JPJ planning nationwide RFID vehicle tracking system

roadtaxshj 093

If the Road Transport Department’s (JPJ) plan comes to fruition, all vehicles nationwide will have to be fitted with a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) tracker by 2018. JPJ claims that it will allow real-time monitoring of traffic conditions and help police track down criminals, The Sun reports.

While this may raise privacy concerns, Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Aziz Kaprawi told the daily that the use of RFID tech will herald a new era for vehicle security in Malaysia and could be the answer to combat vehicle theft and cloned vehicle syndicates. It will also work well with the Works Ministry and Malaysian Highway Authority’s plan to establish free flow multi-lanes without toll plazas.

For all vehicles including motorcycles, the tracker will feature a “smart code” tag embedded into the road tax sticker. The code can be tracked by the relevant authorities and satellites. It will be designed to shatter at any tampering attempt and can transmit an alert to the JPJ and police should one try to remove it.

“The RFID implementation will be done in stages and will probably be completed within three years, starting with newly registered vehicles and road tax renewal of vehicles,” Aziz said. He is optimistic that by 2018, JPJ would have completed vehicle data synchronisation with other agencies including the Immigration Department and Touch n Go.

Plus-gateless-gantry-02The authorities are already testing a gateless gantry toll system using RFID technology

RFID tech will be put to test soon, via the upcoming Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) implementation at the country’s immigration checkpoints.

“For now, we are using the passive RFID with readers at immigration checkpoints for the upcoming VEP exercise in Johor Baru. This October, we will begin the pilot stage of the RFID for VEP tags for all types of vehicles – both local and foreign – which travel in and out of Johor’s border checkpoints,” Aziz said, explaining that the RFID tag is one-third the size of our road tax sticker and will be placed on the windscreen.

“We want to make sure that the new system won’t create congestion at border checkpoints and toll plazas. A one-off fee of RM10 for five years will be imposed for foreign private cars. Motorcycles and commercial vehicles are exempted from paying any fee,” he added.

The idea wasn’t cooked up yesterday. RFID implementation was first mooted by the Transport Ministry in 2005. Then, it was reported that the RFID was a proposed “MyKad system for vehicles” as part of the government’s Automated Enforcement System (AES) with 700 surveillance cameras.

In 2013, Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar urged Transport Ministry to revitalise RFID or “e-plate” technology as used in the US, UK and Australia to help eradicate vehicle theft and registration forgeries frequently used by criminals. Be careful, big brother is watching!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• meh, first you need to improve your roadtax sticker quality before talking about rfid dvd vcd etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • UMNO crony Very Happy on Aug 25, 2015 at 12:44 pm

This, like any other system, like IC chip, passport chip etc etc, it is done because some UMNO fellow wants to make big money.

This is the usual case. There will be no tender or anything like that. Here, one RFID will cost say RM10 but the Government of Malaysia will be charged RM100 for each ID.

Guess whose money will be paid for this over inflated ID? It is your money and my money.

That is how Malaysia works. Every new idea is actually a contract for some monkey to screw the rakyat further for more money. And 99% of the time, it is some UMNO crony that will get this contract.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 5
      • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Aug 25, 2015 at 1:30 pm

One man can songlap 2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor

what about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we get low spec lousy cars with super high prices. Our guardians are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get good and safe cars that are also reasonably priced.

• Areyousure on Aug 25, 2015 at 5:12 pm

And please track down motorcycles without valid roadtax and insurance too.

• kington on Aug 25, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Yes, it seems like it coz the piggie bank and is rarely used properly for development FOR the people, more like a few of them sitting together and think “how to get a share of this?”.

• erwinkarim on Aug 25, 2015 at 12:14 pm

too much privacy concern on this.

better to put on commercial vehicles first (trucks, buses, taxi), they are kind of semi-public infra

to gauge for real-time traffic monitoring, you just need to take taxi,buses and trucks as data points as sample. no need to take entire array of private cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Sapu Sapu Malaysia on Aug 25, 2015 at 12:59 pm

All this RFID all not important.

The question we must be asking is, where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices?

Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well know fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?

