Proton signs MoU and Licence Agreement with Suzuki

Proton Suzuki MOU_ 010

A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) and Licence Agreement was signed today between Proton Holdings Bhd, Suzuki Motor Corporation and DRB-Hicom for the production of motor vehicles, and under the licence agreement, a model between Proton and Suzuki.

In attendance were Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah, Suzuki chairman and CEO Osamu Suzuki, DRB-Hicom automotive distribution and manufacturing COO Datuk Radzaif Mohamed, MITI minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed, Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and Japanese ambassador to Malaysia Makio Miyagawa.

The collaboration will allow Proton access to Suzuki’s models, platforms, powertrain and automotive technology, while the Japanese carmaker will provide specific technical assistance for the selected products and scope.

“We in Proton of course look forward to acquiring the skills and technology of Suzuki Motor and we will be able to benefit from this understanding and cooperation with Suzuki Motor,” said Mahathir.

“Proton is very keen to work with acquired tech from other manufacturers. This is one of our attempts to enhance the performance of Proton,” the former PM added.

“The technology advancement, in terms of powertrain engineering for the smaller engine segment vehicles, would help complete the offerings of the different segment of vehicles for Proton with the adoption of features and specifications.

“This can help us meet regulatory and market requirements while we greatly reduce our R&D and production costs,” Harith said, adding that the project’s first phase is set to start production in the next 16 months at the Tanjung Malim plant.

“As part of the National Automotive Policy (NAP) we have suggested that it is good for Proton to identify a strategic foreign partner. It is my wish that (Suzuki) is a partner that will be able to propel Proton to greater heights,” said Mustapa.

Suzuki, of course, is known for making compact cars – since Proton already has a B-segment competitor in the Iriz, could it be looking at an A-segment city car here to take the fight to the Perodua Axia?

UPDATE: Tun Dr Mahathir has announced that the details of the agreement have not been worked out yet, but will involve specifically compact and small cars from Suzuki up to 1.0 litre that are not currently sold in Malaysia, in a segment where Proton is currently not present in. He also confirms that the Tanjung Malim plant will be utilised in the collaboration, and the first product could surface in 2016.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Next Proton Satria – Suzuki Swift rebadge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 15, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Suzuki Swift rebadge P1 Iriz become Suzuki Swifz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
      • Same L0rrrr on Jun 15, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Not bad for Proton rebadging Suzuki.

History told us Proton performs better (quality better, sales better) with rebadged car.

100% self-developed car is nothing more than Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok feeling. The outcome is billions burnt with a new lousy car can’t even be sold outside Malaysia, and local sales is so bad that you can literally neglect its existence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
        • Beng P1boy on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Eat this all P2 macai Proton will kill all the segment with partner Suzuki !!!

P2 macai balik kampung or Penang, Proton don’t need all the complaints !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
          • Boleh on Jun 16, 2015 at 1:54 am

With NAP, you can feed your cronies above. With Rebadge, you can reduce your R&D (Rest&Dining) cost

Why not?

• Ah Beng (Member) on Jun 16, 2015 at 8:26 am

See?? Told ya..Proton will never give up..They will continue to improve and by 2017 they target to gain their market holder in Malaysia..This is the true PAHLAWAN..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
          • Same L0rrrr on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:53 am

@Ah Beng So don’t you talkok bashing Perodua rebadging car. End of the day, Proton is doing the same.

Tell you what is the best to regain market share ok?
            1. Launch the Accordana RIGHT NOW!
            2. Stop selling Honda City and rebadged as new Proton Gen 3.

PAHLAWAN??? I just can’t stop laughing here.

• Close Down Proton on Jun 16, 2015 at 11:22 am

It is solely because of Proton that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars. Don’t know why Malaysians are excited about low quality Suzuki when 30 years, Proton rogol all of us.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

Our cars compared to global cars are completely stripped down. Even basic car in the US got about 20 safety features that the same car in Malaysia does not have. Purposely taken out to cut cost even further and untung more profit.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand. You still happy with Suzuki? This is another rape like when Mitsubishi raped us for 20 years with low quality engines and parts. If Proton was not in Malaysia in the first place, you will have a few hundred thousand ringgit extra in your pocket!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
          • Pahlawan on Jun 16, 2015 at 1:33 pm

For Ah Beng, rebadge is the way of the PAHLAWAN. If you can’t make your self, rebadge to sell more. Hahaha…

• kremm on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:41 pm

Iriz 5 star NCAP , Myvi 4 star. Which one is better? Sales number doesn’t mean it’s good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
          • Lagi Best on Jun 16, 2015 at 2:01 am

If Proton sales zero means even better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Same L0rrrr on Jun 16, 2015 at 1:35 pm

If not good why people want to buy it? Simple logic!

