Next-gen Honda Civic set for Australian debut in 2016

Civic Concept

The next-generation Honda Civic is all set to make its debut in Australia next year, according to Aussie automotive portal, CarAdvice. Aside from the sedan body style, expect the hatch variant to make an appearance as well – the latter will be made in the UK but reports indicate that Thai assembly is probable.

Additionally, higher-end models of the Aussie-market Civic are expected to feature the new turbocharged, 1.5 litre VTEC engine from the marque’s Earth Dreams Technology umbrella – power figures are rumoured to be as high as 201 hp and 260 Nm of torque. Entry-level models are expected to soldier on with the same 1.8 litre mill pumping out 139 hp/174 Nm.

Transmission options for the Civic will likely include a CVT or an eight-speed dual-clutch DCT – a six-speed manual has been touted but is unlikely to be available for the Aussie market since reports have omitted said gearbox. Also to miss the boat to Australia will be the Honda Civic Coupe.

Civic Concept

“I certainly think [the goal] in the next generation is to have a really competitive hatch and sedan at the same time,” said Stephen Collins, director of Honda Australia. The tenth-generation is touted to resemble the Honda Civic Concept that made its debut in New York by quite a fair bit.

On the notion of the aforementioned Thai-assembled Civic models, the Australian portal has stated that both the sedan and hatch models could potentially be sourced from the Land of Smiles. This is to allow for a lower price tag – the current UK-made hatch is known to be rather pricey in the Aussie market.

GALLERY: Honda Civic Concept in New York

GALLERY: Next-generation Honda Civic spyshots

GALLERY: Next-generation Honda Civic patent images

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• That color on Jun 19, 2015 at 5:18 pm

Please change that neon puke color.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
    • young man on Jun 19, 2015 at 8:50 pm

Honda Civic is made for the younger generation. If you dont like it, i am pretty sure u have stepped into the ah pek generation.. no offense lol. Maybe u can take a look at the CR-V or Stream.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 7
      • civicution on Jun 20, 2015 at 7:05 am

It looks so cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • Camry RM150k - No VSC 2 Airbag on Jun 20, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Hopefully come here, the crony DRB hicom won’t take out the many airbags.

Look at Camry, top of the range from UMW and yet only 2 airbags and no VSC. No wonder it is called the moving coffin

• JB_KIA on Jun 20, 2015 at 10:38 am

Go buy a silver teana. It fits u well…

• #Shut#up#and#take#my#money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • Here is the most Ah Beng Car – new Honda Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 33
    • karam singh on Jun 19, 2015 at 8:07 pm

Hi… you again,
      the Toyota guy…. Ah Beng or not Ah Beng, its a good car.
      Safety rating – 5stars Euro NCAP//Top Safety Pick IIHS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • Zoom Zoom on Jun 19, 2015 at 6:09 pm

Wow wow.. 201hp 260nm from 1.5 turbo yummy!!

way way better than preve 1.6 turbo.. lol..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Cfe can pump out more than 205nm but the gearbox has limitation

• Campro inefficient on Jun 20, 2015 at 9:50 am

Yeah but its bigger 1.6L engine can only pump out 138hp while this Honda 1.5L can go up to 200hp. That’s a 45% higher HP output!

• nothingtoshoutabout on Jun 20, 2015 at 10:30 am

It’s direct injected engine, nothing to shout about

• badfc on Jun 19, 2015 at 8:14 pm

Expect FC more than 2.0l engine. In other words more than lembu minim air!!!!!!!!

Lolololololol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • bob_b78 on Jun 19, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Not really. Take 1.4l vw polo gti for example. Power is about 180hp/280nm but fc is similar to a 1.8l engine. On the highway, fc can match non hybrid b-segment cars with moderate throttle control. Im drving a jetta which is the same engine with polo gti but tuned lower at 160hp/240nm. However jetta is about 200kg heavier yet my car is just about 1l/100km higher than honda city with average 110km/h on the highway. Bear in mind jetta power is close to a 2.4l japanese car

• u are talking about mainting speed with a turbo engine, yet it still fail to give a better fuel efficiency.

• bob_b78 on Jun 20, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Do you even actually understand what is turbocharging for? It is to aid small engine to have power equivalent to a bigger engine without having the fc of that bigger engine. If you really want a fuel efficiency car, get a hybrid.
            Though the 1.4l polo gti fc is inferior to vios/city, straight line power speed easily embarrass any 2.5l japanese/korean d segment cars while retaining fc equivalent to 1.8l car. What more can you ask?

• if a japanese b-segment come with 2.5N.A engine, it can fly faster than a 1.4 VW Polo.

• bob_b78 on Jun 22, 2015 at 3:44 pm

Faster than 1.4 polo tsi=yes
            Faster than 1.4 polo gti=no

• karam singh on Jun 22, 2015 at 4:16 am

try maintain 200kmh on the highway for a long time ;)
            NA engine doing it like a boss.
            Turbo engine, got overheat so fast.
            Europe countries prefer turbo for less CO2,while Malaysia charging tax based on the car’s cc.
            so turbocharged engine with smaller cc are welcomed well anywhere in the world.
            Turbocharged engines have less reliability issues if not taken cared compared to NA.

