Use child seats in cars, don’t hold kids on lap: MIROS

Volvo V40 Child rear seat crash test

Some of you may have read about an accident on the North-South Highway last week in which, sadly, a 20-month old toddler was flung out of a car and killed. It is understood that his mother, herself five months pregnant, was holding him on her lap when the incident happened.

We have stressed before on the paramount importance of using child seats in cars, but now, the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS), upon being contacted by Berita Harian, has echoed our long-held concerns and sentiments.

Many Malaysian parents are holding their children on their laps in cars, which is very dangerous, MIROS director-general Prof Dr Wong Shaw Voon lamented to the Malay-language daily.

“(Translated) This approach is dangerous because in a collision, the child that is being held (on the parent’s lap) will experience an impact multiple times greater than the parent will. It is much safer to use Child Restraint Systems or child seats that are suited to the child’s age, and the child seats should be employed in the back seat where possible,” he said.

child car seat isaac

Referring to last week’s accident, he said children under two years of age must be secured in rear-facing child seats. This is to lower the chances of injury to the spine, bearing in mind the early stages of the child’s development. Children aged two to five may be secured in front-facing child seats, he told Berita Harian.

“Airbags can cause injury to babies and young children, if the child seats they are in are placed in an incorrect position,” Wong said, adding that the institute has found that only 9.7% of vehicle occupants in Malaysia, or nine in every 100, use rear seat belts.

Guys, please. Law or no law, fine or no fine, enforcement or no enforcement, you know what’s right to do. After all, you value your lives as well as those of your loved ones, don’t you?

Read our series of articles on vehicle safety here:

Malaysians need to start putting their children in child car seats when travelling in their cars
ESP Stability Control is a must – Malaysian motorists deserve better active safety in our cars
Look before you lock – don’t let another child fall victim to heatstroke in the car
Serious damage from heat stroke in just 15 minutes – do not leave your child unattended, locked in a car!
Embrace life – always wear your seat belt!
The rear seat belt conundrum

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Henry Ford the XII on Feb 26, 2015 at 11:55 am

Make it mandatory – a law!

Doesn’t make sense when you see the adults buckled up in the front seats while kids roaming freely in the rear.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 3
    • Mudah Lupa Bang on Feb 26, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Even rear seat belts also became law, after few weeks, semua sudah lupa.

Malaysia is like that, mudah lupa. When you are dealing with people who mudah lupa, lazy and always want to sleep, it is very difficult to implement and enforce things.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0rrrr on Feb 26, 2015 at 2:36 pm

You can’t force people wearing seat belt, just like you can’t force people stop smoking/drinking. All of these are suicidal.

Everyone is responsible for his/her life after all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 38
        • 4G63T DSM on Feb 26, 2015 at 4:14 pm

You cannot make such a decision for someone else not capable of making a decision on thier own, like a child.

go try work harder and try to sell more cars without ESC…..

• First time I ever agree with this cretin, but yeah, Malaysians are suicidal perhaps thinking its their god-given right to break the law even if it literally kills them.
          No amount of enforcement can cure this cancer.

• Cookie on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:04 pm

Survival of the fittest, extinction of the unfit.

• jinggo on Feb 26, 2015 at 3:43 pm

tauke misti juai itu carseat murah laa.. jgn juai mahal, customer always right maa.. kasi turun harga la kalu brani.. petrol price suda turun maa.. haiyya..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
        • jingga on Feb 26, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Tak mahal pun car seat. 9 bulan mengandung, simpan rm100 sebulan dapat rm900. Boleh beli 2 car seat.

Handbag, wallet, kasut, tali pinggang, jam mak ayah boleh beli mahal2.

Untuk anak?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 0
          • Tak mahal?

Macam mana dengan mereka yang kerja dengan gaji minimum, RM800-1000?

Sewa rumah, bil utiliti, makan minum, hutang kereta. Cukup ke nak save RM100 sebulan?

Jangan fikir semua orang bergaji RM2500 ke atas. Ada juga ibubapa yang bergaji bawah RM1000. Please be considerate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
          • Yea huhh on May 06, 2015 at 4:01 pm

u mean the ones that ride kapcai motorbikes and they themselves wear helmets while their kids stand in front. Why don’t u tell them a car is safer?