How good is the 5 star NCAP end up fuel hunger, break down here and there, often enter garage like we enter toilet?

• Proton is getting from bad to worse. Is there no master plan or any long term plan whatsoever in proton? First married with mitsubishi, but then a divorce, then with lotus, flirt with mv agusta n nissan, a one night stand with mitsubishi again n honda n now with suzuki? Looks like a japanophile hooker to me. Save the embarrassment. Let me layout for u a simple plan:

1) Produce one model for each segment: A, B, C, D, SUV n MPV.
      2) Develop a consistent design philosophy every 5-10 years.
      3) Develop a technological plan (powertrain, safety, etc)
      4) Develop an effective marketing n aftersales plan. Learn from the best.
      5) Get people to execute it. Train, poach, scavenge whatever necessary.
      6) Stick with the plan dilligently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 11
      • Obviously (Member) on Jun 15, 2015 at 8:18 pm

Lol, it sounds so simple, doesn’t it? Too bad they don’t have the money for it. Years of directionless mismanagement has turned them into a bad taste in the mouths of the people, so much so that it’ll take many years before they become palatable, desirable again…

And without proper income, where are they going to get the resources to develop a model for each segment from the ground up by themselves? They’re in dire straits. While you may doubt it, this agreement with Suzuki seems like a move for them to have a player in the A-segment, which is in accordance with your step 1. Rebadging may seem like a step backwards but they have no choice; they need a partner to enter a new segment that they have zero experience.

• Its kinda weird to assume proton got no money. Still remember tht proton during mahaleels era had allocated 6bil for r&d. But then that was long ago. Then drb bought proton after being chosen as the perfect saviour by the G. Surely drb hv the capacity to inject some money into proton but this is yet to be seen. If tht also cant work then as last resort probably they can borrow some 42bil from bank with the G as guarantor. And just hope the money wont be missing.

• rakyat on Jun 16, 2015 at 2:23 am

Another jaguh kampung project from jaguh kampung company. This is what we call ‘Project Syiok Sendiri’ but now we should call ‘Project Syiok Mahathir’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • They should hire you!! :p

• thedarkside on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:58 am

wah…and no one in proton ever thought about that plan…hmmm

• A simpler plan would be:

Just close shop!

• Vincent Ang on Jul 12, 2015 at 11:39 am

A Proton engineer told his line supervisor that Proton do not need the non-Malays while my brother was working on their calibrating machine during the early 1990s. It is god that Proton is dying

• Next Proton Satria – Suzuki Swift rebadge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Sawwie on Jun 15, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Let’s pick the new name for rebadge Suzuki:

– Proton Desperate
      – Proton Visav (Savvy terbalik)
      – Proton Pressured
      – Proton Apocalypse
      – Proton Tapao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 33
      • Proton Winliaolor! Can ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Albert on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:14 pm

Bradder,you forgot “Plotong Kiasu”.
        Its too late,baby,its too late.
        After 25 years,Preve,Suprima,iriz cannot even command a decent market share….SHAMBOLIC is the word to describe protong.
        Mitsubishi cannot tahan the local politics and interference,so they cabut.Now Suzuki….BEWARE,once the politicians start their tricks…..you will also need to pack off.NEVER have collaboration with ‘LAZY’ people.

• 4545er on Jun 15, 2015 at 4:27 pm

Rebadge Kizashi please please please

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 1
    • Kizashi your head la. Hyping tak tengok tempat. How many Kizashi you have seen on the road apart from Suzuki showroom?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 60
      • kastard on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:16 pm

because mahal la. if proton rebadges kizashi, can knock some 10-20Ks off the price ok la.

• You just upset 33+ Kizashi owners.. LOL

• I also hope so but this couldn’t be realize coz..

1) Proton/Lotus – 1.3L to 1.6L
      2) Proton/Honda – 2.0L & above
      3) Proton/Suzuki – Up to 1.0L

• Ah Long on Jun 15, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Did they stop his speech halfway and turn off the mic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 6
    • Good One! Hahaha

• BNaik on Jun 15, 2015 at 9:02 pm

Worst comment of this blog !!!

IGP help safe DrM not keep him Shut Up !!!

BN always right… uneducated Rakyat go back to Penang !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • kastard on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:18 pm

..as long as he doesn’t mention jo lo.

