Driven Web Series 2015 #2: Choosing the right SUV – Honda HR-V vs Mazda CX-5 GL vs Kia Sportage 2WD

We’re back with a new episode of Driven Web Series 2015, powered by Petronas Primax 95 with Advanced Energy Formula. This week, we’re looking at Honda Malaysia’s latest sales phenomenon, the HR-V.

It absolutely dominated the sales chart, racking up as many as 18,000 bookings in just five months. Amazing, considering that the B-segment SUV class was virtually non-existent before it came about. Such a success it was, that other brands decided to introduce cheaper versions of their C-segment SUVs to go against it.

Mazda was first to bite, with a cut-price GL version of its CX-5, sold at just under RM126,000 – not far off the top-spec RM115k HR-V 1.8 V (on-the-road without insurance prices). Kia followed suit with the Sportage 2WD, also priced at RM115k – a near-RM19k drop compared to the 4WD model.

Question is, should you still buy the HR-V, or look at these bigger, now more competitively-priced alternatives? Watch the episode above to find out. For a closer look at the cars’ specification, compare the three on CarBase.my.

On a side note, there won’t be a new episode of Driven next week, as our air date coincides with Awal Muharram. The season will continue the following week, on October 21. In the meantime, tell us what you think of the season so far in the comments section below.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 07, 2015 at 9:11 pm

Don’t be hesitating… just get a VW Tiguan, problem solved….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 95
    • suomynona on Oct 07, 2015 at 9:59 pm

Aaand how much is the Tiguan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
      • All 3 cars stupid. We need Alza or Exora with 7 seats because Malaysians are like bunnies, they have 5 to 6 kids each and just know how to reproduce.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 65
        • Same L0rrrr on Oct 08, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Ppl talk about SUV, john so “smart” talk about MPV. Why not bring out a van/bus? or caravan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
          • for the 1st time iam agreed with you Same LOrrrr

• makbapakjohn on Jun 24, 2017 at 10:58 pm

eh bodoh punya john.kau tu dah la kecik kecik bodoh taknak dengar cakap makbapak.sekarang mau menyusahkan orang lain.pergi mati la sohai

• Guest on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:47 pm

yea, different price range. 1.4 tiguan costs nearly 180k but I heard it having promotion recently.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:27 pm

Why get a Tiguan? What for? Idiot..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
    • Same L0rrr on Oct 08, 2015 at 8:44 am

Kimchi’s car is bad RV! Buy Toyota Rush preowned better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 49
      • karam singh on Oct 09, 2015 at 5:08 am

Coffin dinosaur Rush ?
        sorry, but I’ll pass.
        Too much body roll yet don’t have stability control,
        perfect formula for coffin.
        BTW how many Rush sold ?

• Correct Segment on Oct 08, 2015 at 8:53 am

B-seg SUV ?

Honda HRV
      Hyundai Creta iX25
      Ford EcoSport
      Mazda CX-3
      Nissan Juke
      Kia Soul
      Renault Duster
      Chevrolet Trax
      Jeep Renegade

• Darren on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:23 am

So that you’ll have CO2 emission problem ?

• Reply on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:38 pm

Malaysia is not affected. Even though it really happen in Malaysia, I think it’s not a big issue since Malaysia emission control is nearly non existent.

• Andrew See on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:20 pm

Cannot compare la! Bro… Tiguan is at the higher range compare to those 3 cars!

• Honda = Tin milo. Kia = no resale value and bad fuel consumption. Mazda ugly interior,long waiting parts and no resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 66
    • DonkeyKong on Oct 07, 2015 at 9:20 pm

That is why i say get a VW Tiguan…girl also will run to you…and our emissions is legal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 59
      • Hglim on Oct 07, 2015 at 9:47 pm

Tiguan so many problem….3 yrs car only the engine oil can drop below safe level….hv 2 top up engine oil, wat the shame

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
        • Either on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:36 pm

Tiguan running twincharged, obviously consume more engine oil. I believe not only tiguan having this issue, any others brands running tiwn turbo or charger also having this common issue.

