DRIVEN: Chevrolet Colorado 2.8 LTZ Muscle Power

chevrolet-colorado-muscle-power-3

I’ve never understood the appeal of a pick-up truck, to be honest – let alone these ‘lifestyle’ ones. They’re big, cumbersome, somewhat vulgar vehicles with the equivalent amount of sex appeal to that of a dinner plate. Need the cargo capacity? Get a wagon – they look better and, more importantly, drive better.

Which is why I was a tad angry at myself – not disappointed, angry – when I picked up the (inhale) Chevrolet Colorado 2.8 LTZ AT Muscle Power. Aesthetically, it’s not the best-looking of the lot – that accolade still lies with the Ford Ranger T6, in my opinion.

If someone held a gun to my head and told me I had to drive one forever, I’d probably choose the bullet. Or get them to order me a Ford F-150 SVT Raptor (might as well go for the full OTT treatment).

Assembled in Thailand, the second-generation Chevrolet Colorado, launched in 2012, was initially offered with a choice of either a 2.5 or 2.8 litre engine, paired to a manual gearbox – an auto was only available on the higher-spec 2.8 LTZ trim.

With the introduction of the ‘Muscle Power’ trim, the lineup has now been streamlined to feature only two variants. Prices begin at RM95,888 for the manual-equipped variant while the automatic version, tested here, starts at RM106,888, on-the-road sans insurance.

The sole engine on offer is a 2.8 litre, Duramax XLDE28 four-cylinder turbodiesel with VGT (variable geometry turbo) – paired to either a six-speed manual or a six-speed automatic pushing power to all four wheels. Simple? Not so fast as here is where it gets slightly muddled in terms of power output.

With the manual gearbox, the engine puts out 440 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm. Bringing in the auto unlocks a hilarious 500 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm, with 193 hp touted for either transmission options. Officially, the truck goes from 0-100 km/h in 10 seconds flat, tops out at 180 km/h and returns 10.9 km/litre – again with either gearboxes.

Suspension layout consists of independent double wishbones up front and multi-leaf springs at the rear, with the braking system comprised of ventilated discs and drums, fore and aft, respectively. Apart from the unhinged torque figure, my thoughts of a mundane test weekend were further cemented when I first laid eyes on the Colorado.

Fortunately, the bold, split-grille in front does lend it some identity while the additional chrome accents found on the side mirrors (power-folding, by the way) and fog light surrounds add a touch of drama to an otherwise ubiquitous shape. The 17-inch alloy wheels, wrapped in 255/65 Bridgestone Dueler H/T 840s, looked meh at best.

Step inside, and while the interior materials employed are as utilitarian as one would expect, the general layout and presentation does give it another edge over the competition in my books. The turquoise hue emanated from the instrument cluster and centre stack adds to it, I suppose.

Befitting its workhorse nature, cubby holes and storage spaces are aplenty while the plastics featured throughout will no doubt last the entire lifetime of the truck – in other words, cheap and hard. Exclusive only to this top-spec Colorado, is Chevrolet’s MyLink infotainment system with reverse camera.

Though it adds a touch of flair, using the seven-inch touchscreen is another story as the system is rather unintuitive and isn’t as sensitive as the best touchscreen systems out there. Selecting anything from the menu requires a firm, precise push on the screen – not exactly what you want when you’re on the move.

As usual, the infotainment system features MP3/WMA compatibility along with USB, CD, Bluetooth connectivity and navigation. Safety wise, the Colorado gets two airbags, ABS, EBD, traction and stability control along with Hill Descent Control System and Hill Start Assist as standard.

Then came the part where I would find out whether or not the Colorado and its accompanying torque figures were enough to help shift my view towards the genre. As expected, the lorry-like clatter upon startup was enough to make me grit my teeth as I clambered aboard.

Slamming the door shut revealed the first (and thankfully, not only) positive aspect of the Colorado. It’s quiet – not just for a truck. On the move, refinement was more than adequate and drivers will be pleased to know that the Colorado will play the role of the long-distance cruiser quite convincingly.

chevrolet-colorado-muscle-power-42

Tyre noise was apparent but only when the speedo was pointing towards the national speed limit – keep it well under and everything remains relatively serene. No complaints on wind noise as well – there was nary a hint of it throughout my highway jaunts.

