GALLERY: Peugeot 208 S – redecorated looks, RM87k

Peugeot Malaysia will soon be adding a new model to the local 208 range, the limited edition Peugeot 208 S, that slots in above the regular five-door VTi. We got word that the car was currently on display at the Peugeot Blue Box showroom in Glenmarie – thanks YT Leong for the tip! – so we headed over to take a closer look.

Essentially a five-door 208 with sported-up looks, the 208 S features new black-and-red graphics around the outside of the car, with the motif appearing on the lower front lip and the side mirrors, as well as on the stripes that go along the bonnet, the roof, the tailgate and the lower rocker on the doors.

There’s also a new “SR1” front grille cribbed from the standard three-door hatch, with slats in place of the regular five-door’s oblong slots. Additionally, a new tailgate spoiler (different from the wing on the GTi) has been fitted, also dressed in black and red.

Elsewhere, the 208 S is identical to the five-door, with the same standard kit – projector headlights with LED daytime running lights, fog lights, 16-inch two-tone “Helium” alloys, black-and-blue “Moonlight” fabric upholstery, a touchscreen infotainment system, Arkamys six-speaker audio, dual-zone auto climate control, six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, ESP, hill start assist and Isofix child seat anchors.

No change to the mechanicals either, so under the bonnet remains the same 1.6 litre VTi naturally-aspirated petrol four-pot making 122 hp at 6,000 rpm and 160 Nm of torque at 4,250 rpm, mated to the same four-speed Tiptronic automatic transmission.

All that’s left is the price – RM86,888 (on-the-road with insurance) is what you’ll have to hand over for the 208 S, a RM1,000 premium over the standard five-door VTi. Digital White is the only colour on offer, and a five-year unlimited-mileage warranty is included. The price list states an effective date of January 19, so we presume that’s when the car will officially go on sale.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Captain Obvious on Jan 17, 2015 at 8:11 pm

S stands for Super Ah Beng?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
    • Ah beng is proton for life.

More likely is 208 Scared of Mazda 2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
      • Maseratits on Jan 18, 2015 at 2:05 am

Ah beng drive Vios or City lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 11
        • Same L0rrrr on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:45 pm

Unfortunately ppl rather buy this french car rather than Iriz.

A conti hatchback and Proton hatchback… Big difference man!

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 19, 2015 at 3:44 pm

Good car but after sales so bad. Crony company Naza got no enthusiasm and they think like kerajaan. Half the time asleep and minum teh kat kantin.

No point buying a good car when SC and after sales are so bad.

Might as well have Putrajaya service the vehicle….slow and lazy. Minum teh 8x sehari.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • Ibrahim on Jan 18, 2015 at 8:27 am

Proton Perdana chauffeured driven is ok what. Wear RM 200K Choppard watch some more. Greeted by GM at the 6 stared hotel entrance with red carpet compared with someone driving Mercs or BMW and hawking for parking place. he he Think bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Girl Bully on Jan 19, 2015 at 9:09 am

S for Steering wheel lock. Limited edition free item (RM2000 price). Kikikikik.

• chey I thought a manual version or something. At least give leather upholstery la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • 4G63T DSM on Jan 17, 2015 at 10:06 pm

Should have been a manual.

Looks like Peugeot is cribbing a page from Suzuki’s marketing handbook.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Jonathan, you forgot to mention about the free steering lock..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
  • LNick on Jan 17, 2015 at 8:26 pm

Any free steering lock?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Ibrahim on Jan 18, 2015 at 8:28 am

Taken by KIKI LALA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Ladies buyer will get free steering lock. If the ladies has Kiki on her name than she can get double extra size steering lock

• nabill (Member) on Jan 17, 2015 at 8:38 pm

Love this car… Only drawback is da jerky auto 4speed box… Interior has best material n design…full of soft touches…. Overall a very solid car…. And the lower steering rack u will get used to in in no time, although at first its shocking!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • yippy on Jan 17, 2015 at 8:54 pm

How I wish it has at least 5 speed auto..it will be perfect.

• That’s it? Only stickers and spoilers? I was hoping they put a moonroof or GPS system

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 17, 2015 at 8:57 pm

so 1k extra for some bodykit and it is considered as a different model …lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
  • Wth…208 revamped,Sime Darby style O.O

• Needs a matching steering lock

• lolipop on Jan 17, 2015 at 10:12 pm

I’m Charlie but I’m not Charlie..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • Urzu3 on Jan 17, 2015 at 10:56 pm

anyone notice how loud the aircond compressor..? tested the 2008 which not much diff from 208.. very loud compressor.. louder than proton flx..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Yes i realized it too, and it kind of a shame, anything else is almost perfect. Noticeable like Exora, Myvi and Vios

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 17, 2015 at 11:11 pm

The 208 is a fantastic little car, except the gearbox. Peugeot globally still is punishing us with this really dimwit transmission. If only this is available with the same drivetrain as the new 308, that would be perfect.

