Peugeot 208 facelift unveiled – now with 6-speed auto

2015_Peugeot_208_01

The Peugeot 208 facelift range has just been officially unveiled, and will make its public debut at the 2015 Geneva Motor Show next month. First revealed three years ago, the French B-segment hatchback gets mildly updated looks and a raft of new tech for its mid-life facelift.

Let’s cover the looks first. Up front, there’s a fresh new bumper with an integrated “Equalizer” grille. The headlamps are slightly different too, now with a more striking dual-tone black and chrome bezel. The rear, meanwhile, gets full-LED light clusters with a prominent claw motif.

Brand new to the 208 range is a GT Line styling pack, which includes visual add-ons such as a black and red front grille, a chrome tailpipe, 17-inch alloy wheels, Peugeot lettering in red and GT Line badges. Inside, it gets plenty of red highlights taken from the high performance GTi model.

The 208’s interior has been left largely untouched for the facelift. The main soft-touch dash panel receives a new texture/grain, while the seven-inch touchscreen system is upgraded to include MirrorScreen (supports MirrorLink and Apple CarPlay) and reverse camera features.

Under the hood, European markets get a choice of three 1.6 litre BlueHDi diesel engines (75 hp, 100 hp and 120 hp) and various 1.0- or 1.2 litre PureTech petrol motors (68 hp, 82 hp and 110 hp). The 1.2 PureTech 110 hp variant can be had with a new Aisin-sourced six-speed automatic gearbox, which replaces the ageing four-speeder in the outgoing models. An updated 1.6 litre THP165 unit is also available, but only with a six-speed manual transmission like on the new THP208-powered 208 GTi facelift.

Last but not least, the new Peugeot 208 facelift also sees the addition of Active City Brake. The active safety feature uses a short-range radar to sense imminent collisions and in such events, can apply full braking force to avoid an accident, or at least minimise the potential consequences.

Peugeot 208 GTi facelift

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• elson on Feb 19, 2015 at 8:21 pm

very soon all the b segment car get 6 speed, only Honda and toyo still 4speed and CVT, they did like Nokia :DD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
    • Honda did introduce new cvt from 5 speed paired with earthdreams engine. Only umw toyota still roll out ancient 4 speed except for altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • intermilan on Feb 19, 2015 at 8:31 pm

Emm.. somehow, the author omitted that the 208 will also come with four-cylinder petrol units include the 1.6-liter THP, offered in two states of tune: 165PS (161hp) and 208PS (205hp).

However, its unclear which gearbox will be paired with the above engines.

My guess is that the 161 hp will be paired with both manual and the new 6-speed auto while the 205 hp is manual only option.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 19, 2015 at 8:52 pm

The THP208 engine in the new 208 GTi is covered here: http://paultan.org/2015/02/19/peugeot-208-gti-facelift-gets-a-power-hike-to-208-hp/

And yes, I overlooked the THP165 engine. Thanks for the heads up, mate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • intermilan on Feb 19, 2015 at 10:50 pm

No problemo.. it seems like most UK-based news also omitted info on availability of the THP165 engine with the 208.

• bring the 1.2 petrol & 1.6 diesel here & I’m sure it’ll sell like hotcakes. Ok maybe not that well but still better than Iriz. Oh and a manual option would be nice too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • someonedd on Feb 19, 2015 at 8:54 pm

When is Toyota’s turn to throw away the 4spd?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • BeemerFreak on Feb 19, 2015 at 10:19 pm

When that day comes I shall be 3 feet below the ground.