It was only when the road got a bit twisty that I found feedback lacking through the Colorado’s (slightly too thick) steering wheel. Naturally, I hadn’t expected it to handle like a car but the fact that a significant amount of body roll made itself apparent even in slower corners meant additional points against the Colorado were chalked up.

Hitting potholes and road imperfections further revealed a ride that was at odds with its refined nature. At times, the four corners of the truck felt like it was pointing in different directions when I rolled over an expansion joint – larger potholes unravelled the ladder frame chassis completely.

Just when all hope was lost, it started pouring – and this had nothing to do with the truck’s all-weather, go-anywhere abilities. No. The Colorado redeemed itself when I pulled up to a set of lights. When green lit up, I did what any self-respecting, responsible driver would do considering the lack of traction on wet roads and 500 Nm – apply a fair amount of throttle.

chevrolet-colorado-muscle-power-18

What happened next was something that scared the living lights out of me and at the same time, made me feel very inappropriate things. The truck lurched forward, spinning its wheels as the Bridgestones valiantly struggled for traction before taking off like a bull on a summer’s day in Pamplona.

If you happen to be that very motorcyclist next to me at that very moment – I am so, so sorry for scaring you. It wasn’t (entirely) my fault. Following that episode, I decided to revert back to an even more unruffled driving style for fear of leaving the next set of lights with a scared and/or angry motorcyclist in tow.

With the Colorado falling short of expectations, I figured that maybe – just maybe – that its polished nature would be its saving grace as I crammed the cabin full of passengers. Big mistake. As with most other pick-ups, the ones in the rear were begging to be let out after some time.

The upright and ergonomically-flawed rear bench was just too much for them. Coupled to the unsettling ride, said group of passengers actually alighted the truck and walked the next half kilometre to our destination. Too harsh? Well, let it be known that said experiment was conducted on a stretch of pockmarked roads.

chevrolet-colorado-muscle-power-8

“I think it’s better if you drove this in the jungle-lah,” said one of the passengers. So, there you go. The Chevrolet Colorado summed up in one sentence. Despite its upmarket-looking interior and lack of wind and tyre roar, it’s a truck best experienced on the highway and probably off the road – where its true abilities and character would be much appreciated.

Has the Colorado convinced me that pick-up trucks are not as uncultured as they seem, then? No. Despite possessing road manners that are acceptable for this genre, this is one example of a Doolittle that won’t be working in a flower shop anytime soon.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• nabill (Member) on Jan 14, 2015 at 10:14 pm

the new D max stil is a better option in my opinion…refined and solid feeling , might not have the insane 500nm of torque , bt it has enough power for all situatons….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
    • If you look for the chassis, it share with Isuzu. But how come top speed 180km for that amount of hp & nm.

• haniff on Jan 14, 2015 at 10:44 pm

One of my dream cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Silthice on Jan 14, 2015 at 10:56 pm

Waiting for the new Navara review…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Paul Tan on Jan 14, 2015 at 11:32 pm

http://paultan.org/2014/08/04/driven-2015-nissan-np300-navara-chiang-mai/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • Silthice on Jan 15, 2015 at 10:26 pm

I mean Malaysian Navara, because we’re still not sure whether it will get the same Thai’s leaf spring or international’s coil spring, pricing and other features…

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Jan 14, 2015 at 11:16 pm

Gregory, I want to know the fuel consumption is it official from Chevrolet or just Naza Quest take the auto variant’s figure only.

I checked from Holden Australia and it has the same fuel consumption figure, just you use 100 divided by 10.9 to get the figure for L/100km. The URL for Holden Colorado can be accessed from here, http://www.holden.com.au/cars/colorado/4×2-range/crew-cab-pickup-ltz#specifications

• Frankly this is the most pretentious write up I’ve ever read.