The S version, guess it brings out the CDM25 in you lolololol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Kiki Steering Lock on Jan 18, 2015 at 12:35 am

Peugeot should launch a Kiki model with large “25” stickers on the front hood, doors and roof. And of cos…comes with a steering lock too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • shawal on Jan 18, 2015 at 1:01 am

Im sure u can haggle off d 1k with a desperate salesman….

• sambalbabi on Jan 18, 2015 at 2:12 am

rear brake disc! YESSSSS

• BMW E36 Coupe on Jan 18, 2015 at 2:23 am

Malaysians, please be wise and don’t get fooled by these cars makers that sells special editions with silly body kits, stripes stickers, special floor carpets, tinting, different rims, navigation multimedia reverse cameras stuffs; they’re all marked up car accessory parts that made your car more expensive which is essentially the same car as the standard car with same engine, safety, etc. YOu can fix a better higher quality aftermarket accessories outside. CAR COMPANIES ARE GREEDY AND WANTS TO MAKE A HIGHER PROFIT MARGINS THAN THEY ALREADY HAD!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • Acrix on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:23 am

What you say is true but some cars have better safety in the higher spec models with more airbags or ESP. For the cars that does not increase safety in its more expensive variants then can just buy low spec and go outside to install own accessories which in some case is better quality and save lots more.

• Shthong on Jan 18, 2015 at 8:22 am

I try not to be ah beng and bought a pug,
    some engine knocking sound and the car is still in their Belakong service centre for a year (send in Dec)
    Am sure ah beng already driving happily if he’s in the same situation. Service and repair sucks.

• NoMore! on Jan 18, 2015 at 7:45 pm

The Prince VTi engine consumes engine oil from day one. At 120K KM, it is already consuming 1L every 3K KM. I sold my 308 VTi because of this only. And the best part? Nasim screwed me by selling me a car with a tempered chassis number (the chassis number was found to be stamped twice after chemical test by Jabatan Kimia). Took me freaking 5 months before Nasim is able to get JPJ’s approval for restamping the chassis number.

That’s what we call screwing you to the max. The car still brings you trouble after you have sold it.

• Yesmore on Jan 18, 2015 at 11:45 pm

Firstly why you accept a car when you’ve noticed a tempered number? Also when JPJ already confirmed the case why let them register the tempered number?
        Wait 5 months for registration? Goodness!!
        Most of us would have sue Peugeot and the dealer, for allowing things like this to happen. If you’re taking bank loan, the bank can sue you for claiming the vehicle as a new car. Unless the dealer have already thrown in super huge discounts to offset your loss this is the only reason I can think as to what kept you to sites like this to complain. Never heard of things like this happening unless you’re buying pre-registered or pre-owned vehicles. Always make sure you have the puspakom test report. It’ll cover your @ss incase anything happens.

• Ex Peugeot Owner on Jan 19, 2015 at 9:15 am

I would like to share my opinion on this matter.

First of all, I am not a car salesman from other brands, just an ex Peugeot car owner.

The leakage from the engine that causes it to consume lots of engine oil is in fact a very common problem to the Peugeot car in Malaysia. My car had that problem too.

The fact with sueing Nasim on any faulty car in the court is that it is going to take years before one can get any jurisdiction from the court, and you would have to live with that faulty condition of your car during that period as you definitely do not want to tamper the evidence.

Now, how many of us can afford to have a spare car in our garage?

So, the best way to get the issue resolved is probably going back to Nasim and get whatever they can offer to minimise your loses unless you want the case to drag on, that was the advice I got from my lawyer friend.

And I honestly think that company like Nasim would also have their own legal advisor who is tutoring the company, taking full advantage, knowing that most car owners can’t afford to have their car idle in the garage while waiting for the decision from the court.

I think it is high time for the country to have some sort of lemon law and claim mechanism to attend to issues like this by looking at the amount of complaints for the makes of VeryWorring car, the small little dog, the blue circle and etc.

It is a shame, my pug was so much fun to drive. I found the handling better than the H, T-eagle and even certain models from the german’s B & B. And of course, I am comparing to the cars that I had owned or driven for more than a year only(company car).

Again, this is not a complaint, and I do not wish to offend anyone, just sharing my opinion.

• NoMore! on Jan 19, 2015 at 10:28 am

You misunderstood me. I was not buying. I was the one selling. I was the first hand owner of the 308 VTi.

I bought the car from Nasim 5 years ago. It is a CKD, that means the car does not need to go through PUSPAKOM inspection before registered to me. When I collected the car, the salesman indeed shown me the chassis number. But he did not show me both the places, but only the visible one (at bottom of windscreen). He did not show me the one inside engine bay. The one inside the engine bay had a very obvious tempering trace (the last few digits has sanding mark around it). Fast-forward to 5 months ago. I sold it to a used car dealer. Money taken. But used car dealer not able to pass PUSPAKOM inspection for change of ownership, because a suspected tempering on the chassis number. So I immediately got help from Nasim. Even that, it took 5 months before we are able to get a “Lulus” from PUSPAKOM. What had happened within the 5 months?