• theanswer on Feb 26, 2015 at 5:09 pm

banyak je yang murah. kau pi carik isofix tu buat ape. non isofix is cheap enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
          • Cookie on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:05 pm

If cannot afford carseats, then don’t have children. Simple!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • seat belts for rear passengers have been mandatory for the past 6 years or so. Even so, most people doesn’t give a damn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • Kelvin Yam on Feb 26, 2015 at 2:47 pm

People don’t give a damn because it’s not being enforced. I wonder how many tickets have been issued for passengers not buckled up. I have even seen many drivers on the road not buckled up.

• Einstein have said that if we require enforcement to comply, then we are a sorry lot indeed.

• Malaysia ZERO Enforcement on Feb 26, 2015 at 11:55 am

MIROS talk big. Government talk big. PDRM talk big. Can have all the laws you want but got ZERO enforcement, no point la.

Even got enforcement also, PDRM tangkap you without child seat, give small angpau, everything is settled.

We are far far away from countires like Australia where people are so scared to drive without a car seat or like in Singapore, even to hold a handphone is an offence.

Here, we can come out with hundred and one laws, there is no enforcement or even there is enforcement, a bit of ang pau can make the saman go away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 29
    • Talk big big on Feb 26, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Talk so big, would you join the enforcement team and contribute to a better Malaysia?

Empty talk/complains are dirt cheap and easy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 16
    • theanswer on Feb 26, 2015 at 5:11 pm

i dislike his comment..but part of it he’s right. talk about enforcement in spore..sporean came into malaysia..beat all the speed limit. bcause why? no enforcement. police rider can ride around and check if people buckle up or not (including the driver).

• I agree part of makan rasuah. In my case, they asked me to let me go instead of me giving them “ang pow”.

• Sonyman on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:37 pm

Enforcement is one thing. But education and awareness is the main key.

I can enforce. But near by. “a LA. Dekat saja. Tak payah susah lah.” that’s most of our thinking right.

So.you but the seat because you care. Or you buy because it is the law. Choose. I tell you. I bought. Mine because I care.

And my kid. If you put him in the car. He knows he has to sit there. Training is the key.

• kadajawi (Member) on Feb 26, 2015 at 10:00 pm

Australians are probably scared because they know what happens without a seatbelt and child seat. I’ve observed a few Germans, including myself. First thing they do when they sit inside a car is put on the seatbelt. Law or no law, they put on their seatbelt. Before the car is even moving.

What is needed is videos that are extremely gory, shown on TV all the time. Of people, kids flying through the car, getting disfigured, … i.e. the ones in front wear seatbelt, at the back there is one adult with seatbelt, another without and a child without in the center. There’s a crash at 60 km/h, the person without seatbelt flies forward, smashes through the seat and skull of the passenger in front of him. The person reaches the airbag too fast and gets punched back by the airbag. Both very dead. The child flies forward, through the windscreen and smashes into the other car, nothing much left. The one with seatbelt at the back, and the one in front of him are perfectly fine, unbuckle their seatbelt and get out of the car, unhurt.

• alldisc on Feb 26, 2015 at 12:01 pm

i remember watching an advertisement on child safety seat – children are as brittle as an egg. imagine the injuries when they are not properly strapped in upon a collision .

very saddening

• trollmaster3000 on Feb 26, 2015 at 4:54 pm

a lot of ignorant young parents these days don’t care much about child safety while driving.. the mother would think that just by having the husband drive VERY SLOWLY it’s then ok to just hold the baby in her arms.. without ever thinking how others would drive or how good or bad the condition of their vehicles on the road.. well that’s just one example.. sadly these sort of people will only learn once they end up in a car crash and their baby goes flying out through the windscreen.. sad ignorant fools..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • webscriptor on Feb 26, 2015 at 8:08 pm

The worse and scariest I’ve seen many times was that the parent who put their toddler on the laps of the parent who is driving in the pretext of loves or wanting the toddler to learn how to drive. This is the real brain in the ass society.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 26, 2015 at 12:04 pm

I always wonder if these parents are just plainly ill informed or ignorant…..or…our Malaysia Boleh Tidak Apa attitude.

and how many times have I seen a child seat in the front passenger seat of an airbag equiped car.

I hear plenty of excuse about kids not wanting to be in thier seats. All rubbish had you trained your kids to be in safety seats from day 1. Even my 2 year old tries to strap himself in (but of course we do it for him to make sure its done right and tight).