” – larger potholes unravelled the ladder frame chassis completely. ”

Whow really? How? Maybe you’d best go back to writing Novellas instead of reviews.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 6
    • I didn’t understand what unravelled meant so have to google it, but now I became more confused.

un·rav·el (ŭn-răv′əl)
      v. un·rav·eled, un·rav·el·ing, un·rav·els or un·rav·elled or un·rav·el·ling
      v.tr.
      1.a. To undo or ravel the entangled, knitted, or woven threads of: unraveled the sweater.
      b. To undo or separate (entangled, knitted, or woven threads).
      2. To clarify the elements of (something mysterious or baffling); solve: The detective unraveled the mystery.
      3. To cause to fail or become ruined or unfulfilled: Their plans to open a restaurant became unraveled.
      v.intr.
      1. To become unraveled: The seam unraveled.
      2. To fail or become ruined or unfulfilled: His life unraveled after the stock market crash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • kakikereta on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:17 am

Yah totally don’t understand this guy. If he dun like trucks why you guys ask him to review a truck?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • Sami logan on Jan 15, 2015 at 7:58 am

Dah baca benda free pun ckp byk. Want more? Buy auto review magazines larrrr…dont talk kok here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 26
      • parkjw on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:01 am

nowadays people still buy magazines? if free already like shyt, if I have to pay I’d be more furious.

I shoot you online also free, dont talk so much ya? dumbarse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • latacc (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 3:35 pm

Ladder frames are known to have low torsional rigidity. Potholes in this case are assumed to cause single wheel events, which would certainly put the frame in torsion mode. Trucks (and even SUVs) built on ladder frame are known to shudder upon going over such input.

But ladder frames are good in bending, hence its load carrying capability. And it lends itself well to different configuration of the chassis. In the case of a light truck, one can have different variants of cabs, and even bed length on the same ladder frame chassis.

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 15, 2015 at 6:10 am

Greg, you are unfortunately missing a big point of owning a vehicle such as these. Frankly, I do not see what was your point in the entire review.

There are many who do not have good roads or roads which are impassable by normal vehicles in bad weather, namely those in the east.

There are also those of us who do not wish to pay exhorbitant taxes on a normal passenger car.

There are those of us who need a work truck. Been at a construction site lately?

Perhaps stick back at reviewing normal road cars if you cannot start a review with an unbiased viewpoint. Vehicles like these will obviously trade drivability for utility and go anywhere ruggedness.

The point is, review a truck as a truck. Not a sports car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 0
    • Agreed. This this one of the strangest reviews I’ve ever read.

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 6:41 am

That’s the main issue with GM cars, they always end up as half baked.

The Volt was probably the best they did but the rest, Ford has gone way above what GM does.

And Muscle Power. Really.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • such a funny intro…its like he rather want to die than driving the pick up truck..love to read his review

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Sgt Scoop on Jan 15, 2015 at 8:42 am

Interesting review but unfortunately you just can’t compare a truck to a sports car. Nobody buys a truck for tge drive so if you are interested in things like that you can only compare among the class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Ungku Iskandar on Jan 15, 2015 at 8:57 am

To be honest, this is by far the worst review that I’ve ever read in Paultan all these years.

First of all Mr.Greg, you are completely missing the point of having a pick-up truck in Malaysia or the rest of the world. What kind of review that bashes a car with a bias point of view which does not make any sense without having even comparing this particular car segment to its competitors?

How are we, as the reader could even benefit from this article? it serves no purpose but to bash pick-up truck as a whole. If u have never own one, or driven one, or use on for its purpose, then might as well not write anything at all. Period

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 0
    • Battu on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:27 am

i fully agree on the benefit part. i have being with paultan for quite some time now, and what i learn is this, paultan is only best for automotive news, and generally sucked at car review. and also, late review of the car (colorado came out when? just now review?)
      oh almost forgot the best part of paultan, the comment section, with full cast of moronic trolling regular commenter, such as sam looooooorrr.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • tokmoh. on Jan 15, 2015 at 9:23 am

Greg, thumbs up for being a wagoneer (and a Volvo at that <3 ).

But pick ups are awesome. Many years ago, I read NST Sunday's car column, CBT, about the Ford Ranger Lanun Darat, and dayum I wanna do that. It's oool and fun. Sadly, I don't see them anymore, must've been disbanded.

Today's pick ups are much more refined for normal use. Compared to older trucks, during Mitsu Storm and before, they were harsh, but still popular cuz it wasn't taxed badly for being commercial vehicle.

