10:42 am

Car sales dropped significantly, of course DSG issues also reduced majorly lo. From 13k units sold in 2013 until only 8900 units sold in year 2014. That’s a crazy 32% dip in sales.http://www.motortrader.com.my/news/brand-positions-in-2014/

• Crisis on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:51 pm

Continuous poor and irresponsible administration of the people’s money has led to steep devaluation of the Ringgit.

In just 3 months, the Ringgit has lost more than 10% of its value

More to worry about than just price increase of cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 21
      • Crisis Idiot on Jan 09, 2015 at 8:56 am

Stupid moron. That just show how much you know what goes around you. The Euro is currently at it’s lowest against the ringgit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
      • Maserati(Official) on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:53 am

My VW has already broken down about 6 times. I have the tow truck on speed dial even now. Tow truck driver and myself now even go for coffee together.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • That’s y courtesy cars, extended warranty, d German from vw are not free. Someone’s got to pay for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
      • Maserati(Official) on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:07 am

I regret buying my VW, I spend half my life in the SC. My neighbor use Proton also better quality than my junk VW.

I am moving towards Korean cars next. My other neighbout use Kia Cerato, no problems at all. I regret bad mouthing Korean cars in the past. Korean cars are truly good quality and reliable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
        • Matthew on Jan 12, 2015 at 10:34 am

What happened to your car?
          How come Proton is better than VW.. No way, I’m deciding to own a VW soon..

• Golf MK7 Owner on Apr 23, 2015 at 10:46 am

Brader, think twice and make proper research before buying a VW. Nobody shall force or influence you to buy a car.

• swifty on Jan 12, 2015 at 2:22 pm

I own a Kia K3. Recently bought. Haven’t driven it long enough to comment on its durability. People say KIA = Korean Imitate Audi. Is that the reason it doesn’t inherit VW’s transmission issues? So what problem would it inherit from Audi? The answer: Ridiculous engine oil consumption issue.

• JB_KIA on Jan 08, 2015 at 10:59 pm

always take the lead in price hike, pro-active, good!

• kenny on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:10 am

They are now collecting the upfront fee from you for your future courtesy car in future when your car visit their workshop frequently. VW-Visit Workshop

• VW - Visit Workshop on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:34 pm

Ha ha Ha Ha Ha. Funniest thing I have ever heard. VW – Visit Workshop….ha ha ha ha

Only car company to book appointment for normal service, must book 5 weeks before hand. Because workshop full of DSG rosak cars.

• Bin Bin on Jan 12, 2015 at 4:55 pm

Price hike is better than Deflation. People are just asking the impossible. Demand for high income and paying cheap for things. But money don’t fall from the sky..

• cendol (Member) on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:18 pm

Based on the comments in Facebook and the issue of DSG, shouldn’t they reduce price?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 4
    • Abu Sayur on Jan 09, 2015 at 12:24 am

i thoguht they turn off the comments lol

• VW - Visit Workshop on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:57 pm

That day I was at 2nd hand dealer, the guy begging me to take 2013 Passat. Even want to give me RM98k also.

Aiseh man, VW RV so bad ah?

Then I told him about DSG, then he opened up and said, nobody want to buy because everybody know about DSG issue

• Matthew on Jan 12, 2015 at 10:47 am

Are you sure It was 2013 Passat?
          As i know, those affected models are built between 2008 and 2011, so the 2013 Passat should be okay wad..

• This topic has no longer available..
          DSG issue has been resolved since the last recall

• djork on Jan 14, 2015 at 12:16 pm

Read some more bro. If u listen to that crap that bro telling you, you wont get a car for yourself forever. Its been all over the forums and blogs about the dsg issue has been resolved. Dont listen to unreliable source.