By right, there should be only as many passangers as there are seat belts in a car, but we all know how that pans out for bigger families…not many can afford a proper MPV with proper safety.

It is utterly heartbreaking to see parents agonizing over thier dead children, but what really gets me (and no I’m not being a racist or play the religious card), after that they claim it is God’s will. That really gets me on a nerve. God blesses us with children and it is HIS will that it is our responsibility to take care of them to whatever means necessary. Saying its God’s will that they die is possibly the biggest insult one can level at Him….regardless of your religion.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
    • Paul Tan on Feb 26, 2015 at 12:24 pm

My son at 2 years of age sits happily in his rear facing car seat in our Volkswagen Sharan. Trained from a baby. He also tells everyone around him to wear their seat belts one by one… “mama seat belt, aunty seat belt, yee ma seat belt”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 7
      • The Stigy on Feb 26, 2015 at 2:10 pm

I think ur guys should work on some sort of video safety campaign on this… nak harapkan government buat.. haram jadah.. when the last time u see a new advert on tv about road safety?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • kzm (Member) on Feb 26, 2015 at 3:42 pm

almost everyday shown in tv especially rtm…

• kangkong on Feb 26, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Those outdated ad, no cretivity, no impact, kampung style. Just do it to fulfill SOP but not for education!

• kzm tengok rtm? on Feb 26, 2015 at 5:07 pm

Wah kzm, masih tengok rtm lagi? Dan baca utusan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • kzm (Member) on Feb 27, 2015 at 8:28 am

Porn oso I watch…

• If the safety add goes straight to the point and clearly shows the effects of not complying, that should be enough.
            Do you need to have Bayplosions all around just to convey the same message?

• kangkong on Feb 26, 2015 at 4:27 pm

Yup, My 2 childs started to sit on the child seat since the minute they were out from hospital.

• sonyman on Feb 27, 2015 at 8:30 am

ya. i think he looks really cute, daddy taking my photo and posting on his blog. “Im so famous”

• I still remember that there were people constantly criticizing me for using child car seat in more 10 yrs ago. Passing law even without enforcement does help creating some awareness, and it would be very helpful for me to answer those criticism at that time.

• kadajawi (Member) on Feb 26, 2015 at 10:03 pm

It’s God’s will, or it is fate. That’s what the Chinese will say then…

Just look at the stats. Is it God’s will that it is much more likely to die in traffic in Malaysia, compared to Europe? If you really think that, maybe you want to change your religion. Just to be safe. Cause being an Atheist or Christian seems to be much safer… Of course that is not the case, it is because Europeans are much more safety conscious and protect themselves.

• dodgeviper88 on Feb 26, 2015 at 12:06 pm

in other words, please use common sense!

• kenot on Feb 26, 2015 at 12:13 pm

It is the difficult part for me to install child-seat at the right position. My car don’t have ISOFIX. Even if the car has ISOFIX, i’m not sure whether the child-seat support the anchor.

i just tight the seat with seatbelt. i know it is not strong enough to hold the seat if anything bad happen. Now, i’m trying to use booster seat for my childs..still not confident to get secured position.

• ClekFoonf on Feb 26, 2015 at 12:58 pm

ISOFIX provides easy installation but when it comes to load, seat belt has the best load bearing capacity. Every ISOFIX car seat have their own load bearing capacity and every car’s ISOFIX anchors have their respective load bearing capacity which is unlikely to be higher than the car seat belt itself. It’s easy when you know the technique. Just spend some time and read the manual. Or find a friendly baby shop assistant to fix it for you :)

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 26, 2015 at 1:21 pm

A seatbelt may have higher load bearing, but do not forget, a 3 point seatbelt has UNEVEN load bearing.

In a crash, the child seat may move. Especially when there will be some play before the inertial reel locks.

The ideal mounting is Latch or ISOFIX with both lower anchors and top strap.

• ClekFoonf on Feb 26, 2015 at 3:50 pm

That’s really depends on which car seat you are looking at :)

• HANI Selamat on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:57 pm

Car seats that are used with 3-point seatbelts are designed with the uneven load bearing in mind. As long as you install the carseat exactly as required by the carseat manufacturer, it will work to protect your child as designed.

