Motorcycle accidents and fatalities on the rise – report

saigon-motorbike

Recorded motorcycle accidents and subsequent fatalities in the country are on the rise, the New Straits Times reports. According to Mohammad Fakhri Mansor, director of the Selangor Road Safety Department (JKJR), statistics gathered from the Ops Selamat 7 operation showed that of the total 330 deaths from traffic accidents, 200 involved motorcyclists and pillion riders.

Various factors that have led to the increase in road deaths involving motorcyclists been identified by the authorities. “If you see, cases such as, not wearing helmets, entering opposite lanes, losing control of a vehicle, beating the red traffic light, speeding and attempt to overtake another vehicle are among the factors which contributes to the rampant accidents in the country.”

“We want to emphasise that our Malaysian motorcyclists need to practice wearing helmets and wear a bright coloured vest. The majority of them do not adhere to the practice of wearing them, with some giving reasons that the vest colour is ugly and not funky enough,” he added.

“What they fail to understand is that if you wear a bright coloured vest or a t-shirt it will help prevent accidents, especially at night,” said Fakhri. Separately, the number of motorcycle accidents on the North-South Expressway (PLUS) have increased in 2014 compared to the year before – a total of 2,163 accidents involving motorcycles were recorded in 2013 compared to 2,419 in 2014.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• ben yap on Oct 26, 2015 at 10:29 am

also one of the reason why motorcyclist death rate is higher is because they don’t bother to give way to cars even though the car has already gave signal indication.

instead of slowing down, they accelerate to squeeze the car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 6
    • Turboman on Oct 26, 2015 at 12:07 pm

Some even honk, kick your car, turn his head and show you his middle finger as if the middle lane belongs to him and cars have to give way.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
      • nabill (Member) on Oct 26, 2015 at 1:06 pm

Yup, thats exactly why i dont give nuts abt them.. If i see a bike accident i feel nothing frankly, more like, serve u right, hopefull if u havnt die yet u will learn a lesson or two…and please, dont give us crap about ‘not all of hem are like that’ BS…. Beside corruption thats eating away our society, i wd put motorcycles as the next shitty thing about our country…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 25
        • mat_Rempit on Oct 26, 2015 at 3:21 pm

Yeah. when u urself involved in the accident, this fellow mat motors are the the first to help you get out from your crumpled car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 19
          • nabill (Member) on Oct 26, 2015 at 3:59 pm

Ya it happened to my close friend, and u know what happened? THEY STOLE HIS PHONE AND WALLET! plz donot live in a delusional state.. This is the reality… I know not everyone wd do that, but their bad perception of thuggery is warranted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Diesel Power!!! on Oct 26, 2015 at 11:52 pm

I definately agreed with BenYap & Turboman. Bikers are getting rude nowadays. To reduce the accident, plz built more bike lanes & force them to use it. No pillion rider allowed in city & highway. Increase the minimum age to obtain license to 21yrs old.

• Racer on Oct 26, 2015 at 10:41 am

So much racing event during midnight, they are “well-prepared” for this outcome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Kahwin Empat on Oct 26, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Mat Rempit, pampered and always want government help for anything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • xxxxxxx on Oct 26, 2015 at 10:43 am

“Just wear helmet and wear bright vest” – talk very easy, i can be minister also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • what is really needed is awareness from riders. ride defensively. predict what other people intend to do. then we can reduce the accident. but i don’t have high hope. even driver don’t have awareness, many not wearing seatbelt, use phone. same2 also.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 26, 2015 at 10:46 am

Again they are stating the obvious here. We need more harsh enforcement because these riders know the risks and yet they still do it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • macroemdia on Oct 26, 2015 at 10:47 am

I predict motorcyclist # will increase substantially due to tightening loans for cars, toll hikes, substantial rise in cost of living, and needing to save money for emergencies, or for a home finally. Heck even I am considering buying a bike for work to cut down on fuel cost and maintenance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • Did he really use the word “funky”?

• If only there were speed cameras to capture the act done by motorcyclist…

• If you tell a person one time and the obvious keeps happening over time, we should accept the simple truth, that those engaging in aggressive motoring behaviour want to die or cause others to die. It is needless to talk about what should be or could be if some finds it impossible to change. Why are we surprised?

• Kudos to those riding motorcycles instead of cars, without them roads will be soo jammed packed wt cars esp during rush hours. Thanks to these motorcyclist for their positive contribution in reducing traffic jam & CO2 pollution in the city.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Mohd Faiz on Oct 26, 2015 at 11:52 am

Can just ban the use of motorcycles on highway to reduce accidents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Just a Guest on Oct 26, 2015 at 12:03 pm

As expected, look at how many of them didn’t bother to slow down when car changes lane in a reasonable distance? Or how many of them beating the red light simply because they want to? Or how they enter a round-a-bout and straight away move into the inner ring despite the car is entering the round-a-bout following the outer ring? Should I also mention those rempit kids swaying left and right or drove on 1 wheel for fun?

It is not the bright color clothing, it is the attitude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • George Abdul on Oct 26, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Dignity that spoil mat rempits… that’s fact.

