GST: Toyota, Lexus cars cheaper by up to RM4k or 2%

UMWT-GST-01

Not everything will be more expensive with the new Goods and Services Tax (GST), certainly not cars from Toyota and Lexus. But it’s not as simple as 6% GST replacing the old 10% sales tax for a 4% reduction either, as UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) is keen to explain.

“There will be price reduction up to RM4,000 or 2% for Toyota and Lexus models. UMW Toyota Motor vehicles will pass 100% of the cost savings to the customers upon purchasing any Toyota and Lexus models during the new tax structure’s implementation,” said UMWT president Datuk Ismet Suki.

UMWT-GST-02

A UMWT press statement explained that under the GST regime, there are different implications to businesses in various areas ranging from tax computation, collection, refunds, reconciliation to costing, as compared to the outgoing Sales and Services Tax (SST) system. See the attached chart for a better idea of how GST works, and read our GST feature to learn more.

Affirming UMWT’s support for the implementation of the GST, Ismet said the company would be transparent in its business transactions and will strictly adhere to the Price Control and Anti-Profiteering Act 2014.

There has been an issue of pre-GST stocks being “double taxed” but UMWT has committed to not transfer increased cost of business to customers, even for pre-GST stocks. Also note that the price reduction in question here exclude insurance, which will now be subject to its own 6% GST.

We will update you with the prices of Toyota and Lexus models with GST once they are released.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Heskey on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:08 am

Janji ditepati!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 22
    • Capati Janji on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:26 am

Within 5 years car price janji turun 30% (or around 6% drop per year).

But Toyota Lexus only 2% price drop, way behind target.

By year 2018 general election due, Toyota must give big discount 28% to settle the balance janji dicapati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
      • Where is Najib's Promise? on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:54 am

Why is Toyota and UMW not asking Najib to honour his promise to reduce car prices? How can reduction of 1 to 2% help Malaysians when there is a 6% GST on cost of living?

Before the election, Najib promised the rakyat that if we voted for BN, he would reduce car prices by 30%. He assured and promised every single rakyat that we could trust BN in keeping their promises and BN NEVER mungkir janji.

Now, 2 years have passed. Car prices have gone up actually. VW for example increased all their car prices by up to RM10k before the GST.

So, why UMW not asking Najib and the BN Government to honour their promise to the rakyat? After all, UMW is GLC

Just like the NAP, here, BN still try to play the blur game. MITI should just instruct all companies to abide by MITI regulations, after all, MITI controls all car companies and all car companies are ultimately GLC and they should abide by their masters ie the Government.

Anyway, getting back to Najib’s promise, it is high time MAA, MAI and MITI ask Najib to honour his promise to the rakyat of reducing car prices by up to 30%. Already we Malaysians are overpaying our cars by 3x the value of the car. for example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000. Here, we pay RM180,000 for a 2 airbag Toyota Camry.

How is a reduction of few hundred ringgit here help the rakyat who is already paying super high car prices and also going to bear the high cost of living with the 6% GST?

UMW which owns Honda is owned by the Government. Where is the 30% your boss Najib promised?

Suki, the Rakyat is still shocked that the 2015 Camry still has no VSC and comes with 2 airbags. Shocking for a premium D class car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Malaysians VERY Stupid! on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:05 am

Malaysians are very very stupid. This car in the US is only US$22,000 and its CBU with 10 airbags and loads of other safety features that our stripped down Camry will not have.

At this price, Toyota of the USA already paid US Federal Government excise duties and taxes and at this price also, they are still making a good healthy margin.
        UMW Malaysia will get this car at country distributor price of maybe US$18,000 direct from its principal in Japan.

Being in CKD format, it should be even cheaper. Maybe the cost now goes down to US$15,000 per car.

Then they strip down all the airbags and Tyre pressure monitoring system, VSC and everyting else, the cost of the car should be US$12,000 or less.