The ideal mounting is CORRECT installation, regardless of whether you use seatbelt, latch or isofix. If you install a carseat that is too heavy for your car’s isofix mount, you could still be harming your child. Always read your car manual AND your carseat manual, and follow the instructions of BOTH manuals. If there is any contradiction, then you have to change either the carseat or the car. E.g. if your carseat cannot be installed without isofix, but your car has no isofix… obviously no-no.

• ClekFoonf on Feb 26, 2015 at 4:13 pm

What’s important is to use a carseat – belt or ISOFIX and ensuring that you really install the carseat properly as per manual. Move the seat ensuring that the seat does not move more than 1 inch side to side or forward and backward on the belt path. If the seat wiggles or moves on the belt path, the belt needs to be tighter. A car’s belt system affects carseat installation too :)

• sonyman on Feb 26, 2015 at 12:18 pm

this is great, at least some awareness to those parents who still assume child seat is not important.

anyway, only after they experience the issue then only they will learn.

BTW , Can our nice prime minister have a ChildSeat 1 Malaysia rebate for those who purchase a child seat.

i wanna see this happen.

• sonyman on Feb 26, 2015 at 12:20 pm

we want a 1 Malaysia Car Seat Rebate Program.

• Why do you need rebate for everything.

If you can afford a car, you can afford a child seat!

Most Malaysians are still with their 3rd class mentality despite driving the first class car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
      • Sonyman on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:29 pm

Sorry bro. The government should give more rebates to is middle class. It’s not the price of the car. It’s the way to encourage daddy and mommy to buy a car seat for me.

Malaysian. If no rebate why should I buy. Hehe. Although I have a seat for my car but encouraging another daddy to invest. They are reluctant.

Since our government is so rich. Why not help us middle class with some tax money.

• If you (a middle class income) need a rebate just to provide safety for your OWN child then you are don’t deserve to be a parent at all.

• sonyman on Feb 27, 2015 at 8:28 am

yea bro, i need the rebate. At least rebates in the income tax. Price can still be the same, but you can claim or reduce your income tax. How about that bro, won’t that sound better.

Ya, i know you don’t need the BR1M. i also might not need it, but you see that fat so who uses your tax money. At least in some way, the collected tax can benefit those who are always in the sandwich zone, not too rich but not too poor.

Also i don’t deserve to be a parent. interesting theory.
            I train my kid to sit on the carrier to the upright car seat, now he knows, that, that seat is his area. So Automatic he will put his hands up to allow me to buckle the seat belts.

interesting theory. But of course everyone has a different point of view, i see red, but you see blue, he sees yellow. So every opinion is different. That where we are communicating here. hope to clarify your thoughts.

• HANI Selamat on Feb 27, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Better than rebate, what I would like is the option to add my carseat to my motor insurance. Car seats are only one-accident use only. As in, you MUST replace your carseat if you get into a car accident.

I spent RM1.3k on a carseat and got into a car accident just one week later. If I could have added that carseat to my motor insurance, I could have bought the exact same carseat again, but sadly I couldn’t afford to fork out the same amount just a week later, so I spend RM800 instead, and even then, it was a hard, financial squeeze that month.

My car insurance can replace my entire window when there’s a little crack. Why not make a little more profit off me by charging me extra premium to insure my carseat?

• kadajawi (Member) on Feb 26, 2015 at 10:17 pm

So what if they buy the seat? They won’t use them anyway…

• sonyman on Feb 27, 2015 at 8:41 am

hmmm,, then i shall say, ” i really pity the kid.” No ill intention…

But its really sad, if this does happen, so again, education and awareness. That’s what is most important, The law will help, but always not everyone will follow, at least awareness on media is important.

But if the parent dont follow, what can us here do? “Kidnap the kid and ask the parents to put the child seat up”. Naa, that dont work also.

also baby shops, that sells the baby seats, can also play an important part to educate, and make awareness again, Car seat distributors can put up posters, videos, and leaflets, why having a car seat can save your kid, i believe, it can do its part also,
            Training on sales people to professionally educate and make aware, makes the difference also.

Car companies do a lot of road shows, and car shows, why not include the car seat as well in the road shows. Like VW did last time in Setia City mall.

• kadajawi (Member) on Feb 27, 2015 at 6:21 pm

I think what is important is to break the stupid belief that it is fate or God’s will. Show statistics that show how much more God loves Europeans. And then ask them or is it because Europeans take more safety precautions.

