Private vehicles offering Uber services to be blacklisted, banned from renewing road tax – report

uber-x-car

Private vehicles caught offering Uber services will be blacklisted with respective owners then barred from renewing its road tax, according to a report by theSun. The English-language daily states that the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) has finally found a solution to the ongoing problem with illegal taxis without having to resort to undercover operations – or depending on traps set up by other taxi drivers.

“For example, after a certain private car has been identified from the digital log in the Uber app alongside solid evidence of video and photo of their operations, the authority will then send out a notice to the car owner to attend an ‘interview’ with the SPAD enforcement division,” a government source told the publication.

“They are also required to bring along the alleged cars for inspection,” added said source. The highlighted vehicles may then be subject to confiscation as a result of the violation of the Land Public Transport Act 2010. Should the owner fail to turn up his/her car, the commission will then “send out another notice and if there is still no response, SPAD will utilise all available channels to locate the private vehicle.”

uberX

The blacklisting process which, as mentioned, involves banning the owners from renewing the car’s road tax will executed in conjunction with the Road Transport Department (JPJ). “SPAD is using the same method that police employ to get traffic offenders to settle outstanding summonses,” said the source.

As to why this particular method was employed specifically on Uber operatives, a senior SPAD official commented that “this (the method) is due to the limitation in using the credit cards for Uber. Once a driver is nabbed, Uber will immediately blacklist the credit card of the passenger. This hampers our operations to nab more Uber drivers. But we will also apply this method for GrabCar soon.”

In a separate incident last week, a group of taxi drivers held another protest outside the headquarters of SPAD in Kelana Jaya. Said gathering saw the assembled drivers hand over a memorandum to the body. Since the start of 2015, The Star has reported that a total of 225 illegal taxis have been seized.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Oct 05, 2015 at 9:37 am

when the big guys pocket kena kacau, every single action they can come up with.

why not do the same operation on those cement lorries that often spills up cement on major roads?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 11
    • take action against taxi on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:32 am

take action against taxi 1st laa! jgn wayang saja! damn all this politician now like ‘cacing-panas’ as we kacau their pocket..

please be united and don’t take taxi. boycott them straight away and use only Uber and Grabcar.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 7
  • Dun show that ugly and lousy Vios. No other luxury car in Malaysia meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 26
  • Plainbullshit on Oct 05, 2015 at 9:48 am

What a prick, this will only make us hate government and taxi more. The bottom line is, no one can force us to make the choice on transportation, we will retaliate until the end.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 9
  • UberBlack Customer on Oct 05, 2015 at 9:50 am

Another scare mongering tactic. As if the country don’t have any law that you simply can hold a person to renew roadtax and license. Remember last time JPJ tried to do same thing during blacklist ops that also scaring people into cannot renewing their roadtax? The people fought it in the court and win. And after the case – JPJ cannot block people from renewing the roadtax / license even if you’re blacklisted. Who will be responsible if any accident happen due to govt agency denial the request of car owner to renew the necessary roadtax?

Govt should just allow Uber / GrabCAR to operate legally like other countries in the world. You cannot held new improvement and innovation. Taxi service has proved to be rejected by the rakyat! let rakyat enjoy better services provided by this new Ridesharing apps.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 10
    • just do like Japan Uber does…
      their business in japan as travel agent not taxi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • i think they more they do it, the more people DON’T TAKE taxi anymore. rakyat is not stupid.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 9
  • BOYRACER on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:10 am

Typical mindset.Instead of solving the root of the problem,they (the taxi drivers) protest here and there.Did they actually ask themselves why are Uber and Grabcar more popular.Maybe instead of doing nothing but asking assistance from SPAD they should improve their service and perhaps follow how their competitors doing it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
  • Chong Yew on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:29 am

FTW… no demand, no supply!

Get RM20 off your Uber ride with this promo code: ffb8msfrue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • SPAD = IDIOTS on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:37 am

SPAD trying to protect their cronies licenses and encouraging taxi drivers to rob ppl money… This is what bolehland have become… Oni care about money, money n money. No quality, safety to ppl of Malaysia. Expected as only idiots running our gomen! Sorry to say state idiots in small letters! Its nasi lemak IDIOTS!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
  • Nancy on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:49 am

Damn it! if only they were to put more energy in improving taxi services here as they are in eliminating competition, just maybe, Malaysian taxi drivers wont make it to the top spot of the “worst taxi drivers in the world” list next year!