• HAHAHA on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:03 am

Even they are willing to reduce price it is still very hard to raise the sales up :D

• read more pls on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:22 pm

why you still mentioning about DSG? That problem is already resolved. You dont know? T_T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Maserati(Official) on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:58 pm

They should reduce the price. Went to buy Tenggiri at the pasar, the fish monger and me kawan. he himself ask me why I hardly use my VW and ask me if it is the DSG

I got shocked. Pasar apek also know about DSG meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Disappointed rakyat on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Good luck for increasing the price, VGM.
    I have forsee your slump in very near future.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 3
    • JB_KIA on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:10 am

amount increased should be like the previous Polo GTI’s so that some chaps can make some pocket$

• anoinimouse on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:21 pm

bad idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • Dont know on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Maybe they got reason for doing this. We actually dont know about it.

• spongewai on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:24 pm

cakap nak harga turun, sekarang naik lagi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 5
    • Again on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:51 pm

Not long ago just increased. Now again. Oh no …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
      • low inflation on Jan 08, 2015 at 9:29 pm

sure la bro, they keep on pump money to replace d faulty DSG gearbox, sure nid a way to cover back d cost mar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 08, 2015 at 9:39 pm

BN promises aside, but our Ringgit turun like freefall…! How…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
      • So they can turn when GST come in later ma.. You all know they not stupid 1.. but we aren’t stupid oso..

• HAHAHA on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:07 am

Sebab nanti turun harga pun tak akan rugi :D

• sampan on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:25 pm

Please increase some more.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
  • azhar on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:25 pm

low RM value..thank you Najib!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 15
  • Janji Capati on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:25 pm

Manifesto BN janji Car price reduced 30% within 5 years?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 7
    • RM sudah jatuh maaa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • shhhh jangan bising on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:51 pm

haha… good one… :)

• Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan on Jan 08, 2015 at 6:22 pm

Only idiots believe in that manifesto. Moreover it’s from BN.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 5
    • waters on Jan 09, 2015 at 11:25 am

It’s 3 years not 5. We’re in 2015 now.

Typical, they will bandy that 5 year statement til kingdom come. Nobody dares put a fixed time frame for it.

• Joker on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:25 pm

Janji Ditepati!!!
    Price increase yo~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
  • farmcow on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:26 pm

mana janji Turun harga kereta ye jibby?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
  • Haha increase price some more, take care la VW Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • dodgeviper88 on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:29 pm

Last I remember VW is from Germany thus currency denomination should be in euros right? Euro currency against RM has been dropping over the past year. While US currency against RM has gone up by 10% I don’t see US car brands like Ford increasing their prices.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:46 pm

It did drop for a while, but now it’s up and up…

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Just when VGM was trying to change its bad image they had to go ahead and increase their prices….sigh when will VGM ever learn?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
  • not_surprised on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:33 pm

After investing millions to ‘improve’ after-sales service, here comes the ‘improvement’ in price to compensate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • come on guys! dont buy VW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
    • Waahh? on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:03 pm

We can actually file a complaint tho. ‘Dont buy’ is kinda over reacting. Just my 2 cent. :/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Sammy on Jan 12, 2015 at 10:15 am

100% agree. Complaints are always feedback to the company to improve themselves. So when a complaint is done its up to the company to improve. If they do not improve their service or resolve the problems then maybe consumers of VW should work as one to maybe stop buying VW cars. Customers are always right so its up to them to choose right?

• trolling on Jan 14, 2015 at 11:39 am

True bro. But VW as i heard, already resolved the DSG problem. They change the synthetic oil with mineral-based oil within the DSG, and by so far within these 2 years 2014 and 2015, the complaint about DSG had been majorly reduced, plus they hire 10 experts to assist in so many ways to improve the service of VW. They are improving.

• Side effect ... on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:37 pm

An increase in retail price will benefit the 2nd hand value of he VWs as they have been receiving a lot of flak last year for their 7spd dry-clutch DSGs, giving them the nickname “very worrisome”, but this move comes at a cost of lower sales of new cars, from an already poor perception of the brand.
    Other brands seem to be making in-roads such as Renault Distributed by Tan Chong, as well as Peugeot & Citroen by Naza, and i also see much more Fords on the road as well, are eating onto the continental buyers’ market ( i know ford is american).