• Andrew See on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:18 pm

Donkey Kong,
          I believe you never own turbo charge vehicle, that why you don’t know that turbo charge car such as Tiguan required to top up engine oil from time to time. Well, I forgive you for me stu…

• Andrew See on Oct 09, 2015 at 2:18 pm

Donkey Kong,
          I believe you never own turbo charge vehicle, that why you don’t know that turbo charge car such as Tiguan required to top up engine oil from time to time. Well, I forgive you for me stu…

• DPCraft on Oct 07, 2015 at 9:58 pm

Yeah new Mazda interior nicer, this one looks like the 90s

• Second that! In Indonesia, Mazda owner also suffer from long waiting time for spare parts and the crazy high price…

• Subaru xv?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • Anual on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:11 pm

Yah … how would subaru xv stands compare.to the above 3 models?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • applegreen on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:54 pm

they are comparing between 3 2WD-SUVs. Subaru XV is special case

• DonkeyKong on Oct 08, 2015 at 10:58 am

But they’re comparing SUVs in the price range. The XV is right there within the same price range, although it’s essentially a compact C-segment crossover more than an SUV.

• spongewai on Oct 07, 2015 at 9:25 pm

B-segment SUV against 2 C-segment SUV

ouu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:41 pm

Hi, we believe that Malaysians buy cars based on price, not segments. As such, these three fall in the same price category – HR-V 1.8 V at RM115k, Kia Sportage 2WD at RM115k and Mazda CX-5 GL at RM126k. Hope this clears things.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 18
      • Hafriz and Harith Should come out in the coming driven series!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • Gold Avanza on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:57 am

Yeah bring back Hafriz and Harvinder..the original Driven badasses.

Can give the new chaps a chance but please cut down the length of the skit. Too lengthy la the time machine joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • brianxyz on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:24 am

Half true. If just purely on pricing, other pricing factors should be factored in are Servicing Cost, Warranty Period, Fuel Consumption, Resale Value and etc. Basically, the total cost of ownership let’s say for 5 years.
        If just OTR price is the only factor, we would have seen a lot of Great Wall M4 on our roads now but it is not the case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
        • DonkeyKong on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:01 am

GO Motor’s quota of 2500 units of locally-sold M4s have been fully booked. Not many are on the road because assembly and delivery had only commenced recently. The ones that were on the road are the pre-facelift models which were either CBU or assembled in small quantities.

However, these days around Subang, PJ and KL, I’m noticing more of the facelifted M4s on the roads. Looks like delivery of these new vehicles has picked up.

• RicoT on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:25 am

Why not wait for the new CX-3 this year end?

• Twisted logic on Oct 08, 2015 at 8:27 am

Proton Preve should be compared with Vios J also right? Suprima also versus Honda Jazz. Similar price range.

Screwed your logic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • reddevil04 on Oct 19, 2015 at 10:58 am

These days interest towards SUV have grown and I believe partly due to the pricing structure. Can you guys do a shootout of the SUVs with 2WD range like CRV, X-Trail, Sportage, CX-5, ASX and why not include the XV (due to its price range).

Considerations on pricing, looks – interior and exterior, leg room & boot space and family carrier to these models.

• Lam Soo on Oct 07, 2015 at 9:46 pm

The CX-5 that you were driving was a high spec model, not GL spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 07, 2015 at 9:54 pm

Hi, yes you are right. But since the differences are mostly superficial, it did not affect our verdict in any way. The conclusion was based on the GL’s lowered equipment list.
      Thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 10
      • How to justify since the driver is not driving GL spec but need to make a conclusion for that? I drank Coke but I make a conclusion for Coke Light ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
        • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:39 pm

There really isn’t a significant difference between the GL and what is shown here. Not in looks, interior quality, space, performance, ride or handling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 14
          • I think it is still different. My bro bought vios j and my friend bought vios g, I got experience to sit and drive on both spec. I can feel the differences, obviously. I think review must be use the same spec car, it is more fair and more direct to us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 36
          • Just because you think so, does not mean it is true. In some cars, there are big differences in interior, some cars there aren’t. Apples and oranges.