• UMGGOK on Oct 05, 2015 at 10:56 am

Aiya ,
    when they refuses to make changes and banned all those who keep improve / better den them.
    Just like what chinese/malays/indians who work hard for the future
    but they called it racist!cina balik cina !
    just because want to protect group of cronies and jibjib
    simple thing je !!!!

• halfey on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:16 am

This won’t stop me from using Uber. I’ll try to grab one ride this weekend just because…. Actually screw that, I’ll do it just to piss of SPAD and the unethical traditional taxis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Sky Soh on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:47 am

Why the picture inside this news put a Toyota Hybrid Prius ! Is unfair to Prius users ! Please remove the picture !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Henry on Oct 05, 2015 at 12:00 pm

There is no need to kill a mosquito with a sledgehammer. You have plenty of existing laws to use.

• tokmoh. on Oct 05, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Alangkah indahnya jikalau SPAD bersungguh-sungguh camni untuk basmi teksi hampeh tak pakai meter, enggan pergi tempat kerana jam/etc…

Come KTM Subang Jaya, I double dare SPAD to do it! Free flow buffet with all those taxi drivers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • Farhan on Oct 05, 2015 at 12:53 pm

Why catch it..have you seen the quality of our taxi compare to the uber taxi..very big differences..abolish the taxi permit system to the big company..let the permit issues to the driver directly..reduce the cost of operating the taxi by 50% to allow them to compete fairly with uber.
    FYi, I support the taxi system..however, it was their attitude that cause their service to go down..I called a taxi last week to pick me up and they let me wait for an hour..at last I resort to uber to pick me up which cause me to wait 5 min only..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Jay Law on Oct 05, 2015 at 1:08 pm

Crony oh Kroni

• Crasher7 on Oct 05, 2015 at 1:11 pm

This will make people avoid taxis more! Taxi drivers always wanna act like a bully

• Kenji on Oct 05, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Change the term ‘fare’ to ‘donation’.

• ben yap on Oct 05, 2015 at 5:01 pm

come and catch those uber drivers if you can. Uber will always outsmart SPAD.

Spat (puih!) on spad.

• Joshua Lee on Oct 05, 2015 at 6:01 pm

I wonder why don’t they use the same tactic to catch all the illegal Ah Loong’s, and all those vandalism by the roadsides, with all their paintings/stickers? Can someone please explain?

• Harinee on Oct 05, 2015 at 6:30 pm

Taxi driver’s should be more responsive not take passenger as and when they want or not using meter. Why now? Is it becaus you have competitor? What SPAD was doing with the numerous complaints which was made? Why now?

• Bolehlandhowtomaju on Oct 05, 2015 at 11:42 pm

All in a day of work – hampering efficiency, improvement and competition.

• Very misleading… SPAD or jpj…

• befunknote on Oct 06, 2015 at 6:24 am

You guys are idiots, Uber is not the problem, taxis are. It’s an antiquated business model, adapt or die. Don’t just protest and demand they be taken off the road. If your taxi service was superior to Uber then people would not use Uber. Your service sucks, that’s why people don’t use it.

• truthful on Oct 06, 2015 at 10:13 am

firstly 95% of the taxi driver overcharge the customer . most dont want to use meter . secondly the goverment should be ashamed of your administration ok IFyour rakyat have enough to eat I believe no one will need to go earn extra buck and side income like uber to sustained a life

• Johnny Walker on Oct 06, 2015 at 11:58 am

Let suggest to SPAD a better solution.
    http://spad.spab.gov.my/eApps/sdmscasepool/SdmsCasePool/add.do

• Joe Duhamel on Oct 06, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Look all the effort, time, and wasted expense trying to get in the way of a legal, safe, free enterprise from providing a legal service that people want at a better price that the established businesses struggle to compete with. This is solid proof of how corrupt gov’t is. Rise against!!!

• Not a uber supporter on Oct 07, 2015 at 9:49 am

First of all, our local taxi majority are quite rude, taxi condition sucks (not all but majority), especially midnight trip, the car smells like the driver had petai for supper, and sometimes i worry that the engine would fall off from the car… frankly if our local taxi is really really good, uber wont even exist in malaysia… falls back to the attitude of the driver how the present them self and their car… i have seen some good taci driver, really good and clean.. but that taxi was only 3 days old… if you wana bann uber, taxi driver think again why people like uber more than local taxi… think about it..