Vw have a very tough year ahead. From what i understand, a lot of car buyers are buying before the GST, as the unknown prices post-GST is spooking some buyers, with some speculating that the prices will “increase”. which is why he first quarter of 2015 will see a brisk sale, followed by a dip through the second and 3rd quarter of the year.

Volkswagen, brace yourselves…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • what the hell on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:38 pm

I think the question on everyone’s mind to VW is

WHY THE INCREASE IN PRICE? ??

They’ve already had one or two over the last couple of years. ..

Camon VGM… u can become a premium brand by just increasing your prices.

• Lolol on Jan 08, 2015 at 6:14 pm

Its in their company name…

VGM!!!!

Very Greedy Management!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
  • AVH (Member) on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:39 pm

I did recall back in a previous article, regarding of a future forecast of malaysian article, predict that the GST will bring lower car price. So basically what this means is that when the GST comes, all this price increase will return back to its original price.

So BN, janji deterpati….. Eh we never say we will never hike the price beforehand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Labix7 on Jan 08, 2015 at 8:29 pm

when GST comes .. then they will reduce the price .. & then our minister will say , “ada GST, harga turun”

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 08, 2015 at 11:20 pm

Actually no.

Hear me out but I am on VGM ‘s side on this one. You see the Euro has become much stronger over the last months. Assuming that you need to pay about 10 more sen now for a euro, you have to pay about 5k more. That is a lot.

As for GST, the theory is that the prices will drop. But they won’t. Whatever 4% savings if offset by the rising euro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
    • Sahipul on Jan 09, 2015 at 12:06 am

aiyaa..don’t blame the govt lah..VGM increased it on their own, got nothing to do with govt maa, if you look at it, the company try to beat the system, as what you’ve mentioned, when GST being enforced, then the company will return back to its original price, so marah the company ler, don’t get angry with the govt

• perodua can lower their price.. VW?

• If i remember correctly there was a price revision for all VW cars in early 2014 which increased the prices by a few k. Now start of 2015 another increase??? They must be looking forward to another year of dismal sales.

• Lolol on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Wow! Now potential owners and fans pay more for shitty gearbox and service.

Maybe their plan is to create more unsold sold stocks and convert them into courtesy cars since the current courtesy cars are insufficient to cater for existing owners.

Ahahahahahahahahahahahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
  • Cheam on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:43 pm

Bye Bye VW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • wkaka on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:43 pm

As a previous owner of VW (Passat), I’d advise that anyone should avoid their dry-clutch units, doesn’t matter if “fixed” or not. The pain and embarrassment was just too much to bear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • Abu Sayur on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Buy proton iriz next time!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • Even if u get to own a problem free VW, the service centers are crowded with spoilt VWs, you wont get to service your car!

• lockerum on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:51 pm

thanks for advise. but i heard that the dsg problem is solved already. they change the synthetic oil to mineral based oil. so i guess, the new vw wont have a problem.

• The whole car spoils everywhere: Aircond, engine always biang, door cannot close, and endless other problems, if problem solved why do you think used VW still so sad resale value? Worst is manual gearbox dont even exist for the 1.2 and 1.4TSI so you really have no Manual transmission solution even if you wanted to rid the DSG!

• Jimmy on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:46 pm

Who run this business?

• Chong Yew on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:46 pm

Increase then give discount.. what’s the difference lah…

• A company that will never ever learn.. Hope they will do fine in this current economy..

• lockerum on Jan 09, 2015 at 3:55 pm

they would definitely do well. With no problems bothering their cars anymore, ppl will actually not regretting to buy vw.

• skyjuice on Jan 08, 2015 at 5:59 pm

Not like they need to import new cars to fulfill local demand, what they need is to clear up their old stocks, and their old stocks already in Malaysia, which means they already bought it and brought it here.. What’s up with currency excuse? Wait, what about CKD VW? …

• RicoT on Jan 08, 2015 at 6:02 pm

They increase the price yearly to cover inflation.

• Bullshit on Jan 08, 2015 at 6:03 pm

But when our currency appreciates we do not see dealers slashing their prices.