• Ananz on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:48 am

So your butt dyno must be really great. Can feel the difference between both cars with same chassis, engine, gearbox. The only obvious difference will be fabric seat vs leather seat in Vios J and G and leather wrapped steering wheel. Basically its the exact same car just that you are sitting on fabric or fake leather.
            Its still going to have same interior, drive the same, feel the same, same handling, same acceleration and top speed, same FC, same 2 airbags no ESC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • eeeriz on Oct 08, 2015 at 8:03 am

Hafriz is right. The only difference are the keyless entry, DRL, powered seat, navigation and front bumper sensors. That’s all. The rest especially the ride are the same. Yes, I have owned CX-5 myself. Tq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
          • Lim dont Kiasu la on Oct 08, 2015 at 3:59 pm

hafriz shud answer like eeeriz…wonder that lim really know the spec differences or not hahaha…

• Seriously. It would be best if you guys use the CX5 GL.
            You had me thought GL comes with leather seats.

• antaras on Oct 07, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Dude, you need to know what’s missing from the GL spec compared to the high spec. It’s really nothing much. Here, in case you’re lazy to search.
          http://www.carbase.my/car-comparison?id=8DtbYthau1,8BoKdr531A,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
      • What you said here makes no sense, Hafriz! Can you compare top spec Axia with lowest spec Iriz?

Or Saga SV with Axia E? They are in the same price range. This is ridiculous. If you are into this whole car blog thingy, make sure you take criticism with an open heart and not defending yourself with some illogical statements!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
        • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 08, 2015 at 10:39 am

Hi, we are approaching this from a buyer’s point of view.

If a person has a budget of around RM115k to RM125k for a new SUV, these are the three options near the top of his/her options list.

Yes, a cross-segment comparison may appear unfair, but in this case they are all priced the same, and they’re all pitched towards the same target market. Hence this comparison.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
        • Hafriz’s standpoint makes common sense actually and I can relate to that. If I were to allocate money in the range of RM115k to RM125k, I’d definitely look into 3 of the aforementioned models regardless of the segment to which each model belong. I have test driven all 3 models and you may consider doing so to allow you to make an educated comment where automotive posts are concerned

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
        • Replying to FFdude on Oct 08, 2015 at 4:07 pm

ITs their show…they have done research and know what they are doing…u can always do your own show if what u say is so true…another thing…if car quality isnt that far off they can compete in the same price range…thats y kia and mazda believed their cars can fight hrv in the price battle…but if the car’s quality is way below their competitor….do u think by lowering the price people will get attracted…fan boys maybe?

• Perdana4all on Oct 07, 2015 at 9:52 pm

Where is Hafiz? I more prefer him due to his honest and accurate review.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Perdana4all on Oct 07, 2015 at 9:54 pm

*..honest and accurate review

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • According to Paul Tan, he’s a bit too “Big Size” to appear in front of camera, and was summoned to keep fit before appearing on the video.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • lavenderguy on Oct 10, 2015 at 12:49 pm

u mean Hafiz or Paul Tan himself?
        anyway, as a viewer I don’t think it matters.This is not a macho/gym review show, it’s a car review show, as long as the car got enough torque/force to drag the man, the man’s weight shall not be a concern…
        =)

• Paul Tan on Oct 10, 2015 at 6:42 pm

That was just a joke because there were many trolls who spoke about weight in previous seasons.

Real reason is between managing the editorial team and doing the scripts for the season, Hafriz has no time to host as well.

• FaizalMisman on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:17 pm

Need your help to put script/subtitle on this attractive video for disable person. Thanks..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • assasinhoe on Oct 07, 2015 at 10:38 pm

what about hyundai tucson? pls say no to VW, damn many problems

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Tulan on Oct 07, 2015 at 11:26 pm

U got see new Tucson registration on the road. Hahaha

• Have a ever drive a vw before? How can you be so sure that vw is problematic? Judge by basher comment??? Real experience, I don’t see that any problem from my father’s Jetta.

