2016 Kia Cerato facelift will be “an almost new car”

2016_Kia_Cerato_003

Kia’s C-segment sedan is set to receive a major revamp in terms of its design. The 2016 Kia Cerato facelift will “be an almost new car – it’s a significant change,” Kevin Hepworth, communications manager for Kia Australia told CarAdvice.

“There’s some big metal changes to it, front and rear. It’s quite significant,” Hepworth said, adding that the interior will also be getting similar enhancements. However, there was no mention of tech, powertrain or drivetrain changes.

In the set of spyshots here, the Cerato facelift is seen sporting a whole new face, one that’s somewhat reminiscent of the latest Kia Carnival‘s front end. The rest of the car doesn’t look all that different, so we’ll have to wait and see to find out what’s so “new” about it.

As to when the updated Cerato will be unveiled, official dates have yet to be confirmed. But, Hepworth did say that it will come after the Australian launch of the new Sportage, which is expected to be introduced in the first quarter of 2016.

Current Kia Cerato

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 28, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Come 2017, there will be lots of dai lan ngongs calling me to beg me accept this trash for 25k just to trade in an Altis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
    • UMW Liars- No RV Toyota on Aug 28, 2015 at 1:01 pm

We all know abut your lies. Now Toyota has the worst RV. Altis 1.8 2013 September model, low mileage and accident free asking for RM65k. I call the used car dealer, he said even RM60k also he settle.

New Altis RM139k. In less than 2 years, Altis can drop more than 60% of the price.

So what RV you talking about? Also, Kia and Hyundai now got better RV than Toyota.

You have been found out Sam Loo! People know your tricks.

Go ask your boss to put VSC lah in your Toyotas, maybe then, it will have better RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • Same L0rrrr on Aug 28, 2015 at 1:11 pm

Flooded car of course can settle for such price. When the price is so low you still buy, blame yourself dai lan ngong when you get a problematic car.

As I always said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
        • boringtoyota on Aug 28, 2015 at 2:49 pm

I thought Toyota brand is so good that is flood proof.

• Cry like Dumex Baby on Aug 28, 2015 at 4:06 pm

Porr Same Lorrrr. Now panic. Everybody knows Toyota is the one with worst RV and Worst safety.

Now, even old uncles don’t want Camry. Altis nobody wants and Vios, the youngsters all go for City because it has VSC

Toyota salesman cry like Dumex baby. Let us all buy pampers for Sam Lorrrr

• ToyotaROcks on Aug 28, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Nice , can buy cheap altis .
        wait .. K5 Segment D also around RM139k after discount ,New altis RM139k and no discount ?
        overpriceeeee altissss
        RM50k i will buy , 2nd hand altis .

• Mark Tan on Aug 29, 2015 at 5:15 pm

iPhone, no discount.

• camtakpro on Aug 29, 2015 at 11:47 pm

The K5 discount is to tally with the discount on the paper spec, that noisy and rough 2.0L D segment nobody wants.

And you know why the 6 speed auto is maintenance free? Because the car can’t even out-lived the gearbox.

Even atap Vios is quieter than K5.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 28, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Wow what a way to anger your existing customer base. No one wants to see their obsolete so quickly in terms of design.

• Excited!

• Toyota No VSC Car on Aug 28, 2015 at 1:11 pm

Poor Sam Loo, have to spend time masturbating in the UMW toilet because sales floor got no walk ins anymore

• Toyota No VSC Car on Aug 28, 2015 at 1:16 pm

All the UMW salesman now feeling suicidal. Until today, you can hardly see the 2014 Altis on the road. More than a year launched, hardly can see it. but Cerato quite a lot.

• DonkeyKong on Aug 28, 2015 at 12:49 pm

But still with that weird reverse-facing character line at the side that makes the car look like it’s going backwards while standing still..

• Hyundai/Kia/SsangYong/Chevrolet/Chery all same category in term of RV. Lost 95% of value over my 10 year old Kia. A ten year old Toyota still withhold it’s 35% value.

• albert on Aug 28, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Local Kia distributor just chopped 300 staff.
    The balance 700 are shivering.
    They are in no mood to tighten all the screws and nuts.
    You still want to support the dead tycoon’s sons who spent a lot of time fighting over power and money?
    Naza has been around more than a decade and yet their sales…..shambolic.Resurgent Mazda has overtaken them.
    I wont be surprise,come Christmas…they will chop another 200 staff cos car sales are receeding.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 28, 2015 at 3:59 pm

The one who terminate staff is Naza Automotive Manufacturing Sdn Bhd aka NAM..Kia distributor for bolehland is Naza-Kia Malaysia Sdn Bhd..

• Albert on Aug 28, 2015 at 7:27 pm

Kamunting Zoo Member,whats the difference?Aren’t they inter related.
        When sales drop badly,those dudes at Gurun got no cars to assemble.So,you think the dead tycoon’s sons gonna allow them to have 5 teh tarik sessions daily,like whats going on at proton?

• kzm (Member) on Aug 28, 2015 at 8:58 pm

Obviously it different. if 1 subsidiary has problem it does not mean other subsidiary is in trouble. Then if Pos Malaysia terminate worker because less pipu sent letter mean national car brand P oso is in trouble? They from same parent company fyi.

• Bodow on Aug 28, 2015 at 9:50 pm

The difference is one is a manufacturing company, the other one is a distributor. Basic thing also can get wrong.. No wonder people like u are so b*d*h..

• Pls read carefully, the manufacturing is for assembles Peugeot & Kia models. Which means sales are vey low have no choice to cut down budget.

• Golfer on Aug 28, 2015 at 2:26 pm

This is as good as saying “the current car was made so badly that we had to remake almost the whole car” LMAO.

• jobless on Aug 28, 2015 at 3:53 pm

tats why smart people get Toyoda Honda…buy these cold blooded cars and u will feel like a guinea pig afterwards..gyd example was the Forte when launched wit 4 speed auto than later buyers got 6 Speed…VW Renault Fird all offer zero percent interest or cash back or big discount for 2014 models how u feel if u had bought one earlier

• there is no perfect car…evryone has their own preference in term of badge, price, safety…just follow ur six sense and don’t regret will do…peace

• Warning have been given to Potential Koup Buyer launched recently.

New model already coming, buying Koup is really not smart.

• frank on Nov 15, 2015 at 4:32 pm

car sales slowed down since apr. all brand have slower sales. all started discount mania to clear old stock before year end.
    kia is no exception and being naza main brand, it hit them hard in gurun. Peugeot not getting good publicity eventhough starts out well with 408 and 508. so nam layoff is a sign of competitive automotive sector. good for consumer challenging for workers