Just like the recent complaints by the petrol dealers. When price goes down, they complain they make losses. But when prices go up, they will never complain.

Life is always unfair right.

• Stanley Free Makan on Jan 08, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Car so problematic still dare to increase price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • legenitle on Jan 09, 2015 at 4:00 pm

the problematic era has ended in 2008 until 2011. now is 2015. btw, they already resolved the dsg problem by replacing synthetic oil with mineral based oil. dont worry my friend, this time will definitely worth it to buy vw. im gonna get 1 soon.

• John Doe on Jan 12, 2015 at 11:14 am

It’s the mindset of human nowadays. Once bad forever bad. Companies will definitely improve to have more revenue. And DSG issues had actually been resolved. Feedback are always important for a company to see what are their issues and problems. http://paultan.org/2014/10/20/volkswagen-malaysia-dsg-resolved/

• MrPoppyplants on Jan 08, 2015 at 6:18 pm

For those of you who thinks that this may be due to our RM being weak, if I’m not mistaken, most of these models come directly from Germany?

Euro is currently at its lowest since 2006. Why then the increase when both currencies are falling at the same time?

• ThePolygonal on Jan 08, 2015 at 6:20 pm

People still buy… I don’t know why. I hope they increase it’s price until it’s on par with BMW. Then people will look the other way.

• vw same price wt bmw? u know that vw have audi to cater for premium segment & compete wt bmw right?

• ginderang on Jan 09, 2015 at 4:04 pm

all kind of product got die hard fan. but i think vw is doin well with the problems they encountered past few years.

• VGM, your mega-problems already solved or not? But nvmd, there are people who will still buying.

• legenitle on Jan 09, 2015 at 4:07 pm

yes its. they change the synthetic oil for dsg with mineral based oil. dont u know about it?

• ARM. Yusof on Jan 08, 2015 at 6:23 pm

no matter if they increase the price further..there are always gonna be less informed Malaysians with a bit of money would buy these cars.

• Angry customer on Jan 08, 2015 at 6:23 pm

VW’s reliability is one of the worse I’ve seen. My car has been sent to the workshop again for some unknown reason that stalled my car in a span of a couple of months. Worse of all is that my car spends at least 2 weeks in the workshop.

Courtesy car? Yeah have to wait 2 weeks for booking. What’s the point then? And now price hike? Sau pei la VW. Good for nothing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Louie on Jan 08, 2015 at 6:25 pm

The sales of “Very Worry (VW)” car now almost half die, price increase some more? Sure 100% die…….

• Ensco 105 on Jan 08, 2015 at 6:55 pm

VW MALAYSIA:

1- Inferior products at high price
    2- Inferior customer service at high price
    3- Now RM depreciates selling us inferior crap at higher price

MERC BMW all no rush in increasing prices but VW always the first one to increase price (twice was it for the past two years?)

Life sure is unfair but you people at VWM sure did one hell of a job to make sure it will never be a level playing field

Good luck VWM – good luck malaysians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Blaster88 on Jan 08, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Because of the many issues (DSG, unfriendly warranty claims and atrocious after sales service) and falling sales, I heard that VW is bleeding millions…it is going to be tough for VW in Malaysia. Eg. 3 MDs in the last 5 years? They even bought in 10 experts that went around to all the SC help fix the problem… as of 3 mths ago, the backlog for DSG replacement was in “thousands”..

Thank god I sold my MK6….sad though. It was a joy to ride but the after sales service would break you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Pininzzz on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:21 pm

Wait for bankruptcy

• skatax on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:26 pm

Its alright. They must have known as well that our PM promised to lead us into a high-income nation ‘very2 soon’. So its only befitting that VW increased their price. I hope they don’t forget to bring up the service and parts price too.

• liandra on Jan 16, 2015 at 10:42 am

That is what VW is trying to do. As what the Paultan has posted, few improvements from VW like 10 experts to lead the training program, and changing to mineral-based oil from synthetic oil for DSG. Hope by price hike, gonna improve the services.

• Just dont buy until Dec 2015. They will throw in the discount more than 10k to 20k then.