• pathfinder on Feb 26, 2015 at 12:39 pm

Surprise? perhaps not…look at this link then I swear you all will swear a lot after this…enjoy

http://www.jpj.gov.my/status-senarai-kenderaan-yang-tidak-mematuhi

• Sam Loo Ori on Feb 26, 2015 at 12:56 pm

I value RV more. Your pathethic life is worth nothing to me.

• azhar on Feb 26, 2015 at 1:31 pm

argued with one of my friends..he said ‘if you put baby in child seat, it cant guarantee your baby will be safe when accident’..its his qada & qadar/fate..i said ‘then car manufacturer dont have to install seat belt,airbags,VSA laa??’..he just keep quiet..still got this kind of mentality amongst us..they can afford to buy car worth 100k, but when it come to child seat suddenly they give so many reasons not to buy it..lucky they live in malaysia, if they live in developed country they’ll be in a lock up if something happen to their child

• 100k they can show off..child seat nothing to show

• Average Joe on Mar 24, 2015 at 4:46 pm

They keep talking about qada’ & qadar’ (fate)… they easily forget on “ikhtiar” (effort).

• its up to the parents..i wont drive until all my kids strapped on..if they unstrapped in the car i ll pull over untill they strap back on..

• Nenek Kau on Feb 26, 2015 at 2:34 pm

If you are family of 5 with 1year old baby, 2 years old and 4 years old of kids, and you only drive a viva, how to comply to this requirement?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Kelvin Yam on Feb 26, 2015 at 2:53 pm

When shit happens, who to blame?

• Nenek Kau on Feb 26, 2015 at 3:40 pm

Dude, of coz if anything happen, it will be the parents responsibility. Even if you donate to them 3 child seats, it will not even fits in the viva for them to go balik kg.

• he’s asking if anyone has a solution of his problem and you’re giving him shitty response? fix your attitude bruh

• just ask yourself how much u value your children safety and life…..then act accordingly….

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 26, 2015 at 3:43 pm

You could afford an Alza for Viva money if it wasnt for the mad taxes we get here.

I don’t see why this would be a problem even with a Viva. A baby basket should fit between a Booster seat and a more compact Group 1 seat.

Of course your options are limited to the more compact seats with less side protection, rahter than the monsters I have which takes up more space than a big adult. But any seat, is better than handholding.

And how big are our seats? We upgraded to a MPV to fit the seat. So yeah. This is the Kid’s car, as my wife always says.

• Nenek Kau on Feb 26, 2015 at 4:16 pm

It would be an easy solution and quick option for those who can afford to buy this and that without blinking their eyes. But I am pity to those who are even struggling to maintain whatever they have now (basic house, basic car, etc…). Let alone the booster, isofix seat. Anyhow, the real solution is we are malaysian deserve a better basic car that comes with uptodate safety feature in a reasonable price.

• kadajawi (Member) on Feb 26, 2015 at 10:34 pm

It’s called Proton Iriz.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 27, 2015 at 11:04 am

Im sorry to hear your financial difficulties. As with many, rising prices are putting a dent on most people’s budget.

However, that said. Car seats are not expensive, and can have many years of service life…being passed down from the elder kid to the younger one.

Locally made seats are fairly affordable ranging from under 100-to very reasonable 400. The imported seats attract 30% import duty and 10% sales tax on its CIF value so it makes them very very expensive.

While the local ones may not be as well built (and tested) as the imported one, its still a better option than having no seat at all.

I’m sure you can also try to find a used one online for not much money if you looked for it.

You can probably find a good condition used infant basket, a Group 0 seat and a booster base for 250 or less for all 3.

• kzm (Member) on Feb 26, 2015 at 3:43 pm

viva is not family car..its city car

• kadajawi (Member) on Feb 26, 2015 at 10:33 pm

What about those who do drive a car that has enough space, and that don’t protect their children? If you can’t afford it, fine, though you should try your best. Like strap in 2 children at least.

• HANI Selamat on Feb 27, 2015 at 5:30 pm

I know for sure that 3 Combi Coccoro carseats can fit REAR-FACING in the back of a Myvi. The Japanese designed the Combi Coccoro with cars like Myvi in mind. I’m not sure about Viva, because I have never been in a Viva. But Combi Coccoro is only 16″ wide, and Viva’s interior is supposed to be 51″, so Coccoro SHOULD fit 3 in a row in Viva.