• Ng Zhi Lin on Feb 20, 2015 at 9:58 am

say what u want bout Toyota, AT LEAST ITS RELIABLE! (not a salesman btw)
      here’s my story on my ex 208.
      Depending on where you live, Peugeot Jalan Kolombong service center at Kota Kinabalu is HELL!!!! i received my car in August 2014, and upon driving my car back home from the showrooom, rattles could be heard beneath the steering column. i decided to fix it once my car hits 1000km. so few weeks in, the car couldnt start, AT ALL! so i called Peugeot and they towed my car 2 DAYS after my call!!! mind you, i was calling during a weekday (Tuesday to be specific…) and they determined there was a fault with my O2 sensor and ECU.
      i then waited and waited for it to be fixed, i had to borrow my mum’s waja to get to my office (public transportation in KK sucks). it was so troublesome! my mum sometimes needed to use the car to buy groceries adn stuff and here i am.. troubling her…
      1 month went by and my car was still at the service center, no courtesy car was given at all. sigh.
      finally after 48 days, my car was ready to be picked up. i was furious at that point! telling myself why didnt i just get the vios or city. but my car is okay.. for now…
      roughly 1 week later, the first week of November, it was raining heavily in KK and i was stuck in a jam, well more of a crawling. thats when my car decided to jerk, judder and turn off by itself!
      thanks to me.. now people will have a stagnant jam for sure! got outside to check the engine compartment, couldnt risk opening it as it was heavy rain. i called peugeot but it was at 6 p.m already. they told me they could arrange a tow truck to come as early as 11 p.m.! wat is this? some kind of joke? then thankfully someone decided to help me push my car to the side of the road, both of us were soaking wet! i will forever be grateful to him.
      i called my mum and she picked me up, i left the car by the roadside, have to lock it manually since the alarm wont function. Peugeot took the car ard 11.45 p.m. and during that time, i started discussing with my mum about selling off my car and get a new car! this time however, ECU was replaced again and some other parts, waited 4 weeks for my car to be fixed. once its fixed, i immediately took a leave and went to the bank to finish up my loan, borrowed money from my mum. my d/p was 20k, borrowed moeny from my mum 60k and use my savings to finish up all the loan, then 3 days later i headed to a 2nd hand shop to sell off my car.. guess how much they wana take for a 5 month old car?? bought it at rm 85k, with rm3k discount, they quoted my rm68k!!!!!!!!!!!!! i was utterly perplexed. i surveyed around, and the highest i could get was rM 70K FOR A 5 MONTH OLD CAR!
      i sold it off, gave my mum back the 60k, and put rm10k downpayment on Myvi 1.5 extreme (at that time, new myvi wasnt out). BEST DECISION I EVA MADE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
      • Frenchshit on Feb 20, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Pity about your experience. That teach you a lesson unless you stay in kl, don’t bother with conti car. The after sales anywhere out of kl is crap.

If you want to enjoy driving conti, then move to KL.

For me, myvi is a piece of junk with milo tin safety. If u have an accident, would u rather be in a.myvi or pug 208?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
        • Ng Zhi Lin on Feb 21, 2015 at 8:58 am

ya hor… lesson well learnt! what i meant about best decision ever’ is financially and the car’s reliability (which is the most important aspect for non-rich folks like us).. i still miss the plush interior of my 208.. the dashboard design, lots of soft plastic material, the sturdy shut of a door, and the precise steering response. but it gave me so much trouble that i had to adapt to the lifeless myvi that i bought, even if it didnt give me any trouble, i just feel so bored driving it to the point where i much prefer my mum’s waja as it has better driving dynamics.
          Myvi is just a car on 4 wheels to get you from point A to point B.. no more, no less… for me, its not that i cant afford the parts of the Peugeot even if it decides to break apart, but its the parts availability both through authorised and non-authorised service centers. Such a sad situation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • NoMore! on Feb 23, 2015 at 3:59 pm

I feel your pain, mate. At least you did not have problem selling it. Mine haunted me for 5 months after selling it off at a huge loss, because of stupid Nasim chassis number double stamping crap. 96K bought, less than 5 years later, 34K sold.

• You buy eu car outside of KL for what? Thats just asking for trouble.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 19, 2015 at 9:52 pm

I guess they didn’t address the steering blocking the speedometer issue and the tiny glovebox is here to stay?

• From what I know,the steering-speedo issue is part of the I-Cockpit design,to give you a heads-up display while driving by elevating the speedo and looking above the steering rather than through it. However,that tiny glovebox will indeed be here to stay until the French do something about it. Only happens in RHD markets..LHD gets a massive glovebox..wut?

• You’re right abt the speedo issue. As for the minuscule glovebox, its just that they’re too lazy to move the fused box.

• intermilan on Feb 19, 2015 at 11:07 pm

They did give the RHD 206 a proper glovebox thou.. maybe now so malas to redesign the dashboard and location of fusebox etc..

Wonder when Nasim will bring it here.. the new 308 also not here yet.

• sudonano (Member) on Feb 19, 2015 at 11:10 pm

1.2 PureTech turbo. 6 speed auto.

Hello best hatch in below 100k. Move aside Fiesta and Mazda, Peugeot is on another winner.

Well done! Can’t wait to see the 1.2 PureTech on the 2008 too.

• I bet sam loo wouldn’t agree. But what does he know eh? I haven’t drive the Mazda yet but I have driven the facelift Fiesta for a few times. I can definitely say that the dual clutch is rubbish & even though it says 5.8L/100km on a combined cycle, I can barely get below 8L/100km. Standard equipment is poor too.