• really no problem meh on Oct 08, 2015 at 4:11 pm

wowwww congratulations then…u bought (ur father did) a trouble free vw…

• hard decision on Oct 07, 2015 at 11:01 pm

Arrgh to be honest, for these 3, i’ll prefer HR-V. But due to long waiting list, better keep the money in my pocket, maintain current car, and wait for new crazy design on next year.
    How long is the waiting list for HR-V?
    Or just go for CX-3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • we want Hafriz and Harith for the next driven series!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • Greensaga on Oct 07, 2015 at 11:28 pm

A more accurate comparison would be between HRV and Subaru XV. I was looking forward to that. And another thing missing in this episode is the comparison between equipment level and safety features.

• Ananz on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:57 am

This episode is comparing SUV priced around 115-125k. Subaru XV is priced at 145k which would is way out of the range.
      It would be comparing a Mazda 2 vs Mazda 3 or City vs Civic.

• NumbNuts on Oct 07, 2015 at 11:29 pm

Guys, how about comparing it to Subaru XV, Ford Ecosport?

• SUV data on Oct 07, 2015 at 11:41 pm

Family= CX-5, Single = HRV and K pop fans= Sportage….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • Should have compared it with Mitsubishi Asx n Subs XV Both have its own pros n cons but all those are same price. Forget about Pugs 2008 n Ford Ecosport.

• policeman on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:19 am

Please kick out Gregory and bring back Mr Singh or Hafriz.

This guy is very annoying. Anyone else agrees?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
  • holofanboi on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:40 am

-About the presenters:

I think the reason I seem to dislike this season is how the hosts are all presenting on an equal plane. It feels like they are ALL sharing a script then distributing it to each other without considering the host’s charisma…

@Jonathan – Okay at the beginning and great at the final parts but total disaster in the middle of the show. I understand the ‘cartoony’ segment but it was poorly executed and I think it would’ve been better if that part was fully given to someone like Harvinder. Jonathan was awesome in previous seasons because he would occasionally break his gentlemen-act with a sudden outburst of frustration to another host.

@Gregory – Man I think the media group hates Gregory or something. His speech and presentation style was amazing during the Porsche Macan debut but ever since then all videos with him in it went downhill. He now speaks far too fast or too slow with poor pacing on what he is doing in the video. Find a way to make use of Gregory’s naturally serious stare and body shape! Maybe be more self centered?

@Adian – Didn’t expect this guy to be the best presenter this season (so far). Extremely approachable look and body language, Adian is surprisingly natural at presenting that it feels as if the camera isn’t pointed at him. The most likely presenter for the audience to relate for non-sports cars both in terms of energy and maturity. *ALSO DID NOT LEAN HIS BUTT ON THE HEADLAMPS GOOD JOB!*

-About the cars : Lol the moment I saw the CX-5 I knew this is not gonna be a fair fight xD. Its vastly superior to both the HR-V and Sportage in specs and comfort. The interior ain’t bad either.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
  • seancorr (Member) on Oct 08, 2015 at 1:02 am

To be honest I’d go with the HRV thanks to its higher kit count but the Sportage will be the one I should go with thanks to its larger interior space and the safety kit is still among the best. But as a wise buyer, one should wait until the RM is stable before purchase and the new Sportage is on the way too. I bet KIA Malaysia will surprise us with better spec for a competitive price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • sudonano (Member) on Oct 08, 2015 at 4:20 am

Finally, someone who has actually addressed the mediocre powertrain in the HR-V.

Sure, the mid spec models are very well priced, but for the high spec V grade, it doesn’t make a lot of sense compared to the CX5. I never really liked the Kia, sadly, on paper it is good, but in reality, it has too many compromises, and it doesn’t perform as well as the CX5.

I’m quite curious to try the updated transmission in the CX5, can confirm the outgoing one had a slow transmission.

PS: Should have had Uncle Sam Loo la, I think he’d be great!

