Taxi drivers to protest against SPAD in KL on Nov 18

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 6

The drama goes on. Blatantly ignoring the Land Public Transport Commission’s (SPAD) advise, thousands of taxi drivers will stage a protest in Kuala Lumpur come November 18. The protest is expected to congregate in droves at three locations, namely, Padang Merbok, the KL Mosque and the Craft Complex nearby Jalan Conlay at 10am, The Star reports.

All three groups will march through KL and come together at a “secret location,” which according to Kamarudin Mohd Husain, deputy chairman of the Malaysian Taxi Drivers Transformation Association (PERS1M), will only be revealed on the day itself. No permit has been obtained for the protest as of yet.

“We don’t want to go against the government. What we will do on November 18 is get the government’s attention,” Kamarudin said. The other objective of the protest it seems, is to gather in numbers with the aim of getting SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar to resign, according to the deputy. He added that he expected over 6,000 taxi drivers to show up for the protest.

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 1

“We don’t want SPAD to be dissolved, but the trust given to Syed Hamid Albar has been wasted,” Kamarudin asserted. He claimed that because SPAD had allowed apps such as Uber and GrabCar, the commission had not done its part to take care of the taxi industry in Malaysia.

Groups have been trying to disrupt Uber and GrabCar for some time now. Recent events include calling on the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak himself to ban such apps, to ambushing a GrabCar driver and making rogue arrests of both Uber and GrabCar drivers around KLCC.

That said, one taxi driver has come out to say that he was not affected by the apps, but actions by SPAD and Puspakom instead. So guys, what are your thoughts on this matter?

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Albert on Oct 21, 2015 at 7:11 pm

The solution is simple.
    Chop all these THUGS away.
    Chop the botak.
    Retest all taxi drivers..(some got mental illness!)including GRab Car and Uber.
    Then legalise the EFFICIENT,COURTEOUS,and NON LAZY DRIVERS.
    SOUNDS SIMPLE? But in Bolehland,we have too much perlindungan and politics.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
    • SPAD is the MAIN Problem on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:35 am

Actually, the big problem is SPAD. SPAD is allowing all this protest to go on. Why? Very simple.

SPAD’s chairman Albar’s wife owns many teksi companies. When Uber and Grabcar came into Malaysia, her companies lost a lot of money and is losing a lot of money.

So, SPAD, as any husband who is scared of his wife would do, quickly ban Uber and ban Grabcar.

You see, in Malaysia, there is no such thing as CONFLICT OF INTEREST.

SPAD is now closing an eye to all this violence because Albar’s wife is not happy with slow business.

All these violence is approved by SPAD. Infact, it is indirectly sanctioned by SPAD.

Don’t forget, besides Albar’s wife, ALL other licenses for companies running cabs are all owned by UMNO big boys.

Nobody can touch them la

• Sampah on Oct 21, 2015 at 7:16 pm

Cant all this tugs go die already?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Then it shall also be the day we boycott taxis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
    • DonkeyKong on Oct 21, 2015 at 8:58 pm

Boycott them for more than just a day. If we want to make it a “direct action” day, we should also be breaking their windshields with bricks and stuff to let them know loud and clear what we think about them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Kepot on Oct 21, 2015 at 8:00 pm

For me bodoh… Improve ur servive. Smoking, baju x iron, kereta macam kereta sendiri, dent all over the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Jobless on Oct 21, 2015 at 8:07 pm

Go buy 4d better than wasting time protest, at least got chance of becoming rich

• Actman on Oct 21, 2015 at 8:27 pm

Lol. From the pic, it tells which are the majority race who support this nuisance issue?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Sugar Glider on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:32 am

Disagree with taxi driver to protest this that or whatsoever but strongly disagree, racist.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 21, 2015 at 8:59 pm

Will the PDRM be on standby for these thugs and welcome them with water cannons? Or will there be no action since it’s not a protest against the government or against a specific politician?

• If the headline din knock you on the head, it is a protest against Gov. I can expect Pakatan to give full suppork since this is protest against Gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
      • trollmaster3000 on Oct 21, 2015 at 11:01 pm

these brainless thugs are obviously BN supporters.. just like you.. there’s no reason for Pakatan to give any support whatsoever.. it is better to just sit at the sidelines and watch BN slowly crumble on its own..

• Johan Kia on Oct 21, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Dont show yr politics stupidity pls. In no way will pakatan support this madness.

• Tadalaku on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:22 pm

Tarak paham this thug taxi drivers??? Must be stones, sh@t, or garbaga in their head….

No wonder they cannot cari makan due to their plain stupidity and pure idiocy.

Malaysia never short of these stupid ppl…

• Arnold on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:29 pm

I have been following ur news for the past few months and I am Just wondering where u got the protesters photos cause u r recycling the same photos over and over again whenever there’s Malaysian taxi drivers news?

• service macam sial
    penipu macam sial
    penampilan macam sial
    pengotor macam
    samseng macam sial

hey driver teksi bodoh pasal tu market beralih kepada UBER
    saya menyokong 100% uber,grabcar dan seangkatan dengan nya
    u did a great job
    together we sack all this taxi driver asshole from roaming on our roads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • andrekua on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:34 pm

I thought our government has always say “You Keluar Kalau You Tak Suka”. Why not practice it here?? Those drivers who dont like the current situation can walk out of their jobs and find an alternative job if they really feel incompetent.

Maybe they can find Raja Bomoh and get the magic lamp (or vase) to suck the souls of GrabCar/Uber drivers so that they dont have competition.

• When we complaint about their bad service, they just keep quite and never try to improve.
    Better ask them to look at their self first la.

• sohhai on Oct 22, 2015 at 12:17 am

Go ahead and protest. At the same time, please also protest GST, toll price hike, petrol price increase, RM depreciation and 1MDB scandal as these are actually hurting your pocket more than Uber or GrabCar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • venven81 on Oct 22, 2015 at 1:20 am

Those who wanna protest are the lazy bunch. I spoke with many taxi drivers and they are able to make more money with apps like MyTaxi (is it the same as grab car?). Some could even earn up to RM7k a month (of course the brainy ones who can think logically and some senses). So why the heck are these drivers demonstrating? If you don’t wanna drive, let others drive who are serious in the business!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • common sensor on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:00 am

It is shameful that taxi services in Indonesia and Thailand are far better than in Malaysia. These Malaysian taxis must look into improving own-weaknesses before complaining about others taking over their market.

• ConcernedCitizen on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:35 am

The taxi drivers should respond with upgraded service to customers, not by violence… Its just making things worse.

• siaocom on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:36 am

Feel pity to those mamat in the pic. Every time taxi protest or taxi related problem will use their faces.

• kahkahkah..yeaa better they do strike/mogok as well..longer is better so we can freely use uber/grabcar services..

• albag on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:33 am

these ppl are sick… they forget their job scope dy

• Nak special treatment je … takde benda lain.

• Baldwin on Oct 23, 2015 at 12:53 pm

It’s ok, these fools can protest all they want even for a week.. everyone can take UBER or other mobile ride-sharing apps anyways.