• GST punya pasal on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:30 pm

normal lah.. now price hike,,
    then after GST. say no price hike.. WTF
    u know i know lah….
    Honda service also price hike start Feb …Good luck

• takNakP1 on Jan 09, 2015 at 12:48 pm

i think is more like after GST, say no price hike but profit margin increase due to different tax structure.

• cendol (Member) on Jan 08, 2015 at 7:56 pm

VW has concluded in order to compete with BMW, their car prices has to be on par with BMW.
    Hence the price increase.

• hello! vw hv audi to compete wt beemer….do u know abt this vw group aka evil empire….from porsche, lambo…even ducati are under this evil empire….not to mentioned budget brand like skoda/seat…etc..etc…heard they are looking at acquiring alfa romeo!

• When RM is strong and economy is good, they all nvr think of reducing price. When RM is weak, price increase is done efficiently.

• Peter on Jan 08, 2015 at 8:09 pm

sigh

• tiger on Jan 08, 2015 at 8:24 pm

they want to follow the road Chevy took, teribble sales but still increase prices, they can’t look at the bigger picture but want to kira with potential buyers such small amounts eg RM2K, than bye bye VW u juts lost potential VW POLO SEDAN buyer

• wow…looks like buying a vw car is better investment than buy gold or oil…price kept revising up…

if i remember correctly they revised upwards like few years back?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 08, 2015 at 8:53 pm

barely selling any cars lately, still can increase price. salute la u all vw malaysia.

• thyou on Jan 08, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Got la. You cannot afford you say other people dun buy.
      Work hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • johnny on Jan 08, 2015 at 9:22 pm

If only we can increase our salaries like that. Lol

• CyberPatrol on Jan 08, 2015 at 10:08 pm

Ringgit has gone weaker and compounded by outflow of funds creates worry situation. Any foreign own auto company in Malaysia have evaluate the sustainability and maybe consider of export cars. Plus this increase also before GST.

• VW = very worried

• BN janji dicapati… harga kereta naik pulak..

• Guys be reasonable la…. the price increase is justifiable. I mean…. how else can they pay for transition costs of 3 expat MDs in less than 5 years? All this is money. Also dont forget they need to cover the excessive cost spent on flying all the regional staff over to talk kok during their useless Das Auto event in Dec 2014.

So, justified! Ahahahahaha…..

• the price doesn’t justify VW brand
    Let the market justify it existence…poor ergonomic design!

• khankhan2626 on Jan 08, 2015 at 11:17 pm

dont ever buy VW cars..
    poor service center… low RV

• karipap basah on Jan 08, 2015 at 11:17 pm

“kalau you tak suka harga naik VW, you boleh beli proton”

hahahahaha

• viking on Jan 08, 2015 at 11:20 pm

Being a vw owner, I would like to say my car so far so good, been running for a yr without any problem, one thing I love about my car is it provides very good driving experience compare to Japanese car, not to mention the full safety that was offered. The FC of the TSI engine is also very good. I found out some of the customer who complained about the car gearbox is due to abusing the DSG GB and lack of knowledge on how the gearbox work. You can’t switch the gear like a Myvi GB as DSG is not a automatic gearbox. This is my second VW that I owned. Sorry Toyota, I won’t buy your low tech, low spec, low safety car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 19
    • So knowing that the car is prone to breakdowns… how does it feel to have your family in a car which has a higher risk of dying on you possibly anytime….

• RicoT on Jan 09, 2015 at 8:29 am

Would you mind sharing your method of switching gear with DSG?

• BLT_CLUB on Jan 09, 2015 at 8:46 am

Can’t switch gear like Myvi? Say what????

• viking on Jan 10, 2015 at 6:50 pm

Before the car is fully stopped, you shouldn’t switch the gear to D, one practice I did was switching the gear to neutral if the traffic light waiting time is long and when I park my car, I switch it to N, pull the electronic parking brakes button then only I push it to P.

• That is a ticking time bomb you got there

• JB_KIA on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:12 am

is this the script u always use in your road show?

