2014 Chevrolet Colorado launched in Thailand – new Duramax 2 engine, new 6 M/T, MyLink infotainment

2014 Chevrolet Colorado Thailand-01

GM has launched the 2014 Chevrolet Colorado pick-up truck at the ongoing 2013 Thai Motor Expo. The updated Colorado features a more powerful engine, Chevy’s MyLink infotainment system and other technical and aesthetic upgrades. It was recently introduced in Australia.

The new engine is question is the Duramax 2. The 2.8L variant now produces 200 hp at 3,600 rpm and 500 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm. That’s the same power as the 3.2L five-cylinder Ranger Wildtrak and 30 Nm more than the Ford, so it will lead the class when it reaches Malaysia. The old engine did 180 hp and 470 Nm.

Equivalent to 178 Nm per litre, the new engine will not only improve the Colorado’s acceleration and linear performance, it will also enhance the vehicle’s towing and payload capacity. Also improved is the 2.5L variant, which now produces 163 hp and 380 Nm, up from 150 hp/350 Nm.

2014 Chevrolet Colorado Thailand-09

Several parts were upgraded, with the main points being the high-pressure commonrail, a water-cooled variable-geometry turbocharger, an electrical EGR valve and a new composite intake manifold, among other things Both 2.5L and 2.8L variants are Euro 4 compliant and can be upgraded to meet Euro 5, 6 and US emission standards if necessary.

New six-speed manual transmissions will be fitted to both 2.5 and 2.8L variants. They feature retuned ratios to take advantage of the new Duramax’s extra grunt. Automatic variants retain the proven Hydra-Matic six-speed self-shifter.

Inside, you’ll find Chevrolet’s latest MyLink infotainment system. Thailand’s top-of-the-range Colorado LTZ1 is now equipped with MyLink that has a seven-inch screen and integrated navigation. The system is capable of displaying album artwork, videos and images, and comes with a nine-speaker sound system, DVD-movie capability and an USB/AUX port.

The LTZ gets another variant of MyLink that features smartphone connectivity and streaming audio. The touch screen displays options such as audio, pictures and movies, telephone, smartphone link and settings. Users can access personal playlists and make hands-free voice calls, amongst other functions.

The smartphone link function allows the use of Stitcher and TuneIn, which provides the driver access to over 70,000 internet radio stations worldwide.

The new Colorado also features an enhanced Display Information Cluster (DIC) – a backlit LCD panel in the instrument panel. It now comes with an ‘ECO Index Page’ that shows you how fuel efficient you have been, or not. If the driver is driving economically, a leaf will be shown. There’s also a Statistics Page, which highlights the average fuel consumption for the last 50 km in a bar graph. Lastly, there’s a Park-Assist System with sensors built into the rear bumper.

2014 Chevrolet Colorado Thailand-10

In the Land of Smiles, the Colorado range comes with a wide choice of two engines across three spec levels, with single, extended and crew-cab (double-cab) bodies in high- and low-stance configuration, as well as 2WD/4WD. Prices start from 570,000 baht (RM57k) for the 2.5L 2WD S-Cab to 998,000 baht (RM100k) for the 2.8L 4WD C-Cab AT LTZ Z71. Orange Rock is a new colour, as seen here.

The Chevrolet Colorado was launched here in March 2012. Click here to read our review.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sam Loo on Dec 02, 2013 at 1:47 pm

Most of us will get the Toyota Hilux which is superior compare to this Amerca machine. Jap cars have proven quality compare to the american.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 70
    • Hey, friend stop bashing other brand like this. I did admit if in the off road condition the hilux really the king of all but other pickup still have their own advantage. For example isuzu for fuel consumption, ford also for it durabality, navara for its engine performance and etc. Toyota good name warna fromthe effort of their saleman and service quality not from ‘bashing. quality’. Reflect yourself. Don,t behave like a crown in this blog.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • The new D-max survived from the recent Borneo Safari 2013! Hilux is no longer the King claimed by you…(I don’t know since when Hilux is the king in offroad…)

My conclusion is, nowadays lots of pick up are capable almost everything :)

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:15 am

Impersonator at work

• Hilat rubbish on Dec 18, 2014 at 5:14 pm

No ESP, 4 speed, underpowered, piece of crap truck u call superior? wow…

• Hilux for Sam on Dec 02, 2013 at 1:58 pm

1)Seriously nice truck!
    2)waiting ppl to bash
    3)waiting Sam loo and his hailux
    4)seat back & enjoy…hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • letstorque on Dec 02, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Pass me the popcorn, please….

• And Sam Loo is just above you.. hahahahha… Anyway test drove a friend’s collorado and damn!! It’s one powerful beast!! So much in love with it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • AUSNSW on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:14 pm

Ever drove my fren Colorado…..it is really more powerful than my hilux…my hilux’s brake haf problem juz 2 week after bought….I reli curious about malaysian’s toyota quality…

• Sam Loo on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:19 am

How can you compare a new Colorado with a 10 year old Hilux?

Maybe its because Sam Showed you his 2001 Hilux when you tried to trade in your KIA with a Hyundai badge, but later on you were shown the broomstick

• Evolution XI on Dec 02, 2013 at 2:10 pm

How is this Colorado compared to Mitsubishi Triton which currently the most powerfull pickup in Malaysia? it’s 178 or 180 bhp for the Triton 2.5..