But let’s say you own a 2014 Viva that CANNOT fit 3 combi coccoros and you find out your wife is pregnant with triplets. Why not trade in your 2014 Viva for an older Myvi? An older Myvi that can fit 3 Coccoros would be safer than putting your babies on the floor of your Viva.

For a family with 1yo, 2yo and 4yo in a Viva, I think you probably can fit the 4yo in a tiny booster like Bubblebum (12.5″ width) behind driver, a rear-facing Coccoro (16″) behind the passenger front seat for the 1yo and any front-facing carseat (NOT booster) under 22″ wide in the middle for the 2yo.

• Jessie on Mar 24, 2015 at 1:57 pm

don’t go out, everyone stay at home. u r the one who should blame not anyone elsw if something happen to ur kids.m

• Average Joe on Mar 24, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Giving 1001 reasons seems to be easier than a single effort eh?

• Kelvin Yam on Feb 26, 2015 at 2:51 pm

When my 4 years old daughter is too big to be fitted into child seat, I bought her booster seat. It’s all about awareness.

• a studied done by steven Levitt http://www.ted.com/talks/steven_levitt_on_child_carseats?language=en

found that during and impact car seat and seat belts gvs the same impact during accidents..so if buying a car seat is too costly for some, buckle up may save lives.

• ClekFoonf on Feb 26, 2015 at 6:22 pm

Not sure about the article but a child have different body structure ratios. Thus during an (same) impact, an adult will have comparative01ly higher survivability rate. With a good carseat and proper installation, the child may experience up to 40% less impact force during a frontal collision :)

• tishaban on Feb 26, 2015 at 4:38 pm

In all honesty this campaign is great but is ignoring the elephant in the room ie. those kids (and adults) on motorcycles every day. They’re in far greater danger and there’s little that most of us can do because these motorcyclists sometimes lack options to buy cars or take public transport.

• kadajawi (Member) on Feb 26, 2015 at 10:37 pm

Yes, there will always be a few unfortunate ones. But that makes it even more painful when people who could easily afford to keep themselves and their children safe don’t do it. Why waste life like that?

• mahal sangat benda alah nie..sbb tu ramai x sanggup beli.. pakai kejap je.

• ClekFoonf on Feb 26, 2015 at 6:43 pm

Carseat jenis bakul (5 point) xsampai seratus. Full size (o-4yrs) dr rm150. Lebih selamat berbanding x gn langsung…

• Borhan Linggam on Feb 27, 2015 at 11:10 am

Beli rokok sebulan RM200 boleh pulak.. henfon harga 2k boleh je swipe. baby seat bawah 200 belambak beb

• Average Joe on Mar 24, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Anak dah besar, you can always keep it for your next child atau let go kepada org lain yg masih ada anak kecil. tu pun tak leh pikir ker? still duit lagi berharga dari nyawa??? !!!!

• ENFORCEMENT on Feb 26, 2015 at 5:11 pm

NO ENFORCEMENT, A BIG BACKWARD FOR OUR COUNTRY

• keluangman on Feb 26, 2015 at 5:23 pm

you can give all kind of excuses not to use the childseat or for rear occupants not buckling up, but eventually end of the day you’re only gambling with your kids and wife life, and if you’re the driver you have only yourself to be blamed in an accident. Be safe and always buckle up. Use child carseat or booster seat. If a good quality one is too expensive to buy brand new, you can always find a preloved bargain one online, which I did. I paid only 1/3 of a preloved maxi cosi carseat which retails over rm1k plus new.

People always say, “anak melayu/asian susah nak train guna carseat, asyik menangis saja if strapped down”, but I proved that this is not the case with my own kids. Right from day one after birth on the way home from hospital, I secured the baby pram on to the rear carseat(remember never place baby pram at the front passenger side unless your car have deactivation method for the airbag). I even educated my wife on the importance of child carseat by showing her videos on youtube implications in crashes to children if you decided not to use one.

Point is, end of the day, we as the driver must ensure our family safety onboard since there are so many unsafe drivers out there.

• safety 1st on Feb 26, 2015 at 8:35 pm

agreed that more awareness on importance of child car seat, and should also make it a mandatory, but government need to support the rakyat by not imposing any tax on the child car seat. if we shop around, all good euro or tuv certified child car seat cost so expansive. most of them cost a thousand above. the same child seat cost a fraction of the price overseas!!!