• Acrix on Jan 09, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Don’t cry when your DSG start to give issues.

• Although my DSG broke down once, I am still very happy with my VW because of its good driving experience, which one cannot get from Japanese car. However, RV is super low….

• Blaster88 on Jan 10, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Huh? “Abusing the gearbox and lack of knowledge on how to use the gearbox?” what have you been smoking lately….totally delusion.

• Babelon on Jan 08, 2015 at 11:28 pm

Some people increase price first but then fall again when GST comes in. To show they pass the saving of sales tax to consumer?

• If I were the authorities I will banned VW from selling cars in MAlaysia and force them to buy back every VW on the road since they cannot be repaired. Please pack up and go back to germany and stop dumping rubbish vehicles to Malaysians!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Sahipul on Jan 09, 2015 at 12:15 am

guys, we need to team and use our power as a Malaysian consumer, boycott VW, simple as that. they should know basic economy, demands come from the market/consumer, so if no demands-no sales, no sales-no profit, then they can pack up and tutup kedai.

• increase price, so can give ‘more’ discount ~

• whichever company that increased their price before gst has been imposed most probably they never pay tax before… coz gst will reduce the profit therefore they have to mark up retail price to maintain the revanue..

• just realized they had dropped the Polo TSI from the list in VW msia web.. no more selling Polo TSI liao.. woohoo..

• sam loose on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:42 am

plenty in mudah.my
      u dun hv to be very brilliant to know the reason

• A lot of other cars being sold too, proton toyota honda.. obvious reason is ppl get Bonus and wanna buy new car.. lol

• Polo TSI on Jan 10, 2015 at 1:17 am

Polo TSI is the least problematic car among all TSI models

• what kind of reasoning is this? USD/MYR has increased yes, however EUR/USD is weakening. Means EUR/MYR is still at low levels of 4.2200. Come one guys, VW is spitting at your face and say ‘its okay, Msian consumers are stupid’.

• Wahh….new car price increase but second hand VW car very cheap, new golf price about RM150k but second hand market year 2012 only 70K good value, good image.

• Increase price with low Resale market value… basically VGM is saying “Buy our cars now and lose and extra 6K when you sell second hand!!!”

LOL

• applegreen on Jan 09, 2015 at 9:47 am

If VW Golf price down by 20% in 2018 without sacrificing any specs (below RM130k), i will isi borang UMNO !

• Maybe its their way of clearing their old 2013/2014 stocks?
    Typical scenario will be buyer walks into showroom ask how much. Buyer will be quoted new 2015 price. Buyer will ask for discount. VW will say “you want discount got but 2013/2014 model” Since all Malaysians like a big discount, they will fall for this scam

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 10, 2015 at 9:59 am

Think that they still can’t clear some of their 2012/2011 stock

• VW Car Price Hike = HICOM + Syd Mokta + Rosima + Cincin Baru

• It does not matter. In actual market, VW are selling their cars with high rebate!

• C. P. MOHAN on Jan 09, 2015 at 12:25 pm

Hope it is not an outdated trick 1) increase price now then lower them later. 2) price lowered because new model coming 3) new price can charge higher because base price is now higher. 4) FX hedge because of falling currency value. 5) local manufacturers VFM because it is cheaper as it has limited FX issue.

• raychoo on Jan 09, 2015 at 2:16 pm

Maybe the price rise has to do with the fact that USD is the currency which car companies trade in? The choice to buy or not is always up to the consumer, so choose wisely.

• Sigh.

About to upgrade to Golf R .

ZZZ

• With all the issues and bad aftersales service they provide, they still dare to increase their price. Mercedes A250 is the way to go for me if I were to consider the Golf GTi. The price hike makes the gap of A250 and GTi even closer and choosing the merz is a no brainer as u get a premium badge with better looks accompanied with premium after sales service

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 10, 2015 at 9:57 am

Pity the existing sui kwan kwai tai VW owners

In remorse very much like kimchi owners

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 16, 2015 at 12:26 am

eh vw, today euro devalue, so price decrease or not?