This is how stupid Malaysians are. Being cheated by a Government owned GLC. Here, Government cannot protect the public from a cheating car company because, government themselves own Toyota and UMW. How to protect the rakyat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
        • Not all Malaysians are as stupid like u!!!
          Unless you are holding US passport & complaint with comparison to US.
          Rakyat Malsysia will rise up soon to change this policy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Same Lorrr - Bee Dees Promoter on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:12 am

Now, Same Lorrrr and Sam Loo (ori1) have no choice but to join Parkson or Jusco and promote ladies undergarments. Nobody is going to touch Toyota with no VSC and only 2 airbags. So, Same Lorrrr and Sam Loo (ori1) can now only give discounts on Sorella, Bee Dees, Wacoal, Skiva, Triumph products.

• alldisc on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:03 pm

unfortunately the sales figures didnt say so.
        last year toyota sales continued the same trending with over 100,000 units mark sold.

half of that alone are vios and hilux. even though, honda city outsold vios in total numbers but figures for vios remains more or less the same. i believe the increase no. of buyers for City actually planned to buy either Almera, Attrage or Chevrolet Cruze or Kia Cerato instead of vios.

• UMW in Hiding on Apr 01, 2015 at 4:02 pm

Still believe in sales figures? All distorted la. Even MAA is known to lie in their statistics.

Never ever trust figures and statistics la brader. See KPMG also kelentong

• Sam Lorrrr on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:22 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 147
    • The Truth About UMW Toyota on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:08 am

Aiyoo yoo. Habis la Toyota now and their arrogant attitude of just giving 2 airbags and no VSC. This
      is the nail to Toyota’s coffin in Malaysia.

Nobody is touching Toyota now. Salesman all crying. It is known as the Moving Coffin. Bad luck to buy their cars. Before I talk about the rubbish Vios without VSC, lets talk about their Camry first.

Let us start with the Camry. The Camry, everybody boycott because at first when they introduced, it was the only Camry in the world without VSC. UMW thought it is better to reap more profits than the lives of Malaysians and took out the VSC. Then news went viral online and everybody started to boycott Camry. Sales dipped like mad. then UMW damage control. They recently put VSC back into Camry cars but people still remember what a useless company UMW is to give peanuts to Malaysians and sacrifice our lives. A 10 airbag CBU Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000 (RM60,000). Here, we pay RM180,000 for a Made in Malaysia car with 2 airbags and no VSC. (now got VSC on higher end models).

The Altis, nobody is touching also. This car in the US, after discounts and bargaining is US$12,000. (RM39,000) My brother just bought it a brand new 2014 Corolla. Comes with 9 airbags and so many more features our toilet CKD does not have.

UMW Malaysia will get this car in CKD form direct from Toyota Japan for about USD$8000. If Toyota USA can sell the CBU in USA for US$12,000 and still make money, UMW for sure will be getting this car far cheaper.

In Malaysia, we get the jamban made in Malaysia model with 2 airbags and no VSC. A Moving coffin. When a car does not have VSC, it is known as a moving coffin. Half the parts are Made in Malaysia. But the car is sold for RM139k. That is why you hardly can see an Altis on the road despite nearly 2 years launched.

Why do we have CKD when the CKD cost more than the CBU? To support crony part manufacturers? Rm39,000 vs RM139,000.

Anyway, Malaysians know that the Toyota Corolla is a big failure in Malaysia. Do you see it on the road at all? Drive the whole day and you hardly can bump into the 2014 Altis or a Vios despite being launched 1 year plus already (Vios). Everywhere you see Elantra or City.

Somemore Honda give 5 years vs Toyota’s 3 years warranty.
      Malaysians rather buy Hyundai Elantra. The car after discounts can get RM85k and comes with VSC. Also, the car is a much bigger C segment than the Altis. No wonder why we see Elantra everywhere.

Malaysians already know that UMW regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not. This Toyota Vios should be named as Toyota Moving Coffin because a car of this price, with no VSC is a risk to you and your family.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know UMW are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.
      How UMW? Still no VSC? All over the world, Toyota comes with VSC as standard!

Our lives not important UMW?

The Vios is a Big big failure. No need to write a lot here. The City with VSC beats it flat. Tak payah cerita panjang. Even the apek jual ikan also know City is more highly specced than the Vios. So Vios is dead.