1. I brought car to JPJ – Kejuruteraan Otomotif for inspection. Outcome was to wait for Chemical test.
          2. I waited few weeks before summoned for Chemical test at Jabatan Kimia.
          3. Waited 1 month for the Chemical test result, which shows that there was another set of numbers stamped and sanded off, before the visible chassis number (which matches the pink slip) was finally stamped.
          4. Nasim sent request to JPJ, explaining the issue, and request for restamping.
          5. Waited for another 1-2 months before JPJ finally approves the request.
          6. Nasim brought car back for restamping of chassis number and inspection.

So, throughout this 5 months, I was constantly bugged by the used car dealer. Because he had bought a car which he could not sell, and he could not also use it legally (because JPJ has unregistered the car after the chemical test).

So, why did Nasim sell a car with tempered chassis number to me? Why the salesman still register the car to me, even though he knew about it, since he would have done inspection before accepting the car on behalf of me?

• Yesmore on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:33 pm

Aduh, I know your feeling/ anger regarding this matter. Not offended in anyway, angered that this is the way it is done in Malaysia. But just to share with you:
            A friend of mine got a new Merc S350 from a dealer, kept sending it back for checking because of checklight issue, lawyer warned the dealer that this is causing the client to waste his time and energy on this matter including business losses that might arise. Merc gave a similar car for him to use daily. Finally they wanted to change some parts in the engine he declined and they replaced it with a brand new car of similar spec.
            Regarding your deler, it is common for them( Naza ) to delay delay and delay. A relative of mine had a turbo issue with his pug. It is so 100% evident that the turbo is faulty, they asked him to send the vehicle to check countless times, saying the hq are sending people over to check etc. after so many months they still delay saying this is abnormal and need more checking. He got sick of it changed the turbo outside the dealership, problem solved. After few months sold the car, hate the dealership. Not the brand.
            Shows what you can do the choice is yours but I feel for you as it takes time energy and money to solve the issue. But if you’re sure, it doesn’t matter how long it takes, you’re definitely winning the case.
            We have a pretty fast acting user tribunal in Malaysia and you can try to bring up your case to them. I believe many law firms will be keen to take up your case. You’re 99% winning. 1% their (dealer) “connection” might delay your case abit.
            I myself will take note of what you’ve experienced and hope to share it with future car owners. Check the numbers even though it is very unlikely to happen, thank you.

• NoMore! on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:59 pm

Hi Yesmore

I cannot reply your comment already, so need to reply mine instead.

I totally agree with you. In fact, I have given them the final date, which was end of 2014. If they were not able to solve it, they would need to buy it back. In fact, I am about to get lawyer to draft a Letter of Demand, in case they deny or delay it. Luckily JPJ approved it just before Christmas.

So, I will buy Peugoet again, if both of the following conditions are met:

1. It is distributed by other company instead of the existing one.
            2. I am wealthy enough to buy the Pug as a weekend car.

• No matter in what guise, the 208 looks dated just after a few years of launch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • cendol (Member) on Jan 18, 2015 at 10:19 am

The easiest way to make another model out of the same model of car is to add sticker and bodykit. Mark up the price a bit and you get a new model.
    If it was so easy in life.

• one of those cars once purchased, its stuck for life as the value will drop faster than anything u seen before…

• drchan on Jan 18, 2015 at 1:38 pm

they ruined the car and yet have guts to charge more for that!

• astroblack on Jan 18, 2015 at 2:28 pm

I still in love with my 2005 407.repaint and replce the wear and tear…..nah, look new again

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 18, 2015 at 2:56 pm

Normally those stripes that go over the car will signify that its been tinkered and is not your normal hatch but lately there have been a lot of posers that has been hogging the roads…

• Usavich on Jan 18, 2015 at 5:40 pm

I dislike this kiki car…won’t consider, bad image.

• ben yap on Jan 18, 2015 at 9:51 pm

low tech car and still gotta pay RM1K more. not worth to buy….

Prepare for poor sales, peugeot!

• As bad as Iriz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Mahal lah. Patutlah Kiki marah.

• lazak on Jan 19, 2015 at 8:35 am

add one strip sticker costs 1k , not bad business

• 2013 year car can get around rm63k..

• KillBox1Alpha on Jan 19, 2015 at 4:39 pm

All those red accents just makes it an AMG tuned wannabe

• Don’t understand why Nasim still doing this kind of gimmick.

I’m ex pug owner. Nice to drive for the first 2 to 3 years, then it has been headache after headache until can’t tahan and had to sell the car.

Not suitable for our hot and humid weather. The whole gear knob melted.