Kuala Lumpur opens first bicycle path for public use

Kuala Lumpur Bicycle Path

Kuala Lumpur has opened to the public its first dedicated bicycle path, a 5.5 km stretch from Mid Valley to Dataran Merdeka. According to Astro Awani, the route was officiated by mayor Datuk Seri Ahmad Phesal Taib, who rode the path along with other cyclists for the first time yesterday.

In development since 2013 at a cost of around RM700,000, the route – which passes through the Klang River, Brickfields, the Kompleks Dayabumi compound and Lebuh Pasar Besar – was planned using information gathered by the Cycling Kuala Lumpur independent initiative, which produced a bicycle map for the city.

The project aims to provide an alternative way of travel within the capital, cutting congestion and reducing pollution. It is also intended to instil a cycling culture among Malaysians, particularly the 1.6 million inhabitants within the city. This is in line with the government’s FitMalaysia initiative for a healthier nation, as well as KL’s tourism plan to showcase itself as a developing city that promotes healthy living.

Ahmad Phesal stated there are two more bike paths in the pipeline – a four-kilometre route from Wangsa Maju to Taman Melati and another two-kilometre stretch from Wangsa Maju to Taman Batu Muda – with an estimated combined construction cost of RM2.3 million.

140919_KLCTRMAP_S25

The Kuala Lumpur bicycle map by Cycling Kuala Lumpur. Click to enlarge

“We are also mulling on another similar project at the area along Sungai Bunus. If the project can be expanded to be part of the ‘Greater KL’ plan, why not?” he said.

Returning to the Mid Valley-Dataran Merdeka route, Ahmad Phesal acknowledged that it still has room for improvement, including the installation of solar lights and CCTVs to improve safety, as well as the beautification of the surrounding landscape. The latter will be done from time to time.

To maintain safety as well as the security of the cyclists using the route, there will be DBKL officers on duty to patrol the bike path. “We will beef up the number of patrol officers,” Ahmad Phesal said. “Right now, DBKL has a bicycle patrol unit comprising 20 people and 40 bicycles, and this will be increased in due time.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• lilytan on Apr 15, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Good intention but probably will end up under utilize. Cycling nowadays is a recreation activity, not really a mode of transport. Who would want to cycle in a congested KL which full of hazard and fumes for recreation?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 87
    • syedhs on Apr 15, 2015 at 2:12 pm

Do not be so negative one.
      1) In pharmacy there is ‘nose filter’ you can buy to stuff inside your nostril so it makes cycling much healthier.
      2) It is probably currently recreational, but you can create ‘cycling culture’ – that is when you are building infra to support that. I have longed for this cycling road to be made, and have chatted to my friends about how much better KL will be with this ‘unconventional’ ride (vs the boring driving through 9-5 jam-packed roads).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 8
      • Same L0rrrr on Apr 15, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Good! Cycling is good for health and environment.

Same like our Prius, good for your health (comfort), wallet (cheap maintenance) and environment.

Don’t bother ask why Prius so expensive! We all know the answer, thanks to our government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 37
        • Nah, go for cheaper cars better. No need to pay high installment for Prius.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0rrrr on Apr 15, 2015 at 6:30 pm

If money is the constraint for you, it is fine to look for Perodua. They make good cars too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • Jumbo jet on Apr 16, 2015 at 5:57 am

No local cars are better than Laos car manufacturer if they ever had one!

• I dont go for toyota hybrid.
          I got more than enuf money for E300 hybrid.
          Im sorry you couldnt make enough comission this month

• Jumbo jet on Apr 16, 2015 at 5:55 am

Do u own such shop and sell crappy products with exorbitant price plus GST and make profit out of that shit?

• sepakTiang on Apr 15, 2015 at 3:20 pm

hopefully no bad people lurking around….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Good news indeed, a good start. But the city council must make sure the track is safe from crome and well maintained . I can forsee motorcyclists will jump onto it and after some time it becomes a norm, the authority /law enforcer just pass as if nothing happens. Also

• Jumbo jet on Apr 16, 2015 at 5:59 am

… But, perverts are always around…

• DBKL - King of Rasuah on Apr 15, 2015 at 4:00 pm

Thank you Ahmad Phesal for this bike route. But eventhough this is good, you need to clean up your DBKL officers. All of them kaki rasuah la Datuk. Always taking money, always asking money.

