myLesen to help motorcyclists without licences – JPJ

Motorcyclist

A new myLesen programme will commence at the beginning of September to assist motorcyclists currently without a valid licence in attaining the proper documents they require, Bernama reports.

According to the director-general of the Road Transport Department (JPJ), Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad, the programme will kick off in the Klang Valley from September onwards to assist some 3.6 million riders without a valid licence – it was reported that a majority of the riders are teenagers.

“Through operations that had been carried out, we have detected various traffic offences such as not having a valid driving licence committed by motorcylists, mainly teens,” he said, “So we are introducing this programme to help about 3.6 million people who should be having the licence,” the director-general added.

It will teach motorcyclists safe riding techniques and the traffic laws before they can be granted with a proper licence. The programme fees are expected to cost less than existing rates, and it’s also aimed at ensuring that the riders are protected by insurance coverage. The programme is part of efforts to reduce accident rates according to the director-general.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• fast5 on Aug 14, 2015 at 2:07 pm

With this will produce more “superman mat rempat”???

• Shocking 3.6 Million on Aug 14, 2015 at 4:08 pm

What??? 3.6 Million. You mean 3.6 Million? What has our corrupted polis and JPJ been doing? Even simple like this also they cannot sort out, how to sort our RM2.6 billion corruption?

3.6 thousand I understand. 36 thousand I understand. 3.6 million?

And yet, when car knock a motor because of the motor’s negligence, polis always blame the car and the car has court case and has to pay hundreds of thousands (despite no licence)

• Open Letter to Datuk Ismail on Aug 14, 2015 at 4:17 pm

Hello Datuk, if your JPJ officers and PDRM were doing their job the past 20 years, the number won’t escalate to such propotions. 3. 6 Million?????

So, now, I can believe when people say PDRM and JPJ are always on the take and 9 out 10 Polis stopping a car, it can be settled with duit kopi.

• Corrupted Country on Aug 14, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Big man already steal RM2.6 billion. That is when he kena tangkap. Before that, he would have much much more ie when the tupai was happily jumping colecting nuts before he was caught. Taib alone got US$20 billion (RM80 billion) and they reward him with Tunship and make him Governor.

Where they got time to do enforcement on motorbikes? That is why snatch thieves are so rampant. Cannot trace them at all cause no licence.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 14, 2015 at 3:11 pm

I really fail to see how this would benefit the general public.

So now I should just walk into JPJ and request a B licence. (used to have it, but expired long time ago)? Or does this apply to Mat Rempits only?

• nabill (Member) on Aug 14, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Ooh shoot… More bikes….

• Saya pun nak on Aug 14, 2015 at 4:02 pm

How about free upgrade from B2 to B full license?

• milion on Aug 14, 2015 at 4:42 pm

3.6 million person without lesen x rm50 per person = $$$. director general already imagine his new mercedes :D

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 14, 2015 at 4:43 pm

Shit the government has gone mad by breeding LEGAL suicidal rempits. Parents – don’t come crying to me when I knock one of these ‘Superman’ to kingdom come.

• Rufban on Sep 03, 2015 at 1:14 pm

Hw to daftar tis programs my lesen