• Steve Kok on Jun 15, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Proton Swift
    Proton Vitara
    Proton SX-4

• annoy_namous on Jun 15, 2015 at 4:34 pm

Now we can see Swift engine underneath IRIZ… :)

• after over 3 decades still cannot stand on own two feet..look at Kia and Hyundai..so malu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 22
    • Looking at the path they are taking, its obvious proton want to compete with perodua in peroduas own game. A tragedy waiting to happen.

• capitalpower on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:48 pm

Still got people compare small p1 with giant kia hyundai. Get a life dude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • AVH (Member) on Jun 15, 2015 at 4:37 pm

But collaborate in what? Suzuki isn’t that famous in their R&D, nor manufacturing nor product planning. They are however, are excellent in low budget kei/A segment cars. So a proton kei car looks possible.

But none of this first. Before all the clap of hands and cheering, what happen to the collaboration with Honda? Or Geely? Or gold star? What are the fruits of their collaboration?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • MOU? Tak payah la. Now taxi driver also complaining about this lousy brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 45
    • biggy on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:49 pm

Complain about space? Hilarious

• Haa haa.. all that complain due to LKW DSN PR strategy to attack TDM “LEGACY”. lerr.. but at the same time Govt binds Proton with ridiculous conditions (NAP- min 70% Local Content which again AFTA 40%) due to protect cronies interest and also open permit (AP) holders (making higher profit).. Produa is lucky cause didn’t bind with this silly condition..

Proton has several times appealed released from the bond and gives complete freedom to the proton to appoint more qualified vendor but rejected by the government until today….

• akinablue-san on Jun 15, 2015 at 4:39 pm

Bring and rebadge suzuki keisha or at least use suzuki engine in proton cars. They hv a good engine. 37km/l is now one of the most efficient engine for keisha in japan.

• Pauline Tang on Jun 15, 2015 at 4:39 pm

next perdana = rebadge Kizashi

Iriz not laku, can tapao and rebadge Swift, confirm guarantee sales double Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • To be fair, swift sales also is no where as good as the old swift.

• Bomoh on Jun 15, 2015 at 4:39 pm

just rebadge Suzuki and take my money~

• finally proton can aquire the new 1.4 turbo boosterjet engine with 140ps and 220nm torque,dump that junk cfe engine.

• junkcivic on Jun 16, 2015 at 5:32 am

Then civic 2.0l engine is junkier. Canot beat 205nm torquey cfe

• junkproton on Jun 16, 2015 at 4:57 pm

Proton wants to throw away the cfe junk and replace with suzuki engine. You can keep if you want

• frossonice on Jun 15, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Since rebadging is unlikely as promised by the management, I only can assumed that it have something to do with the engine or platform sharing. Better looks what Suzuki is selling in India. Likely indication the things they might share as cost cutting measure.

• I dun mind if they can get the Cappuccino platform. As for mini car, Proton Alto should bring the fight to Axia

• It might not happen but a rebadged Kizashi would be sweet.

• car-fans on Jun 15, 2015 at 4:58 pm

What?!? Not again?!? Mit then Honda Perdana … now Suzuki… Pls learn from Hyundai n KIA … Stand on your own feet … Hmmm… I think better just shut it down … can help Malaysian more … rather then more MOU. TQ!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • Rokuth on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:35 pm

Kia and Hyundai are owned by the same company. Hyundai bought out Kia sometime back. Now they share the same engines, and platforms.
      So, are you saying that the best thing to learn from Hyundai and Kia is to expect Perodua to eventually buy out Proton? New company name will be Peroton… or maybe Produa…

• keroz on Jun 15, 2015 at 5:01 pm

rebadge Wagon R and MR-Wagon please……..

• keroz on Jun 15, 2015 at 5:03 pm

just rebadge Wagon-R and MR Wagon please……

• nabill (Member) on Jun 15, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Its just an MoU, like countless MoU’s that have been signed by proton with others, probably after signing, there will be a feasibility study for 6 months and then u r not gonna hear anyting from it ever again… I can somehow understand MoU with Honda and the chinese manufacturers, but suzuki?? Their model lineup is actually LESS than what proton offer…. I dont understand this…

• RIP my swift on Jun 15, 2015 at 5:16 pm

there goes my swift’s reputation… used to be proud owning a suzuki now im doomed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Please not a rebadge on Jun 15, 2015 at 5:23 pm

Hopefully Proton is actually smart this time and does not rebadge a Suzuki into a Proton. IMHO, the collaboration should be:

i) As a CKD plant for Suzuki models. From there, Suzuki manufacturing knowledge and techniques can be leveraged for their own Proton models. Hopefully this improves Proton’s QC problems.

ii) Get Suzuki’s engines or at least their know-how. CamPro needs a replacement that can offer actual fuel savings.

iii) Any model between Proton and Suzuki should NOT be a simple rebadge. Ideally it should be a fresh co-developed vehicle or re-using Suzuki’s vehicle platform to build anew.