Please la Datuk, clean up your officers. In Pasar malams also, they are constantly asking for money. All the stall vendors also, whether got lesen or not, they still ask for money. If not, they kacau you.

tolong la Datuk, DBKL is a good body but the officers are dirty to the core.

I have not even gone into buildings and renovation approval department yet. Everyhouse memang got illegal renovation, your officers every year without fail must visit these houses to collect duit kopi.

Whilst you are doing good making this bicycle path, all your efforts are wasted by your dirty officers.

• cityrider on Apr 15, 2015 at 6:22 pm

There are plenty of people who would want to cycle given a bicycle network (for safety reasons) plus associated facilities such as secure parking, change and shower. Given the current congestion it could even be much faster cycling than driving. Even with the current first steps, there are dedicated cyclists who would use the bicycle lane plus our foreign workers who you might see cycling around town as it is only ride they can afford. It’s a good first step for KL, hopefully city hall will build more cycling paths, pedestrian walks and public transport as alternatives to highways which we have chock full a-plenty already.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 12:54 pm

Cycling is and will probably be a strictly leisure form of commute for Malaysian, unless by chances theres a global catastrophy that shifts the Earth rotational axis that will cause the average afternoon weather in Malaysia to drop by 5-10 degree celcius or so. I don’t forsee it being an alternative to cars, bikes and public transport anytime in the future unless the entire pathway is covered and ventilated. Also, cycling is still rather hazardous and time consuming for any average Malaysian to grapse. All in all, the negatives of cycling, in Malaysia, outweights the positive of which is health and green benefits, benefits that majority of Malaysian do not greatly appreciate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 12
    • KL_CT on Apr 15, 2015 at 2:25 pm

no worry, Msian government will then come out with “enhance version” of cycling path, i.e. equipped with Air Conditioners…

• kemosabe on Apr 15, 2015 at 1:35 pm

Cycling is one of the better ways of seeing places. DBKL is definitely moving in the right direction in encouraging people to use bicycles as a mode of transport within the city.
    The companies in KL holds the last key in this initiative by providing cyclist friendly facilities at their premises, facilities like a secure place to lock your bicycles, bathroom with showers. Furthermore buildings that provide such facilities could make some income by renting it to non-tenants.
    This must be a collective effort and can’t just be dependent on DBKL alone.
    It’ll reduce traffic, pollution and increase well being.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • sutheshkumar on Apr 15, 2015 at 1:48 pm

I have only one doubt: its available in all english, malay and chinese.

So the indians who cant speak or read either how ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 52
  • albag on Apr 15, 2015 at 1:54 pm

LOL enjoy the pollution folks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • TT@TT on Apr 15, 2015 at 1:55 pm

just a brilliant idea…
    but MOTORCYCLE please do not use this path..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • Holofanboi on Apr 15, 2015 at 2:29 pm

Cyclists themselves are using the bike roads so i dont see why not in the short term really….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • TT@TT on Apr 15, 2015 at 3:29 pm

that one ‘lorong sikal’ for both motorcycle and bicycle…
        this one different, specifically for bicycle…
        same like motorcycle use the pedestrian walkway to avoid jam for sure they will use this new bicycle path for they own good

• nabill (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 1:57 pm

with the weather we have and almost total lack of security that we ‘enjoy’…i doubt its gonna work…that rm700k cost could have been used to repair our pothole filled roads…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
  • IrizX on Apr 15, 2015 at 2:09 pm

Very soon. It will be turned into motorcycle lanes coz nobody cycling there. Mark my words.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • At least this group of cyclist are doing something to promote alternative transportation. I know them and have worked with them and I know the person responsible for spearheading this project. The group has not received a single funding from any parties and this map is a product of their own efforts. Just reading the post here, I sorry to say that you bunch are what’s holding the country back. Be a little optimistic and and help make bike lanes work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • Painter on Apr 15, 2015 at 3:03 pm

Malaysian being Malaysian. One would expect motorcyclists would use this at short cut.

Anyway, can make good business out of this from Segway rental.

• oh no on Apr 15, 2015 at 3:03 pm

Very interesting initiative. I wish I know how to ride a bike.

• Lance on Apr 15, 2015 at 3:35 pm

Give credit when due. Great job by DBKL. Its very very important to have officers strictly stop any motorcyclist from entering before it turns into a norm. There are not many cyclist in KL purely because its extremely dangerous to cycle on our roads. Now with this dedicated lanes, I believe more will start this cycling culture..