• kington on Oct 08, 2015 at 10:15 am

Yup, the HR-V’s 1.8l engine gives out very little to the wheels when equipped with Honda’s CVT box, luckily we at least get the 1.8 while our neighbors down south don’t. Insulation in the HR-V is almost non-existent. Typical Honda and Toyota.

The Kia rolls quite a lot, i sat in one unit last year and quite honestly, my money would go to Mazda. I was quite disappointed with 6 speed box from Mazda especially in the 3, but hopefully the update brings in a bit more urgency in kickdown.

I’m sorry, i feel Gregory can be quite over-acting instead of acting. Cut all those nasty shouts and screams and we’d enjoy the video better. Sam Loo should be given a bit more ‘presence’ …. haha..

• nabill (Member) on Oct 08, 2015 at 12:52 pm

i agree too , i had a ride in the HRV recently n did notice that in the first 20 meters or so it does have a good brisk go n then everything just falls off , u have to got 4k rpm n more if u want abit of a go , and cvt being cvt , loud n whiny , and its pretty bouncy in the back too , i think HRV sells of brand and packaging , not so much on drivetrain or plasticky interior , i can see why the cx5 is successful , being a CKD helps the price , n frankly its everywhere now , i cant help but to think those cuv’s do eat sales up from their equivalent sedan siblings…
      i know some have issues with the new episods but listen , every show have their own flavour , it will get better with more series , but maybe,just a suggestion , let the presenters just be themselves rather than tied to a script , its more authentic that way …

• hoseiliao on Oct 08, 2015 at 6:52 am

gregory sze acting is too over

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • applegreen on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:11 am

thats normal for new staff in a company. He or she will acting like better than everyone else and hopefully bosses pay attention on them.

• marieta on Oct 08, 2015 at 8:29 am

Sportage is the best…designed by German and built by Asian meh, can never go wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • ameen on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:53 am

featurewise…interior flexibility wise…hrv win..

• I think its wrong to have HR-V in this comparison. Price wise it maybe close to the cx-5 “povo-pack”, but you cannot compare a car of different size segment, one which is top spec vs one which is a “povo-pack”

• DonkeyKong on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:07 am

Hey, let’s not forget that Honda brags about “Man minimum, machine maximum” and some Honda fanboys even bragged previously that during the sales training, Honda claimed that the Jazz has more interior space than a Mercedes-Benz S-class.. so I guess it’s fair to put them up to their boasts and compare them with rivals one class up, considering how expensive the HRV is.

I have nothing against Honda, their cars are very well-built and often feel better assembled than Toyotas, but such marketing hyperbole makes any sane person want to puke.

• miesten on Oct 08, 2015 at 10:53 am

bring in H-RV vs 2008 vs ecosport vs captur vs cx-3

• at around 11.06, u can see the lorry flashing his headlight behind greg’s cx5 ^^

• Power on Oct 08, 2015 at 2:51 pm

I want to see

HRV vs ASX vs CX3 vs Tucson

This more appropriate

• Sam noob on Oct 08, 2015 at 4:05 pm

Uncle Sam will advice u to get the Rush, which has better RV?!

• Izham giffari on Oct 13, 2015 at 2:56 pm

Thistle tommorow driven season 3 2015 class tricks toyota hilux vs mitsubishi triton vs isu-isu d max okay ?

• reddevil04 on Oct 19, 2015 at 3:38 pm

It would be interesting to see a shoot-out on all 2WD SUV currently available in our market.
    These days SUVs are seen as a family mover and there are so many of them to begin and most times, we do not know which one is an all rounder.
    A shoot-out of these 2WD SUV like CRV, CX-5, X-trial, ASX, Sportage and maybe thrown XV in there too to give us an all rounder winner in terms of pricing, handling, space etc.

• Joshua Lee on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:55 am

eh, very misleading leh. the CX5 tested is not the GL version. the GL version does not have the bixenon headlights and the headlight washer which was revealed in the video. well, what was compared still stands true in the GL spec but feature wise it is not.

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 29, 2015 at 11:11 am

How did you record the audio? Sometimes (even outdoors) there is a lot of echo… very odd.