• Suzuki is not really a strong brand outside Japan and India. Make you ponder how they will benefit from this MoU. Will Proton rebadge Suzuki’s aging model? BTW how many MoUs have Proton signed recently? There’s indonesian one and China’s Hawtai. What have came out from this MoUs. Nada.

• pirate on Jun 15, 2015 at 5:29 pm

Suzuki Celerio?
    And perhaps thereafter…Suzuki Ciaz to as the all-new Saga?

• Rebadge on Jun 15, 2015 at 5:30 pm

It will be a rebadge Suzuki Splash 1.0 to compete with P2 Axia

• Leading brand in Rebadging on Jun 15, 2015 at 5:33 pm

It will be a rebadge Suzuki Splash 1.0 to compete with P2 Axia.

• spongewai on Jun 15, 2015 at 5:38 pm

what bout Honda??

• sammy on Jun 15, 2015 at 5:43 pm

I really don’t understand this strategy…
    Proton just launch Iriz with lots of R&D in it, and now it is looking for a compact car partner?
    Should go for their SUV like the Vitara instead, since perodua no longer has the Kembara. It will be unwise to fight on P2’s strength in A and B segments, not to mention further cannibalise the Iriz sales.

• p2crap on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:38 pm

Iriz already in b segment. Now in a segment so what. At least can make better car than axia and myvi crap

• p1crap on Jun 16, 2015 at 2:12 am

Yes, by ‘raping’ Suzuki to leave a ‘bastardised’ offspring

• sammy on Jun 16, 2015 at 9:02 am

Well, my opinion is that there is not a huge difference between A and B segment in terms of target market, especially if they can make the pricing closer.
        Iriz is actually not a bad car. Blessed with good look and good safety and handling. They just got to fix the cvt and maintain reliability and the product should be competitive. Introduce another similar model in house doesn’t quite send the right message.

• z.zakri on Jun 15, 2015 at 5:47 pm

positive la bro..

• Gracke on Jun 15, 2015 at 5:51 pm

Oh…my GOD…damn it…go to disturb Suzuki again! :-(

• Osamu Suzuki on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:45 pm

That’s the legendary Mr. Osamu Suzuki himself at the signing! The guy is known not to give in big corporations like VolksWagen.
    The strategy is quite clear. Proton doesn’t have an A-segment vehicle nor plans to spend considerably to obtain one. As a strategic business plan, they would rebadge a Suzuki to challenge Perodua’s market. They did it for the Inspira, didnt they?

• Jilbaber (Member) on Jun 15, 2015 at 6:57 pm

I thinks its a good move by Proton. No matter how good Proton car is (which it is really), people of this beloved country will always condemn it to death and go buy ‘next’ brand. I really hope they continue their effort with Honda for Accordana too. Rebadging is the only way to go forward and easy too.

Maybe after this makes collaboration with continental but please learn from mistakes done on Tiara, rebadge something that got more appealing to the customer lah.

• Yes, rebadge is the way. Why condemn?

• Jilbaber (Member) on Jun 16, 2015 at 9:59 am

Why do you mean ? I didn’t condemn, I say it’s a good move.

• Oh, now P1 supporters support rebadge. I thought they condemn P2 rebadge cars?

• the only proton model that i can be proud of is Satria Gti,although it is not 100% Proton.The rest…not very sure where this is going.But well..in the end business is business.Apa-apa je la Proton.

• i owned a 2008 year suzuki sx4sedan,cbu and now mileage clock 250k km…and no major problem,only change a ridiator fan only,suzuki quality the best

• tinmilo on Jun 16, 2015 at 9:09 am

Just go rebadge the SX4 and offer it at myvi price. Sure can sell….
    Then, offer the vitara at rm70k.
    Then copy the swift engine and gearbox into iriz facelift.
    Don’t need to offer anything fancy, have stringent QC and it will be home run.

• shawal on Jun 16, 2015 at 10:57 am

I hope its the alto and vitara

• suzuki? boring suzuki.. x pa lah, all the best to both.

• Rashuk Khan2 on Jun 21, 2015 at 3:32 pm

This is signel to Produa do not enter B Segman Sedan. All this while is monopoly by Saga…. If Produa do so that means they try to compete with Proton. Why not Proton not do the same by introduce A segmen car. Rebadge Suzuki car is the short term measures to enter the market faster. Later they will develope their own model….