Najib also said that by 2020, we would become high income nation. He said our GDP per Capita would be US$48,000. That would mean, per month, the average Malaysian would be earning US$4000 (RM15,000) per month.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak said this was pure lies. He said it is an utter lie because 78% all EPF contributors are earning RM1200 and below.

Do you see the average Malaysian earning RM15k per month by 2020?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
  • policeman on Aug 25, 2015 at 12:38 pm

Sure rosak after a few months then must pay fees to get it replaced.

• I wonder who gets the contract from this

• John Doe on Aug 25, 2015 at 12:49 pm

Stupid . Such a breach of privacy to put on private cars. They have no right to track private cars. Now you know why alot of malaysians are migrating especially the chinese and indians. Losing hope in this country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • If this can reduce car theft, I’m all for it. Put up trackers at all toll gantries, overpass, overhead displays. Would be better if they can embed the chip into the car. Smuggling out would drop to almost zero.

• thief on Aug 25, 2015 at 5:25 pm

if the rfid is put on the sticker, i doubt it will reduce car theft. thief can just remove it when stealing car.

• Monitoring? Aiya, should test it on Malaysia flights first lah……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • jobless on Aug 25, 2015 at 1:13 pm

no no no…PDPA ACT…no right to monior private vehicles or our location..why not spend time to fix all the roads full of holes tat r killing innocent motorist and damaging our cars

• alldisc on Aug 25, 2015 at 1:13 pm

that RFID thing is better not at road tax disc but rather slip it on the dashboard or something. behind the rear view mirror

no need to have visible/phyisical road tax anymore

• Really on Aug 29, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Read the article properly. It’s going to be on the windscreen.

• Improve road quality 1st lah..track here,track there.
    Cakap aje!

• Pradhivan on Aug 25, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Okay.. But why all vehicles? What is going to happen to our privacy? How are we going to be secured.. These questions have to be answered

• LITTLEMIN on Aug 25, 2015 at 1:19 pm

And the insider of the car theft syndicate in JPJ will find the car they want from the JPJ system and trace where is it. Can choose color somemore. So much easier, save alot of time and hassle.

• FireAce on Aug 25, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Monitoring traffic? Don’t tell me that you don’t know which locations are traffic jam hot spot at certain time. After monitor what you can/will do? Send traffic police? What can they do when most of the time it is simply because there are too many cars on the road? Do we normal driver get ato access these traffic information? (we use waze anyway, no point)

Tracking car theft/criminal? You think criminals so stupid to leave the RFID intact? What stoping them from jamming it or put another RFID in the car? How you differentiate between reading error and illegal tampering? If you cannot read the RFID, how you know you found the vehicle that you wanted to find?

Look, we are not stupid. Why don’t you just tell it straight out that the BN government want to monitor who attended gathering (e.g. Bersih 4.0, etc), which goverment servant is at DAP/PAS/Pakatan talks, etc (By the fact their car is at the proximity of the event location).

Next you will want RFID planted under every citizens skin? Stright can identify the person, cannot argue people borrow your car. Even more effective that way right? North Korea, ISIS, Taliban will come to Malaysia to study “Citizen Control”. BRAVO BN!!

• geng songkok tinggi on Aug 25, 2015 at 3:16 pm

another money source from rakyat to gomen crony..

• Cepatnya nak implement RFID, sebab crony dah dapat supplier. As for child seat enforcement, don’t know when the crony can get supplier for child seat.

• sheeet..cannot bring my mistress out like this. kena pakai basikal lah ni…

• Stupid Proposal on Aug 25, 2015 at 4:32 pm

Breach of privacy is an issue. But how do the ministry guarantee our safety since they can track down where are we? malaysia police and jpj officers no better than thieves… they can do daylight robberies by asking “duit kopi” openly and if this thing deployed, i can’t imagine what this bunch of “gangster” will do to us… go your house and claim you have traffic offence? duit kopi? later i bet they want more than that…

• Sathya on Aug 30, 2015 at 12:25 am

Why not abolish tolls altogether??!

• The REAL reasons for this to be implemented is…

1) Saman people who speed. If they know what time you enter a toll and leave a toll, they can calculate your speed. No escape.

2) Political – Tracking opposition members for crackdowns.