Mazda CX-5 facelift in Malaysia: CBU 2.5, from RM168k

Mazda_CX-5_facelift_Malaysia_ 002

Last month, we brought you news of the facelifted Mazda 6 arriving on Malaysian shores; today, the similarly-updated Mazda CX-5 surfaced at a showroom in Setia Alam, so we headed over to bring you a closer look.

Arriving in fully-imported form and in sole 2.5 litre configuration (locally-assembled 2.0 litre models are expected to be introduced later in the year), the refreshed Japanese C-segment crossover retails at RM167,610 for the two-wheel drive version and RM177,610 for all-wheel drive. Both prices – on-the-road without insurance – are a whole RM7,000 higher than before.

This recent nip-and-tuck, revealed at the LA Auto Show last year, brings along only minor changes purely to keep the still handsome CX-5 abreast with the competition. At the front, there are new LED headlights (now with LED daytime running lights!), a revised grille with grey slats and smaller fog lights set inside redesigned surrounds.

Mazda_CX-5_facelift_Malaysia_ 017

From the rear of the car, the only way you’ll be able to spot the new car is through the tail lights, which now feature LEDs. Unfortunately, we don’t get the spiffy new 19-inch two-tone alloy wheels, sticking with the current 17-inch design instead.

It’s much the same story on the inside as well – the basic design will be familiar to those who own the current car, but look closer and you’ll spot the new silver dashboard trim (previously piano black), updated climate control switchgear, a redesigned gear lever (now with a leather boot) as well as a new electronic parking brake that frees up space for a longer armrest.

The big news here is the new MZD Connect infotainment system, taken from newer models like the Mazda 2 and 3. Unlike those cars, the seven-inch touchscreen sits inside the old head unit binnacle (which surprisingly is now leather-lined), instead of being a freestanding item; apart from touch input, it is also controllable via a new iDrive-like Multimedia Commander knob, located behind the gear lever.

Mazda_CX-5_facelift_Malaysia_ 050

The 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G direct-injected four-cylinder petrol engine has been carried over, producing 184 hp at 5,700 rpm and 250 Nm of torque at 3,250 rpm. Also retained is the six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission, but it now receives a new, more responsive Sport mode, selectable via a rocker switch on the base of the gear lever.

Comfort has also been improved – cabin noise levels at a cruise are said to have been reduced by about 10%, while the seat structures have been redesigned for better comfort and cornering support.

Standard equipment is the same as before, so you get keyless entry, push-button start, auto lights and wipers, a sunroof, dual-zone auto climate control, power-adjustable front seats, leather upholstery, navigation and i-stop auto start-stop. Safety kit has also been retained – six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, Isofix rear child seat anchors and a Tyre Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS).

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• gaviny on May 07, 2015 at 3:34 pm

is the mazda 6 facelift in all showrooms or only glenmarie?

• Where is Najib's promise? on May 07, 2015 at 4:17 pm

Come on Bermaz, how much of untung you want to make of us Malaysians?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Same L0rrrr on May 07, 2015 at 4:52 pm

As I always said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars. But people tend to buy our Innova more, it is cheaper. At the price of RM168k, many would rather choose Camry Hybrid.

Everyone knows the difference between Toyota and Mazda in term of RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 47
        • Shock L0rrr on May 07, 2015 at 5:29 pm

Every body knows the difference between Toyota and Mazda in terms of BV (Boring Value).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • OMG…Shut up and wait for the CKD lah…CBU sure more expansive loh…Who dun 1 untung more?…who force u buy mazda? LOL

• Mazda is a poor man car so why it’s expensive? Mercedes wannabe lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
    • is not glenmarie, it’s setia alam

• Sam L0rrrr on May 07, 2015 at 3:48 pm

Such a boring toast-box …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 33
  • Brace yourself people !!!
    Sam Loo is coming …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Mazda Fans on May 07, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Should also mentions on the comfort improvement brought by the lengthen seat

• Mazda Fans on May 07, 2015 at 3:58 pm

Should also mentions on the comfort improvement brought by the lengthen seats

• Where is Najib's promise? on May 07, 2015 at 4:16 pm

This 4WD in US is USD$22,000. Here is RM177k. Where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices?

If US can sell at US$22k and still make untung, we can definitely assume Bermaz Crony will get this car for US$15k cost price being the official country distributor for Malaysia. That is about RM50k.

But Bermaz Crony sell RM177k. Nearly 4x the price.

Where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 07, 2015 at 5:29 pm

You thanks PM for not increasing price instead asking for reduced…

No money go buy Proton or Perodua… still can’t go for Modernas.

We never intended to ask you to buy car, poor people please take public transport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • tishaban on May 07, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Everyone is always complaining that cars are super expensive in Malaysia. So I did a bit of an experiment to try and compare apples to apples. I work in the New York area, I got an online quote for the lowest end Mazda CX5 2.0 Sport 2WD with some basic options to match the Mazda CX5 2WD GL spec in Malaysia.