• kadajawi (Member) on Feb 20, 2015 at 12:17 am

That new front end looks nice. Though the old one wasn’t too bad either.

Active city brake is a nice addition, should be quite useful in Malaysia. Good for resale value and lower running costs, because you won’t bump into other cars. No need to repair.

• albag on Feb 20, 2015 at 10:32 pm

i hope they come with steering lock…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • lowprofile (Member) on Feb 23, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Good that they got rid of the ‘floating grille’. Does the new 6-speed auto go with the n/a 1.6 as well? Overall an improvement over its predecessor.

• intermilan on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:20 pm

I am bored waiting for the launch of facelift 208 and thus decided to post this comment.

The only engine that is pair to the Aisin 6-speed auto box (called EAT6) is the 1.2L turbo with start & stop technology that’s produced 110bhp.

The 208 really deserved a new auto gearbox. EAT6 should be an excellent choice. The old 4-speed AL4 gbox, generally, is a disappointment and become the main grouse of a lot of owners in Malaysia.

However, I am a quite worry about this new engine. Its a Euro 6 engine. Malaysia ‘regular’ petrol, the RON95, is just Euro 2 petrol and shall only be upgraded to Euro 4 in 2018 (but who knows if they delay it again).

I don’t believe the is no adverse impact in using sulfur-rich Euro 2 petrol in a modern direct injection turbo-charged Euro 6 engine.

PSA probably have dropped the 1.6L VTi engine altogether. But they do have a 1.2L VTi with 82bhp. Under-powered for Malaysia market.

The original 208 is bog down by the AL4 gearbox.
      The facelift 208 shall address this.

However, it probably will come with engine that have potential to be problematic (given the low quality of our petrol).
      Use of Euro 4 compliant RON97 petrol could minimise the risks.

I hope PSA/Nasim perform tests before launching the facelift 208 (or any models with 1.2L Puretech engine).

For me, its ethical not to sell car that you know is going to be a problematic car later.

• intermilan on Sep 06, 2016 at 12:52 pm

Some interesting information to share. I hope I am not too late.

Certain people said that the facelift 208 will be introduced here in 2017.

The gearbox will surely be the Aisin 6-speed auto box, which is a very good news.

But the BIG uncertainties is the engine. It have to be 1.2L PureTech engine (EB series). But which one?

A B-segment is Malaysia need to have at least 90hp to be considered ‘creditable’. Anything less is simply under powered.

Beside there are many economical (cheaper) choices for <90hp B-segment car that made 208 a ridiculous choice.

Ultra-clean Euro 6, Euro 6c or Euro 6.1 compliant engine should be avoided at all cost as Malaysia only have Euro 4 petrol available. This combo might lead to engine reliability issue and costly maintenance over time. I really hope Nasim had learn their lesson.

There are no Euro 4 compliant engine in PureTech engine range. The lowest (i.e. dirtiest engine) is Euro 5 compliant.

This is a concern as Euro 5 compliant engine is not a perfect match to both RON95 & RON97 petrol that we have here. Both petrol option are Euro 2 and Euro 4 compliant, respectively. I can only hoped that PureTech Euro 5 engine will not be a disaster when use with our RON95 or RON97 petrol. This ray of hope is the basis this write-up.

PureTech engine have both normally-aspirated and turbo-charged options.

The most powerful normally-aspirated PureTech engine is EB2, churning out 82hp/118Nm. But this is a Euro 6.1 compliant engine. So.. no.

The Euro 5 options are EB2M and EB2F.
    EB2M (no VVT) churned out 72hp/110Nm.
    EB2F (VVT) churned out 75hp/118Nm.

Obviously, EB2F will be my choice, IF a normally-aspirated engine is the way to go for Malaysia-spec 208 facelift.

As for turbocharged options, all turbocharged Puretech engine I've come across have always be Euro 6 engines.

However, there is a surprise in store…

Probably not know to many, there are Euro 5 compliant turbocharged (THP) engine in PureTech engine series.

To the best of my knowledge, this engine variant seems to be not on offer in Europe, perhaps that's why information on it is pretty hard to come by.

I am talking about a variant of 1.2L Puretech engine named EB2DTSM. Its a Euro 5 compliant engine. Its turbocharged and produced a rather healthy 136hp of power and 230Nm of torque.

This is a very interesting engine to pair with the 208.. The Aisin 6-speed gearbox surely is able to handle that much torque.

If I am the Nasim guy/team doing product development, this will be my choice of engine for the facelift 208. It will sure rock the market!

Beside, with this Nasim could perhaps justify the price increase. Yes, we heard about that.

P/S: The 'coming soon' DS3 should come with this engine too!