• they need to learn a car drivers blind spot…some ride along yur righr side in the Fast lane just mad…some swerve from left to right or vice versa without judging car speed etc..most inc superbikers no idea tat above certain speeds the slighthest touch with a car will result in big accident

• mohaWk on Oct 26, 2015 at 12:16 pm

can have all the rules in the world but wouldn’t make a difference if the mentality of the riders stay the same

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • alldisc on Oct 26, 2015 at 12:17 pm

Forgot to use logic sense when making comparisons?

Every year there maybe estimated
    300,000 school leavers.
    100,000 new license issued.
    300,000 new motorcycles registered

What does JKJR expect, the figure goes down??

• Everyone is to be blamed. not 1 person is spared. Motorcyclist can be ignorant and bend the rules as to their liking. They are also innocent when it comes to poor road conditions, swerving to avoid potholes ending up getting knocked by other road users, the finger pointing is endless. When does it stop? The finger pointing should all point at 1 direction, which is poor governance and enforcement. What can the half bucket shit people in charge do about that? Create more statistics? They will end up being part of the statistic.

• PLUS user on Oct 26, 2015 at 1:15 pm

Specific on PLUS hwy, rempit all over the lanes is one thing, most of 2-stroker & superbiker ride crazy fast is one thing, lastt is during heavy traffic when those drivers went inti emergency lane, those motorcyclists forced to spread all over the lanes.. and here you see how high the risk is.

• In my neighborhood, I’ve seen kids riding motorcycles aimlessly, lepaking, make noises, park as they wish. I hope government would take stern action against parents who let their underage kids riding motorcycle. Even though I really want a motorcycle, to go to pasar and surau, I won’t because I know my two sons would want to get their hands on it.

• Functioning head- and taillamps would be a good start to bring motorcycle accidents down. Around 40%-50% of all motorcycles I see don’t have functioning lamps, especially on dark kampung roads.

• RempitMat on Oct 26, 2015 at 2:22 pm

you orang dalam kereta jgn ingat u bayar road tax u boleh pusing kiri kanan tanpa hirau kita

u orang patut terima kasih kepada motor kerana kita yang buat jalanraya kurang jam, bayangkanlah kalau semua motosikal pakai kereta, kl tak boleh gerak langsung

yang komplen pasal kereta kena hentam, itulah u punya pasal, apasal tak bagi ruang lebih besar untuk kita, besi u sakit ke atau badan kita sakit

kita marah u, u terima sajalan, itu berpatutan kerana u tak jaga kita, apasal kita mau jaga u

u mau lansi lansi dalam kereta u jgn komplen kalau kereta u kena dari motor kita ni, paham paham lah bangsat kereta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 29
    • paparadzi (Member) on Oct 26, 2015 at 5:27 pm

Exactly the attitude of a lot of bikers. Especially small bikes and scooters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • 4G63T DSM on Oct 26, 2015 at 6:27 pm

And you wonder why there are so many fatal accidents.

And just like some in the government. Its always someone else’s fault. Even when they jump a red.

Birds of a feather flock together.

• Fireac on Oct 27, 2015 at 8:56 am

THIS is exactly the mindset of bikers. Thank you so much for proving us right.

• longjaafar on Oct 26, 2015 at 2:52 pm

You signal that you are changing lanes or turning, and the motorcyclist will still overtake you.

• areos on Oct 26, 2015 at 3:09 pm

In China, motorcycles are not allowed on hiway or in big town..practically no accidents involving motocysles there.
    ..in some countries like NZ..motorists especially motorcylist are very very discipline..they queueing up at trafic lights and will not overtaking cars indiscriminately.In Brunei..hardly find motocycles..

• the driver on Oct 26, 2015 at 3:35 pm

More new motorcyclists because of the economic status means more accidents. But you don’ t have to look far, just look at the picture above. What are they wearing? Slippers, one false step and there goes the foot. Cheap, unsafe helmets too.
    Outside of the cities, helmet laws are not even enforced. No enforcement, no education and naturally the statistics go up.

• the driver on Oct 26, 2015 at 3:35 pm

More new motorcyclists because of the economic status means more accidents. But you don’ t have to look far, just look at the picture above. What are they wearing? Slippers, one false step and there goes the foot. Cheap, unsafe helmets too.
    Outside of the cities, helmet laws are not even enforced. No enforcement, no education and naturally the statistics go up.

• some of the comments by motorist here just reflects their mentality…to be fair there r many Ah Bengs drving Vios P1 P2 tinking they r God and invisible on the road chg lanes without any signals or at the last minute causing serious or fatal injuries to innocent motorist

• ben yap on Oct 26, 2015 at 4:49 pm

the only good time i can think of for the motorcyclists is when they bawak their awek on their bikes, the can play brake-brake… :)

• Malaysia no hope on Oct 26, 2015 at 9:46 pm

Finally one mature commenter here. Most Malaysians think that motorcycles must always give way to cars but when lorries kill car driver, lorry driver is said to be reckless la drive fast la etc.

The rule in many developed countries is pedestrians > motorcyclist > cars > lorries.

Here in Malaysia, pedestrians < motorcyclist lorries > busses

And the government is to blamed for everything.

• Begedel on Oct 27, 2015 at 7:55 am

Well said. Vios & Hilux driver think they owned the road and speeding like hell.

• Thats because bn steals so much money people cant afford cars, even those crappy protons. Obviously people are gonna die on those death traps.