OTR price for this car, after taxes and insurance for a gen-X married man is US$28.7k (~$25k dealer price, 8.875% sales tax, ~$1.3k insurance, ~$100 registration) or roughly RM105k. Compare this with the OTR price of the Mazda CX5 GL in Malaysia of RM126,166 (carbase).

My conclusion based on a single data point is that new car prices are probably around 20% higher in Malaysia compared to actual OTR price in the US.

This ignores the fact that Malaysian salaries are much lower. Rather than complaining about high car prices, why not complain about low salaries instead :D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 3
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on May 07, 2015 at 4:16 pm

The end of Tucson and Santa Fe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • kulim on May 07, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Santa Fe, CRV or Tiguan is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • Bro Sante Fe and tiguan betul tapi CRV A BIG NO. Kualiti kereta honda CR-V macam berak. LOL. Brand HONDA macam fuyoh tapi kualiti kereta banyak teruk berbanding dengan Mazda CX-5. Saya punya abang pakai CR-V unit baru. Banyak masalah kualiti dan sebagainya. No offence to you paultan fans here. PEACE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • Johny on May 08, 2015 at 8:52 am

I might have to agree with you bro. I’ve both tried CX-5 (2014) and CR-V (2015)..CR-V majorly lost to CX-5..

• No rear vent ? Sadly the price continues the upward trend.

Wonder if a floating Screen would have been better !

• For some reason the car looks very mundane inside out for 168K.. May be its just me !

• No point hurry buying this CBU,
    next year will CKD out already.
    By that time 15k drop, current CBU owner can start crying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • william on May 07, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Is this version equipped with auto central lock?
    what about the dashboard, soft padding?

• ichibun on May 07, 2015 at 5:14 pm

hati2 bermaz
    naik harga + tamak + sombong = umw toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • JegunGun on May 07, 2015 at 5:38 pm

anyone can share their experience owning a CKD Mazda pls?. Any quality issue so far?

• knight rider on May 07, 2015 at 5:41 pm

boring

• Hahaha on May 07, 2015 at 5:43 pm

CR-V anytime~ I don’t care if its CKD or CBU

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • DPCraft on May 07, 2015 at 7:54 pm

Facelift CR-V have better interior, CR-V is better ~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • Bye bye CRV.
    Comparing both, built quality and design the CX5 is much better seriously. My Uncle just sold off his CR-V for the CX-5. Very poor ckd built quality inside CR-V compared to this CX-5.2.4 litre model full spec CR-V is seriously a huge waste of money. Honda Malaysia has damaged the Malaysian Obsessed Automotive Brand HONDA and its Image. Sad:(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
    • Built quality built quality built quality . You sound like Same Lorrrr ady. What build quality? Just said but you don’t know it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
      • Dear friend, built quality means how well an object like a car is being built.
        The General quality of construction of a car in this case. Simple.
        Our friend WWW’s comments are totally and seriously legit bro regarding Honda’s shitty fit and finish and overall quality. No offence to you and I respect WWW’s comments, I personally own one CR-V. Peace:)

• Get CBU if u have money.

CKD quality very poor. Please go showroom and touch/knock-out mid-Center console below Aircond and check seat and other finishing.

• Honda cr-v got engine head issue..
    also.. it is more suitable for aunties.

• CRV facelift 15 owner on May 07, 2015 at 10:59 pm

Bro dun worry. You are absolutely right. I support your statement regarding the 2.4 CR-V. I just received it last month. The interior parts are easily scratched and the suspension is not comfy. Well, not all hondas are perfect. Normal SUV only bro. After 5 years warranty expire, bye bye Honda CR-V. Cheers bro, good luck with the CBU CX-5, if u plan to get one.

• mazda cx-5 is so yesterday

• seancorr (Member) on May 08, 2015 at 2:13 am

Wow, 7k increase is a lot…that means the CKD models will also increase in price. Mazda Malaysia better not be greedy thinking that they have won against Honda with its CRV.

Price was also a major factor that Malaysians decided to get the CX-5 instead of the kosong spec CRV but Honda has responded well with its FL CRV.

• ValueForMoney on May 08, 2015 at 10:08 am

Why nobody compare with New Nissan X-trail with CRV, CX5.

• Wah, its too expensive.
    If compare with Indo price, CX5 FL is just about 136k RM. And they get more than Malay version, such 19″ alloy, memory seat,i-ACTIVSENSE in full package and speedometer like mazda 6.

• jim labu on May 08, 2015 at 11:01 am

U guys dunno lagi ka? Nanti upcoming CX3 bole la diaorang tekan harga sampai <RM149k…

• Don’t know what you guys think, but for me for that amount of money, I would rather go for Sorento, some more with additional discount. A SUV that is a class above this CX5 and CRV. Please don’t mention about resale value :).

• TurnOff on May 08, 2015 at 6:59 pm

I waited for this ? Plan B !

• Jeff Khes on May 10, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Is there any 2.0 facelift in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Nice SUV on Jul 04, 2015 at 4:25 am

Jeff 2.0 facelift not yet coming, maybe by year end…lets hope fitted with 19inchers rims after this