• Mulyadir Fitri on Jan 15, 2015 at 11:01 am

Guys,let this be a lesson. Next time send a person who does not have a preconceived notion of the car that he/she will review. He hates that damn thing. Send somebody who loves it, or at least a neutral. And Greg, your review sucks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • driver on Jan 15, 2015 at 11:28 am

i want to write a review about bikes.
    first thing first, i hate bikes.
    what is the purpose of a two wheeler?
    bla.. bla.. bla…
    there you go, dont buy bikes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • That’s one hell of a dirty engine bay..hahaha

• Poor Review on Jan 15, 2015 at 12:37 pm

As a owner of the Gen2 Hilux (manual), non-VGT Triton (auto) and the current Ford Ranger 2.2 (auto), it was very poorly written.

the writer mentioned very firm suspension, uncomfortable even, as compared to what? Have he tried the older gen pickups like the last gen Hilux? the cabin was cramped and noisy, the differential selector vibrates horribly. gear changes was long and vague.

At least compare it to the current pickups like the Ranger 3.2, Hilux 3.0, or the new Dmax.

Finally, the writer mentioned :
    “What happened next was something that scared the living lights out of me and at the same time, made me feel very inappropriate things. The truck lurched forward, spinning its wheels as the Bridgestones valiantly struggled for traction before taking off like a bull on a summer’s day in Pamplona.”

Apart from the grammatical error at line 3, was the ESP engaged? my experience with ESP cars is that they rarely spin their tyres.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Poor Review on Jan 15, 2015 at 12:41 pm

Edit, on second reading, there was no grammatical error, i misunderstood the sentence. my apologies.

• Anakjambi on Jan 15, 2015 at 6:51 pm

No grammatical error? Are you sure? Who in the world would write ” very inappropriate things”. Bear in mind queen’s english is my mother’s tongue

• Bad truck on Jan 15, 2015 at 1:11 pm

The worst review I’ve ever read about pick-up truck so far in PT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • Diesel TORQUE on Jan 15, 2015 at 2:06 pm

Aiyo normal lah pickup truck get wheelspin on wet road. Even my 2.5 triton auto which is considered underpowered to me can easily wheelspin with light throttle especially before and after rain.

• Jan2015 guest on Jan 15, 2015 at 2:06 pm

errrr the writers daily car is a Subaru la. Surela not Srd to trucks

• Jan2015 guest on Jan 15, 2015 at 2:06 pm

errrr the writers daily car is a Subaru la. Surela not Srd to trucks

• Greg Truck Noob on Jan 15, 2015 at 3:39 pm

Greg,
    If you don’t like to drive a truck, you can past to other colleagues who understand more about truck. You can cannot compare truck with normal vehicle. This is the worse review written in the automotive journalist. PT reputation had been damaged by this little Greg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • Josh Ling on Jan 15, 2015 at 3:53 pm

thank goodness it is short. this is a review gone wrong. it’s like asking a ford fiesta st to ride as comfortable as a merc c-class, and saying that it has failed to be a good car because it cannot reach the comfort level of a c-class. it’s just wrong, sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • hazamiey on Jan 15, 2015 at 5:19 pm

I totally agree with Gregory.

He is not the only car journalist who ravishly bashing a particular car model (or type of vehicle). We have seen many journalists from well known magazines blantantly wrote up bad reviews like they hates the car very much. Take for the case of BMW X6. Most journalist will call it expensive oddball that failed to justify its presence in automotive industry. The truth is if you ever driven one, its a smooth operator with commanding view, nice interior, comfortable coupled with silky smooth straight six engine. Why enthusiast bash it? Because they stuck with undeveloped mentality of if u want a fast vehicle, buy a sportscar. If u want an high riding AWD, get an X5. But ladies and rich fellas love X6 and it sells.

The legendary Chris Harris is not in exception. Remember when he compared BMW M135i and Audi RS3, he hates the RS3 and not give a damn on it just because the car have understeer problem. Even though it has better show room appeal to layman’s eyes and most people would not have any problem driving the RS3 on day-to-day basis. The only caveat was that the car could not nailed the best on track, on the hands of professional driver. How many professional drivers will bought one?