Sam loo(ori1) and Same Lorr also now hiding like chickens. They will come in here and say Toyota got good RV but in truth, nobody is going to buy UMW’s trash in Malaysia. Even now, their RV jatuh like hell. 11 months old Camry 2.5, you can buy RM120k, drop from RM180k. In 11 months, the car can drop RM60k. Now people say can even get the Camry 2.5 2014 model for even RM98k. Wah! drop RM80k in 11 months!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • concerned citizen on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:20 am

STFU man, I’m trying to read the article.

• VSC VSC Where are you? on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:35 am

Aiyoh! Premium car only got 2 airbags and no VSC?

In overseas got VSC and 10 airbags for 1/3 the price!

• Superglue on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:42 am

Sorry toyota….Give 10k discount I oso donwan…

Your cars are low spec, low tech, outdated, and not exciting….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 43
    • VSC VSC Where are you? on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:36 am

How to buy a car with no VSC? Google Paul Tan’s article on VSC. It is the most compulsory safety feature. In Europe all cars compulsory by law to have VSC.

UMW Suki, why don’t you take out the seat belts also to save cost?

• joejambol on Apr 01, 2015 at 5:48 am

toyota thorrbaik!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Sam L00 on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:19 am

early morning come showroom make for delivery document..meanwhile proton infront my showroom ..they lepak at kaki lima with cigra in hand..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Albert on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:38 am

This bladdy Suki failed his maths in University but managed to graduate.
    Even poor protong has announced price reductions,why is HIGHEST PRICE TOYOTA CAR KING so slow in announcing lower prices?
    PNB,please sack him and get Khalid Ibrahim ,who is jobless now to manage UMW.

• VSC VSC Where are you? on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:40 am

UMW please take out safety belts also to save cost. How overseas Camry got 10 airbags and still sell for US$22,000? And still got VSC?

• jacksonljs on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:34 pm

Good good, afterall many Malaysian drivers no need to wear seatbelt one based on their own jungle law, somemore drive like a madcow barbarian.

• Idris Koh on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:40 am

perfect car with great specs. now with the price

reduction I can finally buy this dream car.

alhamdulilah & bersyukur.

• jamespuah on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:53 am

look @ the GST mechanism slide…..
    April fool math:
    75,000 x 10% = 5000
    look @ how low is our education standard is…. even big company UMW cant even do simple math..

• Meant that the car price before tax is 50k, after sale tax is 55k, Toyota want earn another 20k, so 75k is final selling price

• Nono…your calculation off:

Price before tax is 50k, after sales tax is 55k, Toyota want to earn 25.1k, so 80.1k is selling price. Syiok lorr, 50.2% profit margin!!!

• GoGoPR on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:22 am

All these numbers and calculations are so confusing. I think I’ll just trust what Rafizi told us.

• tidakapa on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:48 am

Check this link for the latest pricing of Lexus with (GST):-

http://www.lexus.com.my/en/finance-insurance/individual-pricing.html

• tidakapa on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:52 am

New pricing of the lexus are out !

http://www.lexus.com.my/en/finance-insurance/individual-pricing.html

• Ha Gnih on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:55 am

After comparing the old price list and the new with GST, take example the Vios, price has actually gone up. I’m looking at the Sarawak price list. Take the 1.5E for example. The old price (OTR + insurance) was RM85,792.00 where as the new price is RM85,925.81, up by 0.15%. Hmmmmmm……..ok. Still not much of an increase but still an increase. Bwahahahhahha

• Duty Free on Apr 01, 2015 at 1:11 pm

If Toyota price exclude sales tax is RM75K, imagine without excise duty.

Eg. Excise duty 65%. RM75K – 65% = RM26K only?

I’m stand to be corrected. Thanks.

• alldisc on Apr 01, 2015 at 2:00 pm

8 years ago the camry 2.4V was, yes… before sales tax and excise duty was only 89K (CIF).

the same way how VW Golf TSI and GTI was both 47K and 49K respectively.

• UMW Mampus on Apr 01, 2015 at 1:56 pm

“Our DNA is blablablabla” WRONG!! Your DNA is not giving a f to your customers’ precious lives and choose to continue selling 100k plus cars without ESP.

Dear Malaysians, please wake up and be more conscious about safety in cars. Clearly you are feeling unhappy you are being treated like shit? Stop buying UMW products and show them who is the king!