• myvibest on Jun 20, 2015 at 7:00 am

So it’s indeed more than lembu minum air. 1.4l but drink fuel more than 1.8l engine

• looks like honda is trying to copy vios design but end up to be the ugliest civic ever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 37
    • Susukotak on Jun 19, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Which part copying vios?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Insider News on Jun 20, 2015 at 1:05 am

Please get your eye checked.
      I don’t see which part look like vios.
      Keep the dumb comment to yourself will ya?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • sleman on Jun 20, 2015 at 4:20 am

the rear lights reminds me of current picanto rear lights though

• karam singh on Jun 20, 2015 at 5:32 am

who want to copy less safety vios ?
      Civic is that good already, no need to copy others
      its an icon.have a respect.
      is vios a tuner among teens/young guys ?
      nope… most of them ricer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • i dont understand why malaysian like u is so holy.

Do We have to respect a Honda Civic?

It’s not iconic, It’s not God Car.

• karam singh on Jun 22, 2015 at 4:21 am

yeah, Fast and Furious 1 bro….
          it is iconic, same as R34/R35/S2000/Evo8 and many more cars in the FastFurious franchise.
          is Vios / altis in there ? nope ..
          Toyota Supra ? yes..

• hondasux on Jun 20, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Couldn’t agree more. It’s butt ugly.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 19, 2015 at 8:16 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• protog4 on Jun 20, 2015 at 2:36 pm

You again pakcik? As a car sales man, you may be struggling every month end. For those who are richer, RV is nothing for them, you no need to worry for them.

• Rich Uncle on Jun 20, 2015 at 11:54 pm

I am a multi millionaire. I don’t care about RV. You only live once and I don’t want to die inside a keranda kosong toyota with no VSC and faulty takada airbag. Conti is the only choice for me.

• myvibest on Jun 19, 2015 at 8:21 pm

Can beat myvi 1.5 FC or not? If not myvi is stil the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • Joker on Jun 19, 2015 at 9:16 pm

Myvi is best.. thats why my father just bought one for our house maid. Now, my kakak can go yum cha with other maids in town.

• Jasjos on Jun 19, 2015 at 11:51 pm

Are you kidding me? My myvi 1.5 FC sucks big time. My golf gti with more than twice the power has better FC.

• yourgarbagecar on Jun 20, 2015 at 6:59 am

Liar. I also can say my accord 2.4 fc better than myvi 1.5

• Jasjos on Jun 20, 2015 at 5:07 pm

U can. I don’t have an accord so I wouldn’t know. I am just stating facts. Don’t have to call me a liar.

• samtulur on Jun 21, 2015 at 3:43 am

Fact? You just sound like Same Lorrrr

• Same L0rrr on Jun 21, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Conti car and Kimchi are the same, no RV. Only those who are poor but pretend to be rich use it. I drive Lexus because my status is higher.

• DPCraft on Jun 19, 2015 at 9:00 pm

The coupe is ugly, hope the sedan looks cooler.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Yea, it has a kid’s toy car stying..

over styling as a C-segment. If it’s a B-segment, no harm though.

• A.R.M Yusof on Jun 20, 2015 at 12:41 am

had a 2.0 navi previously but sold it as i was heading to study abroad.. when i came back , i’ll definitely eyeing to buy the new civic. looks like gonna be a looker here!
    cheers.

• englandenglish on Jun 20, 2015 at 7:01 am

Your england tells us that you are atill a kid. Keep your dream aside

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 20, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Bring the Euro Type R back home to Malaysia with the student AP. Hahah.

• sammy on Jun 20, 2015 at 8:28 am

Forget about looking at the car…
    Just the news of Australia getting their civic from Thailand is already a big upset.

• After hrv then this… umw toyota can close shop…

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 20, 2015 at 2:22 pm

America will get the 10G Civic this year (after September), and Australia in 2016. If Aussie Civic is sourced from the Land of Smiles, it means Thailand will get the new Civic around the same time as well. After which is Malaysia’s turn. So that means the new Civic will get here by end of 2016 or early 2017??

The targeted 201bhp figure may be for a higher spec car (probably a Civic SI), which should be below the Type R (expect that to have the same bonkers 2.0 turbo as the current Euro Type R) in Honda’s ranking system. The “normal” Civic 1.5 turbo will be expected to push out 150-160bhp – similar or slightly more than the already released JDM Honda Jade. Honda America has already come out with statement targeting fuel consumption of 40MPG (17km/l) for highway driving for the new Civic. So, it won’t just have lots of torque down low (very un-Honda-like), but will be fuel efficient too. Let’s hope they manage to meet the targets. Lets hope too the turbo engine comes to Malaysia, please.

• i gotta say, civics are uglier than they used to be. and sad to say that this is an attempt to look “attitude or fierce” turn out to be fugly. maybe u can call me ah pek, but cars in the 90s are much much better looking and have character. nice try on the colour tho

• dugongx on Jun 20, 2015 at 2:56 pm

This is the final nail in coffin for Altis…which is already dead.

• Another jobless salesman on Jun 20, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Wat an ugly sob….and r u sure all new, look closely at the front and rear it looks like body of the current platform ( which is two generations old)

• intermilan on Jun 20, 2015 at 10:33 pm

Trying too hard to look like a super / hyper car. It doesnt look ‘civic’ at all.. Should change the name. Honda hyper wannabe 2016 sound much proper.

• tiffany on Jun 21, 2015 at 11:42 am

This would be nice if it’s a Honda City Replacement.

It’s not right to be a Civic with this design.
    very childish looking.

• ale uto on Jun 21, 2015 at 10:33 pm

love the front design, not the back..

• when new civic launch for consumer? launch always for racing..

• Nice front….Awfully hideous back.