Malaysian drivers, please respect OKU parking lots

Screen Shot 2015-07-14 at 4.55.58 PM

Mere days after a video of a Perodua Axia driver abusing an OKU parking lot went viral on social media (embedded below), we have this, a very timely example of why you should never, ever errantly park at these specially designated handicapped areas. Malaysian drivers, please respect OKU parking lots.

Because the Mercedes-Benz E-Class Coupe was parked at the OKU lot, a Nissan Almera carrying a handicapped man was forced to park further away from the building ramp entrance. Luckily enough in this case, a nearby empty lot was available, and a helpful security guard was around to offer assistance. It could have been a lot worse.

Malaysians, we should spread the awareness on how important it is not to abuse OKU parking facilities. Let’s leave them to those who really need them. If your friends or relatives have the habit of parking in OKU parking lots, advise them against it.

What this dude replied, prove that he admit himself is a NOOB driver.

Posted by My Malaysia-??? ??????? on Friday, July 10, 2015

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Papa G on Jul 14, 2015 at 5:20 pm

should just let the plate number be seen, as a lesson

but then, might resulted in lawsuits

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • DPCraft on Jul 14, 2015 at 9:51 pm

Maybe the mercedes-benz also have oku ppl ?!?

• Yellow Peril on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:29 pm

Its a public area where anyone can be snapped. So no worries about legal action. The OKU parking lot must also put up the fine for illegal parking. Also, cant the guards clamp the tyres too? To release pay the fine. That will teach them a lesson.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 14, 2015 at 5:25 pm

Easy solution. Tow away cars that are parked in these spots. If the car is damaged in the process tough luck, your problem. And of course the offender needs to pay for the towing, as well as for keeping the car in the place it is towed to, and he has to pay a saman on top of all that, say RM 300.

At least they don’t put people in jail for exposing people parking like that… unlike the UAE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • Holofanboi on Jul 14, 2015 at 5:33 pm

Mmm..not sure if its ok for me to say on this article, but my gf’s uncle is paralyzed waist-down for over 20 years due to an accident, but despises the fact that OKU priviledges like these exist.

He is firm that OKU or not, everyone is equal and he managed to modify his decrepit wira to be drivable entirely by hand (im not even joking i can send the pics over on our next dinner outing).

He would scoff at public service announcements like these and I wonder if other OKU may actually be offended by the constant ‘OKU must receive help’ messages such as these.

Infact, if memory serves me right there is a exotic car dealer owner (locally) who happens to be OKU but is independant with no help whatsoever. He himself isn’t too fond of these sort of messages.

Note that I am NOT against the idea of OKU spots, just sharing about someone I know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
    • I feel that it is just his pride, and it is understandable. If by some bad accident I were to become a disabled person, I know I myself will not like to be referred as an OKU.

But some people have it tougher than others, and that’s where I think the social services comes in. If you don’t want the help, then suits yourself cause I know others would not only really appreciate the help, but also grateful to it.

• Ithinkmynameisjohnbutitsnot on Jul 15, 2015 at 5:13 pm

Thanks for sharing. But your statement is regarding self-preference, not on behalf of ALL OKUs, which can be misleading. Those 2 are different things altogether…

• stupid msian cars on Jul 14, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Blame it on the govt, blame it on the relevant authorities for failing to do their job ie. big time lack of enforcement. I will say this again and again….as long as there is enforcement with point demerit system….its either all will follow the rules or all will have to start taking public transport….leaving those law abiding citizens the only drivers left on the road.
    Again…those who dislike this means they are against enforcements ….cause they just loved to complain and break the rules themselves.
    Welcome to Msia…apa pun boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • chinese haters on Jul 14, 2015 at 10:51 pm

why blame the govt??? these ass holes should be thought with morale and sivic…. most of the time, this shit happen anywhere, it’s always these slit eyes race ppl… EVERYWHERE! ! !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
      • stupid msian cars on Jul 16, 2015 at 12:20 pm

Duh! Go back to school!

• stupid msian cars on Jul 16, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Duh! Go back to school!
        Go figure it out if you have the ability. You speak like a jaguh kampong. Live and work in a first world country and you will know why. Your knowledge is so shallow. Typical msian….who thinks this country is so great that it can run on auto mode.
        And when did I ever mentioned anything about racial ? Duh. Wake up mate.

• Nothing to do with government.. What 300 ringgit can do damage to Mercedes owner.. Self conscious

• stupid msian cars on Jul 16, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Duh! Go back to school. Your knowledge is so shallow. Typical jaguh kampong. You think this country can run on auto mode? If so no one needs education. Maybe this parking spot is for you….maybe.
        RM300 may not deter idiotic drivers but POINTS DEMERIT will!
        Please read what I have posted carefully ….. Sigh.
        Msians are always complaining on the sub root and not to the root of the problems. Pathetic.

• Anti-pati on Jul 15, 2015 at 7:42 am

If you’re dependent on the government to feed you some sense of morality & civic mindedness, then it’s patently clear that the problem is YOU.

• stupid msian cars on Jul 16, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Duh! Go back to school.
        You are only a jaguh kampong and your knowledge is very shallow. I am not going to waste my time explaining. You go figure it out.

• Gberd on Jul 14, 2015 at 6:57 pm

Create a hall of shame chart and post it every where !!!

• Lot2815 on Jul 14, 2015 at 7:14 pm

Holofanboi… Some OKU prefer not to be helped, but some do require help. We didnt know which one will be coming to the place. Let the OKU parking exist to help the needy ones. The one that doesnt need help like your GF’s Uncle can park where he see convenient for him. Just dont summarise everyone is the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • 3rdPartyView on Jul 14, 2015 at 7:55 pm

why that is a need to cover out the number plate, let the owner feel the shame.

• Bawak kereta besar,
    Tapi otak kecik.

• chinese haters on Jul 14, 2015 at 10:48 pm

again!!!!!!! chinese!!! just LOVE to cause chaos everywhere!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
  • YPLAA Facebook on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:55 pm

Plate number is WTS808

• Jarred on Jul 15, 2015 at 5:25 am

The uncle just made big money. He wants to show who’s boss with his Mercedes-Benz.

• What is the requirement to park there?
    1. Any disabled person either permenant or temporary?
    2. Only car with sticker or not
    3. Registered with jkm or not
    4. Disablee himself only or anybody that drive the disabled person
    5. Disabled only those using wheel chair or any disability I.e deft, lost one toe etc

• ajo haterz on Jul 15, 2015 at 8:45 am

ganz…can i suggest no 6?

6) Healthy in body physical condition but mentally disturbed person. Dont know the meaning of OKU parking lot.

• dennis lim on Jul 15, 2015 at 10:36 am

Like this comment if you cannot prove this Mercedes E-Class coupe is not a handicapped person.
    Don’t judge a book by it’s cover.
    Did you seen the person parked and came down is not an OKU ?
    Or you are just simply judging an OKU cannot drive an E Class coupe just because you cannot afford it?

• Anti-pati on Jul 15, 2015 at 12:55 pm

Cars that are used by OKU can be identified through the OKU sticker. This car doesn’t have it.

• stupid msian cars on Jul 16, 2015 at 12:36 pm

From the comments posted there are truly lots of OKU in this country!
    Go figure it out.

• Selfish and uneducated idiot!