• Stitch World on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:03 pm

In oversea it is mandatory to have a carseat for new born, the hospital will not release the baby if there no carseat. If you trained them from day one it will not have problem. My son is 7 he is still using a booster seat.

• Ah PauL on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:49 pm

Rule of thumb,

wearing a seatbelts should start from parents,

however sad to say, most of the parents didn’t practice it…

some even like to hug their child in front of the steering while driving… ==”

• Daniel Mercier on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:58 pm

I’m a British expat living in Malaysia. It never ceases to shock me how many times I see adults & children alike in the rear seats of cars, wearing no seatbelts. It is crucial, especially when we consider the lengths we all go to to make sure our groceries don’t move about in the car. Go to YouTube & key in “Julie’s Killer” & watch the UK government TV commercial from all way back in 1998, 17 years ago. Fact is, unstrapped rear passengers are KILLERS waiting to happen. Due to the fact that in an accident, the seatbelts in the front lock, & the force of a passenger thrown forward in the back weighs several tons equivalent. This means the driver or front passenger is CRUSHED TO DEATH. I can’t stress it enough; rear seatbelts aren’t fitted to ur car to make them look prettier. Use them; they’re there for a reason

• symusty on Feb 27, 2015 at 12:56 pm

I am fortunate enough to have been raised in various places, including Europe, where seatbelts are the norm. No thought put into it. Get into the car, put on your seatbelts. This has applied to me and my siblings as well, to the point where when we enter cars or taxis with broken seatbelts we get terrified.

I have cousins with kids who told me that their kids won’t shut up if secured with the seatbelts hence no seatbelts. I wonder whose fault this is…..face it safety in Malaysia haven’t been on Malaysian’s minds until very recently. Even then most people don’t care. Yeah ok your 10 year old Proton Wira might not be the safest car around but I’m not taking chances…..

And then there’s the family on a motorcycle with no helmets on…..all it takes is one pothole or a little rock or puddle…..

• bagi subsidi la…
    jual car seat untung 50%

• HANI Selamat on Feb 27, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Just to highlight, Paul Tan, your beautiful baby in the picture in the main article? The harness straps are not tight enough. To test whether a baby’s harness straps are snug enough, try to pinch the strap at or near the baby’s shoulders. You shouldn’t be able to pinch the strap at all. See: https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/ea/68/96/ea689641bc5838c46b5769ce0a298a59.jpg

• I guess more promotion toward getting parents to become more aware on their child safety on car by having a proper installation of child/infant car seat is very crucial. Lack of understandings about the importance of having this life-saving equipment and a proper way of setting up the seat may jeopardize more death tolls among them. To let everyone to start buckle up their kids, why not the Government of Malaysia start up a campaign by giving out subsidies or rebate schemes for child/infant car seat, which will benefit much for those Malaysians with low income. Remember..our kids is our next generation.

• Malaysians are creative is coming out with excuses. Crying loud out that gaji only RM1K per month, how to buy child seat but both husband and wife carrying the latest HP with data on 24/7 coz need to whatsapp and update status in FB. Yang itu mampu pulak? end of the month, berbondong-bondong lunch di alamanda which is not cheap..mampu juga. Husband never failed o carry a pack of cigarettes..still mampu jua. spending something for your child’s safety while on the road… Ah tak pe lah, “wife boleh pegang” “dekat aje pun” “saya tak drive laju pun” God please bless us Malaysians.

• I can bet that 50% of people who gives comments here didnt even wear seat belt when driving… typical malaysian always think themselves always right and other people always wrong

• Average Joe on Mar 25, 2015 at 9:50 am

“typical malaysian always think themselves always right and other people always wrong” – did you mean those who don’t buckle up and those who refuse safety seats for their child? I believe those in strong support for child safety seats have already made buckling up and other basic safety necessities their practice beforehand.

• Cookie on Mar 24, 2015 at 11:08 pm

Cheap airbags. If rosak, just conceive another one.

• why not bloody insurance companies that we take medical insurance for our children give free car seat? Oversea insurance companies give free breast pump..that madela breast pump RM 1,300 worr. those akal pendek condemning parents who can’t save money for car seat..it is the cashflow per month. think about those household income less than 2k. they can’t save. their bosses make them do jobs worst than donkeys. but paying medical insurance for children of RM 160 is a MUST so insurance companies…kasi tolong orang la. being a capitalist is not a virtue to follow.