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 15, 2015 at 4:09 pm

I agree.

Sunway also have been putting up cycle lanes and cycle parking…but I already see some street vendors parking thier stalls on the cycle path….which defeats the purpose….

• symusty on Apr 15, 2015 at 3:40 pm

Now all we need is more places to store or lock your bicycles in public places and malls…..

• hope it won’t end up as a motorcycle path. As we know some motorcycles are even on pedestrian walkway now

• Jeff Chen on Apr 15, 2015 at 4:39 pm

At last, a dedicated cycling path in KL city centre. Hope more of these will be created to link all areas.
    I’m from Ipoh and I hope there will be one like this here and gradually increase to give cyclist a dedicated path all over town.
    I’m for sure will visit this path for cycling some time soon.

Good Job to those who made this happened.

To those who are not too keen… please don’t give bad comments for something that’s meant for the good of the public at large. It’s not the fault of the people who created it if it’s used wrongfully.

Once again… Kudos to those who made this happened.

• logic on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:04 pm

As most of us stay quite far away from KL due to high residential property cost, it is nice if DBKL could provides a bicycles renting services at the public transport stations like in Bangkok. But knowing Malaysia, sure it will disastrous as SOME people will steal it for own usage or sell it for scraps. ~sigh~

• hondaman on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:45 pm

agreed, malaysian has poor civic manners. Went to Tel aviv before and their self-service bike rental is superb.

• CW Cheh on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:32 pm

Is it secured?

• Sammy on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:52 pm

One of the better news happening in Malaysia today.
    Great stuff, even it sounds so simple.
    Please build more of these.

• sepul on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:56 pm

It is a good start. While cycling started as a leisure activity, over time it will become a useful means of transportation.

KL really need to have this besides the LRT. it is way too congested and traffic jams everywhere during peak hours.

• Please remove the import tax first.

• shawal on Apr 15, 2015 at 9:20 pm

It would be nice if they set up public showers too cuz i’d sweat like a monsoon season,

• stranger on Apr 15, 2015 at 9:47 pm

try to cycle at night time around 8.00 pm onwards…

i like cycle, the problem is is it secure and safe???

• Habisa on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:05 pm

Can sell nasi lemak beside the cycling path plus some teh tarik. If feel hungry when cycling can stop to makan minum. Malaysia boleh!

• Safe to ride?

• Samad Jain on Apr 16, 2015 at 8:28 am

before you push the bicycle out from office/house, you are already sweating like crazy, in this Malaysia weather.

imagine that riding the bicycle until your destination….

On maybe after office-hour, suddenly heavy down poor pulak….

• Johnny on Apr 16, 2015 at 10:44 am

This is very cool indeed!And once MRT is up, public transportation in Malaysia would be much better.
    Next step is to install a public cycle hire system, just like the Barclays bikes in London, this would encourage cycling even more (make sure got CCTV everywhere because being in Malaysia, there’ll definitely be people who are out to steal the bikes).

• DBKL Officer on Apr 17, 2015 at 1:17 am

Mr DBKL – King of Rasuah,

Please mind your words. Not ALL government officers generally DBKL officers specifically involved with corruption. Some may. We need cooperation from KL citizens to be ‘mata dan telinga’ and report to SPRM if such incident happens. I deal with hoteliers, bussinessmans etc but never ask for $$$ or receive any. Never. That’s what we call integrity. Corruption is a disease. Sick!

• pilothans on Apr 23, 2015 at 11:01 am

everything must start somewhere…..i’d say in a long run, its good move if well maintained and improvements are made from time to time…

I believe malaysian people are well sivic minded :->
    1) no trowing rubbish here and there….
    2) no taking advantage of people having problems with their bikes
    3) no robbers n snatch thieves in these lanes
    4) no motorcyclists jump in as shortcuts
    5) cycling 8pm+ is safe
    6) no collector/tins/garbage recycles except those from the dbkl/alamFlora..u know what i mean

• Kam MT on Aug 30, 2015 at 7:00 am

This is a good start. Precedence to more facilities for cycling ie cycling lanes, parking, shower at offices. Study required to determine route, public response, distance people willing to ride, tax incentives, safety awareness, etc. Cycling in early morning and late evening is not that bad. Saves u money, time…. a little exercise for the body. Lets hope this will go far.