Sometimes this kind of review is entertaining. Topgear has always brought up silly reviews and they sometims pull up a review or hillarious comparison just to bash a particular car model or manufacturer. Still, nobody make noise, because it Topgear, meh?

I never understand this type of truck lifestyle. Yes, people need it for work, but we have seen countless number of trucks on the road and not all of them are hardware shop owners or aircond company. They are just simply another common motorists that want to drive fast on public roads and motorway. People love it because it has good commanding view with powerful turbodiesel engine. Seeing truck drivers drive reckelessly on the road and bullying other smaller and slower vehicles are sickening.

I’m not sure how many of so called enthusiasts here in paultan has ever driven a truck before. They are uncomfortable, the turbodiesel engine sounds like lorry and the engine sends vibraton throughout the cabin. Yes, we can feel the flatbed at the back twisting like cheap zinc materials when the truck hit poteholes or expansion joints. The exhaust fume is not pleasent at all. The rear suspension uses multi leaf springs. Try to sit at the back and you will get the same experience just like Gregory’s passengers.

Truck is big, cumbersome, blocking other motorists view (Alphard as well) , driven fast and recklessly on the road, and does not meet the purpose when you bought it just to ferry your entire family.

Gregory, I’m with you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 42
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 8:09 pm

The reason why trucks are so popular in Malaysia is the tax exemption. You get A LOT of car for relatively little money… these things, outside of Malaysia, cost much more.

That a sports car gets a bad review because it sucks at what it is meant to do is rather appropriate, IMHO. By that basis Gregory would have had to test this car doing actual work offroad, and if it fails at that… bad review.

I kind of like some trucks, especially the high performance off-road ones. Not that I have any use for a 6 liter fuel destruction machine though… I suppose there are off-road parks you can go to… somewhere?

As for blocking view… tinted windows do the same. That’s why they are illegal.

• Josh Ling on Jan 16, 2015 at 8:40 am

hazamiey: please note that what you said is about the driver and not the car itself. i saw a lot of reckless drivers of high performance cars, kancils, myvis, SUVs on the road where i live too, should i say those cars are bad for normal malaysians, and i never understand why those cars exist in the first place?

it’s how the driver drives the car that matters, not the car itself.

• dasdad on Jan 15, 2015 at 5:48 pm

This truck or Ford Ranger 3.2? A comparison with the ranger 3.2 and hilux 3.0 would be interesting…

Also its would be great if you tell us how it handled around the corner…

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 15, 2015 at 6:58 pm

You see, you made the same fundamental error. You fail to see the truck as a truck, and made the same mistake thinking it is a car.

You can’t just review a vehicle taken into isolation. If you said something is bad, what is it compared against?

of course, even a Honda Accord could ride badly, with poor refinement if compared to a Roller.

I had work trucks like the old Frontier and tested the Navara, Triton and the Ford T6 when they were launched. These new generation trucks made hugh strides in (and will continue to) on road comfort and refinement.

The rear springs on the truck are meant to take up nearly a ton of payload. Obviously if it is unladden, it will ride harshly.

Who are you to judge if a person had bought a truck for the right reasons? If following your logic, one would not buy a sports car if you are not going to track it?? Why drive a rally inspired turbo AWD if you are not going to go rallying in it?

Its just as bad as saying a car is a useless form of transportation when it cannot take a 1 ton payload, wade 800cm of water, or have all-terrain traction in the worst of weather.

..and if you think that you are not already paying enough taxes, please feel free to contribute more. I know I would sleep better knowing I didn’t get ripped off paying so much car taxes.

If you think I defend pickups because I like them, no. I hate how they drive. But I can appreciate thier virtues just the same. In fact, my current daily driver is more hardcore and track focused than any of the PT team’s cars….and yet, it may come a day, when I may need a pickup to tow my track car to/fro the track.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 8:13 pm

I think Gregory is talking from the point of view of a regular car driver… as a warning to other regular car drivers who really should be buying a car, but are tempted by the prospect by a lot of car for a B segment price tag. Saying that, yes, they have improved in the current generation, but they are nowhere near what you get with a normal car.