• The most powerful pick-up in M’sia is currently the Ford Ranger Wildtrak with a 200 PS / 470 Nm 3.2 L turbo five pot engine.

The Triton VGT’s claim of being the ‘most powerful in its class’ is apparently only in the 2500 cc and below engine class which also includes the Nissan Navara LE.

• Stupid? on Dec 18, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Are you really that stupid? This article shows a truck that has 500Nm coming from a 2.8L engine.. So you saying a 3.2 that can only make 470Nm is more powerful?

• Mozilla Chrome on Dec 02, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Woa..so fast..2013 not ended yet but 2014 model already launched.

• Hadi75 on Dec 02, 2013 at 2:49 pm

Nice looking truck….awesome torque….

• Tyler Durden on Dec 02, 2013 at 3:08 pm

A tribute-post to Paul Walker please..?

• superbird #43 on Dec 02, 2013 at 3:52 pm

plenty of performance can be expected from this vehicle and it exceeds the stringent emission standards of the States as well as euro 4, 5 and 6. but i think it will run erratically here since the fuel(diesel) quality does not keep up with the superior engine technology.

• Euro 4 and above? But we are only at 2M? Boleh pakai ke ni?

Anyway Ford Ranger 3.2 was designed by Aussies and given that Outback fuel quality is usually teruk so kita punya 2M pun masuk that engine. Tapi ni Colorado 2 sure kena detune punye.

Observe exhaust emmissions from pick ups. You wont see much smoke under acceleration from Toyotas, Isuzus and Fords. But check out the Mitsubishi and Nissan. Same problem with imported continental duesel sedans.

• lonelyobserve on Dec 02, 2013 at 5:32 pm

You need to do detailed research on Aussie’s diesel fuel quality. Australia fuel quality is Euro V compliant, i.e. sulphur content is limited not more than 10ppm. (Refer wikipedia or Australia car brochures)

Furthermore, the 2.2L and 3.2L diesel engines are introduced since 2000 (2.2L) and 2006 (3.2L). Ford just needs to make some tweaks and modification on the engines so that they can meet Euro V emission standard. The unmodified engines are Euro 3 compliant because they are sold to many countries where some of them have high sulphur content diesel fuel.

• Colorado Owner on Dec 18, 2014 at 5:07 pm

You clearly dont understand what is Euro2M.. I think in your brains, Euro2M means dirtier fuel.. or got sand inside.. such a dumb comment..

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 03, 2013 at 12:05 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

As long as its not a KIA, it can be traded in

• johnt on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:21 am

5 years it become 20k

• Sam Loo on Dec 03, 2013 at 2:05 pm

For unpopular makes, the RV will be around 10% after 5 years

• philp lee on Dec 04, 2013 at 8:02 am

When it comes to Malaysia?

• Someguyonthenet on Dec 04, 2013 at 1:13 pm

first the Ranger
    then the D-Max
    Now this?

Twin-cabs now are getting better and better, I’m spoiled for choices!

• syncro on Dec 04, 2013 at 11:33 pm

Wait till you get this… Drooling~

https://www.chevrolet.com/2015-colorado-small-truck.html

• Wow I am now unsure what to buy in 2014

A Ford Ranger Wildrak or the new chevrolet colorado

• Charlie on Dec 09, 2013 at 8:54 am

I test drive Hilux 3.0, Dmax 2.5 and Chevy Colorado 2.8…and I decided to place order for the power loaded Chevy Auburn Brown. Oh Yes!

• Charlie on Jun 09, 2014 at 1:39 pm

I’ve been driving my Colorado 2.8 LTZ for 5 mths now & one thing I wanna say is goin uphill is EASY.

• I Like Trucking on Dec 28, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Colorado LTZ and Ford Ranger Wildtrak are the only pickup trucks with ESP (Stability Control).

Don’t get a truck without one.

• Endless on Jan 20, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Planning to get one of this machine here in Sabah. Called by the salesman today that the new model 2014 will coming on this April-May 2014. They did have the 2012 model MT transmission, but its already out of stock also. So, just wait for the new 2014 model to come in. Can’t wait. I like the “Camero” interior design in this.

• Robert on Jan 27, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Will it have a reversing camera?

Also how is the interior space compared to the Rranger?

• who gives a f…k I love my Dmax

• Dmax? Really? on Dec 18, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Underpowered, no cruise control, no touch screen, no 6th gear, no good looking..

• Waiting for latest design 2015 Chevy Colorado, did anyone know when will launch in Asia?

• RKevinS on May 07, 2015 at 8:54 am

Does anyone know the cubic ft size of the Colorado in Thailand verus Others? And are there other Trucks of similar size? Want all Information before buying my 1st new truck in Thailand. ( Big guy, need as much room as i can get, even if not as much as my Silverado in USA had)

• chevrlet colorado duramax 2014 base 2.5L 6 speed trans control jammed,anybody have the experience on this, it stuck at the parking shift lever.

• Chilly on Apr 25, 2022 at 11:24 am

Ask any transporters in Sabah & Sarawak. They will give honest & accurate answers. Toyota Hilux & Isuzu Dma,period.