For people who live in areas where a normal car really shouldn’t go, or who need to go there, for people who need the space for work, etc., trucks are great. But if all you do is go to your office job in KL and do groceries at TESCO… bad idea!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Abubakar on Jan 15, 2015 at 7:36 pm

Totally agree Greg the great bashed the $#!+ out of the pickup Gods, but he will learn to appreciate pickups when he understands that it was those generous souls with pickups that donated food& essentials to the victims of flood.

• peminat Subaru sti on Jan 15, 2015 at 7:54 pm

Controversial review gets people commenting. I love it.

people buy car for whatever reason they like.

500nm..? Wow surely it’s orgasmic.

• Freedom on Jan 15, 2015 at 8:48 pm

I’ve never understood the appeal of a man or are you really the man to write about pick-up truck? When the first intention started with negativity what do the reader aspect? Hahaha is like I never understood the appeal of a any car on the road with traffic jam and all instead lets continue fly my private plane :)

• I drive the 2010 Ford Ranger. For me I need the 4×4 ability to pull my 23 foot boat, especially up slippery ramps.

I need the pickup ability to load my KLX dirt bike or occasionally my wife’s and my MTB cycles.

No station wagon can offer both those abilities. As for the harsh ride, leaf springs on a ladder chassis are for strength, not comfort. I will go further and accuse you of lying regarding rear passengers, because when loaded down with cargo or passengers is when a pickup becomes comfortable and soft. Unloaded they are naturally harsh – because it’s a pickup!

Your hatred for pickups makes you clearly unsuitable for doing such a review, that you went ahead and did such a bad one anyway makes you unprofessional.

• Baja Lapis Seng on Jan 16, 2015 at 4:18 pm

It’s like asking a vegetarian to give a review about a Kobe beef served in some restaurant.

Or asking Jeremy Clarkson to review motorcycle.

Get someone more suitable to review Pick up trucks, PaulTan.org

• Really on Jan 16, 2015 at 9:24 pm

Having sat in and driven my dad’s 2002 Hilux 2.8, then bought my own 2005 Ranger 2.5 (A), and then traded-in the said Ranger for a 2010 Triton 2.5 (A), i guess i can vouch for the vast improvements pickups have gone through in the past decade.

From noisy, bumpy and rough workhorses, they have transformed into comfortable (nothing like a passenger car, but my Triton is pretty close), well-equipped and good value for money. That they can travel on-road as well as off-road just adds to the allure for many pickup owners such as myself.

• TS.Lim on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:24 pm

This review has no point at all. Disappointed.

• Liveevil on Feb 08, 2015 at 3:48 am

The Colorado is without any shadow of doubt, the most powerful truck in Malaysian market. 194 hp with acceleration speed from 0 – 100 km in 9.2 secs. I know, b’cos I’m driving the 2012 LTZ, after previously owned, Triton 3.2, Navara and Hilux 3.0.

• Latecomer on Feb 19, 2015 at 1:10 pm

A few pertinent facts that the review missed.
    Unlike the other utes the Colorado has ESP and 5star safety rating and 6 speed auto gearbox.
    The Ford Ranger is also 5star rated but only the Wildtrak comes with ESP.
    I don’t work for Chevy and I’m not a truck guy.
    Gregory Sze should go and pluck spiders and Paul Tan should not debase his review archive with reviews such as this.

• wonderW on Feb 21, 2015 at 2:40 am

Dear Greg,
    My boyfriend used to own a F150 back in the States, and now a Ranger XLT in Malaysia. We moved back to Malaysia a year back and still enjoy driving a truck. We do lots of outdoor events and a truck is very helpful. We can’t do events with a sports car sadly.
    I was excited to see a review on the Colorado on PT.org as we were planning to get another truck, but Greg sorry boy, you just suck. Big Time.
    Go do some reviews on your favourite cars instead . Pls for God’s sake.

BTW boy, you talk about sex appeal? I’ll pick a man with a truck anytime. Not pussy with a sports car.

• Jozsef on Feb 25, 2018 at 10:05 am

Hi all,
    Have a question…. from which online store I can order spare parts for my 2017 Colorado? Don’t find any…

thx